Search
< Back to Product

Toro SS5000 Zero Turn Lawn Mower Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
Toro 74631 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (19)
Fast (12)
Price (9)
I'd Buy It Again (8)
Quiet (7)
Cons
Packaging (5)
Low Quality (3)
Durability (2)
Unreliable (2)
No Hour Meter (1)
86% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
53 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mike B.
Hemingford, NE
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/30/14
Total Helpful Votes
37 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower For A Great Price!
I mow about 3 acres with this mower. It takes me about two hours to mow this area. I am even able to mow the very tall grass with this mower. Love the zero turn, so easy to go around tress, bushes, and other obstacles. I would highly recommend this mower, and you cant beat the great price from www.mowersdirect.com, I tried. Best price out there. Free shipping was great, and was shipped quickly and securely!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Mike Recommends This Toro Mower
Mike's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I had searched many places to buy our Toro TimeCutter mower. I could not find anywhere to beat the price of www.mowersdirect.com. Plus with the free shipping, you cant go wrong. The shipping was free, fast, and the mower was very well crated. I would highly recommend! I am already looking forward to using their site for future purchases. Great place to buy."
 more
Was this review helpful?
376
Gordon S.
Sequim, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/15/13
Total Helpful Votes
129 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Be Informed Before Buying This Toro Or Any Other Toro Product
I have been using a John Deere mower over the past 12 years, and was never happy about the way it cut grass. This Toro came in excellent time and condition and there is nothing I have found to complain about the machine itself. It cuts as smooth as a golf course, in half the time, and far less gas. However if anything goes wrong with the Toro I have found that I will be up a creek without a paddle! Toro warranty has to be done at a Toro authorized facility, and my local Toro dealership... more
Was this review helpful?
1299
Roger L.
Sevierville, TN
Total Helpful Votes
68 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Very Disapointed
Sold a perfectly good Cub Cadet Tractor to get this Zero Turn for my wife who does the mowing. Bought from Home Depot and tried getting some feedback from them on the operational issues but worthless. Could not go up a 5-10 degree grade in high gear. Would not track properly. Finally had to take to Authorized Dealer when the thing literally would not go forward. They said the unit was badly out of adjustment. All three of the blade spindles are shot with 108 hours of service. Am... more
Pros: Easy To Store
Cons: Durability
Roger Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
6812
Frances P.
Picayune, MS
Total Helpful Votes
59 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Lemon From Day One
Have had to replace starter, deck bounces off very easily then belts come off. Used only non ethanol gas, line into gas tank broke off. Have had to replace solenoids twice. Tires on front won't stay aired up. Have to take to shop every time I use it. Consider it junk to keep working on. Too expensive to buy another. Wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, Wouldn Buy Another Toro Product Have Had To Replace Starter Us
Frances Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
5910
Leslie H.
Daisetta, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/23/13
Total Helpful Votes
46 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Toro Is Great
This 50" Toro ZTR cuts like a dream and is fast. I mow 1 and 5 acre properties and it does great. It takes less than 2 hours to mow the 5 acres. This mower replaces a 13 year old 42" zero turn that the deck finally rusted out on, but still runs good, just no deck. This Toro is much more heavy duty. I read some of the reviews where some people were complaining about how difficult it was to remove from the box. I just can't figure out what they were doing that they thought it was... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, Price
Leslie Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
464
Andrew
Mapleton, UT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/24/13
Total Helpful Votes
37 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Yes, as one reviewer wrote, uncrating the mower is extremely difficult. That said I suspect it would have been difficult for me to bring it home from a store too. If you don't have a few friends that can help you get it off the pallet then pay for the white glove service and I'll bet the uncrating would be part of that.

Otherwise the mower is great. I did need to top off the oil after the first mow and am scheduled to change the oil now after using the mower 5 times (just to clean out any... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging
Andrew Recommends This Toro Mower
Andrew Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great buying experience. The guy I spoke with was very knowledgeable, answered all my questions with respect and clearly was intent on helping me. Very low pressure (no pressure actually)."
 more
Was this review helpful?
371
Jerry H.
Mt. Juliet, TN
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
52 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needs Optional Hour Meter On It When You Buy It.
Great mower. It needs the hour meter on it from the start. I just ordered the optional hour meter at almost $100.00 with shipping and tax. This is the only mower that I looked at that didn't have one on it. I would have bought another brand of mower with it already on it .Otherwise I would recommend this mower.
Was this review helpful?
398
Mark G.
Barron, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/8/13
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mow Like A Pro.
I mow 3 acres of grass.The SS5000 Toro has cut mowing time in half. It does a smooth professional job. It is well designed, easy to use and a Kawasaki 23hp. This machine makes lawn mowing fun.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Mark Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent . Even the delivery driver was helpful"
 more
Was this review helpful?
313
Andy
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not What I'd Hoped
I've been using my Timecutter all summer now, and have to say- for this kind of cash, I should have let the lawn service handle things. I have several issues with the way this mower functions:

1. It leaves clumps of grass in the lawn- lots of them- unless I'm cutting off an inch or less at a time. I have to mow every 3-4 days just to avoid this. Meanwhile, my neighbors with cheap mulching push mowers mow once a week and have lawns that look far better than mine.

2. The thing tears up the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: Packaging, Low Quality
Andy Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
315
Robert
Yakima, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/5/13
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Ordered online through Mowers Direct after much research and visits to the local box stores. Saved a ton on the purchase price by ordering online. The box stores in our area had to ship the model I wanted anyway (didn't stock it locally) so there would be a delay regardless.

Arrived yesterday and was already in use by the end of the day. Performed flawlessly on our rather steep sloping yard and it was raining at the time too. Lots of power with the Kawasaki engine. Couldn't be happier with... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, High Quality
Robert Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
272
Eddie C.
Linn, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/22/14
Total Helpful Votes
28 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
This Order Has Been A Disaster....
I haven't had a chance to mow one blade of grass.... Since the moment I unpacked the mower it has been an experience from hell. The engine is revving way too high. None of the servicing dealers in this area would come to pick up the machine for servicing, they all want to charge me extra for diagnosing the problem, extra carburetion fees, and any other fee they can dream up.

I had to arrange my own means of transporting it in for repairs, and now I have to wait 3 weeks before they can even... more
Eddie Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Eddie,
We're sorry to hear you're having these problems. The Kawasaki engine has a 3-year consumer warranty, so you can try contacting Kawasaki at 866-802-9381, but make sure you have your serial number on hand if possible.

Otherwise, you could call Toro's customer service line for Mowers at 888-384-9939. Your mower itself has a 3-year consumer warranty as well. They should take care of this for you.

If you have any trouble getting it taken care of with them, give us a call back and we'll work with you to get it resolved.
more
Was this review helpful?
286
Mark
Coldwater, MS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/19/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Wonder The Mower Has A High Rating
Mower was packed well and delivered in good shape. It is fun to drive and cuts really well.

The Kawasaki engine is a plus - quiet and high quality. So far, no complaints.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
242
Sal P.
Wilbraham, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/20/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Experience With Mowers Direct And Zero-urn Mowers
This is my first experience with zero-turn mower, all previous mowers were push or riding tractors, the zero-turn is all new experience, little wild at first use! I have mowed my lawn three times so far, and is getting much better. I think Iím going to like it! I also just ordered the mulching kit, Iíll see how itís going to work.
I'll write some more then.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: Should Improve On The Seat Shock Absorbing Capibility
Sal Recommends This Toro Mower
Sal Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Working with Mowers Direct has been a very positive experience, they are very professional. The only thing I would improve on would be a faster payment method when paying with a check. I selected to pay with a check, to save the 2%, but the check took a week for them to receive, and then 5 business days to clear it. Maybe I should have used priority mail. There should be an on-line method when paying with check, to expedite the process. The check cashing is the reason for the 4 starts in Service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
254
Richard Rygiewicz
Montello, WI
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Broke Down Half The Time
I have a 5000. Its broke down half the time. I had to replaces the deck, had to replace belt and pulley that broke. It wrecked the belt, another pulley broke and now the shaft that picks it up is almost broke in half. I would never buy another one.
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Richard Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Richard,
This Toro model has a 3-year manufacturers warranty. Also note these are designed for residential mowing and not designed for commercial use.
more
Was this review helpful?
246
Ron V.
Hudson, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/15/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Buyers Remorse Here
Love it, but I never got so dirty mowing with any of my previous machines. A question, why don't the cup holder and the rest have drain holes?

It is powerful and smooth, great machine.I have to put a hole in the discharge shoot to be able to pick it up (rope) to go into the barn. Have to shop for a different type blade, the OEM won't hold an edge. 2 hours of mowing, yes southern grass and they are past dull. Crazy but I really love this TORO 50" Cutter
Ron Recommends This Toro Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Ron,
In terms of the cup holder not having a drainage hole, it really has more to do with Toro likely overlooking this in the design. There really is no other reason than that. It is something we will make a suggestion on with Toro moving forward. We are happy you like your mower.

In terms of the blade, you may want to look into going with the Oregon Gator blades. These tend to be stronger blades and are great for mulching, bagging and side discharge.

If you have any questions, please let us know.
more
Was this review helpful?
225
David H.
Kansas City, KS
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ss5000
My first zero turn, only regret not buying one sooner, and having a larger lawn, as this makes mowing fun. Great choice for a mower!
Was this review helpful?
183
Chad J.
Elba, NE
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/27/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mows Well
Have about 3 hrs on mine and so far no mechanical problems. Assembly was easy with good instructions. Mows well and spreads out clippings well evenly with just a side discharge. Pleased with purchase so far.

Engine is burning a small amount of oil so far...... hope this stops by the first oil change at 8 hrs. I will be very disappointed if I have to add oil all it's life.
Chad Recommends This Toro Mower
Chad's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It was on backorder when I ordered it and was very surprised when I received an email the next day saying it was shipped! Delivery was excellent. They even helped unpack it to make sure there were no problems inside."
 more
Was this review helpful?
151
Jim L.
Covington, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/5/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zero Turn Performs Well
Cuts mowing time in half.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Durable, Reliable
Cons: Packaging
Jim Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
163
Robert P.
Binghamton, NY
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Have Not Had A Problem Yet
I purchased my Toro SS5000 three years ago it had a flat tire at the store. I was not going to buy it but I did and was not sorry, all I do is put gas in it and a little maintenance runs like a top. Toro did a good job when they built this one. It also holds the trade in price.
Robert Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
142
Derek
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
Great Mower! Like all mowers, be careful on those steep hills. Other than that, this mower is great! Cut is very even, looks professional even on thick grass. Love the fast mowing mph. Seems to be very sturdy, and I have a property that takes its toll on mowers. Easy to service and maintain. This is the best mower Iíve ever owned.
Pros: Fast, Quiet, Durable, Reliable
Derek Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
153
Casry T.
Abbeville, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/20/13
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Grass Cutting
Love my new mower, works great. Takes me half the time to cut my grass. It is about 3 acres. The Toro works great, no problems at all.
Was this review helpful?
131
Alex
Mchenry, IL
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Ss 5000
I have had this ZTR for about 3 years now and have purchased the bagger attachment for collecting leaves from my property. I must first shred the leaves because I have leaves up to 1 foot in some areas and I remove them once a week so they don't sit there for too long. The ZTR does a great job shredding the leaves and then bagging them and it also is great at cutting grass during the spring and summer.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Reliable
Alex Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
110
Larry C.
Wytheville, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/23/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Like My Toro
I do like my Toro very much. Seems to do it all, no trouble with traction and un-even yard. Received in 3 days, transaction smooth.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Fast, High Quality, Traction Was Not A Problem As I Had Heard That Was A Biggie For M
Larry Recommends This Toro Mower
Larry Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"GREAT DEAL"
 more
Was this review helpful?
110
Anthony R.
Jessup, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/2/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Mower
My first purchase of a Toro mower of any kind and it was all what I expected. I went with a Toro mower because of the experience I have had with my Toro snow blower and the mower has followed suit. It is a blast to drive once you get use to the zero turn feature. I am minus a couple of flowers.......
Anthony Recommends This Toro Mower
Anthony's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Mowers Direct was easy to deal with and the mower came as promised. My only issue was the mower was mounted on a pallet but it was also put on a second pallet which made getting the mower off a bit of a problem, there was no way I could unload it myself."
 more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Anthony,
Andy, We are sorry about the way the crating was positioned on a second pallet. The first crate for protection is difficult enough to take out, but the trucking company will often put a second pallet under the first so they can move it easier with a pallet jack inside their trucks. It is an issue we have discussed with them and realize it makes things more difficult. Again we apologize for any frustration you may have endured.
Was this review helpful?
100
Richard L.
Blytheville, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/12/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Toro Zero Turn Mower
Good product, plenty of power. I would recommend the up graded version, with the armrests and hour meter to another customer. I have ordered the bagging accessory to go with this mower.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store
Cons: Packaging, Mower Deck Could Not Clear 2x2 Cross Bracing
Richard Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
101
Judy K.
West Liberty, KY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/25/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Love the mower.. Mows great and is easy to use. Would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a fine mower.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality
Judy Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
91
Thomas P.
Four Oaks, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/9/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Real Time Saver
It has cut the mowing time for my property from 1-1/2 days down to 2 hours. Considering the cost of the unit, it should include the tow kit.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Durable, Features
Thomas Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
102
Sean H.
Alma, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/9/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I love it, cut my mowing time substantially.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Sean Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
102
John S.
West Blocton, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/22/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mowing Grass Used To Seem Like Work, Now It's Fun
For years I paid someone else to mow my lawn, I never cared for lawn work. After deciding to do it myself I started searching the internet to find information on mowers and pricing. I found Mowers Direct and my searching was over. Their site assisted me in making the best decision for my needs and provided the best overall pricing. I ordered my new Toro and now I enjoy cutting grass. The first day I had it, I cut 3 of my neighbors yards in addition to my own.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, Fast
John Recommends This Toro Mower
John Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct provided much information that helped me decide what mower would be best for my application down to the manufacturer and model. Based on that information I made my decision and couldn't be happier. The ordering, payment and delivery process was just as described."
 more
Was this review helpful?
1710
Bill R.
Titusville, FL
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Mx-5060
I have owned this a year now and have gotten to know it well. If you don't cut overgrown fields the blades hold up well, but revolve at such a high speed that they are prone to damage from limbs and pine cones, (common sense). I have a welded deck and can tell you it was well worth the added cost.

Slime in the tires has always been a given, even when I used Sears mowers. One problem I have is forgetting to check the belt routing after changing blades. Burnt up 2 belts due to not checking.... more
Bill Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
60
Daniel R.
Walbridge, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/13/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Toro Timecutter
I have cut my grass 2 times since delivery. The right side is way out of adjustment. I am very busy with moving and remodeling and do not have time to do anything about it yet.I will do a full review when it is adjusted.
I need to find out how or who can adjust this
Thanks
Daniel Recommends This Toro Mower
Daniel's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mower out of adjustment on the right side.Needs fixed"
 more
Was this review helpful?
115
Mark A.
West Columbia, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/4/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Shipping Was Amazing
I bought this machine after shopping it locally. Price was less, delivered to me, best deal I could find locally. The most astonishing thing was the shipping. I was told one week for shipping and got it in 3 days!!

The only problem was unpacking it. Don't rely on the instructions printed on the outer carton. They are bunk!!
Pros: Features, Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Mark Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I recommend Mowers Direct to anyone in the market to purchase a mower."
 more
Was this review helpful?
71
Randall
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/23/13
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Timecutter Ss5000
I just got my Toro S5000. It is so far a great investment, it has saved me thousands of dollars a year from paying some company to mow for me.
Was this review helpful?
60
John G.
Combine, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/3/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
27
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
First Time On A Zero Turn.
I write this with no prior experience with a "zero turn" style mower. That being said, I am highly impressed with the maneuverability as I suppose any one would be. The speed, accuracy and power at with I now mow has brought the joy of yard work back. My only problem and I'm not sure if it is a problem. It appears that the right, rear tire performs or is more powerful than the left side. Could be my mower or all these models. I don't know.
Was this review helpful?
104
Douglas P.
Leland, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/31/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Makes Mowing A Pleasure
Mowing much faster than conventional mowers. Needs lights so I can continue mowing at night.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Fast, Price
Cons: not Enough Grease Fittingst
Douglas Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
72
Lazaro M.
Lithia, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/3/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Toro Mower
I use the mower to cut about 3.5 acres. The mower has cut my cutting time significantly over my regular (non zero turn) riding mower, which I still use on the other portion of my property. The controls and the ease of driving the Toro is great. Also, getting on and off the machine is really easy. I only wish I would have bought a larger machine as it has a little problem with grass over 8" tall.

Overall the machine performs as advertised and up to now I am very happy with the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Price, Features
Lazaro Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Bob P.
Martin, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/7/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Great Toro
It Is Better Than White Bread.
It's the Best Mower That I Have Ever Had, But I Need Another Key. How Much Is the Extra Key.?

Thank You.
Was this review helpful?
84
Gwen
Houston, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/4/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower, Could Be Slightly Better Accessories
I bought my mower from Mower Direct (for the most part an easy experience, 9 .5 out of 10). It was very easy to take out of the box, excellent instructions, great condition from shipper, excellent trucking company. However, a very small piece which is used often could have been of better quality. There was included a hose attachment to rinse off mower deck that is made out of plastic and doesn't stay attached to the deck at all. I think the Toro company could have sprung for the better... more
Was this review helpful?
40
Mark
New Iberia, LA
REVIEWED
MAR.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower.
Its a great mower for the money. Powerful, cuts great. Fast. Will give better review after more cuts.
Was this review helpful?
30
Mike E.
Wills Point, TX
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
To Robert T
Mine was the same way. It pulled to the left. There is a very easy fix. Get a 1/2 wrench there is an adjustment behind each rear wheel. Go for a ride. Tighten or loosen each nut until it runs perfectly straight.
Mike Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Robert T.
Bumpass, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/7/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Zero Turn Mower
The whole process was great, the order, the freight company and the Zero Turn Mower. Order on a Sunday, delivered four days later. The freight company driver was working with me, I got stuck in traffic on I-95. The mower was package very tight in a crate.

I like my new Zero Turn Mower, has cut down on time and a nice cut. The only complaint I have is when you pull back the handles all way back to go forward, the mower drifts to the right, have to keep working the left handle. I need to... more
Robert Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Vince U.
Harper, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/27/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sweet Mowing
Had a 42" lawn tractor. This is so much sweeter and faster. I mow places that my old mower couldn't. The warranty and reviews made me purchase the Toro. The review about the bad cup holder really made my final decision. If that's all they could find wrong. I have 4 acres.
Vince Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Joel N.
Portland, ND
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/3/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Good Deal
I shopped around, looked at reviews and made a decision on the Toro Timecutter SS5000. Good price, free shipping and now I'm mowing away!
Joel Recommends This Toro Mower
Joel's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great prices, quick shipping in a easy open crate! I'm happy with the choice."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Joseph R.
Bush, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/12/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Zero Turn
Used it for first time last week. Can't wait to use it again. Cut great. Very easy to operate.
Joseph Recommends This Toro Mower
Joseph's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very easy buying experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Neil K.
Lake View, SC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/7/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Home Owner
Great machine! No problems, so far. Wish it came with an hour meter. So I ordered one from Napa, easy to install.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: No Hour Meter
Neil Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Timothy M.
Lexington, SC
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This Mower
I purchased this mower in January 2015 from Home Depot. Had a problem with order, which they corrected. Mower came much earlier than expected ,was delivered by A-Z and very professional delivery guy explained everything. I had never operated. thanks
Timothy Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Jerry M.
Rockwood, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/19/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Toro
This was our first experience of ordering anything on line and it has been a great experience.

The Toro is great...It mows great. I'm very please with it. Even my brother was very impressed.

Thanks Toro for a great product.
Jerry Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeffery
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/11/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I purchased this to replace an old 30" Snapper. I have several tight spots in my yard and was concerned about the 50" cut. I do have to weed eat a little more but everything else is much faster and makes up for the extra time spent weed eating. I have been using it all summer and have had no problems at all.

The only issue I have had is with the rigid deck not adjusting when I mow my ditch. Most other mowers will have enough give in the deck to adjust to the changes in terrain but... more
Jeffery Recommends This Toro Mower
Jeffery's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct was good to work with and the purchase saved me hundreds of dollars. I had to wait a few weeks for the check to clear and the shipper to get it to me but I had more time than money. I did have an issue with the shipper (SAIA) but that was no fault of Mowers Direct. SAIA got my order at their New Orleans distribution center and it sat on their dock for over a week. I arranged to be at home for the delivery and got a call that they forgot it and it would be another week before they could get to me. After a few choice words, they delivered the mower that evening."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Andy B.
Southampton, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/25/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Poor Customer Service
Bought new SS5000 and mulching kit. Assembled as per instructions but mower bed is higher on one side than the other - perhaps my issue in assembly. Called MowersDirect, they gave me Toro's number. Called Toro's number they said they couldn't give me any technical help and gave me local dealers number.

Called local dealer and they said they said they couldn't talk to me about it and I'd have to bring it in. They then said I should have bought it through them and would have beaten the price,... more
Andy Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
John M.
Weldon, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/12/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good.
I cut about six acres and was using a traditional 42" cut mower. The SS5000 takes about half as long. Of course the deck is 8" wider, but the ground speed is also faster and the zero turn makes trimming quicker too.

The Toro cost about three times as much as my old Troybuilt but it does a better job and hopefully will last three times as long (the Troybuilt fell apart after 3 years of fairly hard use).

The only downside with the SS5000, and most zero turns) is that it... more
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron J.
Miltona, MN
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
You Can't Go Wrong
We Purchased our Toro SS5000 50 inch mower from Mowers Direct and we chose to have our skid steer with forks pull it off the truck because it was 700 or so pounds. We could have paid to have it lifted off but had the resources to do it ourselves.

The shipping create was all intact and the mower was very easy to take out of the create. We use the mower in our vineyard and it works like a dream. We will be purchasing another with a 60 inch deck next spring. I recommend Mowers Direct you... more
Ron Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Chase S.
Center City, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/26/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower
Started up right out of the box with some gas. Mows fast and smooth.
Chase Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark A.
West Columbia, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/4/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Thing Sure Looks Great In The Box!
The uncrating directions on the box is nothing but a lie. It is apparent when removing the carton top that it will NOT come off the rear of the skid......and it does not! It is impossible to uncrate this thing as the directions say by yourself! Wish I could have mowed my lawn.....
Mark Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
1626
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials