Free Shipping On Mowers (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Mowers Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Swisher FCE11544BS Trail Mower Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$1,549.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$1,599.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,508.39
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Swisher FCE11544BS Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (5)
Easy To Use (4)
Durable (3)
High Quality (2)
Quiet (1)
Cons
Loud (1)
Initially Missing A Swit... (1)
Durability (1)
Packaging (1)
Documentation needs impr... (1)
92% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
13 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Gary K.
Corvallis, MT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/11/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
The mower was well packed and in good condition. I have used it twice with very good results. I have 20 acres of old pasture land and the land is slightly rolling. This mower has worked perfectly so far. The electric start is the way to go.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Cons: None at this time.
Gary Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gary,
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you are pleased with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Thomas S.
Leeton, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/3/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I needed a mower to cut 2.5 acres. Lot is some what hilly. This mower performs like a dream. Hooked up to my ATV, it leaves the yard looking great.

Mower is designed for finish cutting. So, don't try to clear a new path in heavy thigh high weeds with it. I wound up ripping the belt when one of the blades got jammed in some tall weeds. This allowed me to do some maintenance that probably wouldn't normally be needed for a couple of years - putting on a new.belt. The documentation is not real... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Documentation needs improvement
Thomas Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Thomas,
We are happy to hear that you are pleased with your machine's performance. As mentioned, this mower is intended for grass, large lots and acreage. It is not intended for brush. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Samuel A.
Elma, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/22/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Decent Mower For The Price
This is a decent mower for the price. Make sure you grease the bearings in the wheels. After half a season, both wheels needed new bearings, but that was my fault. Also, I'm not sure how it happened, but the arm connecting the mower to my ATV is bent causing the mower to be off center.

I wish it was easier to move the position of the center arm. The nut/bolts are not easy to get to. There should be a quick release to change the position.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Difficult To Use, Packaging, Durability, Loud
Samuel Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Samuel,
Thanks for taking time to leave a review. Please feel free to contact us toll free at 800-222-8183 with any questions or concerns you have. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Samuel's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I liked Mowers Direct so much, as soon as I paid off my mower I made another purchase and I'm already looking at the next item I want. I am extremely pleased with the financing they offer through Affirm. It is a very convenient service."
 more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Samuel,
Thank you very much for your business. I am pleased to hear that our service has provided value to you, and we look forward to assisting you in the future.
Was this review helpful?
00
Clement S.
Gold Hill, OR
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Good Mower!
I usually don't like to review an item until I have used it for a while. I bought this mower 3 years ago, so I figured it was time to comment about it. This Swisher Trail Mower is a replacement of an earlier similar Swisher model which I owned and used for more than 7 years. The earlier one had a few issues but nothing serious. I had to replace the belt a couple of times. This wasn't a real simple task to do. Mostly it was hard to start at times. I upgraded mainly because I wanted the electric... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Durable
Clement Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Clement,
Thanks for taking time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you are still pleased with your purchase after all these years. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Doug T.
Rapid City, SD
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
All Is Well That Ends Well.
I am motivated to amend my review, as we did get the mower going. It was missing a switch in the front of the tongue (possibly removed in the warehouse or something) Once the switch was shipped, everything works well now. There are so many Swisher models, that we could not communicate and find out easily the reason it would not start. Persistence and photos and many phone calls, finally identified the problem - no switch. The mower does work well and I can recommend it to others.
Pros: Features, Quiet, Fast
Cons: Initially Missing A Switch
Doug Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Doug,
Thank you very much for the revised review. Swisher's goal is to make sure each customer is completely satisfied. If we can be of further assistance, please let us know.
more
Was this review helpful?
111
Pat Stapleton
High Ridge, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/1/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mower Won't Start
This is a great mower, does a beautiful cut. The issue with the mower not starting was paint on the frame where the ground was connected. After taking the cable off and removing the excess paint it started right away. I have used it about 3 times now. It cut great, even thru some tall grass, one tuff mower. Maybe the issue with the ground cable should be address in the trouble shooting section of the manual.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Pat Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Pat,
Thank you for revising your previous review. We are happy that we resolved your issue. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Bryan E.
Clovis, NM
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/5/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I bought this mower to tow behind my ATV. Functionally it tows easily and provides a great cut. It started easily out of the crate. My only caution is that assembling the tow bar to the mower is a bit tricky- the nuts go under the mount and the clearance for assembly is minimal. If you want to frequently change the position of the tow bar to the mount (straight tow to offset tow), it will be time consuming. The tow bar mount to the ATV hitch is at its lowest setting and it needs more to be... more
Bryan Recommends This Swisher Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Ronnie W.
Glade Valley, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/10/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Time Saver
My new Swisher trail mower works very well in tandem with my lawn tractor. It saves me a lot of time on large, open areas. Smaller areas with obstacles are better suited for the lawn tractor alone.
Ronnie Recommends This Swisher Mower
Was this review helpful?
41
David M.
Hillsdale, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/14/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Rough Start
Arrived in good shape - no apparent damage. After removing crate found one air filter lock tabs broken. At first starter would not work. Found too much paint on ground wire. After scraping paint off ground connection surface, mower started and ran beautiful.
David Recommends This Swisher Mower
David's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"A little wait while check clears, but overall great service"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Linden R.
Lexington, KY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/19/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cut Down On Mowing Time.
Love the new Swisher. Has really cut down my mowing time, almost in half! The only thing I don't care for, is the small diameter hitch pin. Other than that, plain awesome.
Linden Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Linden,
We are happy to hear you are pleased with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Pat S.
High Ridge, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/1/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Mower Won't Start
Mower was delivered in good condition. After buying the recommended battery and charging it overnight, nothing happens when I turn the key. I checked all connections, and still nothing.

I thought the battery was the problem, so I went and bought another battery and it still won't crank - very frustrating. Stuck with a mower I can't get going. This is the second swisher tow-behind mower I have owned, and I never had this problem with the first one.
Pat Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Pat,
Sorry to hear about the mower. I would recommend contacting a local dealer which will honor the warranty of this mower. Do you have a center local to you, or would you like us to find one for you? If you need assistance, please give us a call so we can help.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Pat,
We will be reaching out to you soon to determine the cause of this issue. Or feel free to contact us toll free at 800-222-8183. UPDATE 6/14/16 - Pat, we have been trying to contact you but can't get through. Please call us toll free at 800-222-8183 so we can fix your problem.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Paul R.
Florissant, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/7/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Pleased So Far . . . .
I have 5 acres 1.5 hours away to mow. I generally go once a week so mowing while there is important. My brother bought a zero turn type for I guess over $10,000 or so. Not in my wheel house. I have a 06 Cub Cadet with a Kohler motor . . . I love those motors ! All to say in the very short time 2 trips to mow all has done quite well.

I've seldom been able to mow it all on a trip but I was able to on those trips. I've planted lots of trees for shade for my grandchildren also a few... more
Paul Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Paul,
Thank you for the positive review. We are sure you will be pleased for years to come. Thanks for choosing Swisher!
more
Paul's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Hard to say more than I have. All works so far. I wonder whether the connection to the Cub Cadet will hold up."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Tom G.
Sioux City, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/26/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Rugged Mower.
My wife and I pull this with a Yamaha 350 Grizzly on a 5 acre tract of land. ( Not all mow-able) unit works real good. Sometimes after initial start and mowing with it for an hour or so, unit will not restart!?

However if I remove wire from kill switch, reattach it, the mower will start. Not sure if this is a coincidence or not. Settings on throttle ( on motor) could be better marked.
Otherwise really happy with it!
Tom Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tom,
Thank you for the feedback. We will be contacting you to troubleshoot the starting issues you are experiencing. We are happy you are pleased with the overall performance of your machine. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Tom's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Very accurate with delivery schedule."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials