Free Shipping On Mowers (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

Toro 20353 Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$409.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$399.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Toro 20353 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (17)
Reliable (9)
Features (9)
I'd Buy It Again (8)
High Quality (7)
Cons
Expensive (3)
Packaging (2)
Below average assembly (1)
No Con Yet But I Am Conc... (1)
None (1)
85% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
41 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Zachary H.
Dunkirk, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/20/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
Great little mower, I bought it to mow some hilly terrain I don't feel comfortable using my subcompact Massey Ferguson on and it does a great job. It bags and mulches really well and also does a good job scattering the clippings with the side discharge if you don't want to mulch or bag.

The traction on this thing is great, it goes up steep terrain with no issues, I was really amazed with how well it worked. I also really like the water clean-out, it really does a good job. My only knock... more
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Durable, Price
Cons: Under-powered
Zachary Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
72
Larry W.
Atchison, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/10/17
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good Concept But Not Reliable
Used this mower 4 to 5 times and is was great. 6th time I used it the back wheel came off. Hard to find someone in my area to fix the problem. Still trying to locate someone.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Unreliable
Larry Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Larry,
To find your local Toro Service Center, Toro can be reached directly @ (888) 384-9939.
more
Was this review helpful?
12
Sheri G.
Fort Worth, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/7/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Answer To My Problem.
I was physically unable to mow the slope in my yard until my son found this mower for me. It is amazing! It helps me up the hill! I was able to release my lawn service. It will pay for itself in just a few months.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Sheri Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Curt K.
Calhoun, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/31/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fine Mower.
This is a fine mower and starts on the first pull. I'm glad it has the capability to side discharge, mulch, or bag. The all-wheel drive is great and the engine has enough power to do its job. It arrived a little later than planned, but was in good condition. I did notice the rear discharge flap was not attached on one side and I had to loosen all the bolts on one side (by rear wheel) to make room for the correct installation of the plastic mulching flap. This was a pain.

Also, although the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality, Quiet
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Curt Recommends This Toro Mower
Curt's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"The mower and cover were supposed to arrive on the same day. The mower arrived 2 days later. Other wise, a good experience and tax, shipping free."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Nathan O.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/28/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Good Mower
This mower has been great. It was expensive but the personal pace is worth it. So far only issue is the piece of plastic on front we removed it today after trying to reattach it twice. Wheels were good as I checked them due to concern from past reviews. Cuts 100 times better than any other push mower I have owned.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Cons: Expensive
Nathan Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Peter C
Sioux Falls, SD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/11/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exactly What I Needed!!
I have used the Toro Recycler 5 times so far. Does a good job of mulching, (as long as the grass isn't too high). Cuts clean and climbs inclines like a mountain goat. Overall, I'm quite happy with my purchase.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Features, I'd Buy It Again
Peter Recommends This Toro Mower
Peter's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipped the same day I ordered and received two days later. Couldn't beat the price!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Ashwet K.
Marion, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/28/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Product
Ease of start and user friendly. Love the variable speed drive.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Packaging
Ashwet Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Keith M.
Williamsport, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/1/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy With My Purchase!
This is my second Toro Recycler personal pace lawn mower. The first one I bought 10 years ago. It was only two wheel drive, and my property has a slope on over 1/2 the yard. The two wheel drive was starting to slip and make it difficult.

This is so much better so far. 4 wheel drive makes it easier, also the one pull start without having to prime it! Plus the instant bagging with just a flip of a switch! Sometimes I just want to clean up the clumps if I cut it when it the grass is too tall... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Features, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None
Keith Recommends This Toro Mower
Keith's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mower's Direct saved me some money buying from them, and also delivered on time and as promised!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark B.
Morristown, NJ
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Early Experience Is Good
Used two months, the mower is holding up. Starts fine. Time will tell if any problems develop. I will monitor the grass buildup on the front wheels described by others.

Somewhat difficult to get used to the power drive controls. Got it to do the steep section of my yard.
Pros: Features
Cons: Packaging
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Greg B.
White, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/18/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Variable Speed Drive Great On Hillside Lawn
Purchased this mower for the mulching ability and it works well at that. Don't have a really thick lawn but it mulches up whatever it runs over.

The best feature is the sliding handle that makes it keep whatever pace you walk - uphill, downhill, flat, or side hill. Can't speak to longevity, having owned it for only a couple months.

I miss my old Honda's clutched blade feature which allowed it to idle with the blade stopped instead of having to restart whenever you have to leave the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Greg Recommends This Toro Mower
Greg's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"The MD representative suggested this mower over the one I called to order, and I'm glad she did."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary W
Camdenton, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/17/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Product For The Price
I really like this Toro as I have the other three that I have owned. The only reason I do not give it a five star is that doing the first time I used it on my yard, the left rear wheel fell off, causing the mower to scalp my yard. It took about 30 minutes to get the wheel attached. I chalk it up to an inexperienced technician not taking the time to ensure all the nuts and bolts were tight. Thank goodness it wasn't the blade. The four wheel drive is great, I have a hilly yard and it pulls... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet
Cons: Below average assembly
Gary Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
David L
Escondido, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/25/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Right out of the box every thing is just fine. This started on second pull. The four wheel drive will pull you up the hills. I like that my yard is very hilly. With this new mower I cut the yard in half the time. Make sure you treat the fuel because it's full of crap that attracts water which ruins everything.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
David Recommends This Toro Mower
David's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very good!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jacqueline C
Lake Placid, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/13/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
This is the easiest starting mower I have ever had. The all wheel drive works like a dream on sod, never a bog down. Delivery time was fast and appreciated. Good job Toro and Mowers Direct.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
Jacqueline Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard H.
Edgewater, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/5/17
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro 22" Recycler Mower
I have a 28 degree sloped front yard with landscaping and a rear yard that is even worse, but a great water view, before you think I am stupid for buying such a steep yard. This mower is a beast! It makes mowing a lot easier and has no issues pulling itself and me up the hill. I absolutely love the 4 wheel drive. I also like the fact it is easy to swap from bagger to mulching. The hose attachment for cleaning makes it all the more nicer. If I stall it out, one or two pulls and she is up and... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Quiet, Price
Richard Recommends This Toro Mower
Richard's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The web page was good, not great. I could find my way around and I got the job done."
 more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Richard,
Thanks for the feedback, I really appreciate hearing directly from folks. Is there anything we can do to make our website easier to navigate? All suggestions are welcome. Thank you for submitting your review and thanks as always for your business. I hope you have a great day.
Was this review helpful?
00
Gwynneth
Copake, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/25/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower Even For A Large Lawn
This mower is very powerful even on longer grass. The fuel economy is top notch as well. I thought I would be going through 3 or 4 tanks of gas for a 2/3 of an acre yard but I'm only going through almost two.
Pros: High Quality, Features, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Gwynneth Recommends This Toro Mower
Gwynneth's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The price from Mowers Direct is unbeatable from what I've seen looking for a mower of this quality. The mower came very well packaged as well."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Bruce G.
Deerfield, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/18/17
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Model 20353
Used once so far. Love how this mower mulches the grass. Getting used to the personal pace feature will take me awhile.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Features, I'd Buy It Again
Bruce Recommends This Toro Mower
Bruce's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to order online. Free shipping and competitive pricing."
 more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Bruce,
I'm glad you felt our shopping experience was easy to navigate and that there were no issues with your delivery. If you ever have questions about your purchase, please do not hesitate to give us a call. We are here to help folks just like you make the best decisions possible when it comes to power equipment. Thank you again for your business and I hope to deal with you again soon.
Was this review helpful?
12
Joseph S.
Carriere, MS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 1/19/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value For Quality
delivery very fast, easy to assembly, ran the first time I pulled the start rope... best price on the market, saved $150.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Features, Reliable
Joseph Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
12
Shirley T.
Canastota, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/1/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Waiting
Opened my Meyer today. Put oil & gas in mower to start up. It started right up no problem. Have not had an opportunity to use yet.
Shirley Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
08
William Thies
Lexington, KY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/11/15
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Hill Mower
I finally after a two year due diligence, found a mower that will handle a rough, hill of a lawn and last more then a season. They say one pull start and it's true even straight out of the box.

The four wheel adjustable drive is perfect it did take a few passes on the hill to get just the right power to the wheels. So far this mower is exactly what I needed.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: No Con Yet But I Am Concerned About The Plastic Drive Handle B
William Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
492
Zona M.
Quincy, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/7/15
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Am A Lady 63 Years Old And Still Love To Mow
This is my first self propelled mower. I have mowed twice with it and love it. It is the best mower I have ever used and trust me I have gone through several. It is easy to start, goes at your pace, bag is simple to empty and I get my mowing done faster.
Zona Recommends This Toro Mower
Zona's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I got it faster than if I would have had to drive miles and search several stores to find the mower I got from you. Thank YOU"
 more
Was this review helpful?
231
Ronald Lloyd
Goodyear, AZ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/20/15
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Awd
Unit arrived intact, it starts and runs well. The AWD feature is fantastic on my hilly yard.
Great quality product.
Ronald Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
232
Glendon E.
New Braunfels, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/16/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pleased With The Mower The First Two Weeks.
The mower arrived on schedule. It was simple to assemble. I just added the oil that came with the mower, added gasoline, and then it cranked on the second try.

I was pleased with the "personal pace" mechanism and all-wheel-drive. After the first mowing, I found the automatic drive feature had stopped working. With a little adjustment of the drive cable, it worked again.

I have not tried it on hills yet, but I expect it to function well. However, I have so many lawn features,... more
Glendon Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
143
Philip E.
Pampa, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/20/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro All-wheel-drive
I'm very pleased with the all-wheel-drive. I was expecting a time for getting use to the way it runs.

Very surprised it was so easy to use. I enjoy the difference.
Philip Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
100
Dominic G.
Saginaw, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/12/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
One pull so far for every start.I have a hill to go up in my back yard go up and down great.Best mower I have ever had.
Dominic Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
102
Mark H.
Crescent, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/21/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Purchase.
Very satisfied with the purchase, prompt delivery, Toro delivers what they say.
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Mark's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"smooth and easy."
 more
Was this review helpful?
71
John B.
Lancaster, PA
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Don't Buy All-wheel Drive Mower
Report of issue with Toro 4-wheel drive mower, Model # 20353. We purchased this mower a little over a year ago, (Apr., 2015). My wife loves the mower for ease of handling, starting, and all the other things Toro’s are famous for.

Our problem did’t start until we had the mower about a year. We had grass clogging up in the drive area of the front wheels. It got so bad that the build up actually knocked the drive belt off the drive pulley. Consequently, I took it to local Toro dealer and they... more
John Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower.

I have forwarded on your feedback on to the design team. Your feedback is important to us, and we will use it to produce better products in the future.

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please call our customer service number (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
1316
Dexter F.
Lead, SD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/29/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower
I unpacked put together oil in gas in tried to start it did not start on 2 pulls or 25 I though what have I got. Waited and was going to call in morning.

By chance I went back to garage and thought about it pulled air cleaner off and pulled 2 times and it started. It has started on the first pull ever since. Go up my steep grades, would buy again.
Dexter Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
1219
Elvis H.
Desoto, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/20/16
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mowers Direct
It's the best mower I ever had. It starts on the firsts pull.
Elvis Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
312
John S.
Howell, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/14/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Made Cutter
Have now used for one year and am very pleased. The personal Pace works great in corners and also when the wife is cutting. Mulching or bagging are great options very easily done. I would say Toro has a winner with this one. Will probably get one in Spring for my daughter.
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
817
Norman L.
Muscatine, IA
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro All Wheel Drive
We love this mower. The first time in years my wife has run a mower. She likes that personal pace all wheel drive.
Norman Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
817
Joe S.
Havelock, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/6/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Everything Plus
I purchased this mower for two reasons, to replace a rider that was worn out and had become a maintenance issue and as a means of exercise. I mow half an acre, centipede and St. Augustine, fairly level, good amount of flowers and shrubbery.

Mower is a piece of cake, the self drive feature is fabulous, I have learned to use the adjustments to make it a walk behind dream, excellent source of exercise, mows just as advertised, far more economical that the rider. Everything I had hoped for and... more
Joe Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
414
James Q.
Hixson, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/18/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower For Sloped Lawns
I have a steep ,sloped lawn. I have been looking at several AWD options to purchase. I am glad that I purchased this mower as it makes the mowing task much easier. So far the engines cranks with one or two pulls.
James Recommends This Toro Mower
James's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good experience"
 more
Was this review helpful?
212
Tim R.
Lafayette, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/3/16
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Disappointed In Mowers Direct.
First this is a great mower. I own a lawn company and we picked up a few lawns with hills. The mower works great! The other side is with the retailer.

I paid 429 for the mower, I went to Home Depot and they had it for 399. I purchased 4 more mowers from them. The problem I have is that I contacted mowers direct the same day as purchase asking for the refund.

This is the first contact mowers direct made with me. Go to Home Depot.
Tim Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
616
John M.
Zumbrota, MN
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Junk
Worked great the first year, then wouldn't start the second year.
John Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
First be sure to have your mower filled up with fresh gasoline. Old gas can also lead to problems starting. If you have last season's gas in your mower, drain your fuel tank and fill with fresh gas. Other possible causes include:
• Loose, Dirty or Disconnected Spark Plug in Your Lawn Mower: Check it out, clean off debris, re-connect and tighten.
• Dirty Air Filter: Clean or replace.
• Fuel Not Reaching the Engine: Tap the side of the carburetor to help the flow of gas. If this doesn't work, you might need a new fuel filter.

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing within three years of your purchase date and Toro will fix your unit for free per our warranty statement. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
1222
Jesse W.
Lenoir, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/10/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Right!!
I bought this online from Mowers Direct. It arrived in 3 days and was ready to go 15 minutes after I got it. It has worked perfectly and is easy to start and take care of. I give it 5 stars. one recommendation - - a holder for a cold brew on the handle for those hot days.

oh yeah :)
Jesse Recommends This Toro Mower
Jesse's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great service and great product - see above comments."
 more
Was this review helpful?
011
Bridget G.
Alexandria, VA
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Total Waste Of Money And Time - Only Aggravation
At purchase, the self-propel did not work properly. I had to drive an hour to a warranty repair shop to get it fixed. Mower was bulky and heavy and cut out very easily. After fighting with it for 5 years the engine blew, spewing foul-smelling smoke. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER TORO. I had to fight with customer service every step of the way.
Bridget Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bridget,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. Below are some tactics you can try to improve power loss during mowing:

• Dirty Air Filter on Your Lawn Mower: Clean or replace.
• Cutting Tall Grass: Raise the cutting height on your lawn mower
• Dirty Spark Plug: Clean or replace.
• Build Up of Clippings & Debris: Clean underside of your lawn mower deck

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
213
Kevin S.
Moundsville, WV
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Hillbilly Land
Mowers Direct is great in shipping, had no problem with that at all. Ordered it on a Tuesday, had it on Thursday.
The problem I had was the poor assembly of the mower.

The left rear wheel fell off the first time we used it, "Bolt came loose and fell off." Well I don't blame Mowers Direct for that at all but, if you get this mower, make damn sure ever thing is tight. Otherwise this mower proved itself as a hillside mower as we learned in WV that the smaller wheels hold better... more
Kevin Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
112
Jeff K.
Neptune, NJ
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Rocks
Super fast shipping and an easy ordering experience was a nice surprise for an out-of-state order. Good price and free shipping provided me with the incentive to order from Mowers Direct. After receiving the mower, it assembled easily and I was mowing in 20 minutes.

It doesn't have a primer bulb, but after 10 pulls, it started and didn't quit. The 2nd time, it started on the first pull. I'm a bagger so I haven't tried the mulching yet, but I plan to. It has a hose connector and washing... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
Jeff Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
214
Ben W.
Coleman, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/9/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mower
Best mower ever!
Ben Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
-112
Ace
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not Happy
Got my mower two years ago, have had trouble starting it all the time. Been told to use fresh gas less than 30 days old. I can drive to town for a quart of gas every time need to mow. Doubt if it has 10 hours of work and will not start "exseptable."
Ace Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ace,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. Since you have already tried using fresh non-ethanol gas, other possible starting causes include:

• Loose, Dirty or Disconnected Spark Plug in Your Lawn Mower: Check it out, clean off debris, re-connect and tighten.
• Dirty Air Filter: Clean or replace.
• Fuel Not Reaching the Engine: Tap the side of the carburetor to help the flow of gas. If this doesn't work, you might need a new fuel filter.

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
115
Joe F.
Longmont, CO
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Horrendous Job Of Mulching
This recycler mower does an absolutely terrible job of mulching the grass clippings. Clumps of grass are dumped on the lawn from the right side of the mower.

And grass clippings also accumulate on the rubber flap on the back, and are dumped on the lawn every time you turn around.

I bought this Toro mower based on how happy I was with the last 2 Toro mowers that I owned. They did an excellent job of mulching. But this new mower is a complete disappointment. Do not buy if you like to... more
Joe Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Joe,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. If you would like a truly spotless lawn we suggest that you bag your clippings rather than recycling them back into your lawn. If you do chose to mulch your clippings, ensure the grass is dry and that you are not cutting more than 1/3 of the grass height at one time for the best results.

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. This mower has a two year full warranty. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
019
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials