Your Cart @ Mowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Toro SW4200 Zero Turn Lawn Mower Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$2,999.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$2,985.97
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Toro 74784 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (9)
I'd Buy It Again (8)
Fast (6)
High Quality (5)
Exceeded Expectations (3)
Cons
Need To Improve Locknut ... (1)
Noisey (1)
No Air Condition (1)
Low Battery On Receipt (1)
Heavy (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
28 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Mower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
91 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12440 Helpful Votes
Mowers Direct Recommended

The Toro SW4200 steering wheel zero turn mower offers homeowners an alternative to traditional zero turn mowers. This model combines the maneuverability and time savings of a zero turn mower with the familiar ease of a steering wheel and speed control pedal, much like a car or tractor.

The Toro SW4200 has a 42-inch, twin-blade mower deck that is ideal for mowing areas where compact size is needed. The deck washout port provides quick cleaning underneath the deck when you're finished... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
17521
Ernest J.
Kasson, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/15/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sw4200 Update
Pros:
Only used the unit a few times. Mowed well and handled uneven ground. Cut mowing time about half. Zero turn needs some constant re-learning for me. I am sure I will get more opportunities next season.

Cons:
Steering wheel is on the small-ish side, requires a spin knob or something a little larger radius. Making a quick turn equals a lot of hand over hand work.
Ernest Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
70
Bruce M.
Mount Dora, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 12/9/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Machine... Shipping Not As Good, But Resolved.
PROS...Machine works awesome, great power. Added mulching Recycler kit. No Complaints on quality.

CONS...Machine arrived with packing crate/pallet damaged. Mower shifted and BOTH rear wheels were FLAT. Impossible to get it to garage and took hours to remedy... Mowers Direct shipped new tire assemblies a week later.
View Image
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, High Quality, Quiet
Cons: Packaging
Bruce Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
91
Dan J.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/30/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Zt Mower With Steering Wheel
Regular two handled zero turn mowers made both my wife's shoulders and my shoulders hurt. This one does not. I like the tilt wheel for comfort and getting on and off the mower. It starts easily and mows great. Only problem I have with it is the push button brake. I am used to the pedal brakes and have a hard time locating the button when I need it to stop-especially on any incline.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable
Dan Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Lyle P.
Highland, UT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/5/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I have been mowing my lawn's for the last 20 years with conventional lawn tractors , most recently a cub Cadet 46 inch, 20 hp, with a hydro-static transmission. During the last several years, all my neighbors have converted to zero turn mowers with levers.

This was not an option for me in as much as several years ago I suffered a stroke which left me walking with a limp and full use of only my right arm and right leg. With the aid of a knob on the steering wheel, I'm able to enjoy the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Lyle Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
David T.
Asheville, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/11/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easier, Quicker And Cheaper
I purchased a Toro SW 4200. It was on my door step in North Carolina within 48 hours. I couldn't believe how fast. It was $100 cheaper than buying it locally and didn't have to pay any sales tax and the freight was pre paid. It comes in a very substantial carton that takes a little while to uncrate. The assembly of the mower was super easy and took less than 15 minutes.

I needed info the Toro manual didn't supply and Mowers Direct had my answer in minutes with one telephone call.

Have... more
David Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Anthony O.
Boise, ID
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Lawn Tractor
My new Toro mower is awesome! I have about 1 1/2 acres and this mower rips through it in no time. The ride is a little bumpy so forget about having a beer in the cup holder as it will turn to foam :-). I bought the mulcher kit and it works great but, as another reviewer suggested, make sure you sharpen the blades that come with the kit first before installation.

Also as mentioned by others it was difficult to uncrate (that baby was going nowhere during shipment) and having the lift gate... more
Anthony Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
George N.
Germantown, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/12/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I love this mower. Plenty of power and turns on a dime. Real smooth, comfortable ride.
George Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Kurt B.
N. Little Rock, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/1/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Mower For My Property
The mower was delivered in perfect condition and has exceeded my expectations. My yard is uneven and bumpy and has plenty of obstacles to maneuver around. The steering wheel allows for close turning in tight quarters.

I'm 6' 5" and appreciate the ease of getting on and off with the tilt steering wheel. My mowing time is cut from 1 1/2 hours with a push mower to 30 minutes. You do need to be prepared to take some time to uncrate the mower. Part of the fun.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Fast, Exceeded Expectations
Kurt Recommends This Toro Mower
Kurt's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The website was easy to navigate and offered several brands to compare features. Ordering was easy, and the unit was shipped and delivered in a timely manner. Mowers Direct has been bookmarked!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert M.
Tampa, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/1/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Worth It!
Very difficult to take off the crate. Figured out that it was easier just to drive it off, in reverse, than to try and dismantle the skid. Got the mulching kit. Of course the blades were not sharp, even though they were wrapped in several layers of cardboard.

Drove like a dream, cut even better, once I sharpened the blades. Very little amount of grass clippings showing after a run. One important thing to mention, slow down in sharp turns and if you can't, then do a loop turn. Actually fits... more
Robert Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Ronald A.
Temple Hills, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/13/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What I Was Looking For
I love this mower. Of course it cuts the perfect cut every time. The slopes and hill problem I used to have are all gone. I wish I had this mower years ago. The delivery guy was real cool too. Over-all, a very enjoyable experience. Thanks.
Ronald Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Rick F.
Grove City, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/31/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fine Machine
After a great deal of research, I opted for the SW4200 for its capabilities, and available options. I love it! Have only used it five times, so still getting a feel for it. So far it's everything that I expected. The zero turn is great, as expected. The steering wheel verses the "paddles" is what sold me.

The 24.5HP engine, makes quick work of cutting the lawn as well. I'm very happy with this Mower, and would highly recommend it to anyone that wants a zero turn mower. I know a... more
Rick Recommends This Toro Mower
Rick's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Your website had all the information that I needed for making the decision on this mower. It also gave me the opportunity to compare a similar product. It's like a "one stop shop " website. Anytime that I spoke with someone, I found them to be very knowledgeable, as I got the information that was needed to get everything that I needed for the order. Lastly, the tracking information, and communication was outstanding. I got everything that was ordered on the days that they were promised. This was a problem free purchase from beginning to end!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark E.
New Tazewell, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/30/16
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love The Sw4200
Had not mowed a lawn in 16 years, so decided to try my first rider. Mowers Direct allowed me to research all my choices. My moderate-sized mountain-side lawn made the steering wheel option in a zero turn rider an important feature. Decided on a Toro over Cub Cadet because of the superlative reviews by other Toro owners.

The SW4200 arrived as promised, but with a low battery. Local authorized service replaced the battery, no questions asked. Mower started right up with minimal assembly, and... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Fast, Comfo
Cons: Low Battery On Receipt
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
22
Robert F.
Washougal, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/4/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Design
This zero turn mower, with the adjustable steering wheel is a delight to use. It is intuitively obvious from the very beginning how to drive it and mow. Over half our yard is pretty sloped.

This mower handles it with ease.Good traction and plenty of power. I purchased it late last summer. After off loading it, I had it ready to mow in about 35 minutes. This Spring it is back at work and doing a beautiful, even job on a 1 acre lawn.
Robert Recommends This Toro Mower
Robert's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"This is the painless way to get lawn equipment. Plenty of choices, good advice and quick delivery to the house. Except for small items, always get lift gate service. The shipping company only sends one person and even with left gate, the off loading can be a challenge."
 more
Was this review helpful?
33
Richard J.
Alliance, NE
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/17/16
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Plenty Of Power And Quite Speedy
Only used once, so can not brag too much. Turns as well as those without steering wheel. Seems to handle slopes okay. Not very easy to unpack and drive off as battery was dead.

Screws holding crate together defy removal as none of my screwdriver heads fit them. One complaint: all the expensive weights sent with bagger are not needed with steering wheel model. Can I return them for credit?
Richard Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
12
Vi H.
Evansville, WY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/8/16
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro
I love my toro with steering 42".
Vi Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
13
Herb P.
Axton, VA
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower I Have Ever Owned
I have 2 1/2 acres of mostly sloping land 10 to 15 degrees not counting several ditches, trees and a goat house.
I spent about 1 hour getting familiar with the feel and controls.(Note: If I had mostly flat land I would have spent a lot less time)
After this, I finally felt comfortable enough to tackle what I call "heartbreak hill."

This is a steep bank along a fence line with a sharp turn that has always given me trouble ... even my old Husky zero turn would do burn outs on dry... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: No Air Condition
Herb Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
649
Dennis B.
Salix, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/2/15
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Machine
The mower does a nice job, with lots of power. I did have one problem. On my third tank of gas, I +-stopped to talk to my wife, and the left drive would not release and move.

What I found was the lock nut was missing on that side brake linkage. I replaced it and add another nut to lock it better. I checked the right side lock nut and found it was about to fall off. I tighten and added another nut (double nut).
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Features, Fast
Cons: Need To Improve Locknut Design
Dennis Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
359
Ryan
North Royalton, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/15/15
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great So Far...
I have only used this once so far, but the design is well thought out. It's very easy to remove the deck. It takes under a minute! The seat adjustment is moveable, but you need to loosen bolts to do so. It's also light enough in the front end to lift by hand if you are strong enough.
Mow in reverse is really nice and you can mow at full speed with sharp blades no problem. I only weigh 145lbs and the seat sensor does not cut off the blades if it's bouncy from rough terrain.

I use the bagger... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Fast, Durable, High Quality
Ryan Recommends This Toro Mower
Ryan's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent to deal with and quick shipping. Best value. However the product went on sale before my card was charged and before it was shipped. I got no response on the honored sale price."
 more
Was this review helpful?
3614
Ryan W.
Beaver Falls, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/27/15
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
This product was easily assembled upon arrival. I have used it twice. It does well on hills and decreases the amount of time it took to cut my yard. So far, there has been no difficulties with this product. The mower cuts well and at a good speed.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Noisey
Ryan Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
239
Ronald C.
Baker, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/22/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Mower
The Toro SW4200 Zero Turn is the best investment in a lawn mower I have ever made. I cut 3 acres of grass in I/3 the time it takes on my John Deere 52 in. cut. Of coarse the blades are sharp at this point but it is the best lawn mower I have ever owned. It is perfect for my application and I would recommend it to anyone.
Ronald Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
218
Mark H.
Davidsonville, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/6/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best..
This is an awesome mower.. turn the wheel and it truly is zero turn.. the mow quality is superb.. climbs hills up (be careful), and down (let off the pedal and it brakes). I mow very steep hills with this (down the hill). The engine never lugs at all no matter the hill or grass height.. If you have a "tractor" this mower is beyond compare.

Trim close to a wall, just turn the wheel. Never a scalp with the deck. I hope it holds up with years of use. The steering wheel zero... more
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
112
Bill
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower
I had a 36" Husqvarna and liked it a lot, but this cuts better, and on my 1/2 acre it takes me less than half the time. I have the mulch kit also on this and it works so much better. I can mow faster and get a better looking lawn.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Bill Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
70
Ralph C.
Topeka, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/14/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love Mine
When I first fired It up I was in love with it. I had a Dixon and it was ok but hard for me to get on because I'm disabled but I can slide right on this and lower the steering wheel. The only thing I learned the hard way was to check the blades for being level.

Mine was way off but real easy to adjust. And it was my fault its not in the setup book but is fords the back of the owners manual to check that before using.
Ralph Recommends This Toro Mower
Ralph's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"When I had a question they where quick to get an answer for me and take care of the problem"
 more
Was this review helpful?
147
David W.
Charlemont, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/23/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
Great mower so far. Cut my mowing and trimming time in half and the lawn looks the best it ever has. I mow about 4 acres with it. Well worth the investment for me.
David Recommends This Toro Mower
David's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent website easy to navigate, great communication, mower arrived on projected delivery date. Very pleased."
 more
Was this review helpful?
63
Chuck F.
Mission, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/24/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mower
It works great
Chuck Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
118
Dirk B.
Cedar Grove, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/11/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Mower, Poor Bagger
Mower delivery was a nightmare but once it was on the ground it worked great. Comfortable and even works on steep slope. Mower quality is great but the bigger is poor. Once the bigger is installed the mower cover does not fit anymore either.
Dirk Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
75
Raymond M.
Tyner, KY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/27/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Love my new mower.
Raymond Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
32
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials