Free Shipping On Mowers (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Mowers Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Husqvarna HU700AWD Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Husqvarna 961 45 00-20 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Price (20)
I'd Buy It Again (15)
Easy To Use (13)
Reliable (8)
Fast (8)
Cons
Heavy (3)
Difficult To Use (3)
Packaging (2)
Get better shipper (1)
Unreliable (1)
87% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
31 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jeffrey C.
Meriden, CT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/7/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Mower!
I ordered the Husky (HU700) to replace an older Craftsman rear drive model, the difference is night & day! The all wheel drive of this Husky mower and it's "boringly reliable" Honda engine is a powerful combination!

I use the mowers mulch feature and it does an amazing job in one pass! The all wheel drive is simply outstanding! Highly recommend!!!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Fast, Exceeded Expectations
Jeffrey Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Jeffrey's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"On my second purchase from "Direct" (Snowblowers & Lawnmowers), the shipping was very fast and both products are top of the line. They even offer a financing option that makes larger purchases much easier to handle. Look everywhere else then come back to Direct to purchase!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Bob H
Middletown, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/16/17
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Mower
Not user friendly. AWD is awful. Mower pops wheelies. Very hard to turn. Very hard to control speed. Poor on hills. Cuts great. Starts well. Don't/Never buy any outdoor equipment online.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, Bad Instructions, Would never buy again
Bob Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Bob,
I am very sorry to hear about the issues that you are experiencing with your mower. Based on the emails you submitted, it seems that the AWD is the biggest problem. If you feel that this is a manufacturing issue, please contact Husqvarna directly to receive repairs at no charge under warranty. We have sent you the dealer locator but would be able to assist with locating one near you if you need help. A dealer may be able to disengage the AWD. Unfortunately once the mower has been gassed and run we cannot accept a return due to Federal regulations. I understand your frustration with your purchase, however all power equipment dealers are subject to the same laws, regardless of selling online or in store. As the mower is not defective, the only solution is to take it to a certified repair center. Please give us a call if you have any questions and we will do our best to help. Thank you and I hope you have a great day.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Edgar R.
Franklin, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/29/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is My First Mowing Machine, Its Awesome.
Easy to use, and quiet.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Reliable, Fast
Edgar Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Edgar's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jonathan M.
Fonda, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/3/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
All Wheel Drive Mower
Easy to assemble. One wheel adjuster was broke and one handle bracket was bent when arrived. Mower started right away and has plenty of power.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: Packaging
Jonathan Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Clay S.
Virginia Beach, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/28/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Lawn Mower
Prompt delivery, great price, easy set up and very functional machine!
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: None
Clay Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark D
Liberal, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/2/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Happy
I researched mowers for a long long time before I bought this one. I have been very impressed so far after five mowings. The all-wheel-drive is great even though my yard is flat. I notice a good difference over my front wheel drive mower. I have used it for mulching only, and it has worked very well. Some of my fescue grass was five or 6 inches tall yet was no problem. The only small negative I can think of is sometimes you have to push it forward a little bit before you can pull it... more
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, High Quality
Cons: Pulling backwards
Mark Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Mark's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very easy to buy from and can't beat the free shipping"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Bruce T
Wichita, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/6/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Hu700awd - Great Value
This was my first self propelled mower so I did quite a bit of research. I kept coming back to this one then found it on clearance at Mowers Direct. The initial build quality of this mower seems to be quite good, it starts on the first pull, has all wheel drive and a Honda motor. Once you get through the minor learning curve of a self propelled you will be hooked. Great mower, price and supplier.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Durable
Bruce Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Bruce's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This is my first time using Mowers Direct. It was a great price and transaction!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Donald D
Canfield, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/7/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Makes Mowing Much Easier!
Exactly what we were looking for -- the all wheel drive is so efficient. For the price it has all the features we needed and more. Highly recommend!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Donald Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Ray M
Clarence Ctr, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/5/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Lots Of Power And Easy Start
Lot of power. Very heavy
Pros: Price, Lots of power for heavy grass
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, Wheels lock when coming out of self propelled making it hard to m
Ray Does Not Recommend This Mower
Ray's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great service. Fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian M
Sioux Falls, SD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/29/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Top Notch So Far
Very happy with this purchase. AWD is awesome. Will never buy anything else again. Arrived packed really well. Installed the handle with two hand tighten knobs and added oil & gas and I was up and running. Took about 20 minutes to unpack, assemble handle, add oil and gas and start mowing. I have berms on two sides of my property 3 feet tall and pretty steep. This mower handles them easily. Used it 4 or 5 times so far and runs excellent with no problems. Shipping was really much... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Reliable, Features
Brian Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Mary S
Eighty Fiourso Far I Am Satisfie, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/4/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Mower Is Great!!
I am very pleased with my purchase!! I was reluctant to order a lawn mower on line but my experience was very good. It arrived on time. Very easy to assemble. Only problem was the first time I cut grass I had a very hard time squeezing the 2 handles. Wish it was a bar to hold onto. I loosened the bolt by hand on the cable and it is much better. I called customer service and they were helpful. It is a heavy lawn mower but seems to have lots of power.
Pros: Price
Mary Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Mary's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"So far I am satisfied with my purchase."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Orville C
Monmouth, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/29/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Product
Very satisfied with the total experience - great mower
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Orville Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Orville's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy and quick service"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Douglas T
Melrose, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/22/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best Mower I've Purchased To Date
I've had front wheel drive & rear wheel drive mowers but this new All Wheel drive serves my needs the BEST. The changing elevation of my large lot proves to be no challenge for this mower. I actually mow in less time and that gives me more time to enjoy my weekends!
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, High Quality, Features
Douglas Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Douglas,
Thanks for leaving the review and I'm so pleased to hear that your weekends just got a little bit longer! If you ever have any questions regarding your machine, please give us a call and we will do our best to assist. Thank you as always for your business and happy mowing!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
James G
Chittenango, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/22/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower - Arrival Condition Not So Great
This is a great mower and is exactly what i needed for my side yard. We removed a pool from that area and planted grass. Due to health problems, this area became too much to handle with a push mower. The Husqvarna was perfect for this job. My only problem was that the mower arrived with the bottom right hand handle bracket was severely bent. I had to turn the bolt and the wing-nut around to get the handle on. As a result, I only had one height to mow with.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Fast, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Packaging
James Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
James,
I am very sorry to hear about the shipping issue you encountered. We will pass your comments along and work to improve with our shipping partners. Thank you very much for your business and please give us a call if you have any questions arise in the future.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary J
Edmond, OK
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/23/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing
Very easy set up right out of the box. Started on the first pull. So far, extremely satisfied.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Gary Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Gary's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very customer friendly website. Easy checkout and very fast delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gregg H
Carnegie, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/24/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Seems Like A Quality Machine For The Money
Mower does excellent job with mulching. Had it about a month and four mows. So far so good.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use
Gregg Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Gregg's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy purchase. Fast delivery"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tim M
Racine, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/20/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Mower
This mower was better than expected - especially performance!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Reliable, Quiet
Tim's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast, accurate order processing and rapid shipping. Thank you for a great experience!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brett S
Omaha, NE
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/12/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower No Doubt
The delivery guy was carrying my mower upside down and when he the left front wheel adjuster was bent, so I had to take the wheel off and bend it back into place. But once that was done, it's been a great mower
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Use, High Quality
Cons: Get better shipper
Brett Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Dale S
Lehi, UT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/17/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Well
I wish it had a clutch on the blade so I wouldn't have to restart each time I empty the bag.
Pros: Reliable, Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy
Dale Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Stanley B
Arnold, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/12/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Mower
I have had many mowers in my 77 years. This one is the best of them all. The controls are ergonomic and the engine is easy to start with minimal vibration. The four wheel drive effortlessly negotiates my angled back lawn and the mulching feature astonished me. Controlling the speed makes it easy for just about anyone to use.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Stanley Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph P
Ocala, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/13/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Product Opinion
In areas where I used to have to push my old front wheel drive mower, I now just walk behind my new mower without having to push it at all. It's a great mower.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Joseph Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Carolyn Bo
Helena, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/11/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Perfect Mower
This mower is every mower's dream. It is very efficient and mows with such ease. All a person has to do is guide the mower. It is the perfect mower.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Fast, Easy To Use
Carolyn Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Carolyn's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This was an excellent transaction, with no trouble involved."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Andrew P.
Morrisville, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/17/17
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Mower For The Price
This was easily assembled from the box. The Honda motor starts easily and is surprisingly powerful for 160 cc engine. AWD is superior to my previous 2WD mower. Clippings are finely mulched even when using collection bag.

Overall: exceptional performance/quality for relatively inexpensive mower.
Pros: Price, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Andrew Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Andrew's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Have purchased two bulky items. Each was shipped at no cost and delivered to my door before expected. The product ratings and comparisons are very helpful. Overall: very professional and cost competitive."
 more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Andrew,
Thanks for the kind words, Andrew! It always makes me happy to see folks that are pleased with our service and their purchases. Thanks for your business and if you have any questions that come up in the future - you know who to call!
Was this review helpful?
11
Brian
Dartmouth, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/1/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Mower, But
Easiest starting mower ever, only problem the wheels don't always disengage when you release the drive. They lock up kind of a pain in the butt.
Pros: Price, Fast, Quiet
Cons: Difficult To Use, Unreliable
Brian Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Brian,
I'd suggest contacting Husqvarna for troubleshooting suggestion on this mower. They can be reached directly @ 800-487-5951.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Frank C
Mansfield, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/1/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Very Disappointed
Upon initial startup I discovered my mower will start but surges and shuts down after about a minute then will not start again for a while. I was told by Mowers Direct that they could not replace it because I had put gas in it... How else was I supposed to find out if it worked? They told me I had to bring it to a certified repair facility. So basically I paid $380 for a mower that doesn't run and now have to wait 4-6 weeks to have it repaired. Real happy with my purchase!
Cons: Doesn't run
Frank Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Frank,
I apologize for the issues that you are experiencing with your mower. Unfortunately due to Federal regulations, we are unable to accept returns on machines that have been gassed and oiled. The next step to troubleshooting your unit is to have it taken to a certified repair center so that they can diagnose any problems. If the unit can be repaired under warranty, there will be no additional cost to you. If you need assistance locating a certified repair center, please follow this link: Husqvarna Repair Center Locator Tool If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please give us a call and we will do our best to help. Thank you very much for your business and I hope you have a great day.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Brian S.
Prosper, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/23/17
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Starts Easy....mowed Great
Easy to put together....maybe 5 minutes max. Starts easy and mows great. I bought this because my son is going to start mowing our grass and we have a hill on the front of the yard. I had hoped the 4WD would make small work of the hill but haven't noticed any difference. It's a great running lawn mower and cuts the grass as it should. Happy with my purchase and will buy from mowers direct again in the future. Hopefully far away future.
Pros: Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Brian Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
02
Jimmy S.
Bossier City, LA
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Customer
The mower arrived and I took it out of the box, put oil and fuel in it. 3 pull later it cranked right up! Build is of very good quality. This has a lot of power and the 4 wheel drive is great. I am very satisfied with this mower.
Pros: Durable, Price, Fast, High Quality
Jimmy Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Jimmy,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased to hear that the mower is performing to your expectations. If you have any questions about your purchase, please do not hesitate to give us a call. We are here to help folks just like you make the best purchasing decision possible. Thank you again for your business and I hope to deal with you again in the future. Have a great day!
more
Jimmy's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"They did what they said they would do. I am very happy with Mowers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
04
Dannie E.
Gate City, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/10/15
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Almost Smooth With Some Splinters
Delivery was quick. Shipped via FedEx. Ordered on Friday, received on Tuesday.

Unpacked mower and handle setup went smoothly. I am using mower configured as a side discharge mower so I can't comment on the grass catcher or mulcher aspects.

When I was adjusting the wheel height I found that the adjuster handle on the left rear wheel height adjuster had the plastic curved top broken off. I found it in the bottom of the box later – very disappointed. I think the grass catcher laying on top... more
Dannie Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
5143
Kenneth B.
Mobile, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 12/15/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Christmas Present
My 16 year old wanted this mower for Christmas, after talking to a friend in lawn care that has used one I ordered it. It shipped fast and received it well in time for Christmas. I made my son take it out of the box, read the directions and get it ready for use. It was very easy to assemble and he seems to really likes it.
Kenneth Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Kenneth's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Had to call Mowers Direct because I entered my email address wrong. Very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
45
Perry W.
Sandy, UT
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Didn't Even Make It A Season Before The Drive Went Out
I purchased my mower at a big box store in March. I mow my lawn once or twice a week. Today while mowing I let off the drive lever to turn a corner, depressed the lever again and whammy! No more drive. What a piece of garbage. Don't buy this unless you want to take it to the shop every 6 months to get the drive belt fixed. I'm not impressed. The drive never did seem to work right.
Perry Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Perry,
I apologize for the inconvenience.

Please take your mower to the authorized service center of your choice and any defects in materials or workmanship will be repaired at no cost to you.
more
Was this review helpful?
34
Donald K.
Milan, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/24/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Transaction
I purchased my mower online and had it up and running in 2 days. This is the best mower I've owned in over 30 years, I am very please and would recommend the product and Mowers Direct to all. They also had the best price out there!! NO NEED TO LOOK ANYWHERE ELSE.
Donald Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
45
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials