Free Shipping On Mowers (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Mowers Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Cub Cadet CC30H Rear Engine Riders Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Cub Cadet 13A221JD010 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (9)
Easy To Store (6)
I'd Buy It Again (5)
Features (4)
Light Weight (2)
Cons
Difficult To Use (1)
Speed (1)
Packaging (1)
Expensive (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
82% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
28 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Mower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
90 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
14059 Helpful Votes
Mowers Direct Recommended

Step it up a notch with the Cub Cadet CC30H rear engine riding mower. This mower is loaded with features that will give you superior performance for a long, long time.

The Cub Cadet CC30H features a foot-controlled Hydro-Gear T2HP hydrostatic transmission, so it's as easy to drive as a car - no shifting! The quick response steering makes this mower easy to drive even if you donít have experience with riding mowers. The Cub Cadet CC30H also mows in forward and reverse.

The Cub Cadet... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
34852
Joshua
Belton, MO
Total Helpful Votes
52 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower
Its a good mower. I'm 6ft2 and 350lbs. This gets me around with no issue. I bought from the farm and home store in Harrisonville Missouri for $1300 so this place is over priced.
View Image
Joshua Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
524
Konrad C
Hardy, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/20/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Ran Four Times But Now It Doesn't!
This mower mows well and is very maneuverable. It is comfortable to drive and stable. However, after using it four times on a small yard, the engine refuses to turn over. Turn the ignition key and the starter does not activate. Checked the settings to make sure the correct starting procedure was followed, but nothing! Contacted Cub Cadet and they referred me to a few local dealers who all said it will take 3 to 4 weeks before they can even look at it! It's a good mower, but if this is not the... more
Cons: Unreliable, Durability
Konrad's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Buying from Mowers Direct was trouble free. Too bad the Cub Cadet mower appears to be a lemon. Four uses and it's dead."
 more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Konrad,
I do apologize for the issues that you are experiencing with your mower. The best course of action is what you have done, contacting a certified repair center so they can perform maintenance on your machine at no cost to you thanks to the warranty. As this is the busy season for maintenance on mowers, there will be some time associated with getting your machine fixed. If you have any additional questions please give us a call and we will do our best to assist. Thank you very much for your business and I hope you have a great day.
Was this review helpful?
00
Ruth M.
Virginia Beach, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/1/17
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
15
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Beware! Cub Cadet Has Discontinued The 420cc Engine!
Our Cub Cadet arrived today with a 382cc engine! We called and talked to two different people before finding out that the 420cc has been discontinued for 2017. So unless you want the CC330 H - hydro-static transmission - with the 382cc engine, you may want to look at another mower. Will update review after we've driven the mower.
View Image
Ruth Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
111
Konrad C
Hardy, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/20/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Followup To Mower Not Starting
This is a followup to my review of May 3 where after four uses the mower refused to turn over - completely dead. I was fortunate the local dealer discovered that there is a very sensitive cutout switch to detect if the plastic chute is not seated correctly. In this case the plastic tab on the chute was slightly misaligned or bent so that the cutout switch visually appeared fully depressed when the chute was tight. However, the misalignment was less than 1 mm or about 1/32" causing the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Konrad Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
John L
Westport, CT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/18/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Glad I Bought It!
Bought my CC30H about a month ago and have mowed the lawn 4 times. Love the mower and can tell already that I will be looking forward to mowing my lawn from now on.

Mower was delivered within a week from Mowers Direct. I paid for the lift feature and driver was kind enough to also move the pallet from the curb to my garage. Mower was completely assembled and it only took about 30 minutes to take off of the pallet. Mower started up on first try and is easy to maneuver and park in the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Quiet, Fast
Cons: Cut Height Adjustment
John Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
John's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to select mowers and the customer service is very good. Delivery was fast and the truck driver was friendly and helpful."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
William H
Lanoka Harbor, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/13/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Poorly Engineered
I'm disappointed with this mower.... I found it to be very tippy ....and the battery is hard to connect the positive terminal and will be difficult to service. Sorry I purchased this.
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
William,
I do apologize for the issues you've described and I understand how frustrating it can be. Fortunately the mower is covered by 3 year warranty which will provide service to you at no charge. If you need assistance locating a certified repair center near you, please give us a call and we will gladly help. Thank you very much for your business and I hope you have a great day.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
David W
Lilburn, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/29/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Good Mower
Good mower. It's a little smaller than I expected. I like the transmission. This has a good turning radius.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Light Weight, Reliable
David Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
David's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Good experience from Mowers Direct. Shipped same day I ordered. I did have to advise truck delivery that they needed to bring a pallet jack to move out of street. It also did take 2 deliveries to get the mower delivered as it was not on a lift truck the first time."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gerry B.
Palacios, TX
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hard To Start
We have had this riding mower 2 weeks. Our front & back yards are landscaped & we needed a small riding mower to get in & out & around beds, small trees & bushes etc. This mower does this & for that it is wonderful!

My concern is that it does not start on the first or second try, it takes 4-5 tries before it starts. this mower does not have a choke. I don't want to have issues with the starter later. Anyone else having this problem?
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Gerry Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
181
Gary R.
Elkridge, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/16/16
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Cut For Small Mower
Bought this rider for being able to go through my fences and gates, and it does that very nicely. Also, has a good looking cut to the lawn. Starts and runs very well. Good product for its price. Would highly recommend.
Gary Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
150
Henry
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Small Yard? Best Rider By Far!
I was torn between a wide cut walk -behind and this mower. I live in Florida and cutting even a small yard ( 1/4ac or less) is a chore. I thought a rider would be overkill for such a tiny yard, but now I am glad I purchased it. The hydro drive makes the numerous backups actually enjoyable.

I quickly realized that the length of this unit is the same (if not smaller) compared to a large walk behind and the person operating it. It fits in the same small shed that my original mower was stored... more
Henry Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
111
Ken F.
Conroe, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/6/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Cc30h Is Exactly What We Needed And As Advertized.
We only have 6/10 of an acre, but at my age and in this Texas heat, I decided it's time to switch to a riding mower.

I did a lot fo comparison shopping and reading reviews and decided the 30" was all I needed and the price was right.

I also did not want to buy a separate storage bldg nor have to move cars in/out of the garage every time I needed to mow.

I was very pleased the first time I used the mower and was able to drive out the backdoor of the garage and after a couple of... more
Ken Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
90
Richard G.
Loudon, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/23/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love This Mower!
First, Mowers Direct was great to deal with throughout the whole transaction: buying, shipping, communication, follow-up, etc.

I will agree with the others that stated that the hydrostatic transmission with the foot actuated forward and reverse is awesome. Mowing in reverse makes mowing so much easier and faster.

Also, like many others, it took me a little over an hour to unbox the mower and put it together. BUT... boy, do I agree that the toughest part was the hitch plate on the back.... more
Richard Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Richard's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great company to buy from! Excellent prices, communication, shipping and follow-up were all to notch. I would definitely buy from them again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
71
James R.
Granbury, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/16/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Knew It!
Ok...so last year I moved from the Big city to a small and charm country home. I brought along my "Sure Start" Briggs and Stratton determined to keep cost down and my physique up. After the first mow I purchased a Cub Cadet walk behind from Mowers Direct. Needed to upgrade to dutifully handle the new larger lot.

Recently I added the riding mower to my compound. I found that the push mower required the entire day to cut the compound plus recovery time. Now I look forward to the... more
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
71
David
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/2/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Buyer's Remorse
Delivery guy from Old Dominion was great. Got the mower to my garage with a hand truck. Disappointed that I didn't go with a zero turn.

Can't get fence corners or u-turn for up and back. Switching to reverse is cumbersome. Power is fine. Cut is fine. Cutting heights too far apart. Good for level ground cutting in a circle. Maybe with more practice and familiarity, It will be better.
Cons: Difficult To Use
Was this review helpful?
137
John M.
Independence, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/20/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect For Our Needs. We Love It!
I needed a small rider for my yard and this Cub Cadet CC30H is perfect in every way, fits through my gates and shed door too. I love the Hydrostatic Transmission, makes it like driving a car. It has plenty of power and cuts very nice, I have a level yard so it's perfect for that. Easy to assemble. Like others, the trailer hitch was a bit of a challenge, but not that big of deal. Makes cutting the yard fun for the wife and I. Better than I had hoped and Mowers Direct.com had it in stock and... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
John Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
John's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered on a Monday and got it Thursday, the driver was a very nice young man and put it right where I needed it. He helped me open crate and inspect mower. Everything was perfect. Thank you Mowers Direct on so many levels. Perfect Transaction!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
61
Timothy H.
Sellersburg, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/19/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Bone Jarring
Only thing I found wrong is the suspension. There is none and on rough ground it is bone jarring. Spring under seat does nothing. It needs to be a shock absorber instead.
Was this review helpful?
105
Konrad C.
Hardy, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/20/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower!
The mower arrived well packaged and on time. The lift gate service was excellent with the driver putting the large box right into the garage. Surprisingly, the mower came nearly completely assembled only the steering column and grass chute needed to be installed and battery connected. The mower starts easily and runs extremely well with very light controls.

The turning radius is tighter than my defunct 10 year old Snapper. It climbs my moderate hillside fairly easily if the grass is not... more
Konrad Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Konrad's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"From website to arrival of the mower plus a single emailed question, these folks are great!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Keith A.
Orange Park, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/11/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Machine For My Half Acre Yard.
Ordering was easy. Delivery was first class. assembly was a snap, except one thing the tow plate, after reading directions I realized by removing the engine guard (5 screws) the tow place fitted easily.

Checked out the mower via direction, fired up first go.
Assembled the rear baggers. Went off to mow.
Amazed how this machine did the job

If you want a small riding mower, none better. service was AAA+
Thanks for a great machine.
Keith Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Keith's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"AS stated prior."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Mark T.
Sheldon, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/19/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Now I Don't Have To Mow!
Purchased this mower and now my wife and daughter argue about who gets to mow! Hydro is great for smooth driving and reverse mowing option is an added bonus.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Quiet, Price
Cons: Speed
Mark Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Vernon V.
Glendale Heights, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/3/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Best riding mower I have ever had. My brother-in-law just got one, but his is 42 inch.
Vernon Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
David H.
Saint Peters, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/23/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
This Is A Nice Product. ( Cub Cadet Cc30h 382 Cc Engine. )
Delivery was great. Lift gate service delivered the mower to the driveway lowered it down and wheeled into the garage with a pallet jack. Uncrated the mower and was proud to see the mower was fully assembled. All I had to do is hook the battery cables up. Checked the oil put gas in it and it fired up.

Read the instructions about the safety switches or it will not crank. Safeties take a little time to get used to, but is similar to my other riding mower. The only thing is the mower is 382... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store, Features
Cons: Packaging
David Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
David's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mower arrived a week after I ordered it. The email was sent when the mower was shipped. Email included the serial # of the mower and when it was shipped. Two days later the delivery service had the mower in the garage. I think the service was superb! I am pleasantly surprised with the service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Steve R
Charleston, SC
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Decent Mower
I bought a used one. I seldom buy new mowers. I made a mistake when I let a neighbor talk me into selling him my 28" single blade Snapper. I was trying to get more exercise and get along with my old walk behind Snapper. It's a great mower but I still need a rider. My age is telling on me. No real problems thus far. With regard to one reviewer who complained about not being able to do U-turns to come back down the yard, this is not a ZTR mower. I don't like them anyway. Don't worry... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Steve Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Rick F.
Omaha, NE
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Initial Review
I just purchased this mower but have yet to mow with it. I have driven it around a bit. I don't have a large lawn but I wanted to cut my mowing time down. I had looked at zero turn Toros with similar deck size but those machines are much larger and I didn't want the extra size in my garage.

I would not have purchased this one if not for the hydrostatic pedals for forward and reverse. You can't tell by the photo or literature but the large pedal on the right is forward and the small... more
Rick Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
9521
Sidney K.
Hammond, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/27/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Disappointment
This free shipping is a joke if an full 18 wheeler cant fit in your neighborhood and turn around. SO remember that first, I payed the 50 extra dollars and had to meet the trucker at a gas station and unload it to the back of my truck and then personally had to unload it my self. So that is just shipping issue, But the bigger issue is its performance, its horrible , I have used it once and now its cutting off when the blade is in engaged and there are too many safety switched on the mower... more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Sidney,
Sorry you had issues with the trucking company and i see they did credit you the lift gate service as a courtesy credit, please let us know if we can be any help.
more
Was this review helpful?
294
Richard H.
Silver Spring, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/9/16
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This Thing
Got great service from Mowers Direct. Delivery couldn't have been smoother. I put it together with ease, filled her up, and started it up with no problems. It's a blast to ride, cuts nicely, and I even have my wife driving and riding it.

We have a small yard and she will be cutting it soon (she's driven it around the yard already). Operation directions are clear and easy to follow. So far, I'm very happy. Hydrostatic drive is a plus. Oh yes, it backs up very easily.
Richard Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
220
Shane P.
Midlothian, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/7/16
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased
the hydrostatic transmission with the foot actuated forward and reverse is awesome. mowing in reverse makes mowing so much easier. it took me about an hour to uncrate the mower and put it together.

The toughest part was the hitch plate on the back, they need to redesign that. otherwise it was a simple process. thanks to Jose for his assistance in the decision making process.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Shane Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Shane's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Thanks to Jose for his assistance in the decision making and ordering process. I like to buy online but it's nice to have someone there to answer questions vs. just a purely transaction-only process."
 more
Was this review helpful?
183
Joseph K.
York, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/17/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Mower
I received the mower three weeks ago, Used it three times and it mowed great with no clumps of grass, The small size fits through my 39" shed door. I love this mower.
Joseph Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
130
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials