Free Shipping On Mowers (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Mowers Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Husqvarna LGT2654 Lawn Tractor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$2,399.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$2,449.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$2,399.95
(as of 07:47 CST - Details)
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$2,673.69
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Husqvarna 960 43 01-83 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
3/5
Performance
3/5
Value
3/5
Overall
3.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (7)
Reliable (5)
None (5)
Durable (5)
Price (4)
Cons
Unreliable (5)
Low Quality (4)
Bad Instructions (2)
Parts Wear Out Easily An... (1)
No Cons (1)
52% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
29 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Mower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
90 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
15034 Helpful Votes
Mowers Direct Recommended

The Husqvarna LGT2654 lawn tractor is a high performance machine that doesn’t come with the large price tag you might expect from a tractor in this category. This LGT2654 model will handle most everyday jobs and provides true year-round versatility.

The Husqvarna LGT2654 lawn tractor features a powerful Kohler 26HP V-Twin engine. Smooth, powerful, and reliable performance is on demand for whatever the job may be, like cutting through thicker grass or hauling bigger loads.

The Husqvarna... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
29697
Tools In Action

Tools In Action
Total Reviews
38 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
482 Helpful Votes
Husqvarna Lgt 2654 Garden Tractor
Recently we got to test out a Husqvarna LGT 2654. The LGT 2654 is powered by an easy to maintain 26hp Kohler courage engine. The engine has plenty of power to propel the 3 bladed 54&#8243; air induction deck through the tallest of grass. This is a hydrostatic tractor that is controlled by a lever not a foot switch. In areas when you need to precisely control your speed you will have to take one hand off of the steering wheel. Also when cutting on rough terrain the handle has a tendency... more
Tools Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
7412
Tim M
Redding, CA
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Great
Pretty Simple. I am a retired automotive technician, Spent 40 years in the trade so I feel I have great eye for engineering, mechanical serviceability, and the little noticed features that make a great machine.

We bought ours after a great deal of comparisons and research. We mow 10 acres of uneven ground with lots of obstacles and tall grass varieties. It takes us right at 45 hours a year to mow to accomplish the par 3 golf course look, mowing approximately 3 times in the spring.

I do... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Reliable, Features
Cons: none
Tim Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
52
Steve H.
Harmony, ME
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Made A Change To Trans
Bought this because of the long lasting deck. The trans broke both axles one year after the warranty. Did research and found out that the key way is cut too long out the back of the wheel, which breaks at the end of key way cut. So back to the net for a fix.

I found that the Cub Cadet was the same with trans, but no key way or high price to replace. $1500.00 from Husqvarna. Cub cadet new one $289.00 eBay then bought wheels to fit, no more key way and more clearance from frame.

The... more
Was this review helpful?
113
Larry B.
Hot Springs National Park, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/19/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I gave 4 stars on features because I wish it had a fuel Gauge and it could have been a little cheaper in price. But all in all a good value for the money.

I like the large fuel tank (4 Gal) and the flush port on the mower deck.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Reliable, Fast
Larry Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert M.
Chandler, TX
REVIEWED
JAN.
15
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Problem Throwing Off Belt When Engage Blades
Tractor is great, deck is the issue. I've had it for 6 months, and I've gone through 2 belts due to the belt coming off during blade pto 54 inch vut
Pros: None
Cons: Unreliable
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
If you are experiencing issues with your deck belt coming off please take your tractor along with receipt to an authorized service center for warranty evaluation where any defects in materials or manufacturing will be repaired at no cost to you. I have included a link to find your nearest authorized service center below.

http://www.husqvarna.com/us/dealer-locator/
more
Was this review helpful?
32
John M.
Bardstown, KY
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Mine Sucks
Mine sucks. I purchased mower at the end of March. The first time I had to take it to the service center it only had 22 hours on it. They informed me that it had the wrong spark plug in it. Two weeks later it's in the shop again with only 34 hours on it. I spoke with the guys this morning and he informed me that the engine coil was bad and it was only running off of one cylinder. This lawn mower is not what I thought it would be. I'm not happy with it and I definitely would not recommend it.... more
Pros: None
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Expensive, POS
Was this review helpful?
01
Mark M.
Wayland, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/23/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good Product
I like the mower, however I did not know when I bought it (on line) that the hydrostatic drive is operated by handle not by foot controls. Not very convenient at all but overall happy with mower.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable, Quiet
Cons: features
Mark Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Joan D
Pineland, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/26/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
It is my second Husqvarna and it did the job I got it for. The mower went together easy and it is a great machine.
Pros: Easy To Store, Price, High Quality
Joan Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
12
Tim K
Montgomery, TX
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Biggest Bang For The Buck
I bought my LGT2654 tractor in April 2007. I did a lot of research on features and pricing. Even without the super buy I got it was priced lowest for comparable tractors. I am not criticizing Kohler engines but mine has is the 26HP Briggs & Stratton engine which I am very happy with. Kohler makes a good engine and I have one on another piece of equipment so I trust their quality too. The whole tractor is solid and has been for 10 years will minimal care. I have only changed the oil &... more
Pros: Durable, Price, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Not the best in tall field grass with strngy blades
Tim Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
12
Gary H
Livonia, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/10/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Yard Tractor
So far this has been a great little yard tractor. It's a little bigger that a regular riding lawn mower. It's big enough to handle most yard work such as plowing snow and pulling a yard wagon. I have the mulching blades on it and it cuts pretty good. So far I am very happy with my new Yard Tractor.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging
Gary Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Gary's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I had a great experience with Mowers Direct. The staff was very helpful. I will buy from you again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
Cully T.
Poplar Grove, IL
Total Helpful Votes
55 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
No Traction On Hilly Terrain!
Did a lot of research before buying, lawn has a few small hills and this unit is not engineered for use on hills. I experience loss of traction while doing a slight turn on inclines. I have reduced tire air pressure but did not seem to improve. One could not ask for a better cut flat, neighbor purchased a Cub Cadet and his lawn has a narrow line near center of cut zone. Quality is good no visible wires exposure like on John Deere tractors. Overall pleased except for the traction concerns.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality, Bad Instructions
Cully Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
5514
Pete
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Be Very Careful
This is not a garden tractor! I know Husqvarna markets this as a garden unit (even the review calls it a garden tractor) but it is nowhere near the built quality needed to qualify. The tractors issue stems from it's use of a Tuff-Torq K49 transaxle. This is the cheapest that Tuff-Torq makes and it it shows up in all tractors sold at the big box stores.

This transaxle is fine for flat, smooth lawns but throw in some hills and you'll have issues. This tractor is know to snap axles and also... more
Was this review helpful?
282
Mike M.
Sioux City, IA
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Lacks Power
I bought a new LGT 24k54 Riding mower. After about 30 minutes of mowing, the mower will not traverse hills. No power on inclines of about 30 degrees. Just talked to a rep and she said this mower is not intended to go over 15 degree inclines. If you live on an acreage with hills, buy a Craftsman.
Was this review helpful?
223
Don
Oklahoma City, OK
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Wears Out Center Blade Mandrel
I've had this model for 5 years and each year it gets worse. I'm now on my 3rd . Mandrel this summer ,"4th cutting". At my local repair shop I can buy the mandrel and pulley for $80.00 but I'm getting tired of that expense . The problem is the pulley and the teeth on the shaft "round out" causing it to free spin . I'm trying to finish this season and I'll get me a different brand next spring..
Pros: Easy To Store, Easy To Use
Cons: Unreliable, Parts Wear Out Easily And Expensive To Replace
Was this review helpful?
192
Rudy B.
Winston Salem, NC
REVIEWED
OCT.
18
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
I Dont Think The Guys Who Designed This Have Ever Cut Grass.
I bought my tractor last spring 2014 and it is the worst tractor I have ever owned. I can not engage the blades while sitting in grass, I have to go to the pavement to get the blades engaged or the engine stalls. There is a lever on both sides of the seat that makes it difficult to get off the tractor. The brake pedal is on the left side, who brakes with their left foot?

The mandrel in the center of the deck has already broken and you will see that complaint in other reviews, $80 for parts... more
Was this review helpful?
194
Scott B.
Huntsville, AL
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best I Have Ever Owned!!!!!
I have had my Husqvarna for a year now and it proved it self to be dependable and hard working on tough jobs. I do have to watch for high power starts. It has a kick.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: No Cons
Scott Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
152
Jim
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Just purchased this through Lowe's. They delivered it to our home, and the two gentlemen unloaded and went through all questions and basic info. We have just purchased our retirement home in Southern Missouri with close to 3 acres to keep mowed.

What a pleasure to operate, and what a great finish. Did all my homework, very flat area, wonderfully to just cruse thru the biggest chore of lawn care. My wife even loves using this machine. Can't say enough.
Jim Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
165
Mike T.
Ashland City, TN
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Tractor.
Bought this tractor about a month ago and it's cut my fields (about 3 acres) very well. Grass has been high (about 1.5 ft), and it mows it without slowing down. So far, it's living up to my expectations.
Mike Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Mike's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No problems. Everything shipped fast, and the equipment was just fine. It ran right out of the box."
 more
Was this review helpful?
102
Glenn L. M.
Sparta, TN
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Too Slow
Slow and very slow when backing..
Was this review helpful?
103
Brian
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Don't Buy Junky Husqvarna Tractors!!!!
I bought mine in may of 2015 an the frame broke an it was dwn 6 weeks an they welded it in 30 minutes. The next problem is the hydrostatic Trans is out now. I changed the drive belt an didn't fix it so off to the shop again. Only got 135 hrs on it am 95%of my land is level.
Was this review helpful?
104
Chris H.
Spiceland, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Happy
This mower is proving its self to be useless . It has 14 hours on it and the transmission cruise control does not stay where I put it so I have to constantly hold the lever while mowing.

Another issue is the engine overheats and causes vapor lock every 45 minutes of use so I have to let it cool to continue mowing , with 4.85 acres it takes a long time to mow.

The Husqvarna a GT2454 lasted 10 years and mowed 14 acres a week , this one already has excessive engine noise and won't make it a... more
Pros: None
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Durability
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Chris,
Sorry to hear about the mower it does have a 3-year warranty which covers any manufacturer defects I would recommend calling Husqvarna or us and we can give you a few service centers in your area.
more
Was this review helpful?
82
M T
Middlefield, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/13/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Front Bumper
The front bumper bolt holes do not line up, I even went to some box store suppliers to look at what they have and theirs are messed up also some even only have 2 bolts in them and are just hanging there.

I can get my 4 bolts through but are so far on a side way angle it would damage the frame if i tried tightening them all the way. And yes, I am mechanically inclined to assemble this. I have worked on cars and trucks for 40+ years.
Pros: Price
Cons: Front Bumper Will Not Fit Properly
M Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
M's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great purchase, no complaints except for the bumper."
 more
Was this review helpful?
104
C. S.
Saint Albans, WV
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Husqvarna Lgt2654 Is Junk
My Husqvarna LGT2654 has been a piece of junk since we bought it 3 years ago! Every time we use it something falls off of it or goes bad. It is very unreliable and we are embarrassed of it!

The wheels have fallen off a few times while mowing, the bearings fell out, the belts have came off, and then they go bad and cause it not to run. Our neighbors all have John Deere mowers and never have trouble!

Our next mower will probably be a John Deere. I will never buy Husqvarna again!
Pros: None, None
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality
Was this review helpful?
127
Bailey
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Very Disappointed
I bought the Husqvarna LGT 2654 in the spring of 2015. It has never climbed the small hills as well as the older cub cadet but now after a little over 100 hours on the mower it won't climb the hills at all once it's warmed up.

Took it to the service shop where it has been sitting now for 4 weeks because the transmissions are on back order. I'm not impressed and very disappointed with Husqvarna.
Was this review helpful?
73
Chester K.
Albion, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/17/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gone Fishing
since my 54-inch cut lawn tractor arrived I can load up the boat and enjoy fishing because it's fast cuts grass like a dream. the only drawback is it's slow in reverse. I wish i would of bought it sooner because all the big fish were already caught.
Chester Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
85
Ronald G.
East Meredith, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Garden Tractor
I shopped all around for a replacement tractor I looked at several brands including John deer I found the Husqvarna LGT 2654 to be as good as the John Deer or better for half the price, it really is a great tractor for $2,399.00 you can't go wrong.
Ronald Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Ronald's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great company - great prices - great products."
 more
Was this review helpful?
53
Gary P.
Goreville, IL
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Glp3371@frontier.com
Push button starter is bad can't starter my mower push button starter bad . good mower but push button starter
Was this review helpful?
55
Gary P.
Goreville, IL
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Push Bottom Doesn't Work
push bototm starter work some time need help
Was this review helpful?
49
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials