Free Shipping On Mowers (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

Husqvarna Z254 Zero Turn Lawn Mower Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$2,999.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$3,049.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$3,287.22
(as of 12:07 CST - Details)
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Husqvarna 967 27 17-01 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (21)
Price (18)
I'd Buy It Again (15)
High Quality (11)
Fast (8)
Cons
Packaging (5)
Heavy (3)
Needs a gas gauge (1)
Difficult To Use (1)
Bad steering set up (1)
89% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
27 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Mower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
90 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
14420 Helpful Votes
Mowers Direct Recommended

The Husqvarna Z254 zero turn riding mower offers a 54-inch wide mower deck so you can handle those wide open spaces in a lot less time. About half the time that you are spending now to mow your yard!

The Husqvarna Z254 is designed for large yards of 2 acres or more. This grass mowing monster is ideal for large open spaces when power and durability are necessary.

Rugged and reliable, the Husqvarna Z254 features a 23hp Kawasaki® V-Twin engine, oversized tires, and a 15-inch sliding seat... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
46299
Charles S
Deland, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/28/17
Total Helpful Votes
23 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower For A Great Price!
This is my first ZTR so I'm still getting the hang of it, but it literally runs rings around my old tractor type. It is the quality I expect from Husqvarna and love it so far.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Fast, High Quality
Cons: Packaging, Was a real production getting out of packing crate
Charles Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
233
Dean M.
Westport, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/11/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not That Good, Used It 2 Times And Belt Came Off 2 Times
Its not that good.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Dean,
Sorry to hear about your mower experience. Please reference page 25 in the owner's manual regarding V-Belts and Deck belts. If you're still having issues, you'll have to contact a local service center. You can find one here...Husqvarna Dealer Locator
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jon W.
Axtell, NE
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/11/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Great mower with a great price!!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Cons: Packaging
Jon Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Fred N.
Evanston, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/24/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Bad
Discharge chute made of a plastic that is not flexible enough. It is brittle and cracked within a week.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: plastic body brittle, plastic discharge brittle, very loud
Fred Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Rita W.
Springdale, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/30/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Everyone loves it. Easy to operate.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Cons: Packaging, Heavy
Rita Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Rita's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Purchase on line was easy."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry O.
Camden, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/9/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
1st Time User Built Solid
This is fun to drive and mows my yard faster than my old lawn tractor. Took a little while to get used to it but my yard is big enough for me to practice on
Pros: Price, High Quality, Fast, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Larry Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Larry's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Customer service was helpful. Great price and fast shipping"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Justin
Grand Blanc, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/19/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product But..
Very powerful and cuts great
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Packaging, Shipping company was horrible
Justin Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Amador D.
Greenville, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/9/17
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Was Simple To Assemble
And I used it right away out of the box! Works and maneuvers great! It has cut my mowing time almost in half
Amador Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
120
Gregory P
Laurelville, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/6/17
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Mower For Less
Very nice mower for the price. It cuts very well. I purchased the arm rests, hitch, single front LED light, and it all was very easy to install. I also purchased the mulching kit, but have yet to install/use it. The blades on it do very well. Visible clippings are minimal if you mow a bit slower than 6.5 MPH. It was easy to put together, but you'll likely need an extra hand unloading it from the crate. I can blow off the mower easily and the deck cleaning attachment for a garden hose works... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Gregory Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Gregory's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct and the shipping carrier were great!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
110
Anthony K
Sheridan, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/4/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Should Have Done This Sooner!
Paid $1700 for another brand of rider which mulched so poorly that I have used a self propelled instead. This meant that I had to do a section almost every day to keep up. With this mower I can do the job in a third of the time. I should have used the push mower for header strips the first time to get the hang of it. Now, though that isn't necessary although there are areas I still have to use the walk behind on. No big deal..
Pros: Price, Fast, High Quality, Features
Anthony Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
111
David C
Waco, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/9/17
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Mower
This is my first zero turn mower, I checked the reviews on multiple zero turns of the same price range and found this one to be the best, so I purchased it. I haven't used it but a couple of times but seems to be a quality product
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Cons: Needs a gas gauge
David Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
112
Robert A
Morrison, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/10/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
Came well packed to say the least. After getting the mower off the pallet it took about 45 minutes to assemble. Started cutting the grass immediately after. Mower powered through ankle high grass like nothing and in half the time. Great machine so far.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, High Quality, Fast
Robert Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Robert's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Seamless transaction. Everything went as described. I would definitely get the lift gate service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
90
Bill M
Leon County, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/11/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Choice For The Price
I was pleasantly surprised with the short shipping time. I was looking at used ZTs when I saw the price on this one. Why buy used if new only costs a couple of hundred more? This is a strong mower and I can mow my acreage faster than advertised.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Bill Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
90
Tony L.
Wilmington, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/24/17
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Mower For The Price
My last mower was a Cub Cadet 50 inch zero turn. Although this mower works great - besides the steering not lining up - I wish I would have bought another Cub Cadet, seems like a better mower than this.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Cons: Difficult To Use, Bad steering set up
Tony's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mower was shipped within hours of purchasing."
 more
Was this review helpful?
157
Sabrina W
Ozark, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/5/17
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Would Buy Through Mowers Direct Again
The mower (once uncrated) just needed a few attachments and then it was ready to mow, I am very happy with the mower and the purchase and delivery process which included a lot of communication.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Sabrina Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
70
William C
Chase City, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/26/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Z254 (54") 23hp Kawasaki Zt Works Great
Very time consuming getting it out of the crate. There are more staples than wood. Didn't want to burn the wood because of the pile of staples it would leave in the ashes. Mower worked extremely well. Bicycle like steering is simple and extremely responsive. On the fly speed changes are a plus. Very powerful and very fast. Goes through gas at a pretty good clip but again this is relative. I had been using a 15.5HP tractor mower with a 42" deck and in terms of time and quality, the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Fast, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy, Packaging
William Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Arthur F
Redwood, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/9/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Husqvarna
I received mower undamaged. I was mowing within one hour. After removing crate, I only had to attach seat, connect control bars, put gas n it, and snap a wire harness together. It started immediately my 1st attempt and off I went ! I mowed my 2 acre yard in 1 hour and 50 minutes. This took close to 4 hours with my old mower. It drove smoothly, turned sharply, and allowed me to do more trimming, which saved time also. I like the larger( 31/2 ) gallon gas tank. I watched a video on how to drive a... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Fast, Quiet, Light Weight
Arthur Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Richard G
Bentonville, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/25/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love It
Great product but one problem when they shipped it to me they didn't put any grease in the spindles. I don't understand how they forgot to do that. But overall I really like it!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Richard Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Valdo S
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/12/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower I Ever Had!!
I had it for about two months! I really like it ! It really does the job!! I also own a craftsman riding mower same size and this one cuts twice as fast! I will buy it again!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Valdo Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Joseph P
Alden, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/5/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
After removing from crate it was an easy assembly. I added gas and it started up easily. took me a little while to learn the steering but it mows great. I was worried about small hills but has handled them really well. compared to old mower this one is very good on gas. my only dislike is the oversized discharge chute.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price
Cons: loud
Joseph Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Joseph's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"processing went smooth. would buy online again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Larry S
Attalla, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/31/17
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Mower
Great mower!
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast, High Quality
Larry Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Larry's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"All aspects of transaction as described.Very happy with Mowers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
53
Roy B
Greenfield, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/11/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy
Quick assembly, ez maintenance, like the power steering, better ride.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet
Roy Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Roy's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Made it EZ to pick & choose.!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Bobby C
Sparta, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/17/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Have Used The Mower And Am Very Well Pleased.
The mower is well built, easy to use, does an excellent job. Has cut my mowing time by more than 1/2!!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Bobby Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Bobby's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mower was delivered promptly, as promised. Have not had any problems with mower. has cut mowing time from 21/2 hrs to slightly over 1 hr."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Annamarie H
Peru, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/25/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Mower
My husband loves his new Husqvarna Z254 (54") 23HP Kawasaki Zero Turn Lawn Mower, when he can get on it, as my son loves to cut the grass now.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Annamarie Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Annamarie's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have told everyone about Mowers Direct."
 more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Annamarie,
Thank you for the kind words! If you ever have any questions, please do not hesitate to give us a call. We are here to help folks just like you. Thanks again for your business and happy mowing!
Was this review helpful?
21
Tom L
Hillsborough, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/27/17
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not For Hilly Terrain
I bought this because Mowers Direct has listed as good for hilly yard. Not true!! I have a incline that the mower slides down. So now I have a mower that won't work in my yard. I hope I can change my tires to solve this problem. Sorry but I'm not happy..
Pros: Price
Cons: Will not get traction on any incline
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Tom,
I do apologize for the issues you've experienced with your mower. I understand how frustrating it can be when a piece of equipment doesn't work exactly as expected. If your property has inclines that are too steep then the mower will not be able to handle. Additionally, if you mow in wet conditions, that will also reduce traction on the hills. Thank you for your business and if you have any questions please reach out to us. I hope you have a great day.
more
Was this review helpful?
1617
Adrian H
Lewisburg, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/25/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Overall Happy
Mowers Direct was easy to do business with, shipping was very fast and easy. Right off of the skid the mower wasn't ready to cut, would not go in a straight line, went faster in reverse than it would go forward, and after playing around with it a little bit fixing the problems and making a few adjustments it seems to run pretty good. It could go a little faster but overall I love it, I wish more companies would go with the joystick control like Snapper. And they should come ready to cut but I... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Adrian Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
2831
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials