Search
< Back to Product

Toro 74627 Zero Turn Lawn Mower Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
Toro 74627 Reviews
22 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Don S.
Lineville, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/28/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mower And Hourmeter
I will say that once I got it running it mowed very quickly and smoothly. I was a bit concerned that the battery died on a new mower, at first I thought it was a starter problem, tried to call but on Saturday no one was there. But once I figured that it was the battery I put a quick charge on it and with 1/10th of an hour practice it ran beautifully.

The meter hooked up very easily. No cutting or splicing of wires, just plug and play (sort of speak).
And the delivery was off the hook... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Don O.
Mocksville, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/18/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Fine Zero Turn Mower
When the freight company delivered my Toro Zero Turn Mower and left it on the street in front of my house, I should have suspected that I might be having a bad start to the day. I finally got the mower out of the shipping container and got to cutting grass.

My first hour on the mower had me convinced that I had made a bad mistake. Then, after getting used to the hand levers, I was very impressed with the speed of the mower, even in the "slow" range. That mower moves!

The... more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Don,
If you click on Free Shipping on our web site, you will see:
"Curb Side Delivery
All products greater than 100 lbs. ship via semi-truck. We recommend ordering "Lift Gate Service" to safely lower the product to the curb.
We currently do NOT offer White Glove Service. In other words, you are responsible for getting the products from the curb to your garage.
The trucking company is not obligated to assist, but many are kind enough to help"

As your skill level improves you'll do better around the trees, and your gas mileage will improve, too. Once you get the hang of the mower and develop a good mowing path you won't have to spend as much time backing & filling to cut around your trees.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Kyle M.
Cedarville, OH
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Greatly Disappointed
I purchased this mower last year. After 3 replacements from Toro and numerous trips to service departments I am still without a quality mower. The automatic break consistently causes issues with the mower. As I engage the arms from break into drive the mower shuts off. It progressively gets worse until it requires repair. I am now forced to push mow with an old mower because the Toro mower is rendered useless without being able to sustain power from the break position to a forward or... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Howard
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/11/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Rear Bagging System
The shipping and receiving of my Toro bagging system was very timely. It was delivered within the time stated and the shipping company placed the container exactly where I instructed so as not to block the driveway or the street.

It took several hours to assemble the bagging system on my Toro ZTR. The assembly instructions were a challenge in several steps, but pictures helped greatly in the process. I completed the assembly process in 3 hours and used the bagging system to pick up leaves.... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/6/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Never, Never, Never Go Back. . .
I will never go back to a lawnmower with a steering wheel on it. . . this machine is spectacular!!!

True, the recommended drive around in an open area was perfectly understandable, but after a very short learning curve, I am now zipping around trees and obstacles all over the yard.

It cuts like a dream and it truly lives up to the TimeCutter name! I only now wish I had ordered the optional hitch.

I highly recommend this mower to anyone who wants to find, finally, excitement in the... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brendan
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/11/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Chores Made Fun
I received my tractor 3 weeks ago. It was packed on a pallet and dropped off via a lift gate truck, which is the only realistic option. Unpacking it from the shipping material was easy, backing it off the pallet was also a breeze. I'm glad there was gas and a charged battery in the machine.

The next part, installing the bagger & associated parts took some time and scraped knuckles. The bagger sort of takes the sporty machine down a notch as far as eye appeal, but worth it by far.

I... more
Was this review helpful?
00
James
Davie, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/19/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro 74627
I had a JD lawn tractor with 163.2 hours. I serviced it one time at the cost of $500, which was 1/4 of the price. The cost of maintenance was too high for parts and labor. The next time that I needed to service it I found that the gas tank on the JD was leaking. The tank is underneath the seat and could not be punctured. I sent a letter to JD, but did not hear from them in regards to the leaking gas tank. I would not purchase another JD.

I then sought out to purchase a new zero turn... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Rebecca S.
Telephone, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/14/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A New Toy For An Old Man
My partner, Joe, has mowed lawns all his life (he is 71). He even owned and operated a lawn care service at one time. This is not his first ZTR, but the first one with the operating levers.

He is still getting used to the sensitivity of the controls, but really LOVES his new mower. I know this will be the last mower we will be getting for this acre. It really does a beautiful job and Joe does not come in all worn out after fighting the steering wheel of the old mower. And, there will... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Josh M.
Hawkinsville, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/16/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exactly What I Wanted In A Mower
Great quality at a great price for a zero turn mower.

Mowers Direct was great to deal with when it came to communication. They have fast shipment with great selection and information for whatever you are looking for in lawn care.
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert S.
St Joseph, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/18/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What A Great Mower
I received my mower in 3 days & was mowing grass in 30 minutes after delivery. I love it, & so does my wife.
Was this review helpful?
00
Joe H.
Oak Grove, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/30/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
It's an awesome mower, with fast shipping.

I would recommend this mower and site to anyone!
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike M.
Sunset, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/26/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Price, Straighforward Fulfillment
My delivery was delayed a few days by Hurricane Isaac, but eventually arrived at the area's R & L Carriers terminal. I had called R & L and arranged for them to fork-lift my mower from their receiving dock onto my personal trailer, saving the $50 drop-tail delivery fee.

The mower was easy to uncrate. Assembly instructions were poorly written, particularly the segment on installing the seat-retainer assembly. But the assembly process is so simple anyone could figure it out.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kerry A.
Liberty, SC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/22/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Great Machine
This is truly one great yard machine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
00
Marion K.
Tarboro, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/1/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy
Very pleased with the mower. It is quick and dependable.

I'm surprised how quickly I received it. Great Price and features. Just what I was looking for and the right price.
Was this review helpful?
00
Jack S.
Henrico, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/1/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
"mower" Better Than The Last Mower
I previously had a 42" zero-turn for six years and was very happy with it. The 4 cycle Kohler engine on the new mower runs quieter and smoother than the B&S on the last mower.

The new mower is absolutely terrific. It costs less than the one bought in 2006 from a Toro Dealer but Mowers Direct delivered the mower in my drive two days after I ordered it; and I live no where near Illinois.

We took off the shipping package and started the mower and all was right with the world. ... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Craig C.
Forney, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/30/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
This is my first riding mower that I have owned. I looked at purchasing a tractor style mower but for a little extra, I decided to go with a Zero Turn style.

The mower works great and mows with no problems. The engine seem plenty powerful and I haven't noticed it lugging at all while mowing or going up grades. I have only been able to mow with it for a short time.

My 15 year old son enjoys mowing with it and won't let me use it. I doubt this will last long!
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert N.
Winfield, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/30/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Champ
This is my 4th Toro since 1972. My first two were self propelled walk behind, the third a 42" tractor. They were great and so far this one has lived up to my expectations! I mow 2 1/2 east texas acres twice a week and my 42" ZTR handles it like a champ!
Was this review helpful?
00
Philip M. Palazzo
Oneonta, NY
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Definitely Worth The Investment
I sweated spending almost three grand on a mower. Once I got it home and used it the first time, my concerns about spending the money disappeared. Time IS money to me, and I went from two hours for a decent cut, to 40 minutes for a great cut. And it is flat out fun to use this mower. Got the bagger and the hitch attachment and use it with a plug aerator and a dethatcher -- my yard looks great! I have so much more time to work on other things now. I don't know why anyone that does not have... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jerry
Cincinnati, OH
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
I Recommend This Mower
I purchased this mower in March 2012 and have used it 5 times and it works great. I would recommend this mower if you want to cut down your mowing time. It has cut my mowing time in half. I have not had any problems with the quality of the cut or the operation of the mower. I installed the mulching kit and it works well. I'm not giving it 5 stars since I do feel a mower at this price should have an hour meter and hitch as standard features.
Was this review helpful?
00
J.anna Hardy
Tacoma, WA
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Mower Works Well
Mower is everything I expected. I cut my mowing time in half. The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is that it is a little scary on hills. No brakes other than the reverse. I know that is the nature of the mower, but it is what it is. Great size deck for a lawn with a lot of trees.
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph Kobiec
Oak Forest, IL
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Machine
I have had no issues with it and have used it for over a month. Would recommend in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful?
00
Johnny
Mobile, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/8/12
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Kinda Works
Picked up the mower from the UPS freight terminal. Forklift loaded the crated mower onto my trailer. After uncrating, the machine appeared to be totally unharmed from the Illinois to Mobile, Al. transport.

Put gas in it to drive off the trailer, but a problem occurred with the left wheel transmission. I was able to get it off of the trailer, but the function of the left wheel transmission was approximately 40-50% of the right wheel.

There seems to be a problem with some dealers in... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials