Your Cart @ Mowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Toro 20384 Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Toro 20384 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (8)
Durable (7)
Features (6)
Price (5)
Quiet (4)
Cons
Expensive (1)
Unreliable (1)
Mulching Is Good Not Exc... (1)
Jittery On Hard Lawns (1)
Heavy (1)
73% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
30 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Duane D.
Moscow, ID
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/1/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lovin' It!
Injured my rt shoulder last fall, making starting my old mower difficult. Decided to try electric start. Checked out several & decided on the toro 20834 and am very pleased. Have used as mulcher & bagger. Zero trace of clippings when mulching.

When trees started dropping spring time messes, used bag very very nice pickup and no trail of clippings all clippings made it in the bag. The bag is easy to get off & back on, and has a nice frame that makes dumping efficient.

I tend... more
Duane Recommends This Toro Mower
Duane's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent site for investigating a variety of popular products. Prompt response to orders & quick delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael M.
Downers Grove, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/11/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Toro Really Sucks
I received my Toro electric start mower and the mower did not go into self-propel at all. The next mower now is a problem in starting.
I am disappointed at Toro a lot. Mowers Direct helped a little in replacing the 1st mower, but it looks like I have to do all the leg work to make this $600 mower work.
Michael Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Pauline T.
Pittsbugh, PA
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Wish It Would Run Right
I have this mower and am having engine issues, it surges and drags on the idle like it needs turned up. I have had it at the shop 3 times and they keep playing games with me (woman), they told me it was fixed I took it home and after cutting my back yard it pooped out and choked itself out and would not run for me to cut the front, It is in the shop as I speak, IF it is not fixed I am ditching it and getting a new mower and not a toro...
Pauline Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
David S.
Verona, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/28/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Solid Mower But Not Perfect
Have used Super Recycler mowers for many years. This new model was purchased because of the electric start. Overall experience has been very good.

Two issues:

1. Front wheels were not tightened appropriate by Toro. They were almost fall off after 2 uses. (Not too hard to tighten once I turned it over)

2. Having difficulty getting the personal pace cable tight enough to keep mower at a fast pace. Also because of this and extra weight of electric start mower is a little hard to... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Price
Cons: Heavy
David Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
John B.
Dyer, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/15/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Pull Start Works Fine
Wouldn't start, took to authorized repair- spark plug wire not connected. After initial runs, battery could not be recharged. Am in need of replacement battery. Rather than wait for the 2 1/2 weeks for dealer repair service, I need a battery now.
John Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Tom G.
North Chesterfield, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/17/16
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Model 20384 In For Warranty Repair After Mowing A Small Lawn Onc
Opened the box and noted the cable controlling the rear wheel drive was badly kinked. 10W30 oil, new 87 octane fuel, greased the rear drive, and charged the battery for 24 hours. Tried the electric start as well as starting with the pull rope, mower started right up with no problems. Mowed a while, mower worked good, and then I picked up a small branch, which meant the mower had to be restarted. The starter engaged, but did not have enough guts to turn over the engine.

Using the pull... more
Tom Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Edwin S.
Carmel, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/24/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wheel Won't Stay On
The left front wheel fell off once and I tightened the nut and it stayed on for almost one full mowing of my small yard (4,000 sq feet). I guess I will have to go to the hardware store and try to match the bolt to get one which will allow the nut to be tightened enough to keep the wheel on. This mower has only been used 5 times.
Edwin Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
David W.
Dayton, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/16/16
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
This is my second one. The first I used for 12 years before giving it to my neighbor in still good running order (still being used). The new one is lighter yet the mulching performance, personal pace, electric start, and starting reliability are still the features to have.
David Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Vernon M.
Temple, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/5/16
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Best To Buy From Dealer
Upon inspection the discharge guard was heavily scratched. The box it was shipped in had no visible damage and thus, the discharge guard was obviously damaged before it was shipped. Immediately after starting the mower the self propel did not work. I took the mower to Empire Seed in Temple, Texas for warranty work and was told something (they believe maybe a stick?) was lodged in the self propelled drive belt and the repairs would not be covered under warranty. Empire Seed initially would not... more
Vernon Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Vernon,
Sorry you had issues with the service center it does sound that they did not want to work on it, if you call Toro and send them the receipt they can reimburse you under warranty make sure you have the dealers information that did not want to work on it so they can contact the dealer to find out why. You should not pay for something that is covered under warranty, if you get nowhere please let us know and we can contact our rep.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Vernon,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. Please reach out to PED directly for information regarding shipping damage. Please call our customer service number (888) 384-9939 (toll free) and Toro will reimburse you for items that should have been covered for warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michele R.
Haddonfield, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/17/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Electric Start Mower Is Great.
I am a woman and was able to assemble mower myself. Electric start is great and so is mower. So far so good.
Michele Recommends This Toro Mower
Michele's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great product and service"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/29/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower - No Oil Included.
Mower arrived quickly and works as advertised. I was surprised that the box didn't include the necessary oil, but maybe I just missed that piece of information.
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
David B.
Prattville, AL
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Toro Super Recycler
Had the machine 3 weeks and the electric start quit. Blown fuse. Had dealer replace fuse in the battery compartment. Battery compartment was full of grass, dirt, and moisture. Ran 2 weeks and another fuse went. Dealer fixed again and sealed the door with silicone. Ran 2 months and quit again -fuse gone. Have had difficult time trying to start it with the manual pull. Dealer fixed manual pull and fuse again. One more month and fuse gone again and manual pull is stuck have way out. This... more
Was this review helpful?
234
Nick S.
Champlain, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/1/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Red Stallion
Bought this upper level Toro from Mowers Direct. They had great service and shipping. Mower arrived almost ready to go, just had to charge the battery, bolt in the handle bar and add the oil and fuel it up.
What's amazing is that usually Rear wheel self-propels have either bad handling, are too heavy, or have too many unnecessary features. Some even have poor handle bar holding points. Not this baby! This premium Toro has been a pleasant surprise thus far, great handling, above average / good... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, Reliable, High Quality, Easy To Store
Nick Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
180
Nick S.
Champlain, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/1/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Follow-up Review: Red Stallion
After a full three months of mowing, I decided to return to write the conclusion of my review.

This premium Toro product is very good, but is one notch below great/excellent. I'll start with the negatives:

1- When mowing on hard surfaced lawns, the ride is rather jittery/bouncy (this baby has zero suspension). It would be nice if Toro could re-engineer the wheels to have some give.
2- The mulching is very good, but occasionally I see some left overs. This is in part due to the fact that... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Fast, Reliable
Cons: Jittery On Hard Lawns, Mulching Is Good Not Excellent
Nick Recommends This Toro Mower
Nick Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No problem with Mowers Direct. Product arrived in great order and setup was quick."
 more
Was this review helpful?
101
Fran
Macedonia, OH
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What I Needed
Have only had the mower for a couple of weeks and with the dry weather, there is not a lot of grass cutting going on. The three times I have used the mower, it started right up, was easy to adjust height, perfectly propelled at my varying pace and cut well. It mulches very fine particles. No more clumps on my lawn. Would absolutely recommend.
Was this review helpful?
80
Willaim K.
Cresskill, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/6/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
More Attention To Detail On This Model.
This replaced an eight year old Toro electric start mulching rear drive mower. When I pulled the old guy out of storage in April it started right up (B+S engine) but the chassis had rusted too much and flexed. I was disappointed that the chassis was junk after eight years and loath to pay an extra $200 to get an aluminum model. But I bought it anyway and almost as soon as I sent my order, FedEx was delivering the mower. Wow - really 2 day delivery!

Putting the mower together was no problem,... more
Willaim Recommends This Toro Mower
Willaim's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I really hate to give out 5 stars, but I have no complaints. I did not have any interaction with customer support and the fact my mower arrived 2 business days after my order may be a fluke, but I had a great experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Waco Kid
Waco, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/7/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
As A Mower - Excellent
I bought a house back in September of 2014 and just now have started to mow my yard. It has approx. 4000 sq ft of St Aug. lined with large Oak and Pecan trees. I needed the electric start, self-driving mulching mower so I went with the 20384. Great delivery by MD and assembly was not complicated. Once I charged the battery and added oil I was off and mowing.

I wanted to bag all the waste- (I dump it under my bushes for mulch) to get the leaves, nuts, hulls out before I start mulching. As a... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Waco Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Vernon M
REVIEWED
FEB.
14
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Great Lawnmower But Has Starting Problems
I had to have a mower my wife could start, so I elected to go with the electric start. My neighbor sings the praises of Toro, so after careful contemplation, I bought the Toro.

A few weeks after the "new" wore off (say about a month or two), the mower became difficult to start, then impossible without a prime into the carb. An email to Toro, and they recommended a trip to an authorized warranty station. The nice folks there said they adjusted the valves and gapped the plug. Seemed... more
Pros: Features
Cons: Unreliable
Vernon Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Vernon,
We are sorry to hear about the starting issue you are experiencing with your Toro mower. Our recommendation is to contact Toro directly. They can be reached at 888-384-9939. I'm sure they would appreciate the feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Mike H.
Chaska, MN
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Loved My Old Toro
Use to cut the lawn in 20 minutes with the old Toro, this one takes longer. Starts easily. Engine is quiet. The gas tank is too small and has to be filled every time we mow. It isn't as self-propelled and requires more pushing around corners and inclines.
Pros: Durable, Quiet
Mike Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
64
Ronald K.
Wethersfield, CT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/22/15
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Sorry I Bought This Machine Through Your Company.
Upon receiving the mower, I assembled the handles, and added oil and fresh gas. I have been unable to start this mower at all. Took off air filter and tried using starter fluid, and still nothing. Also, I noticed that the back of the air filter housing was cracked. This will allow
dirt to get directly into the carburetor. I took the machine to an authorized dealer for servicing today.

This thing is new. I never even got it to start, and it is costing me more money just to get the machine... more
Ronald Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Ronald,
Sorry to hear about the damage to the Mower. I just left you a voice mail to discuss the issue with the Mower.
more
Was this review helpful?
43
David L.
Arcade, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/31/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This Toro 20384
I love my new Toro 20384 Super Recycler Mower! I get a great clean. No mess cut when mulching with the Super Recycler. What a difference between the Recycler and the Super Recycler series, I now own both. Ordering from Mowers Direct was easy, they shipped it right away and was delivered a day earlier than expected by Fed Ex. A no hassle method of delivery since they leave it by your rear door, without arranging delivery appointments, or the need to be there.

Mowers Direct was the way to go... more
Pros: Quiet, Price, Features, High Quality
David Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Judy
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Yard Looks Good!
So far, I like the way my lawn looks after I mow it. This mower is easy to use. I love the key start. Works great everytime.
Was this review helpful?
43
Mike Z.
Jacksonville, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/16/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Mower
This is a great mower. It moves so easily that I could mow the yard with one hand on the mower and the other hand hold an adult beverage.

The machine looks well engineered.
Mike Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Earl B.
St Joseph, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/30/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quick Delivery
I ordered the Toro Super Recycler model on a Thursday afternoon and checked the order status the next day and found that it had been delivered in less that 24 hrs from a Chicago area location.

Put it together, added oil and gas and was mowing that evening. Works great: wife likes the electric start.
Earl Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Sharon J.
Westland, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/18/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Mowing
Love the mower, easy to start, quiet.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Features, Price, Quiet
Sharon Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
22
Richard
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tip To Tail Ordering Through Mowers Direct Was Flawless!
Great ordering process - excellent value!
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Features, Price, Quiet
Richard Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
33
Chris
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/24/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Early Yet, But......
Have only used it twice, but so far, love it. Will re-rate later if anything changes.
Was this review helpful?
44
Renee K.
Auburn Hills, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/22/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Yeah
Yeah, yeah.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Renee Recommends This Toro Mower
Renee's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very easy for my 13 year old son to use, only drawback is deck wash connection can be a little difficult to hook the hose on to."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Alan A.
Omaha, NE
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/2/15
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
I was a little skeptical about ordering a mower online, but Mowers Direct solved that. I ordered, it was shipped to my door, and I was mowing the next day! There was no shipping cost & no sales tax, A GREAT DEAL!!!!!
Alan Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Dale M.
Corpus Christi, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/14/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Great Lawn Mower
My new Toro lawn mower replaces another Toro lawn mower which is 25 years old. The mower still runs and works but it was time to replace it. It was donated to Goodwill.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Dale Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
23
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials