Search
< Back to Product

Toro 74731 Zero Turn Lawn Mower Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$2,999.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$2,999.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Toro 74731 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Pros
Fast (4)
Price (3)
Features (2)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
High Quality (2)
Cons
Packaging (3)
Unreliable (2)
Grass Chute Is Rigid So ... (1)
Durability (1)
Heavy (1)
73% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
40 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jack
Bell, FL
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
This is the second Toro Timecutter I have purchased from Mowers Direct. First was a 42" Timecutter, sold my home and buyer HAD TO HAVE IT! Sold the 42" w/Kawasaki 23.5HP to him and bought the 50" w/Toro 24.5HP for my new home on 6-acres.

As with the 42" Timecutter, I added the mulching kit (Toro should include the mulching kit with all their mowers). Love it, maybe even more than the 42" timecutter. The three-speed transmission is NICE!

Hats off to Mowers... more
Jack Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
180
Randy S.
De Soto, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/14/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Several Chronic Issues, Very Little Customer Support!
So far I have learned that Toro Zero Turns have a couple of chronic, known issues. I wish Toro or Mowers Direct would stop selling these or fix the problem before putting them on the market.

1. As you can see by other reviews, the brake box module is known to be faulty on this year/model. There was a bad batch out of China or something. Mine failed after 2 hours of mowing.

2. I was told that Toro batteries are bad right out of the factory, and often fail quickly.

I called Mowers... more
Cons: Unreliable
Randy Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Randy,
I see we where working with you on getting this resolved and the brake box issue was on some models not all and Toro did not want to do a recall since it was not many models this affected. If we can be any help in the future please let us know.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Von G.
Bryans Road, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/5/16
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Timecutter Is A Time Saver
This is the best purchase ever, I love it. I cut my yard and my neighbor's yard in 30 minutes, and we both have 1/4 acre lots.

I did buy all the attachments except for the mulching kit. The mulching kit is my next purchase, and I will buy it this week.

This mower is great. I love it. Mowers Direct is the best. I love the tax free purchase, and the shipping was fast, although the unboxing was tough.

Thanks Mowers Direct.
Von Recommends This Toro Mower
Von's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I will buy again from Mowers Direct. I love this company."
 more
Was this review helpful?
100
Paul H.
Fayetteville, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/14/16
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I bought a place on 3.5 acres and have been using a 10 year old John Deer mower. Although the mower still works, it takes me 3 to 3.5 hours to mow. The Toro Zero turned it into a 2 to 2.5 hour job. Well worth the money!
Paul Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
90
Randy P.
Nashua, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/7/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Mower was delivered on time, and the driver was very helpful. Took a bit to get it out of the crate, but it was worth it. Did a quick check of the deck, did have to adjust it a little. This is my second zero turn, so operating was a snap. Would buy from Mowers Direct anytime.
Randy Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Bob L.
Tellico Plains, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/16/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Shipping
I have not received my mower yet and will write that review after I use it.. This is what you need to consider as far as shipping is concerned. This is freight, hauled by a freight company. I was called today from Saia and informed it would arrive by a 53' trailer and that from the information available on Google maps etc. would not be delivered to my address because the roads were not large enough to accommodate the truck.

The C.S.R. also told me the driver reserved the right to refuse... more
Bob Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Richard S.
Springfield, MA
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Unboxing My Toro Zero Turn
This can very well be a 2 to 3 hr job because your mower is inside a box secured in a wooden crate. I just simply took a chainsaw to the crate and that did the trick
Richard Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Dennis L.
Franklin, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
1st Zero Turn.
I've been wanting a zero turn mower for a long time. I had my previous one for 10 years. My wife came out to my shop and said look at this.

She found mowers direct on the web with great deal's. So I purchased one with no sale's tax and free delivery.thanks mower's direct.
Dennis Recommends This Toro Mower
Dennis's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Went to order on line but had some questions and the person we talked to was very helpful and took our order right there on the phone. With lightning fast delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Kevin P.
Drums, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/31/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
I was a little skeptical about buying a mower online... But was pleasantly surprised by the quick delivery and minimal assembly. I mow about 3 acres which is a little hilly. After 3 cuts no problems. Cuts fast and is easy to handle also no problems with the terrain. Overall I have been very pleased with the Toro.
Kevin Recommends This Toro Mower
Kevin's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I was a little skeptical after reading some reviews online, but I had no problems. Delivery was quick right to my garage! I did not have to contact customer service for anything so I gave them 5 stars."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Harold S.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower, Bad Packaging.
Nice mower. fast, good cut, no complaints whatsoever with the mower.

The issue was with packaging and delivery. Regarding packaging, the thing comes in a substantial crate. There are instructions on how to take the crate apart, but this assumes the Toro employees have put staples in very specific locations. You are supposed to be able to use a box knife to cut along two dotted lines and remove the top, then middle parts of the crate, but because the Toro packaging person put tons of... more
Pros: Features, Fast, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging
Harold Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
62
Larry F.
Belaire, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/31/16
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Mower Ss5000
I purchased this mower 2 weeks ago .
i have mowed 2 times. I absolutely love
this machine. It was ready to use as soon as i un crated it. It had oil in it. Just add gas and go.this is the best buy anywhere. Took a little time to get use to it about 5 minutes in an open field and i was ready to mow.if you are serious about a mower don't hesitate to buy this one.
Larry Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
David T.
Lewisburg, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/30/16
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
1st Zero Turn
After many years of using cheap lawn tractors, this was a giant step forward. This is a very nice mower.
David Recommends This Toro Mower
David's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Saved $100 on the sticker price and $300 in taxes."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
John G.
Bridge City, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/21/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Toro Timecutter Ss5000 (50") 24.5 Hp Ztr Mower
Typically I never write reviews but I made an exception this time. The mower arrived as promised completely ready to use with a couple of simple items to attach to the mower. Added petrol and decided to use the mower to mow approximately 1.5 acres which the mower performed well though it took time getting accustomed to using a ZTR mower, as this is the first one purchased.

Unfortunately, the mower stopped working and would not start and the battery went dead. Delivered mower to local... more
John Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
William P.
Drexel, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/23/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower/a Few Problems
I ordered a Toro 74731 from Mowers Direct on May 23rd. Mower was delivered May 26. Free shipping and no sales tax was a plus.
After ordering, I found Toro had a promotion on the mower starting two days after I ordered. I would have appreciated it if someone had notified me to wait two days and saved another $200. Would suggest customers check to see if there is an upcoming promotion that would benefit them.

Packaging: Toro needs to give better unpacking instructions. If I had known all the... more
William Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Bob L.
Tellico Plains, TN
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best
I would definitely recommend this mower, and Mowers Direct. The price is good as is the mower. The only 2 improvements I would make to this mower are either it has a remote control so I could sit on my porch and watch it, or my wife mowed the lawn for me. Seriously, I debated ordering online, but the experience was w/o hassle, except watch for delivery requirements.

My back yard is a little rough and on a fairly good incline. Even today, after it rained all weekend and the grass was... more
Bob Recommends This Toro Mower
Bob's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Again, this comes on a semi truck and cannot deliver on country back roads."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Randy S.
De Soto, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/14/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Repeated Issues!!! Will Not Start For 3rd Time In 3 Months!
Worst purchase of my life! I have had this mower for 3 months, and is needing repairs for the third time. Toro has known issues with components on this mower, and will do nothing to correct it. Mowers Direct is no help either. I received zero customer service from them. Please do not offer your sorrow for the complete lemon that I now have on my hands. Please only offer a buyback and full refund. If you can't do that, please just post my negative feedback so no other customer is... more
Randy Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Randy,
Unfortunately, once the mower is gassed and oiled, the manufacturer's warranty takes effect. The issues will need to be handled by a local Toro dealer. Sorry for the inconvenience and if you need help locating a service center, please do not hesitate to ask.

Thank you
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Matthew M.
Murfreeboro, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/18/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!!
i went from a push mower to this beast. it took me over 2 hours to push mow my yard, now i can mow, weedeat, and blow off both mine and my neighbors yard in less time than that! i did the unconventional method of getting my neighbor to split the cost of the mower with me, under the stipulation that i would mow their grass for (at least) the next couple years free of cost ****when you add up the yearly cost of mows by an outside company, after year 1 they are basically breaking even.

I'm... more
Matthew Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Dan N.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/15/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
I Want To Love This Mower
Moved one time and was instantly in love! I took the plunge on a new mower bc I was tired of working on my 2001 ex mark ztr. I wanted to be able to hop on and not worry if it was going to start this time or not. Like I said, the first mow was beautiful! Ride was smooth, cut was good. Turning was responsive. Was really glad I made the purchase. But then on the second mow, I go to crank it up...

So far, so good, but when I move the lap bars in, the electronic brake module won't release the... more
Dan Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Randy S.
De Soto, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/14/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Mowed One Time, Will Not Start
I received the mower, and mowed the yard one time, stopping and starting several times. I parked the mower, and tried to start it a couple of days later, and it would not start.

I performed all of the troubleshooting steps, with no luck. Now I'm dealing with scheduling a repair shop to pick up the mower, delays of 2-3 weeks to repair, and transportation fees to get the mower fixed. Not satisfied at all!
Randy Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Randy,
Sorry to hear you are having issues with the mower and the local dealer will make sure it is up and running correctly also if you send us the receipt via email we will be able to reimburse you up to $60.00 for the transportation.
more
Was this review helpful?
31
Rodney W.
Harwood, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/10/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The 74731
Just got it out of the shop yesterday. It works well like the ad says.
Rodney Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Rodney W.
Harwood, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/10/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
The 74731
Took mower out of the crate. It would not start . It has been in the shop from day one. I wish I never got this mower
Rodney Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Russell S.
Greenwell Springs, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/29/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Poor Delivery!!!
I was told by R&L Carriers that they would be there on a Wed..nope...next wed. nope. Had to drive 5 hours each time to find out they did not deliver 3rd time no problem. Like other reviewers had a hell of a time unpacking the mower, would not have made it without a friends help.

The mower I am not sure about yet, the controls are a little jerky but hope they will smooth out with some use. Everything else seems like it is okay, cuts fine and have not towed with it yet. A lot... more
Pros: Fast, Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging
Russell Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Kevin
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/26/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Fine Now, After Initial Mishap
After doing months of research on both a new lawn mower for 2 acres I recently purchased and am building a house on, and a dealer to purchase from, I decided in May to purchase this Toro mower from Mowers Direct. The experience up until the delivery was exceptional. After my house was delayed, Mowers Direct worked with me to push back the delivery until I was ready. Once delivered, it took me 2 hours to unpack the mower from the crate.

As another reviewer noted, the mower is in a large... more
Pros: Fast, Durable, Price, High Quality
Cons: Heavy, Packaging
Kevin Recommends This Toro Mower
Kevin's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct's website was very easy to navigate and to purchase from. Their customer service team is easy to reach and very communicative and friendly. I would purchase from them again (also purchased a brush cutter)."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Tim C.
Liberty, SC
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's A Great Mower & I Love It !
I purchased mine used about 3 weeks ago. And overall, it's more than I expected it to be with the Kawasaki engine. But the previous owner took off some of the safety switchers after the brake module went bad. It wasn't replaced because the price was so high.

They bypassed the safety switches and sometime the right side brake will lockup and I'll do things to try to unlock it but I it will unlock eventually. how can I fix it ? I don't know where to start and I didn't get an owner's manual... more
Tim Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
John P.
Oxford, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/29/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Machine
This is an absolute joy of a machine to own. I took it out of the crate by myself, which was a big pain but i got it done. I dont know why you guys dont use regular phillips or flat head screws for easier dismantling of the crate. I could not get anything that would take the screws out so i had to break them out.

The machine though was pristine and all i had to do was put gas in it. checked oil and everything else, which was all great. I took it out for the first cut out of the box... more
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Pamela M.
New London, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/1/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy!
This mower is exactly as advertised. Great mower! we are very pleased with this purchase and would recommend to others.

It was delivered quickly and ready to go out of the packaging--just add fuel! does a nice job mowing the grass evenly and with speed.

Has cut down our mowing time by 1/3
Pamela Recommends This Toro Mower
Pamela's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent purchasing experience!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Kurt W.
Spring, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/15/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Buy With Caution
Mower broke down the second time I used it. Currently in shop being repaired. Would have expected much more from Toro and for the purchase price. Initial feedback from shop is that it is a brake control box issue, and that they have seen this issue before. Would think Toro and Mowers Direct would fix this known issue before selling the mower.
Kurt Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Kurt,
Sorry to hear about the mower Toro never advised their dealers of this issue they are taken it case by case which it is covered under warranty if their is an issue. Please let us know if the issue was resolved if not we can contact Toro for you on your behalf.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Chad B.
Tallmadge, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/14/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Big Mistake
I have had this mower for about a month and mowed my 1 acre 4 times. It definitely saved me time having this machine. The 5th time I need to mow, I start it and go to drive forward and it stalls. I repeat this about 4 times and still stalls the motor. So I check the gas and I turn on the blades, it runs fine. I keep the blades running and stand up to check the safety switch in the seat. It shuts down like it should. I get online and find a lot about the brake control module.

So I call some... more
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability
Chad Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Chad,
Sorry you are having issues with the mower can you please tell me if this was resolved if not please give me a call.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Darren S.
Hays, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/31/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressive Mower!
I've been using various tractor mowers for my 2 acre yard for about 12 years now but recently decided to move to a zero turn. We thought we might run both mowers and get done in half the time but as it turned out, the Toro was so much faster, it cut the mowing time by well over half.

24.5 hp is plenty of power to cut through the thickest Bermuda grass we've got at full speed, it also does great on our ditches which have a fairly steep incline. It is priced well and I was able to get a... more
Pros: Features, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Cons: Grass Chute Is Rigid So It Has No Give If You Hit Something
Darren Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Wayne F.
Sistersville, WV
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/3/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Satisfied In West Virginia.
I have just had my new 50 inch mower for about two weeks, but I love it . Just like other reviews it was a bitch to get out of the box, but it protects it in shipping. took me and my wife about two hours to get it out of the box,but after that it was simple, put arm rest on and the hour meter on , put gas in and had to try it out. It handles great. I am use to a zero cut mower, I have used one several times. My good neighbor has a more expensive one and mine seams to cut and handle just as... more
Wayne Recommends This Toro Mower
Wayne's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Talked to people on the phone who gave me all the information I needed to buy it. Great service over the phone."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Wayne F.
Sistersville, WV
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/3/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Satisfied In West Virginia.
I have just had my new 50 inch mower for about two weeks, but I love it. Just like other reviews it was a bitch to get out of the box, but it protects it in shipping.

Took me and my wife about two hours to get it out of the box,but after that it was simple, put arm rest on and the hour meter on, put gas in and had to try it out.

It handles great. I am use to a zero cut mower, I have used one several times. My good neighbor has a more expensive one and mine seams to cut and handle just... more
Wayne Recommends This Toro Mower
Wayne's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Talked to people on phone give me all the information I needed to buy it. Great service over the phone."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert C.
Howell, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/10/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Awsome Upgrade
I purchased this Toro about two months ago. When I sent in my order, the website identified them as available, so I assumed that it would ship immediately. I was notified after my order was placed that these were on back order and was given a ship date about a week later. A week went buy and I was notified it would be another week.

It did ship the second week, and arrived at my house the next day. Once I got it out of the shipping crate (no small task) it's been great so far. The speed of... more
Robert Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Loren M.
Big Cabin, OK
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/26/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outstanding!!!
Great value, ultra-fast shipping, and what a fantastic machine!!! This mower rivals the much more expensive commercial mowers in terms of both function and rugged construction. I have 20 acres to mow, and it handles the job beautifully. I am extremely glad that I decided to give mowers direct my business. No tax and no shipping make the deal even sweeter! This is a trustworthy company with a fantastic product. Thank you.
Loren Recommends This Toro Mower
Loren's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The mower was crated well and arrived in perfect condition in Oklahoma. It shipped immediately and was received in 3 days time. This is one fantastic company! Try them you won't be disappointed, I assure you."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Mark P.
Wolfforth, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/12/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Toro Ss5000
Used once second time it wouldn't start. I had to wiggle the handle over and over to finally get the mower to run. Not sure what's wrong should be interesting to see if it's simple. I'll check back with this post after Toro responds.
Mark Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Angelo Zeoli
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/19/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Machine
This machine is very good, it starts up right away. The machine comes in a very sturdy crate made up of wood and cardboard. This will take some time to remove, but after that is smooth sailing.
Angelo Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Youngjou L.
Katy, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/20/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Still Didn't Get The Hard Copy Of The User Manual
I have called your customer service that I only received the mower without ignition key, without manuals and anything else that I supposed to receive. Till today, I only receive the ignition key and hatch.

I really like to have a bounded hard copy of the manuals. Your customer service told me that she had ordered for me, and that I will receive them shortly after the receipt of the ignition key. Unfortunately, I am still waiting.
Youngjou Recommends This Toro Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Youngjou,
The manual should be getting shipped from the manufacturer. We don't print bound copies of manuals, but the manufacturer (Toro) who typically provides those manuals with their products should be able to provide you with a copy.

Toro's customer service department can be reached by calling 1-888-384-9939, so try giving them a call. They should be able to provide you with a manual.

Otherwise, we do have digital PDF copies of the manuals on the product page HERE. Click the PDF file links on the right-hand side in the specs tab. Then you can print them off. For a factory-printed copy though, you'll have to contact the manufacturer at the number provided above.

Thank you.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Donald B.
Winder, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/26/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Problems Began After 15 Minutes Of Use.
I was very excited to get the new Toro 74731 model. It came on time and the delivery was flawless. I unpacked it, got it ready to use and then mowed my front lawn just to try it out. That was 15 minutes of time. I then put it into our storage building. Got it out the next day and when I cranked it and tried to move it to finish the lawn the engine goes dead and refuses to operate.

It is absolutely useless sitting in a local shop which cannot get the part they need. Evidently this is a... more
Donald Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
James
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Nothing But Problems
DO NOT BUY THIS MOWER. You will regret it! I bought this mower last year. The thing already broke down in under 1 full season in Ohio. I have used it less than 15 times. I read the manual and take good care of it and do all the required maintenance. Yet, right now I have half my grass cut and I can't do anything about it.

The dealer is closed for the holiday weekend. My last riding mower lasted 10 years before it broke down. My mower before that lasted 8 years. This is my first Toro and my... more
James Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Gary C.
Clayton, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/25/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Joy Ride
I have used this mower twice now since I got it. My mowing time has been cut in half and this mower is fun to drive. I have to concentrate when driving it around trees so I don't hit the grass chute against the tree since it sticks out more than my riding tractor did. The turning and the speed can get tricky but I just slow down and it gets better with each mow. It is like driving a tank with the steering arms. The ONLY issues I had was with unpacking it and leveling the deck. It was a little... more
Gary Recommends This Toro Mower
Gary's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The shipping was fast and efficient. I ordered the mower on a Monday and I had it by Thursday the same week. Other mower websites made it a 2 to 3 week delivery and I was going on vacation. The driver was courteous but was understaffed for removing the mower so I had to help him. I had to pay the $50 fee for the mower to be unloaded in my garage but I had to help him unload it from the truck because he was alone. There was no way he was going to get that into my garage. I asked him what he would have done if I was some old lady who couldn't help him and he said he would have taken it back to the warehouse. I tipped him anyway because it was hot and we sweated our butts off getting the mower unloaded and into my garage. I even used my dolly to help him move the mower into my garage since it was a large crate. Not sure why they make you pay the $50 when you have to help unload it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
295
Carl S.
Wesley Chapel, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/29/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Everything I Wanted It To Be
Quiet, controls are great, speed differentials are great, strong machine, not a toy or cheaply built. Impressed with the purchase and mowers direct delivered just as desired.
Carl Recommends This Toro Mower
Carl's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"great deal, will work with Mowers direct anytime."
 more
Was this review helpful?
160
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials