Your Cart @ Mowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Toro 20381 Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$499.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$579.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
 
$649.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Toro 20381 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (24)
I'd Buy It Again (16)
Features (13)
High Quality (10)
Reliable (10)
Cons
Expensive (10)
Heavy (4)
Low Quality (4)
Durability (3)
Packaging (2)
78% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
106 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Zachary B.
Decatur, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/5/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Most Enjoyable Mower Ever
I have been mowing for almost twenty years and have found this mower to be the most enjoyable mower I've ever used! I looked and looked for a new mower. I have used many different kinds of mowers and had a difficult time picking a new one. I wanted a mower with a good name and one that could be serviced locally. If I purchased one from a big box store I was afraid it wouldn't be repaired very easily.

I decided upon the toro super recycler because of the good things I'd heard about it. Also,... more
Zachary Recommends This Toro Mower
Zachary's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Loretta S.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/2/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Disappointed
This is my second Super Recycler and I refer to it as "My Misery." It is only the second season I am using it, and I will be getting rid of it at the end of this season. Assuming it lasts that long. It has been in and out of the repair shop, which is inconvenient and usually means I don't have my mower for a week or so.

Problems started right away with a melted spark plug wire (known design flaw, mentioned by some other reviewers here). It is very difficult to start. Forget the 1... more
Loretta Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
41
John L.
Manchester, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/24/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Buy And Exceeds All Expectations!
I researched self-propelled lawn mowers, and found two that were consistently at the top of everyone's list. I purchased the higher-priced (so it must be better) mower from a local vender. It was too heavy too awkward to use hard to turn and a real challenge to control. So I returned it.

I then ordered my Toro Super Recycler #20381 from Mowers Direct, and received it at my front door, two days later. This Toro is easier to use, has more features, than my previous top of the line Toro... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: None
John Recommends This Toro Mower
John's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"What you see online is what you get. You also get what you don't see...quality service, efficiency, and reliability, and expertise."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Jose B.
Chesterfield, VA
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Lawnmower And At Exelent Price And Warranty
This Toro lawnmower is awesome and easy to use . I was very impressed with the lawnmower out of the box delivered by FedEx. As soon I received open, put it together and the first pull it's was on and the Honda engine looks great and the design it's awesome.

5 years of worry free and free shipping you can beat that! Better deal than those big places in orange and blue out there , they will not give you a warranty like MowersDirect.com thank you!
Jose Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Betty F.
Hagerstown, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/27/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Super Recycler
Grandson has used the mower and likes to mow with it. I keep as a backup mower when the riding mower is not running or as a trim out mower.
Betty Recommends This Toro Mower
Betty's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
James B.
Athens, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/9/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent
Item as expected. shipping very quick
James Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Daniel S.
Eldersburg, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/3/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower
I have had the Toro Super Recycler over a month now and thoroughly enjoy it. It cuts well and runs excellent. And yes, it started on my first pull and every first pull since. I have used the hose connection cleaning feature and love it! The mower mulches very well and the personal pace feature works with one drawback.

Pulling the mower backwards is difficult the wheels don't always want to roll. I also find this mower somewhat difficult to maneuver due to its size. All-in-all its a... more
Daniel Recommends This Toro Mower
Daniel's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Simple design website with great prices. Fast shipping too!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Ted D.
Many, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/30/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exactly What I Wanted!
Ordered the Toro Super Recycler 159CC Personal Pace mower to replace a 2-year-old LawnBoy which was a piece of junk. This mower arrived on time, in perfect condition, and put to work 3 hours after arrival.

I have a large lawn, most of which I mow with a zero turn mower, but some of the yard requires a small mower with good self-propelled assistance, especially up some of the hilly areas of my property. This mower exceeded my expectations and made a tough job easy!
Ted Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Jeanne
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 1/4/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Mower
Manufacturer packaging was sufficient, and the instructions for the handle assembly were okay - took a couple tries to get it right.

It started up on the first pull and mows my Saint Augustine grass beautifully. This particular model has the self-paced propel and super-fine mulching features - both perform as described, and were the key reasons I selected this model.

It maneuvers well on uneven grass and gets fairly close to edging. It's not too loud and doesn't kick up dirt nor emit... more
Jeanne Recommends This Toro Mower
Jeanne's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I searched for a mower for a long time. I stumbled on Mowers Direct and was really impressed by the thorough product description, specs and review information. I was able to be sure I made the right selection, and the price was the best out there. Unbelievably, the mower shipped out the same day and was on my doorstep in 4 days."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
John P.
Denison, TX
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not A Great Mulcher
Got a Toro Super Recycler to replace a 15 year old Honda twin bladed mulcher. It starts easy and is easy to use. But the mulching efficiency is not nearly as good as the Honda twin blade on my St Augustine lawn
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Lawrence M.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/15/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Hoosier
I have used Toro self propelled mowers for 40 years. This is my third mower in that time.
The mower arrived with damage on the back of the mower from shipping. Better packaging should be used.

For some reason this mower is difficult to pull backwards. The wheels do not release for pulling backwards like my previous mower.
This mower does an excellent job of mowing and the side discharge is the best job I have ever had.
Lawrence Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
32
Tony P.
Indianola, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/1/16
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Replacement For 20 Year Old Toro Personal Pace.
Bought this as a direct replacement for our 20 year old personal pace Toro. Started on second pull.

Used it to mow and bag almost 400 bags of grass that weekend, 4 tanks of gas. Ran awesome.
Tony Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Donald R.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/25/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mowere
Ate up 3' high grass and weed like a hungry hog!
Donald Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Jean B.
Florissant, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/11/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
They Love It
Since I don't cut the grass, my adult children do. My daughter cut the grass last Saturday, and she did the lawn in half the time it usually takes.

This was her first time using the new mower, and she came inside to get me to go outside to see the completed job. I have a large backyard, front yard, and two sides. The two boys who also take turns don't say as much as she does, but they do like it very much.

They all have one complaint. When they cut under bushes and such, there doesn't... more
Jean Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
James S.
Parma, OH
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Disappointed In Toro
Got my mower from Power Equipment Direct. Ran fine, but a little heavy to manipulate around especially with the rear wheel drive. After only 3 years it began to run erratically. Changed everything, oil, fuel, air filter nothing made any difference. The it started stalling after running for only about 10 minutes, and wouldn't start like it was flooded.

Let it sit a 1/2 hour it would start, sometimes keep running sometimes it would stall again. Then the ultimate brake down, the pull cord... more
James Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
We are sorry to hear you are having trouble with your Toro mower. I have located a few dealers that are in your area. Please bring your mower to one of these authorized dealers as your mower has a 5 year warranty and Toro will fix your unit for free per our warranty statement.

PURITAS HARDWARE (DBA)
14307 PURITAS AVENUE, CLEVELAND, OH 44135
Phone: (216) 941-7474

EVER SHARP POWER EQ B. EVER SHARP POWER EQUIPMENT
5760 ROYALWOOD ROAD, NORTH ROYALTON, OH 44133
Phone: (440) 582-2100

ANYTOOL & OUTDOOR POWER EQUIP C. ANYTOOL & OUTDOOR POWER EQUIP
21150 LORAIN RD, FAIRVIEW PARK, OH 44126
Phone: (440) 356-1920

Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
James's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Have bought from this website before. And was always happy, until my last Toro mower broke down and needed professional repair in less than 3 years."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Raymond R.
Virginia Beach, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/31/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Time Problem
This is the second time I have purchased this product from you. The first mower I purchased worked flawlessly out of the box. However, this new purchase has a transmission problem. While cutting it locks up periodically. I have to release the personal pace and re-engage. I have only used it twice so far and the issue persists. These are very good machines overall however.

Do you have a particular shop on file I should take it to for warranty work?
Raymond Recommends This Toro Mower
Raymond's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy ordering process, fast shipping. Good prices."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
William C.
Kingwood, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/11/16
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My First Toro
This is my first Toro after two Honda lawn mowers. I am extremely satisfied with my Toro in every way. And it is better built than my last Honda.

This is also my first self-propelled mower. I can cut at my pace instead of chasing the mower like I did when I borrowed my neighbors old Honda. All in all a great mower.
William Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Douglas L.
West Bend, WI
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Never Again
After using an inexpensive mower that worked well for me for 19 years, decided to upgrade to a self-propelled. Dealer sold me on Toro Super Recycler. I was never a fan of Toro, but is sounded wonderful. While it seems to do a wonderful job cutting the grass... About the time the warranty expired, I noticed that it seemed to smoke a bit.

Yes, from brand new, it was using oil. Not just like breaking in, but more. After using it for a little over a year the oil consumption is not acceptable.... more
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Durability, Difficult To Use
Douglas Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Nick
Gibsonia, PA
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Jury Is Still Out
I've only used this mower a couple of times but have had a couple of relatively minor problems already. When attaching the handle the adjustable knob wouldn't catch on one side because the bracket was bent too far in. Not sure if this was Toro's fault or the assembler's but should not happen out of the box.

Also one of the wheels began wobbling the second time I used it to the point that I had to get out my sockets, take the wheel off, and then tighten the bracket holding the wheel on.... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality, Bad Instructions, Appears Flimsy
Nick Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
04
Richard
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good If...
Good if you want to thatch your lawn every other year!!
Richard Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
04
Brian C.
Hilliard, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/9/15
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Jury Is Still Out
Mower was easy to order through mowersdirect.com, price was right, and I ordered on the 9th, shipped the 10th, and arrived the 13th.

Setup was easy.

Cosmetic damage to dust shield and mowersdirect.com promptly shipped me a replacement. The engine didn't run well, wax and wanned, and acted like it was going to stale out. I took it to a Toro dealer (they have been a little hostile since I ordered it online and you have to provide them with proof of purchase for warranty) and the first... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality, Bad Instructions, Packaging, Durability
Brian Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Brian,
The reason we cannot take back an already gassed item is due to federal shipping regulations. Federal law prohibits return shipping on items that have been gassed.
more
Was this review helpful?
298
Ken F.
West Chester, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/18/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Okay, Basic Mower
Mower arrived damaged from shipping (paint was worn where the handle bars were folded), hit both sides with spray paint and got on to mowing. The Toro is an okay mower. Not any better than the Craigslist Honda mower it replaced. Chief annoying problem is that the rear wheels don't always disengage from the auto run when pulling the mower backwards, hence scrapping the ground when pulling backwards. Adding more grease helped but did not eliminate the problem.
View Image
Ken Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
86
Brian
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Mower!!!
I bought this mower after reading reviews on numerous websites and after looking at 2014 mower ratings on Consumer Reports. I was in the market for a new mower this spring b/c my 6 year old Honda HRR either a) wouldn't start, b) wouldn't run unless in choke, or c) wouldn't run at all. I had replaced the carb and done a service on that mower but when that didn't solve the problem, I decided not to throw good money after bad and started looking for a new mower. Feeling a little burned by my... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Quiet, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Brian Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
471
Mike
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
High Expectations, Less Than Satisfied
I purchased this mower over the Honda because of great reviews of the cut quality and longevity of this mower platform. I took the mower home and:
- It cuts great
- It starts very easy and runs great
- It mulches excellent
- It bags excellent
- Side discharge is marginal and the grass likes to clump, however if the mower mulches that well who cares.
- The personal pace drive works better than expected and my expectations were high
- The wash-out port is a joke but then everybody already... more
Was this review helpful?
395
Ernest
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Does The Job But Poor Quality
I owned this mower for 2 years and it worked well enough. Started every time, I liked the fact that mower continued to run while I emptied the bag (blade stopped), the personal pace worked well. At the end of my 2nd mowing season, the brake cable broke. Really?!?! After only 2 years. More specifically a plastic hinge on the brake cable broke. As a mechanical engineer I appreciate the use of plastics where possible but this is not the place. The overall use of plastics on this mower was a... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features
Cons: Low Quality, Durability, Expensive
Ernest Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
337
Barry H.
South Williamsport, PA
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Both Rear Wheels Have Drive Power
I read reviews on everything I buy but seldom write one. I hate when people misrepresent a product out of ignorance or dishonesty. Ernest said this mower only has drive in one rear wheel and therefore does not do good on hills. Since I just bought it today I was concerned so I took it to a 45 degree embankment where my property borders the back alley. The bank is about 7 ft wide and 100 ft long and rough and irregular with some tree roots. The mower worked just like my last Super Recycler... more
Was this review helpful?
348
Michael D.
Baldwin City, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/16/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
My lawn never looked better. It starts on the first pull. Only thing I am concerned about is the oil dipstick seems to be the wrong part. It doesn't match the owner's manual on the "add-fill" crosshatch lines. It just has two holes in it and doesn't give a true reading on the amount of oil in the crankcase.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Store
Michael Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
161
Ryan R.
Manassas, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/6/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Great Cut Poor Drive System
I received the mower very quickly and everything was in good shape. Easy to set up and started right away. Mower worked well for the first two uses before the drive wheels stop working. The wheels would turn when the rear of the mower was held in the air, but once the wheels were on the ground they would not drive the mower.

It seemed the left wheel would engage at random times and jerk the mover to the right which then makes a crooked cut. I tried all of the adjustments with no... more
Ryan Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
143
David D.
Fort Wayne, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/9/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower At A Great Price
My old Toro just wore out after almost nine years of service - my yard is just over an acre and I enjoy the walk, so when I purchased my first Toro personal pace, it was perfect - I knew up front this mower wasn't designed for a yard this size, but I changed the oil and serviced it and it did a great job. The new Toro personal pace has several improvements and I would recommend this unit to anyone looking for a great lawn mower - a extra is the fast shipping provided by Mowers Direct - I... more
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Features
David Recommends This Toro Mower
David Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"You folks are great and I would buy for you folks again - fast shipping and excellent service - anything I hear someone is looking for any product you sell, I suggest they check out your web site."
 more
Was this review helpful?
100
Louis H.
Wilmington, DE
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/23/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Too Early To See If Starting Or Performance Is Reliable
Nice "your pace" feature and is easy to use. I also like the feature that permits mower to continue running while the blade stops (cuts down on continual start-up when tending to bags or other frequent stops during mowing process).
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Features, High Quality
Louis Recommends This Toro Mower
Louis Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Online purchase and delivery is quick, simple, and reliable. The insurance offered by ABF delivery, E-Bay, or Paypal was also a nice service. ABF's delivery followed my instructions to a tee."
 more
Was this review helpful?
90
Jonathan A.
Dayton, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/21/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Mows Great, But Personal Pace Does Not Work
The mower mulches awesome. It does a great job with an even cut. The only issue out of the box is the personal pace system. It didn't work. It will run up in the air, but not on the ground. I have to take the mower to get it fixed out the box. That should not happen.
Pros: Price, Easy To Store, Light Weight
Cons: Personal Pace
Jonathan Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Jonathan,
We are very sorry about the inconvenience this has caused you. More than likely this is a simple adjustment which a local dealer can make to correct the issue. Again, this is not always ideal, but the unit is under warranty and this should not be an issue moving forward after it has been corrected. If you have any questions or other issue, please let us know and we would be happy to assist.
more
Jonathan's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct delivered the Mower in 1-2 days. Awesome. I just wished the mower worked correctly."
 more
Was this review helpful?
113
Gregory K.
Springfield, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/19/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Toro Super Recycler, Personal Pace Mower
The personal pace option, I totally dislike. Only the right rear wheel has power. This mower does not start on first or second pull as advertized, it takes 6-10 pulls before starting.

I have owned toro's for 30 years and I still own both of them, they need to go back to the 3-speed forward. This newer model cannot compare to the old ones.Toro

Totally disappointed!
Gregory Does Not Recommend This Mower
Gregory's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Power Equipment Direct was great to work with but just disappointed in this particular mower, not up to my expectations."
 more
Was this review helpful?
102
Robert W.
Franklin Square, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/15/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Only One Thing Missing.
This mower would be near perfect if it had a single lever to adjust cutting height of all four wheels .
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Should Have A Single Adjustment Lever To Set Cutting Height For A
Robert Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
91
Debra S.
Cascade, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/4/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Excellent Service From Mowersdirect
We received this machine very quickly. The service from Mowers Direct was great.

The mower starts like a Toro advertises. The mower is very heavy, it is fully disclosed that it weighs 81 pounds. The "Personal-Pace" feature does not disengage very easily, which makes it difficult to pull the machine towards yourself, thus making cutting around obstacles somewhat awkward.

We are still getting accustomed to it, so perhaps that will change. I have not yet asked if the personal pace... more
Pros: High Quality, Fast
Cons: Expensive, Heavy, Difficult To Use
Debra Recommends This Toro Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Debra,
Debra,

The Personal Pace feature unfortunately cannot be adjusted and does take some getting used to after someone has used a standard self propelled model. The main issue as you described is it does not disengage right away, so pulling back can be an issue if you do so right away. It is something Toro has been looking into as you are not the only person who has dealt with this.

If you have more questions, please let us know and we would be happy to help.
more
Was this review helpful?
70
Jimmy
Dickinson, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/24/13
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nothing But Toro For Me
This Toro to replace my 12 year old Toro that still cuts like the day I first used it (gave it to a friend). First impressions on the new Toro is Excellent. Personal Pace is the only way to go. Like the super easy folding handle and the bagger discharge relocated to the rear on this new one. Also will adjust a little higher than the old, and the aluminum deck makes it easy to turn.
Was this review helpful?
70
Donna
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Impossible Yard
My yard is too big for a walk-behind mower, too steep for a riding one. It's tough on the engine, tough even on the wheels and handle. My mowers tend break down as soon as the warranty expires!

After much research online and on consumer evaluations, I have chosen this Toro 20381, with overhead valve engine, & self-propelled variable speed. I had to order it from three states over, because it was hard to find in my vicinity, but so far it was worth the effort.

The mower is doing... more
Was this review helpful?
81
Wayne T.
Presque Isle, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/11/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Purchase
My last toro lasted me 16 years, the transmission needed rebuilding, but I purchased a new one instead. I am very satisfied with my new one. It was very easy to put into service, it started first pull, and the mower was in real good condition. Thank you.
Wayne Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
82
Richard T.
Waltham, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/29/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Toro 159cc Lawn Mower Is The Best.
Toro 159cc is the best lawn mower I have ever owned. It meets all my needs-- excellent handling.
I can control the speed and it goes my way. I am 84 years old and I feel very safe and comfortable using this lawn mower. Wow, it is great!
Richard Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
82
Larry B.
Cary, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/19/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Problems After The First Use
The mower started right up and was working well, however half way through my first use, the personal pace feature faltered. I finished mowing the lawn as if it was just a push mower. Upon completion, I cleaned up the mower and checked and adjusted the personal pace cabling. There didn't appear to be any slack, but I just made sure it was working properly. During my second use, the personal pace feature worked very intermittently (mostly not functioning). I will now have to take it in for... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Light Weight
Cons: Unreliable
Larry Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Larry,
We apologize for this experience, and if there is anything we can help with, please let us know.
more
Was this review helpful?
104
Gary S.
Gurnee, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/15/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Starting Problem
The mower does a great job, but does start on one pull. Usually takes 2-3 pull, what do I do?
Gary Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
82
Judith Wise
Ellicott City, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/10/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Needed A New Mower To Replace My Old One.
I did all my research on all mowers from various sites and found this mower had no negative comments, only positive experiences from other people who had used this mower.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable, High Quality
Judith Recommends This Toro Mower
Judith Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Company answered all my questions before I ordered the mower and received my mower in a few days.. Shipping company was very pleasant and careful with delivering the mower."
 more
Was this review helpful?
71
David S.
Lakewood, CO
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Price & Fast Delivery!
I'm very pleased with the mower I received. No damage on delivery. Very easy to assemble. Only I needed to go buy a quart of oil to pour into the mower. Then it was ready to mow.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Features, Price, Quiet
David Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
60
Brian T.
College Place, WA
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Very Disapointed In Toro
This is only a review of my Toro Super Recycler. I purchased mine at a local Toro dealer. Not one of the big box stores, but a local father and son Toro dealer. It has always been hard to start. I had the mower serviced each year at the Toro dealer and complained about the hard to start issue. I have owned this mower for 4 years now. Each time I pick the mower up from the shop it is still hard to start. Mine is electric start and when I turn the key the mower turns over very slowly and not... more
Brian Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Brian,
We are sorry to hear of the unfortunate experience with your Toro mower. Our suggestion would be to keep working with Toro due to the fact they manufacture and warranty the product. Toro can be reached at 888-343-9939. I'm sure they would appreciate your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
72
Stephen B.
Fairfax, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/24/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Super Recycler
I purchased this mower to replace my aging 9 year old Toro. The old Toro still starts on the first pull and runs great but the chassis and wheels are worn out. I really wanted to get the Personal Pace since my yard has many obstacles and the Personal Pace makes it easier to mow. The new Toro works great and mulches better than the old one. It is also quieter and easier on gas than the old mower. I have only used it about 15 hours so far but it has started on the first pull straight out of... more
Stephen Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Kenneth H.
Chicopee, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/14/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Had Some Problems
Got the mower in four days, which was very good. When I went to put handle on the mower, the brackets that the handle snaps into were bent. Had to take vice grips to bend it into proper alignment so handle would snap in. By using the vice grips, the paint was removed on the brackets. Not too happy about that.

Mower started on first pull. My last Toro lasted for 15 years. Bracket problem was not caused by Mower Direct! Caused at Toro factory. Would buy from Mower Direct in a split second!
Kenneth Recommends This Toro Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Kenneth,
Kenneth,

Please feel free to give us a call and we can discuss further about the brackets. If this is something which happened via assembly we would be happy to assist in warranty. In situations like this we have no issue in sending parts if needed for replacement. Please give us a call and we can assist you further.
more
Was this review helpful?
61
Michael D.
Nesconset, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/19/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Machine
Hi quality and easy to use.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Fast
Cons: Expensive
Michael Recommends This Toro Mower
Michael's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to buy at a better price than anyone else. I had my machine in 3 days, set it up in 30 minutes and was cutting the lawn the next day. Brick and mortar stores were charging 15% more and getting between $10 and $25 as a set up charge."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Paul
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/22/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower, Smooth Transaction
I ordered this Mowers direct due to no sales tax and free shipping. Smooth transaction couldn't be happier. The mower was easy to assemble and it does a great job mowing the lawn. I am really impressed with its mulching capabilities.
Paul Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Zilla O.
Bel Air, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/18/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Toro Personal Pace Lawn Mower Model # 20381
Purchased my lawn mower April 18, 2015. Used 5 or 6 times and it stopped working. Contacted Mower direct and they instructed me to take it to a repair shop.

The repair shop indicated that it was the transmission. Contacted Mower Direct again and they said it was Toro's problem and Toro said it was Mower Direct's problem.

Bottom line is the brand new mower is being repaired not replaced. This has not been a good experience and I would not recommend purchasing a Toro Lawn Mower.
Zilla Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Zilla,
I sincerely apologize you were experiencing the run around with Mowers Direct and the Toro service center. A transmission issue is unfortunately an issue that a certified Toro service center will need to take care of as we do not perform any repairs and cannot return the unit once it has been gassed and oiled. I recommend contacting Toro tech support at (888) 384-9939 and speaking with a manager who can inform you of what is covered under the warranty specifically and which service center will repair the unit for you.
more
Was this review helpful?
51
Gale S.
Bettendorf, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/28/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
The best mulching mower I've ever used. Easy starting, and Love the deck clean-out hose attachment. Only thing is, sometimes the "personal pace" propulsion doesn't fully disengage making backing up a bit of a challenge. I have and will continue to recommend this mower and Power Equipment Direct too my family, friends (and as my wife says) anyone who will stand and listen.
Was this review helpful?
51
John
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/9/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I just purchased this mower. I'm using it mainly as a mulching mower for both grass and leaves, and it does an excellent job. It started with the very first pull.

I love the Personal Pace feature. I have a hilly yard and this mower makes it a breeze to cut. The wheels are easily adjustable for various cutting heights. I have no problem with pulling it back.

I was concerned since my previous mower was a front wheel drive. The only "problem" I had was trying to read the oil dip... more
Was this review helpful?
51
Judy R.
Minonk, IL
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Forever
I owned a Troy built before you could buy it anywhere but the factory. It was ahead of it's time. My Toro is state of the art with everything the Troy build has and more. I've had this Toro for 4 years and has never failed to start on the first or second pull. The aluminum deck keeps the rust away and makes it lighter to move when it's not running.

It is the greatest compliment to the Snapper I purchased this year. I feel like I'm set for mowing because I just added a Tanaka string... more
Was this review helpful?
51
Jason
Lexington, SC
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mixed Feelings
I bought my mower from mowersdirect.com a couple of months ago. I had an excellent experience with the company (I called to ask how this process works and they were patient and explained it all to me). The price was competitive and it arrived quickly and without damage.

The mower itself was easy to put together, though the pictures were a little hard to figure out. I'm handy with stuff like this so I imagine it would be more difficult for someone less handy or used to this sort of thing.
more
Jason Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
41
Gerard L.
Cedar Grove, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/16/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Machine
This machine runs fine and I like the self-propelled feature. The mulching feature leaves behind some cuttings. Reading the yellow oil dipstick is a real challenge.

I give this a A- rating.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again
Gerard Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
63
Larry
Grand Blanc, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/5/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower!
I bought this mower to replace a 30-year-old Toro mower that was leaking oil badly. The new Toro 20381 is substantially lighter and the personal pace feature works like a champ. My wife is much smaller than me and despite our size difference, she is able to start this mower with no problem. This mower mulches well and even capably mows through heavy grass. The delivery of this mower was accomplished amazingly quickly and the transaction was hassle free. I highly recommend Mowers Direct and the... more
Larry Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Andrew
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/3/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
This mower is easy to use and cuts well.
Andrew Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Bruce P.
Topeka, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/7/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice To Have A Reliable Mower
My 8 year old Toro purchased from Home Depot in '06 was far from reliable. My two sons had each purchased a new mower last year. One purchased this model Toro and the other purchased a Honda. I used both while my mower was "terminally ill". I chose the Toro. It was less expensive and I liked the design of the "personal pace".
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Reliable
Bruce Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Linda H.
Schroon Lake, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/13/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower, Very Impressed. Easy Pull
Really like my new mower.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Linda Recommends This Toro Mower
Linda's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Order on Wednesday, had shipped to mower guy, MD called me to make sure different address ok (good security), mower arrived in upstate NY on Fri. Who could ask for anything more."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Tammy M.
Viroqua, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/4/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Mower
I have only used it twice - so far it is EXCELLENT! Love how fast it goes! I cut 10 minutes off my 2.5 hour mowing time!
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Tammy Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
52
Joe I.
Tonawanda, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/23/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Mower
My only complaint would be about grass bag, Toro had a much better bagging system easier to attach and detach to empty.
The new one runs a lot better when grass is longer, starts about same.
Was this review helpful?
30
Bob
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/26/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Easy to use, starts easily like advertised, self adjusting speed is amazing.
Was this review helpful?
30
William B.
Covington, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/6/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good But Not Great!
I have used this mower twice and feel more comfortable reviewing it now. I can only compare it to my 20 plus year old Toro Super Pro Recycler II. I really like the old Toro and it is one of the reasons I chose the new Toro. Another reason I chose the Toro was because it was rated very good by a leading consumer magazine. I have less than a half acre of Bermuda and Centipede grass to cut here in Georgia. First let me tell you that the oil stick is very frustrating when you want to read how much... more
William Recommends This Toro Mower
William's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Website offered a good price for the product. I could not get the mower from my local Toro dealer unless it was ordered and the cost would have been significantly more. I had a question about the product and it was answered in a timely manner. Shipping was pretty quick. When FedEx brought the mower to the house I saw that the box had come apart. The driver was trying to tape it back together when I walked up to meet him. I was worried that there might have been some damage but I have not found any."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Brian D.
Omaha, NE
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/12/15
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mower One Pull Start
I like the mower and it cuts great, but the 1 pull starts have not happened yet. Most times it takes 3 pulls.
Brian Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
Gary T.
Bountiful, UT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/13/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Save Money - Buy From Mowers Direct
I ordered 2 of these on a Friday after noon to be shipped to Utah. The following Wednesday after noon I received them . (Fast shipping!!!) The process to put them together is about 20 minutes each. To unpack it is the most difficult it gets. After that it's a matter of putting the handle on with two bolts. The only disappointing thing about the mower is it does not come with the oil needed. Therefore, off to the store for two quarts. It requires 3/4 of a quart per mower.

One would... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Expensive, This Model Cost More Then A Standard Toro But It Is High Grade
Gary Recommends This Toro Mower
Gary's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Save money and buy from Mowers Direct. With no tax and lower prices then local stores, waiting a few days is worth the wait. Plus your grass is only going to grow another 1/2 inch by the time you get your new mower. My friends and family will be buying from Mowers Direct. Thanks again and again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
George R.
Hoquiam, WA
REVIEWED
JAN.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing!!!
Here is an Amazing but true story.I just purchased this Super Recycler in December.I put oil in it and pulled the handle a couple times to lube the cylinder and left it in the garage thinking I would put gas in it at the start of the mowing season.

January 5th We had the worst flood in 40 years and I pulled the mower out of 3 feet of water and put it in my van till the water went down 2 days later.I was hoping it wasn't totally ruined.I ended up draining the carb and pulling the plug.It was... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable
George Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Steven S.
Stanwood, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/25/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far So Good
Package arrived less than two days after order. Easy assembly, however, the metal part on the left side of the mower, where the handle adjustment latch goes, did not match up with the latch. I had to bend it so the little nob could go in the whole securely. Working fine now but I'll keep an eye on it. The mower runs like a charm with an even cut. It mulches like advertised. I've only used it twice so far so perhaps I'll have an update after the mowing season is over.
Steven Recommends This Toro Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Steven,
Steven,

If you need any assistance or have any questions on any issues you may be having, feel free to give us a call. We are happy to help when we can and can look into the latch for you as well if you would like us to.
more
Was this review helpful?
31
Ray C.
Lowell, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/14/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Toro
I had a Craftsmen mower from Sears, purchased 4 years ago. Sears handled any warranty issues I had but on the last trip, they kept my plastic chute so I couldn't expel grass from the side anymore. The worst part of the Sears mower was the very uneven cut, no matter at what height, bagging or mulching. Needless to say I could not wait to get rid of it. I shopped online and compared quality and price. The Toro won out easily. It was delivered to my porch on time and assembly was minimal and... more
Ray Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
James M.
Lakeville, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/25/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Start Easy Mowing Good Job
I like this machine. It starts the first pull. It's easy to match its speed to my pace when going forward. The lawn looks good when I'm done. As for the extras: the handle is easy to fold so it can be stored efficiently although height adjustments are separate for each wheel, they are easy to manipulate and cleaning the underbody with a hose is convenient.
The instructions are well written but they did not specify a replacement spark plug or an air filter. The rear wheel drive is great... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Easy To Store
James Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Charles M.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/5/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
18
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Just The Right Size
I like my mower just fine. It is just the right size for our lawn.

My major dislike is the difficulty in backing the mower. I suspect this is a safety issue Toro built in to keep a person from sliding under the back of the mower when pulling it backward on wet grass.

I don't think it's quite in the league with the Snapper I had previously as far as cutting appearance, but it is a nice mower.

I sure like the easy-start quality.
Was this review helpful?
20
Brian
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Mower
I have the Toro Super Recycler 7.0 Briggs engine with electric start. I purchased in the spring and have mowed our lawn twice a week without any problems.

The engine starts quickly with the turn of a key. It has lots of power and no problem with tall or wet grass. I don't use the wash out any longer except maybe on the last mow of the year before going back to storage. It really makes a mess to clean up later.

The self-propel system takes some getting used to, but after a few... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Dennis
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Mower
This is my third Toro and I agree with Todd. The only thing that is a waste is the washout port. It works but it leaves a green slimy mess on lawn and or driveway. Rather clean it by hand. It doesn't matter but wish I knew what make of engine, briggs or did Toro manufacture their own.
Was this review helpful?
31
Ronald H.
Fayetteville, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/12/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Nice Mower
Mowers Direct provided the best price on this top rated mower, plus it arrived quicker than expected!
Ronald Recommends This Toro Mower
Ronald's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I bought this lawn mower after much online comparison shopping. The mower arrived quickly, and I put it to use about a week later. The mower was easy to set up, start and use. It cut well however, I noticed the mower pulling to the right as dusk set in and I was mowing around pine straw and bushes. The pulling became so severe I had to stop the mower to see what was going on. It turned out that one of the mounting bolts was so loose on the right front wheel that the wheel was barely hanging on, wobbling so much the height-selector lever was dangling underneath the mower. I tightened the bolt with a ratchet set, but have not used the mower again to determine if the problem has been corrected."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Ed W.
Peoria, AZ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/4/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Toro Toro
Very quick shipping, unfortunately new Toro did not come with oil ?????? Very easy assembly and started on the first pull. Super recycler feature seems to work great on my Bermuda lawn. Hopefully I will never need to bag again!
so far, so good with this purchase.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging, No Oil In Packaging
Ed Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Gary J.
Moore, OK
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/1/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needed New Mower
Had mower within 2 days. Mower exceeded my expectations, great company to do business with.
Gary Recommends This Toro Mower
Gary's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great mower 159cc much better than 190cc."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
George P.
Apopka, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/5/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
20381
Excellent mower, the handling is it's best feature. If you can afford it, this is the one to get.

The price, however was $20 lower at Ace Hardware in Winter Garden, FL. ($479.00)
George Recommends This Toro Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
George,
We appreciate the feedback on the mower. We would like to point out, even though the mower is at a lower price locally, there is still a tax which would need to be paid, this is something you are not being charged through us. If you have any questions at all, please do not hesitate in letting us know.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael C.
Guilford, CT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/5/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Option
I owned a similar Toro Super Recycler model, but without the personal pace feature for 17 years and didn't think twice about upgrading to this model. So far it has live up to all expectations. Can't understand why anyone would want to bag their grass, and the personal pace glides perfectly. I also don't miss the priming - starts on the first pull.
Michael Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
A.
Beverly, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/5/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great - So Far
Had terrible luck with a big-box self-propelled mower where the drive had to be replaced every two or so years (out of warranty of course). Found this one with a great 5 year, full warranty and the certified shop to fix this is a well-known local dealer of professional grade equipment. Came in the box quickly with no dents. Built it right in the box, added oil, added gas, started on first pull. I have 1/2 acre of very hilly lawn and this personal pace is great and the cut is better than my... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Exceeded Expectations, 5 Year Full Warranty
Cons: Expensive
A. Recommends This Toro Mower
A.'s Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Using the website's information and being able to compare with other places allowed me to make a educated decision that I'm comfortable with when making an expensive purchase."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
James C.
Hamburg, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/19/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This Machine, But
I really like some of the new features on this machine, for example the handle can be positioned so as not to take up too much room when your not using the machine. No need to prime engine to start it. The bag attaches very easy and holds a lot.

What I don't like is the oil stick gauge because it's very hard to read where the oil level is. Instead of a line, there are two holes that the oil level should be between. Otherwise, I'm pretty happy.
James Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
32
William O.
Shelby Township, MI
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Really Nice Mower
Mower arrived in 3 weekdays. Box to operating mower took about 20 mins. All adjustments, handle, cutting height are very simple. Toro could spend a few cents and provide an oil dipstick that is easy to read.

Going to take a bit to get used to rear wheel drive with personal pace. Mower wants to do wheelies when engaged too quickly.
William Recommends This Toro Mower
William's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Purchase and shipment experience was flawless."
 more
Was this review helpful?
32
Robert Van Deusen
Williamsburg, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/6/15
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Haven't Owned A Mower For 20 Years – This One Is The Great Way
I have hired my neighbor's children for 20 years to mow my yard. Each time I got a new mower – child that is – I requested him or her to raise the deck of the mower to 3 inches and to mulch rather than bag or eject the clippings. I was always unsuccessful because the parent controlled the height of the mower deck of the mower in question!

Now that I have my own first-rate mulching mower with the wheels set at 3 1/4 inches I have the best looking yard I have had in two decades!

I have a... more
Robert Recommends This Toro Mower
Robert's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Read the reviews – ordered the mower – unboxed and put it together – everything went great! Good price, good value, good service!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Ava W.
Aiken, SC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/17/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just My Style
I have a back yard with lots of obstacles, such as flower beds, trees, borders and stone walkways. This mower is perfect for the area and easy to handle.

I only have two issues with the mower. Sometimes the forward motion gear will not release and allow you to pull the mower backwards. The other is that the oil stick is not properly marked based on the picture in the manual.

Other than the above, the mower starts extremely well, cuts perfect and the bagger pick up everything and is... more
Ava Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Spencer H.
Brooklyn Center, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/27/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Old Toro Recycler Vs New Toro Super Recycler
My first Toro Recycler was purchased at Home Depot it never really could mulch with first pass. The Super Recycler can and that saves me a lot time. Also starts with 1 pull cold or hot. I am very happy with this mower.
Spencer Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Andy P.
Tampa, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/10/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Fine Lawn Mower
Great shipping response, easy to assemble, smooth first pull start motor and great even cut. Very happy with this mower after three weeks. My wife often cuts the grass on our 1/2 acre of lawn: calls it a decent workout!
Andy Recommends This Toro Mower
Andy's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"All good."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Jose M.
Gainesville, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/21/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Self Propel Doesn't Work
My Toro lawnmower just arrived and the self propel feature doesn't work. Not sure what to do about it. Does Mowers Direct allow returns???
Jose Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Jose,
Thank you for the review this Mower has a full warranty which is covered by any local Toro Dealer, I have attached a few dealers in your area that will look at the Mower under warranty. If you have any questions at all please feel free in giving me a call.

http://www.mowersdirect.com/returns.php


S & S ACE HARDWARE & MOWERS
4300 BUFORD DR, BUFORD, GA 30518
(770) 932-1458

PIEDMONT TRACTOR AND EQUIPMENT
1780 MARTIN LUTHER KING JR BLVD, GAINESVILLE, GA 30501
(770) 534-5006
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Doug M.
Windsor, CO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/3/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect
Delivered on time in perfect condition, and setup was easy. It's been 12 years since I replaced my old Toro with a different brand. I'm so glad to have the recycler back. Have no issues whatsoever. It starts first pull every time and the personal pace works great.
Doug Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven H.
Wallingford, CT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/2/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good
I'm pleased with this purchase. Very good product for great price. No issues or complaints here. I'm mowing a larger yard with it, thus making it work. Easy to keep clean.
Steven Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Kimberly M.
Fairfield, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/11/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love This Mower
This Super Recycler replaced a 10 year old Recycler. I would highly recommend this mover, and would definitely buy it again.
Kimberly Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael A.
Wichita, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/30/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Purchased A Toro Super Recycler From Mowers Direct
The purchase was easy and seamless. The product arrived on time and in excellent condition. The mower was an excellent value. I would order from Mowers Direct again.
Michael Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeff S.
Beloit, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/20/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Mower
I replaced my 20 year old Craftsman mower with this night and day difference between the two. If the grass is long I can go slower if it's shorter this mower will really go as fast as I can walk. I only hope that this one will last as long as my old one.
Jeff Recommends This Toro Mower
Jeff's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very fast shipping, Ordered Monday got it Wednesday!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry S.
Taylor, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/19/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Price And Fast Delivery
Ordered the lawnmower on Sunday. It was shipped on Monday. Arrived on Wednesday. Easy to assemble. Started right up. Has a problem with the handle height adjustment staying at the proper height. It continues to drop to the lowest of the three available levels.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Price
Cons: Poor Design On Handle Height Adjustment
Larry Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Lori H.
Franklinville, NJ
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Real Workhorse
I bought a Super Recycler after owning a Toro mower that wasn't a Super Recycler. What a difference! The Super Recycler is more powerful. The wheels are easier to adjust. My old mower used to stall out in tall grass (I tend to let my grass grow tall before cutting, due to time constraints in my life). This mower NEVER stalls out, as long as I set the wheels high enough. I love the lack of clumps of grass as I mow. I keep the side chute closed, and I get a great, neat, mulched lawn without globs... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: Expensive, Heavy
Lori Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Norman G.
Bolivar, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/5/15
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Happy
Rear discharge deflector was not inserted into framework of mower. I had to correct that.. The self propel mechanism works intermittently. May have to take to a shop if it persists. I expected better from Toro, especially after Consumer report rated it so well.. Would not recommend to a friend.. Does anyone really care?
Norman Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Norman,
We are sorry to hear of the issues you have had with your Toro mower. If we can be of any assistance, please let us know. We would be happy reach out to Toro on your behalf. Feel free to give us a call if you would like to discuss this further.

800-710-7499
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Justin L.
Orlando, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/27/15
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Buying Experience. Mower Doesn't Work.
Purchase experience with Mowers Direct was very good, and I would use them again.... with one caveat.

My mower "Personal Pace" system does not work. In order to get it repaired, I was required to take it to an approved Toro Shop.... and they were not happy that I was asking them to repair a mower that was not purchased from them.

Fortunately, after a song and dance, they agreed to check out my mower and talk with Toro to see if it would be a warranty item. (I've only used the... more
Cons: Mechanical Failure
Justin Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Justin,
We're really sorry to hear that they gave you such a hard time. If you have any other issues like this in the future, please let us know right away. We'd be happy to do whatever we can to help.
more
Was this review helpful?
33
Mark S.
Port Angeles, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/22/15
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Product
Was recommended by a friend who does a lot of lawns and has proven to be a good product so far. Starts very easy and mows with the assist very well. I like it!
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Mark's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Have purchased several things from this on line company.... very happy"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph B.
Centreville, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/9/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Machine!!
Although we have lawn service, we purchased the Toro Super Recycler to do our yards leaf pickup/mulch. This mower will also be the backup to the lawn service. To date we have only used the machine for about 10 hours. Its performance far exceeded our expectations. It does a great job at picking up the leaves and since our grass was still growing, the cut was also great. The mower's performance was up to all the reviews. We did sustain some damage to the air filter assembly but this is... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: Expensive, Heavy, Dislike Oil Change Via Filler Tube
Joseph Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert Sharp
Annapolis, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/8/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I love my Toro Super Recycler Personal Pace Lawnmower. It arrived on time and was easy to put together. I have no problems with backing up. Being left handed, I do have some trouble starting the mower since the rope is on the right side. Works great though, and the lawn has never looked better.
Robert Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
William G.
Corfu, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/16/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
This is my third Toro personal pace mower. They are the greatest.

I'm very satisfied with my purchase. It arrived in good time and was up and running in minute's.
William Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Dan F.
Hollywood, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/30/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower, A Little Pricey
Mower works great, provides an even cut, and is easy to start. No assembly required. Just take it out of the box, add oil and gas, and start cutting. It's nice and light too.
Dan Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
G. S.
Cary, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/1/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mulching Mower
I ordered this mower on a Sunday and it was delivered on Wednesday. Assembly was no problem -- just attach the handle, add oil and gas and it started the first time. The underside is nicely painted but I elected to undercoat it with a spray on product from the auto parts store. After a couple of months, that is working fine and adds additional protection. Mower works great as a mulching mower on thick Zoysia grass. Very pleased with it.
G. Recommends This Toro Mower
G.'s Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very quick delivery ... took advantage of free shipping and no sales tax. Can't beat that."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Randal
Jacksonville, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/6/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied Customer
I'm very happy with my purchase, from shipping, assembly and performance. Shipping was painless, dropped right at my door and assembly was very easy. This is my second Toro and expect to get the same long maintenance free use as my last one. Mowed the yard a couple times and so far I am very pleased. The grass in Florida grows fast and thick and the mower had no problems. If I had one complaint it would be the water hose cleaning system. I still have to lift the mower to clean all the grass... more
Randal Recommends This Toro Mower
Randal's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Satisfied Customer"
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Steve M.
Garnet Valley, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/26/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Toro Mower
Mower works great, however, there was a piece missing. I called Toro and was told it would be replaced. As of this writing I still have not received the missing piece.
Steve Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Steve,
Steve,

We are sorry to hear about the missing piece on your mower. We are not sure as to why this would not have been sent out to you by Toro, but we would be happy to help. Our product expert Jose will be giving you a call and we can go ahead and look into this issue and if Toro has not sent this out yet, we can take care of it for you. If you have any questions at all, please let us know.
more
Was this review helpful?
22
Donald P.
Mc Kees Rocks, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/20/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mulch Gladness
My new Toro Recycler works pretty good. I installed a gator mulching blade on it from the start and found with the settings on "E" my lawn looked better then I expected. If the grass is too high you will of course get some clumps but I try to mow within a 10 day spread. It's a lot easier then bagging. However you do have to watch the expelled grass around sidewalks, driveways and patios which can result in some extra cleanup. You can minimize the unwanted grass by direction of mower... more
Pros: Price, Reliable, Easy To Store
Cons: Plastic Oil Dipstick
Donald Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Michael D.
Cortland, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/29/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hard To Find Product
We wanted a lawn mower with a die cast base. They are very hard to find these days. The "big box" stores we tried did not have them and the sales people we talked to there were not even familiar with what we were talking about.
Michael Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Ernest
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Good For Mowing On Hills
This mower works fine on the flat, but only has one drive wheel in rear so really poor on any kind of hill. If mowing across a hill will work when the drive wheel is on the lower side of the hill. When going the opposite direction with the drive wheel in the uphill position there is no traction. Poor idea to have only one drive wheel unless totally flat lawn.
Was this review helpful?
56
Todd
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/22/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Toro I've Bought So Far
Our previous mower was a "Regular" Recycler & I've been hooked on the "personal pace" feature since my Dad bought one when I was in high school. I figured I'd upgrade to the "Super" Recycler and am very impressed with my new mower.

We use a professional service to fertilize our lawn and with this spring & summer rains it's been growing like crazy! No problem for the Toro. We bag our trimmings because I don't like grass getting all over the kids feet.
more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Todd Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
02
Tom B.
Chahkhill, PA
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Will Not Pick Updried Grass
I would not buy this mower unless you have a small yard and you can mow often as it will not cut very high grass and it will not pick it up.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Easy To Store, Quiet
Tom Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
04
Marek
Casper, WY
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Alright Mower
Starts well about ten times, even if its well maintained. The spark plug is impossible to get out.
Was this review helpful?
619
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials