Your Cart @ Mowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Toro 20383 Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Toro 20383 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (8)
Features (5)
I'd Buy It Again (4)
Reliable (3)
Quiet (3)
Cons
Packaging (3)
Expensive (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
Vague Instructions For A... (1)
Bad Speed Control (1)
83% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
34 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Herbert H.
Los Alamos, NM
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/1/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Like It Alot
1st true mulching mower I EVER owned! I adjusted the walk-behind speed and mowed a lawn that was overdue. No clumps and rows of grass clippings to be raked or blown.
Herbert Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
David Oland
Kc, KS
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Blew Up After A Few Uses
I bought this back in November to replace a still running craftsman that I gave away. I used it a couple times in fall and a couple times in the spring before it blew up. It took them 3 months to tell me they would not cover it. Terrible product and company!
View Image
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Low Quality, Durability, Awkward, Bad Speed Control
David Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
David,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. This mower has a 5 year warranty. Please call our customer service number to help assist you in accessing coverage (888) 384-9939 (toll free). For best results with our customer care team, please ensure you have to correct model number. From the submitted photograph, it appears to be a model other than the 20383 sold in 2015.
more
Was this review helpful?
02
Mark Z.
Roanoke, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/27/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Broken Part
When I unpacked, I found the plastic piece you snap the air filter cover to was broken. I found the instructions for putting the mower together very vague. Haven't used the mower yet due to broken parts.
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Terrence K.
Portage, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/30/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Mower But
Note you cannot control the rpm of the motor. Why? Because it makes it cheaper to manufacture. Seems to me the rpm set at the factory are too low. What happens? The mower bogs down easier. I still like this mower, but come on talk to people who cut their lawns not engineers.
Terrence Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Jack J.
Geneva, IL
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Mower
I'm a first time home owner and bought a cheaper Craftsman mower in 2013. That mower was good but looking for an upgrade, especially with mulching. My Craftsman would leave clumps if cutting tall grass. This Toro does an excellent job as I work full time and can't always cut when my KY Bluegrass needs it.

The personal pace is awesome and blade stop in genius. Blade stop comes in handy when my kid leaves toys in yard, when picking up sticks in front of mower, when I stop to pick weeks in... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Cons: Packaging
Jack Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/2/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Mower
I've mowed my yard for 30 years and had a variety of mowers. I like to get a new one every 2 or 3 years. This is my 2nd Toro Super Recycler. The last I bought 2007. I thought the last one was great, and this one has a few more features that improve on it: stow-away handle, blade clutch, and doesn't blow grass at me when I'm using the bag.

It needed some adjusting before it worked right. I had to bend the bracket holding the throttle spring to get decent engine speed. I had to pull the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet
Cons: Packaging, Expensive
Tom Recommends This Toro Mower
Tom's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"FedEx beat it up bad. Toro needs to package it better. Mowers Direct got a new part to me with no problem."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jorge H.
Miami, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/21/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth Every Penny!
Once I got serious about "Dominating my neighbors" I began looking for an upgrade on my old Craftsman push lawnmower...I came across a YouTube channel, Lawn Care Nut, where he provides all types of yard-care tips. He was using this type of mower and that is where the investigation began!

I decided to purchase this unit on a Saturday and when it arrived on Wednesday I had to wait... I was in New Orleans on business :-( till Friday. Friday night I inserted two bolts for the handle,... more
Jorge Recommends This Toro Mower
Jorge's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Webpage was very easy to navigate, found the item I was looking for, paid for it on a Saturday and it was delivered on Wednesday! I thought this company has Amazon Prime speed! Very impressed with there service. I will absolutely be using this site to replace all future equipment."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tony H.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/14/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Purchase Decision
I have been mowing grass for years and this is the best mower I have ever had. The cleanliness of the cut even in taller, wet grass is something I have never seen.

I was concerned with only a 21" deck but it actually has substantially cut my mowing time as compared to my previous 22" Toro due to the speed I can mow at.

Just an excellent machine.
Tony Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Biagio M.
Kansas City, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
I Like This Mower, But...
The mower was delivered on time and worked well for the first two times that I used it. But the third time the front right wheel lost a nut and wobbled off. I tried to fix it but the nut was lost in the grass and I could not locate it. I will have to get another nut to replace that one.

I do not think that this should have happened on a brand new mower. I am afraid now of the same thing happening to the other wheels. Any recommendations?

Also, the oil dipstick is so difficult to... more
Biagio Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Dan Pam C.
Florissant, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/9/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Could Be Happier
This is our 2nd Toro personal pace. Our first lasted 14 years mowing and catching 1/2 acre 4 times a month from April until November. Easy set up from the box, simple instructions , start on the first pull out of the box. The personal pace works better than are first Toro and we really like the option of having the blade stop when emptying the bag.

The opening on the bag is wide and let's the bag empty quickly and easily. The height setting are easy to read and adjust with little effort.... more
Dan Recommends This Toro Mower
Dan's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct was extremely quick in delivery time, the website was easy to navigate, customer friendly and a terrific price. Good Job Mowers Direct"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
David B.
Fort Wayne, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/4/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Problems With The Personal Pace Belt On My Model #20383
After unpacking my new mower and completing the assembly process, I added oil and gasoline and started the engine while still in my garage. It started on the first or second try and I engaged the bar to start the blade and everything seemed great.

As I started to push the mower to the front of the garage, white smoke accompanied with a burning smell started coming from under the mower and I shut the engine off. I noticed pieces of what looked like pieces from a belt under the mower.

I... more
David Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron A.
Warren, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/24/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Shocked
After I installed the handle, I found that the blade stop didn't work took it too it to a toro dealer It was two weeks before I got it back had to have a lawn service cut my grass cost me fifty dollars for two weeks.
Ron Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul W.
Cedarville, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/29/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
High Quality But Heavy- Continuatioin Of 4/18/16 Review
Used the mower for about the 4th time last night. Have learned how to use the Personal Pace, (press down slightly), does not clump even in April. Has a higher top end so I finish a bit earlier. Lawn looks beautiful. The machine runs very level and being heavy probably is more stable so a very even cut.
For us the blade brake is worth it. You quickly get used to that benefit.

Still perplexed as to why sometimes I can pull it back toward myself easily, and not other times. Still... more
Paul Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark Z.
Roanoke, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/27/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Broken Part Handled Well
My mower arrived with a broken part. One quick phone call and the part arrived in a few days. Mower has been great so far after about 5 mowings. Easy to start and the pacing is great. Only thing I don't like is the markings to check the oil dipstick plus it's plastic. I am happy with the purchase.
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim G.
River Falls, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/28/16
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Toro Super Recycler
This is the second mower i have bought from mowers direct the first was a snapper ninja which broke after the second mowing and ended up in the shop for three weeks waiting for parts.the toro mower arrived in a few days assembly was fairly easy started right up.

During the first mowing the left front wheel fell off i found the nut and bolt and put it back on apparently there is not much quality control at the factory seems to work fine now one week after i purcased it they were fifty... more
Jim Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul W.
Cedarville, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/29/16
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
High Quality, But Heavy.
I wanted a very high quality mower and this is very high quality. However, our yard is quite tight which requires pulling the machine back and forth. This mower is heavy and Personal Pace in my opinion is better suited to larger yards with more open space than I have.

When I asked MOWER DIRECT if they could make arrangements for a mower that would better suit me I was told it was my fault for not picking the right one.

They should say on their page for this unit, ( # 20383), that it is... more
Paul Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Ronald K.
Indianapolis, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/21/16
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not A 1-pull Start
Cons:
It takes about 2 to 3 pulls to get this started.
The wash port doesn't do as good of a job as just lifting the deck and spraying underneath.
When I unpacked it, there was a ribbon and the end of a popped balloon attached to the handlebar, so this was obviously a floor demo model. It really doesn't take that much work to take the ribbon off.

Pros:
The blade brake works well. The Personal Pace and Super Recycler work as good as my last Toro.

Still a good buy. Just a wee bit... more
Ronald Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
James F.
Quincy, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/7/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Started on the first pull! Great mower. The spin-stop feature works as described. Personal Pace is wonderful and responsive. Highly recommend this mower.
James Recommends This Toro Mower
James's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Best price on internet and free shipping!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Larry S.
Haysville, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/9/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cautiously Optimistic
Ordered it April 9th, it came just a few days later in perfect condition, started up on the first pull, and has started on the first pull every time. I love the deck wash-out port, and the cut is great.

It seems to be a good quality mower. That's the good, and now for the not so good. Just 3 short weeks later, the self-propel went out so now it's in the shop 4 to 6 weeks. Hopefully, whatever is wrong, the warranty will cover.

Toro is normally very good with their warranty work. So now... more
Larry Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Paul
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/9/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Super Recycler
I looked at all kinds of mowers. I live in a suburb so my lawn is not huge. I thought about the new Toro 30", but bought this one instead.

I love that it starts on first pull & has more height settings than most. The cut of the blade is 5 star. I use to empty the bag 4-5 times on a good mow. Now I can do it from start to finish on one.

The clippings are so fine- I've never seen a mower produce this fine of a cut. I've owned a Honda Harmony, Neuton electric, and a Craftsman.... more
Was this review helpful?
196
Henry W.
Yakima, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/7/12
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
New Toro 20383
My Toro 20383 arrived in great condition. I thought the instructions for assembly were somewhat hard to understand and too brief. I think more detail with better pictures are needed, particularly of where the primer bulb is located. Once I figured out what to do the mower started on the second pull.

I find the highly advertised "personal pace" works well when mowing in a long straight line but it is very unhandy when making turns. I think my 12 year old Toro that I replaced... more
Was this review helpful?
133
Tony
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Homeowner
Received mower in very short order, but it was damaged. Fortunately, I listened to the delivery guy and checked it. Replacement mower was back within just a couple of days. So, overall, I'd say my experience was very good.
Was this review helpful?
133
Dave D.
Foley, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/24/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Been using this mower for a couple of months & it is a very easy mower to operate, rather quiet & does a great job mulching or bagging. Takes a little getting use to the delay when you pull it back towards you but I've already gotten used to that. Starts on 1st or 2nd pull when cold & so far has always started on 1st pull when it is warm. I do use 100% gas with no ethanol.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Dave Recommends This Toro Mower
Dave Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Was so easy to order it on line, the trucking company called & let me know when they could deliver & they delivered it up to my door & had me inspect it for damage before they left."
 more
Was this review helpful?
113
Tony
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Positive Experience
My mower arrived in a very short time and at the closely-approximate delivery time. Upon inspection, found it was damaged, returned it and without hassle, a replacement was delivered within a few days. So my experience with the retailer was very positive. It is a good mower and, so far, does just what I expected and wanted.
Was this review helpful?
102
Dick F.
Mansfield, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/20/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Mower - Except For Grass Catcher.
Had my Lawnboy 20 years. Was disappointed when I found out I couldn't purchase a Lawnboy with an aluminum deck. Then was told Toro acquired Lawnboy. They make a Toro with the deck and features I wanted. Was a little pricey but I bought it. The mower is everything I expected. The improvements over the past 20 years are amazing. You will love this mower. The only thing I have an issue with - The cut grass does not empty out of the bag as easy as it did from the Lawnboy. Obviously the grass... more
Dick Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Guy N.
St Louis, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/7/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exactly What I Wanted
It came undamaged and beautiful. Followed directions to the letter. Started immediately after connecting spark plug. Mowed approx two feet and didn't cut anymore. Found blade stop cable outer spiral wrap slips at adjustment clamp. Wound several times with electrical tape and re-clamped securely, It works but is not a permanent quality fix for this machine.

Needs a permanent solution from an engineer. Otherwise it's the perfect mower for my needs.It bags wet grass with out clogging! I realize... more
Guy Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Jeffrey D.
Rockford, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/7/15
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro
Great mower for the money. Does everything well. New Toro customer and will shop again.
Jeffrey Recommends This Toro Mower
Jeffrey's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mower arrived with a defective part, PED addressed the issue and quickly shipped a replacement part. Will shop again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
52
Michael B.
Parma, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/30/15
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
After using a push mower, this is a huge step up for me. As advertised, it started on the first pull.

I have a hilly yard, and this Toro makes a big difference going up hill. Costs a whole lotta money, but worth it.
Michael Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
52
Mark H.
Beaumont, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/22/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
My first two Toro Mowers have lasted 27 years. I just purchased my third and it is the best by far. I have the Toro 20383 with blade stop. Mower is easy to start, maneuver, grass bags easily, and the mulching feature works very well. The mower arrived sooner than quoted arrival date.

When the mower arrived, the handle adjustment bracket was bent. I phoned Mowers Direct, sent them the photos they requested to identify the part, and they quickly shipped me a new part at no charge.

I... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Mark's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct was helpful, answered my questions thoroughly, and the mower arrived two days sooner than the quoted arrival date. My only shipping complaint is the mower arrived with a bent handle adjustment bracket--damaged during shipping. However, Mowers Direct quickly shipped me a new part when notified of the damage."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Gregg S.
Bastop, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/23/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
28
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Missing Parts, Mower Unusable
I received the mower with no manual or hardware to attach the handle. The mower is unusable.

Mowers Direct is blaming Toro, but I find that hard to believe. I might get the parts to attach the handle later next week. I think they should overnight it, but they would not.
Gregg Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Gregg,
We are sorry to hear the manual and hardware were not included with your mower. The quality control takes place at the Toro factory, so we are not wrong in saying Toro is at fault for not including those items.

We are unable to process parts orders on weekends, but we will make sure your missing parts ship in Monday 3/2. Again we apologize for the inconvenience.
more
Was this review helpful?
86
Thomas Benson
Naperville, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/14/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My New Toro
I have had my new Toro for a month now. It always starts on the first or second pull regardless of whether the engine is hot or cold. I like the grass catcher which is easy to empty into yard waste bags. It is lighter and easier to use than the catcher on my old Toro.

Was a bit disappointed in the instruction manual, however. It appears that the manual may have been written to cover several other models, in addition to the actual one I purchased. As a consequence, some diagrams did not... more
Thomas Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
42
Doug B.
Denver, CO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/21/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Product As Described
Could not find this model in town - so ordered this at this web- mower was virtually set up and ready to go out of the box.

Shipping was fast.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Doug Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
64
Randy W.
Kansas City, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/13/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product And Service!
I received the mower in 2 1/2 days,in good condition even though the box had a hole in it and the bottom was in danger of falling out (held by one strip of clear tape). As far as the purchase experience, absolutely excellent service. The mower took about 30 minutes to assemble. I've used it 3 times and it's started on the first pull each time. I love the blade stop feature. No real complaints here...good price, good buying experience, and good performance from the mower. I would buy from... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Reliable, Quiet
Cons: Packaging, Vague Instructions For Adding Oil
Randy Recommends This Toro Mower
Randy's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Best online shopping experience I've ever had. No bad surprises. Everything went quickly and smoothly."
 more
Was this review helpful?
32
Jonathan W.
Gambrills, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/13/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower
I have not used the mower so I can't tell how good it is. I did put oil in it and start it and it works and sounds great.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Bad Instructions
Jonathan Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
314
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials