Free Shipping On Mowers (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Mowers Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Toro 20374 Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$419.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$469.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Toro 20374 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Durable (4)
I'd Buy It Again (4)
High Quality (3)
Easy To Use (3)
Reliable (3)
Cons
Packaging (2)
Low Quality (2)
Was hard putting the oi... (1)
Levers Hard To Adjust 1 ... (1)
Poor Inspection before s... (1)
74% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
19 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Hazel S.
Avon Lake, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/10/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Model #20374
This mower is amazing! So easy to use. Electric start is a real plus. I would suggest everyone purchase this product!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: I have no Cons.
Hazel Recommends This Toro Mower
Hazel's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My salesman was excellent! He took the time to explain the mower and made me feel comfortable about my purchase."
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Douglas S.
Palm Coast, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/4/17
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Height Adjustment Levers Fail To Work Properly!
I have only used the mower 3 times. My review may change after several more uses. What I like, is the electric starter is great, I hope I can get many starts between charges, we will see. The push assist is good, it will move forward at my pace of walk, which changes depending on the area I am cutting.

NOW FOR THE BAD:
The back wheel height adjustment levers (both sides), will not stay in place. When the wheel assist starts, the height adjustment levers fall all the way down, and I... more
Pros: Features, Quiet
Cons: Low Quality, Difficult To Use, Unreliable, BAD Height Adjustment Levers, they fail to stay in place!
Douglas Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Douglas,
Very sorry you're having issues with your mower. Please call Toro at (800) 384-9939 with your mower's serial number. They'll be able to provide you with the location of a Toro authorized service/repair shop near you. You'll then take it in there where the technician will assess the problem(s) with your mower.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michele F.
White Bear Lake, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/19/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
Love this mower! Just cut my time in half and so easy to manage!
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, Features
Michele Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Raymond H.
Germantown, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/27/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
No Blades
June 30, 2017 - I just got my Toto Recycler 22" 159cc PP with electric start today. Replacing a Toro Personal Pace I had for about 10 years.Got it together, added oil and fresh gas and ready to go. Mower started first pull. Planned to charge battery for 24 hours after cutting. There was just one little problem, NO BLADES!! That's right! NO BLADES on the mower or in the box. Talk about TORO'S LACK OF INSPECTION / QUALITY CONTROL!

I contacted Mowers Direct and they are sending me a... more
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Packaging, Poor Inspection before shipping.
Raymond Recommends This Toro Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Raymond,
Thank you for the feedback. We'll be sure to send this review on to our Toro Rep.
more
Raymond's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Second or third item from Mowers Direct. I got a snow blower two years ago from them and the mower I am replacing. Their service has always been excellent. Them adding Amazon Pay is a plus."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Wayne Y.
Norwalk, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/6/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy With This Lawn Mower
With the electric start my wife is very happy with this lawn mower.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Reliable, Easy To Use
Cons: Was hard putting the oil in the mower.
Wayne Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Bruce C.
Thomasville, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/30/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
After a lot of research, I think this is the Fastest Walk-Behind self propelled mower available. Starts and restarts great.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, Reliable
Bruce Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Samuel K
New Paris, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/15/17
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is The Best Lawn Mower I've Ever Owned!!!!
This is #2 item i have purchased from Mowers Direct. I just got it today & it's very easy to put together!!! I purchased this mower because i have a bad back!! and the electric start is awesome!!! I put the oil in it, fill it up with gas and it started the very first time!! This mower makes my life easier, thank you Toro!!!
Pros: Durable, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging
Samuel Recommends This Toro Mower
Samuel's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This is the second thing I have purchased from Mowers Direct and the number one reason is the customer service you get from Mowers Direct! Number two is price and I will always recommend to family and friends to Mowers Direct and I'm looking to do even more business. Thank you so much!!"
 more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Samuel,
Thank you so much for the kind words and for your referral to friends and family. When you are ready for purchase #3 please give us a call and we will be ready! Thanks again for your business and happy mowing!
Was this review helpful?
00
John R.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/7/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice Mower!
This mower replaces an old toro electric start mower circa 2001/2.
This mower's engine is quite adequate to cut our heavy grass and propels itself very well!
I have charged the battery once and it has lasted 6 weeks (starting 2x per week).
The only gripe is the oil fill measurement stick is not clearly marked for oil levels.
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
72
William R.
Sylvania, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/6/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Check To See That The Wheel Lugs Are Tightened.
Our mower had a loose lug bolt on the rear wheel, but it was not apparent before we began to cut grass.

The wheel fell off, fortunately I have the "skills" to know how to fix it. I then re-tightened the other 3 lug bolts.
William Recommends This Toro Mower
William's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The website provides you with the product information so you can make the right decision on which mower fits your needs."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Cloid B.
Hoover, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Unbelievable Quality And Value
This is the walk-behind mower of my dreams! Adjustable speed rear-wheel drive! Push-button electric start! Exceptional power!
Cloid Recommends This Toro Mower
Cloid's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Called two or three times with questions. Friendly and helpful answers. Ordered on Monday. Received Wednesday."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Mel M.
Fenton, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/9/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Don't Really Know, My Wife Mows The Grass.
She loves it, so I love it.
Mel Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Mary S.
Sparta, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/14/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Runs And Cuts Good.
Starts right up, with pull cord and electric start. Easy to navigate. Two issues I have are, the dipstick for the oil is very hard to turn, I have to take pliers to take it off. It's like a suction, or something. It's plastic. I have never seen plastic used for a dipstick before.

The other is the levers for height adjustment. This is my third Toro, and it's always been difficult to adjust those levers. I don't know why, but the most difficult one has always been the front-left wheel.... more
Pros: It's Easy To Start So Far I've Used It Twice
Cons: Low Quality, Bad Instructions, Levers Hard To Adjust 1 Lever Is Bent
Mary Recommends This Toro Mower
Mary's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipping is fantastic. Got the mower the next day. Starts great, seems to run great. I only used it 2 times, so time will tell. Not happy with the levers for height adjustment, but they always have been difficult to use. One is bent, so this is the worst experience I've had with Toro. Dip stick is plastic and acts like a suction once its on. Have to use pliers to twist it off. I'm expecting this to break also. So the lever and the dipstick are low quality."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
John R.
Maineville, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/27/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Electric Start Doesn't Work
I recently purchased this mower and prepped it with oil... gas... and put the charger on for the suggested 24 hours. The electric start does not work. The mower does not even attempt to turn over when i push the button. As suggested in the manual... I checked the fuse... and it is not blown. I finally got the mower to start via the pull rope after many hard pulls on the rope.

When I sent an email to customer service regarding my situation... I was given tips to starting a mower that had... more
John Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
John,
Your mower is still under the 2-year warranty. Unfortunately, we don't have mechanics on hand here to advise you on repairing your mower, but Toro will cover the cost of repairs should they find it's due to manufacturing error or defects.

Please call Toro at (800) 384-9939 with your mower's serial number. They'll be able to provide you with the location of a Toro authorized service/repair shop near you. You'll then take it in there where the technician will assess the problem(s) with your mower.
more
Was this review helpful?
42
Paula B.
Woodbridge, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/19/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Mower
This mower is what I expected. The frame is solid and functional in the sense that it is built sturdy. It starts on the first pull and I am only 5-1 !

Just two concerns, the mower seems to leave a single cut with a slight center of the cut not completely cut at the same level. It also seems heavier and not as responsive on self propelling as previous TORO mowers. These are minor things that may need adjustments by an authorized dealer which I have.

I cut my neighbors lawn for pay and... more
Paula Recommends This Toro Mower
Paula's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Diane Y.
South Saint Paul, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/16/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Poor Investment
I thought Toro was high quality, but I was wrong. I have used it 3 times. First use, the rear wheel fell off. Second use, it was hard to start. Third use, it wouldn't start - completely flooded.

The air filter was filled with gas, and when I put it away for the night the gas leaked out of it into the filter and onto my floor. I will never buy Toro again, and I wouldn't recommend this mower or any Toro products to anyone!!!!
Diane Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Diane,
Sorry to hear you are not happy with the mower. This does come with a full warranty, which is covered by any local dealer in your area. If you need help locating one, please let us know and we can help you.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Lloyd H.
Youngstown, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/28/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Wheel Came Off After Two Mowings
The front wheel and then the back rear wheel came. off while mowing the lawn. Workmanship was evidently lacking on the day it was put together. moss fine. Just disappointed because Toro had such high marks!!!!!!!!
Lloyd Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Emma M.
Humble, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/10/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gift To My Husband
This the second one I have purchased. First one for our son and this one for hubby. 'Daughter's father-in-law saw it and said he needed one. We gave him the Website.
Emma Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Jana F.
Big Rapids, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Jana
This is the mower if you have arthritic hands, very easy handles. The only complaint is that it came and the wheel will not stay on, the bracket and bolt that holds it on is stripped and now I have to drive it over 50 miles to have it fixed. But this is an issue with Toro, not mowers direct. It was very quick shipping.
Jana Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
22
Bruce Bitterman
Beulah, ND
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/17/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Made In Mexico !! Ugh!!
Unpacked it and had to re-assemble with parts in the bottom of the box. I'm afraid to start it up!!
Bruce Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Bruce,
We apologize for the issue of the loose/missing parts. We have sent out the missing parts and you should receive them shortly. If you need anything further, please do not hesitate to ask.

Thank you
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bruce,
We are sorry to hear you are having trouble with your Toro mower. These parts should have arrive pre-assembled. If you are still experiencing issues, please contact our customer service line and they will gladly help you work through any existing issues (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
12
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials