Search
< Back to Product

Toro 20332 Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
 
$359.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$359.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Toro 20332 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
3/5
Performance
3/5
Value
3/5
Overall
3.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (12)
Features (8)
Price (8)
Durable (4)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Cons
Unreliable (7)
Low Quality (6)
Durability (3)
Bad Instructions (2)
Heavy (2)
56% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
67 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Michael S.
Selkirk, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 1/27/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Piece Of Equipment
Good price. Mows great, excellent deck vacuum, started right up, and the personal pace system is perfect.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Features, Durable
Cons: Heavy
Michael Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Joe
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Toro 20332 Self-propell Problems P.o.s.
Well I have had a Toro Personal Pace Recycler mower for 5 years. Motor knocks but still runs. Rear self propelled is a problem on all these mowers. Last year it really started making a lot of grinding noise from the wheels. So I bought new wheels and new belt. I installed them and it was like brand new for one use. I was pissed, so I read so much on the web about the problems.

Well I found the problem.Poor design from Toro. Come to find out it is alignment with the rear wheels. The bracket... more
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality
Joe Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Kevin
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
4 Seasons And Scrapped
Bought based on Consumer Reports. The Self Propel mechanism is pretty seamless and has some nice features. Unfortunately I expect lawnmowers to last, Never had a lawnmower not last over 10 years and maintain them to do so. The rear wheels needed to be replaced after 3 years, Dealt with it for one more year. The deck where the wheels attach has fractured and the wheels are coming off. Like other reviews the engine bogs down and wound up doing most the pushing up grades. Just not worth... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Durability
Kevin Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kevin,
"We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower.

A few years ago, we switched to using metal wheel and pinion gears on all of our 22"" Recycler Mowers. If you purchase a new unit, you will not see this issue recur. If you wish to convert the parts on your current mower, you will need to replace both rear wheel at the same time as the gear ratio is slightly different between the gear sets. You would need the following parts to complete this replacement: 110-9417 and 119-3822.

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free)."
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Ace S.
Missouri Valley, IA
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Never Again!!
Got this mower in 9/6/14 used it very little because can't get it started most of the time. I been told it is the gas is ti old, I am not going to drive to town for gas every time I want to mow. So looking for different mower!!!
Ace Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ace,
Gas can be used in your mower for up to 30 days. Gas older than 30 days can lead to starting issues. Other possible causes include:
• Loose, Dirty or Disconnected Spark Plug in Your Lawn Mower: Check it out, clean off debris, re-connect and tighten.
• Dirty Air Filter: Clean or replace.
• Fuel Not Reaching the Engine: Tap the side of the carburetor to help the flow of gas. If this doesn't work, you might need a new fuel filter.

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing within two years of your purchase date and Toro will fix your unit for free per our warranty statement. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jon Hoch, Founder
Bolingbrook, IL
Total Reviews
73 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
212 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
01
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
How To Safely Use Your Lawn Mower
We're adults here. Most of us know how to safely use a lawn mower.

Kids, however, aren't as experienced.

If you have small children, you should be required by law to watch this video.

Too many kids get hurt because their parents don't act responsibly.
Was this review helpful?
27
Kevin M.
Hamilton,Ontario, NY
Total Helpful Votes
25 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
No Satisfaction From Company On Performance
No power, motor too small, bogs down & quits if grass is even slightly long. Had it in shop 4X for not starting.
Phoned company & got a lot of double talk about my concern & they said it was policy not to do anything or give credit towards a better machine. Do not purchase from HOME DEPOT as once they have your
$$$ they don't want to see you again & Toro Inc. is no help.
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Bad Instructions, Not Satisfied
Kevin Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kevin,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. Below are some tactics you can try to improve power loss during mowing:

• Dirty Air Filter on Your Lawn Mower: Clean or replace.
• Cutting Tall Grass: Raise the cutting height on your lawn mower
• Dirty Spark Plug: Clean or replace.
• Build Up of Clippings & Debris: Clean underside of your lawn mower deck

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
258
Bobby
Total Helpful Votes
22 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Toro 22" Recycler Mower
This rear wheel drive has given me nothing but trouble since I bought it. The gears on the inside of the wheels are plastic and the gears on the axle are metal. That is about all that needs to be said. Bought 2 new wheels and gears for $90.00 and did not even last one mowing. Worst mower I have ever had and will never buy another one. Only 2 years old and have to junk it. Really cheap mower for what u pay for.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bobby,
Wheel pinions have been replaced by metal on all 22"" Toro Recycler Models over the past few years. Wheel pinions will not wear out like their former plastic counterparts.

For starting issues please bring your Toro mower to the nearest dealer for servicing within three years of your purchase date and Toro will fix your unit for free. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
225
John
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
27
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Don't Waste Your Money
After reading rave reviews in Popular Mechanics we bought this mower. The gear drive bushings need to be replaced in our 2+ yr old mower....it's now grinding and vibrating badly and NOT covered under the 3yr FULL warranty. Parts & Labor bill will be over $250. Not getting it repaired....will give it to a scrap dealer when it finally stops working which will be any day. Toro C/S reps are clueless.
Was this review helpful?
142
Bryan
Perkins, OK
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Starts Super Easy But......
This mower was great right from the beginning, but in my second season of mowing the blade started to disengage even in short cut grass, I don't know why its doing it and can't find any instructions on how to adjust it or even if I can adjust. It is nice being able to walk away from the mower and it stay running, but if this feature is going to hinder me getting the lawn mowed, I'd rather trash this piece of crap and go back to the traditional self propelled mower. Not a big fan of this model... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Easy To Store, Starts Easy
Cons: Unreliable, Expensive
Bryan Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
132
Robert F.
Ocoee, FL
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Value!
I've purchased a 21 inch Toro model 20055, 5 years ago and still going strong. Since I live in Orlando, Fl. I mow about 10.5 months a year. I haven't had any problems with it and I mow for a full hour every week! I do oil the wheels and grease the rear ones once a month. Every 6 months change the engine oil and store it inside a shed. Would like to see a lighter mower, like a plastic housing similar to Honda and grease fittings on the front wheels. The self-propell personal pacer option is... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Features, Price
Robert Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
110
Andrew B.
Decatur, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/11/11
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Bad Rear Wheels.
Third set of rear wheels on two year old mower. Metal axle gear wears down plastic wheel before the end of a season.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Andrew,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower.

A few years ago, we switched to using metal wheel and pinion gears on all of our 22" Recycler Mowers. If you purchase a new unit, you will not see this issue recur. If you wish to convert the parts on your current mower, you will need to replace both rear wheel at the same time as the gear ratio is slightly different between the gear sets. You would need the following parts to complete this replacement: 110-9417 and 119-3822.

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing within three years of your purchase date and Toro will fix your unit for free. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
144
Aaron G.
Raleigh, NC
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Terrible Mower - Save Your Money
The mower certainly does not start in 1-2 pulls as advertised but that is the least of my concerns. I have had the cable which engages the blade break twice on me now. Part of the cable is made of plastic and cannot stand the force needed to engage the blade. The first cable was factory installed, the second was replaced by a Toro authorized repair shop. This is poor engineering at its finest. 20 cents worth of metal would make this problem non-existent. I would never buy this product again -... more
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Durability, Difficult To Use
Aaron Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
80
Lisa S.
Aurora, IL
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Piece Of $*@%!
2 yrs old and engine block cracked! Not a warranty item! My craftsman lasted 12 yrs! Back to Craftsman!
Lisa Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
70
Bob V.
Oceanport, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/20/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Toro
This mower is a replacement for the one that I lost during Superstorm Sandy. I was very happy with the old one (I especially like the "Personal Pace feature) so I bought the same machine. The new one has a couple of improvements - a port for a garden hose to clean under the mower deck, and a door to allow switching from collecting clippings to mulching without removing the bag. A very nice machine!
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Bob Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
71
Matt M.
Pittsburgh, PA
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
What A Shame
I bought the model 20332 at home depot. It was a very good cutter, but the wheels for the rear drive system are all wrong. The wheels have plastic gear cogs driven by metal gear cogs on the machine. I lost count on how many times I replaced the rear wheels (quite costly), and you have to go through a regular lawn&garden place cause the replacement wheels in home depot are metal but they do not match up with the cogs on the mower. So the mower will not even roll. I would hope they could fix... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Matt,
A few years ago, we switched to using metal wheel and pinion gears on all of our 22" Recycler Mowers. If you purchase a new unit, you will not see this issue recur. If you wish to convert the parts on your current mower, you will need to replace both rear wheel at the same time as the gear ratio is slightly different between the gear sets. You would need the following parts to complete this replacement: 110-9417 and 119-3822.
more
Was this review helpful?
60
Tim
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Won't Start When Hot And Leaves Strips Of Grass On Right Side
Have owned for one month and am returning to the Big Box store. Twice I've needed to take a short 10 min break when I return to continue mowing, it won't start. Because there's no priming bulb, it appears to just keep adding gas and floods. In one case it started the next morning in the other case it wouldn't start the next day and required the spark plug to be removed in order to clear the gas.

I've also been really frustrated by the amount of poorly mulched grass that is deposited on... more
Pros: Price, Features
Cons: Unreliable, Awful Mulching
Tim Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Joe
Detroit, MI
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Personal Pace Great, Rear Drive Quality Poor
The Personal Pace feature works as advertised, walk faster and it goes faster. Like many others, the rear drive has issues mainly related to plastic gears on the rear wheels and plastic bushings on the rear axles. Everything wears out after about 3 seasons. As it wears, wheels lock up when you try to pull the mower backwards, though the forward motion is relatively unaffected. Will only mulch well with dry, shorter grass. I don't even try to mulch in the spring, though I do cut at lower,... more
Was this review helpful?
50
Joe J.
Findaly, OH
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
22in Recycler Mower
You better try this before you buy it. By far worst mower I have ever had, I have bought off brand mowers for ever, they last 3 or 4 years and then buy another. This year I thought I would buy me a name brand mower. I have tried it 3 different times thinking it's me and not the mower. I use to mow an hour and a half non stop, now I have to stop every 15 minutes. Taking it back tomorrow, if they don't take it back I will either be in a triathlon by the end of the year or cemetery.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Joe,
Please bring your Toro mower to the nearest dealer for servicing within two years of your purchase date and Toro will fix your unit for free. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Susan B.
Siasconset, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/18/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Easy To Use
Needed a lawn mower badly. Ordered this mower and it arrived in only a few days. I never called the company to complain, but one of the wheel levers came broken. Making the front wheels almost impossible to raise or lower. living on an island, sometimes products go through rough times before they arrive. Needing a mower so badly, an exchange, return shipping, etc. was not going to happen - so we kept the mower and tried really hard to adjust the front wheels. Now that we have the mower in... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet
Susan Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
51
Danny
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/5/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Old Toro Broke
We are enjoying our new mower it is so easy to use and was really easy to put together. We will order from here again if needed.
Was this review helpful?
40
Paul M
Tucker, GA
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
El Toro!!-lol
Bought a house in Tucker, Ga. without a lawn mower, in October 2011. Well, have the old oak tree so large (approx-150yrs old) LOL, come dead of winter 2011, the leaves in my front lawn were so deep that raking them was a big waste of time. Fed up with the leaves, went and purchased a Toro model 20332. Never saw a lawn mower grind those no rent paying oak leaves to mulch. Don't even have to bag them. So if your not plowing the lower 40, are cutting grass that's 5ft. tall, this will make... more
Was this review helpful?
40
Jose C.
Cortlandt Manor, NY
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Power Train Issues
I purchased this mower last summer and it has been in the shop three times already for a faulty transmission. As a matter of fact, its in the shop as I am presently writing this review and the service center has been waiting on back ordered parts for over 3 weeks now. I tried reaching out directly to TORO, only to be told that I would need to take it to an authorized service center for repair, some of which they would cover and others they will not. Totally unreasonable, considering the $400... more
Was this review helpful?
40
Stuart
Hockessin, DE
REVIEWED
DEC.
06
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Junktoro
Bought model 20332 at home depot a little over 2 years ago. Drive system failed. Replaced belt, but didn't fix it. Checked rear drive wheels and PLASTIC sprockets inside wheels were worn down. Drive gear is metal. Replaced wheels for $50. Lasted 2 mowings, then they were ruined. Took it to Toro dealer, and was told the stamped steel decks bend, and mis-align the wheels. No easy fix. Recommended I purchase the commercial Toro mower for $500. He showed me the discreet differences... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Stuart,
We occasionally see the teeth on the wheel gears wear down. The two most common reasons are many hours of use or misalignment. If the issue is caused by high hours such as commercial use, then replacing the wheels is a good fix. If the machine is being used in a residential setting, misalignment is most likely the cause for wear. A service dealer can correct any misalignment, and replace the necessary parts to get the mower operating correctly. Worn wheel gear teeth will place a greater load on the drive belt resulting in additional wear. Once the wheel gear issue is dealt with, and the belt replaced, the belt should last a very long time. Occasionally adjusting the self-propel cable (see the Operator’s Manual) will help extend the belt life.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Phil W.
Oil City, PA
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Toro Pooro
Have lots of friends who also bought this mower last year when I got mine. This spring, wouldn't start. Everyone else had the same problem. It turns out the carb gets plugged. It's an easy fix, but "guaranteed to start?" Yeah, right.
Phil Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
41
Roger F.
Savage, MN
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not A Good Lawn Mower
Bought this mower in October 2009. I bag my grass clipping. When the bag is about half full, I'm pushing the lawn mower more than the self-propelled drive. My previous mower had a 160cc engine, which had more power than this 190cc engine.
The self-propelled drive broke after 4 summers. There was grinding by the back wheels/gear box for a while and then the self-propelled drive stopped working. I brought the mower in to a Toro Authorized Service Dealer where I was told it would cost about $200... more
Cons: Low Quality, Heavy, Under-powered
Roger Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Roger,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower.

A few years ago, we switched to using metal wheel and pinion gears on all of our 22" Recycler Mowers. If you purchase a new unit, you will not see this issue recur. If you wish to convert the parts on your current mower, you will need to replace both rear wheel at the same time as the gear ratio is slightly different between the gear sets. You would need the following parts to complete this replacement: 110-9417 and 119-3822.

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing within three years of your purchase date and Toro will fix your unit for free. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
30
John
REVIEWED
MAR.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, Another Good Toro!
I had a Toro FWD 22" for 15 years. For twelve of those years, I cut my half acre lawn in MA. Did my own service, never a problem. Moved to FL in 2008 and continued to use the old Toro. In FL we have St. Augustine grass. I have mine professionally fertilized and it is very thick. Felt the old Toro was getting on in years and I may be better off with RWD with this new type of grass. Bought the Toro 20322. So far GREAT! Out of box, 10 mins and started on first pull. Starts on first... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Features, Reliable
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
42
Ken
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Junk
Electric start only good thing I can say about this machine. Bought from big box store, dumb should have known better. In shop 3 times because it would only run for 5-10 minutes. Shops could not find problem and Toro Co. no help. About 120 dollars worth of no help. I finely figured it out, no vent connected to the fuel tank. I drilled very small hole in the cap and the problem was solved. Will not cut if grass is more than a couple of inches tall no power or the slightest damp. Will not... more
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Bad Instructions, Durability
Ken Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
53
Virgil
Scribner, NE
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/20/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Gets The Job Done
All was well with mower when it arrived, assembly was easy. After fuel and oil installed it started on second pull, mowed heavy grass first time, it went through it great, after second use I cleaned under side for the second time a large portion of paint peeled off leaving raw metal in a most vulnerable area for rust to start, I used the hose connect first time it is fair, but I prefer to wash with nozzle on hose. so now I will need a good quality paint to keep that area well cover.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Virgil Recommends This Toro Mower
Virgil Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mower showed up within 5 days of order and in great shape."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Rick
Rochester, MN
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Won't Start
I purchased the mower in September of '12 and it's now the beginning of November and I can't get it started. In the book it states your gas must be under 30 days old for the warranty to be warranted, however, I have a snow blower with last years gas still in it and it started on the first pull. If you decide you want to buy this model, I will give you mine. You can deal with the head aches. Buy a lawn mower with a primer and / or choke that you can manipulate and you will be a happier mower.
Was this review helpful?
31
Gerald J. W.
Gramercy, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/4/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Almost Runs By Itself
I Love My Mower... I Had Bought Two; It Almost Runs by Itself.
Was this review helpful?
20
Edward M.
San Antonio, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/6/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Shoppng
delivered to my door within 5 days
Edward Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Ed H.
Dallas, TX
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Upside Of Ok
Bought one in '14. Used it, relentless, till I needed a second mower, different application. I did replace the transmission, due to my negligence, but outside of that, it is my best mower. Reliable. Nice, clean cuts.
Ed Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
John W.
San Tan Valley, AZ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/14/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Mower
I love my mower! It starts easily with just one pull, and it does a great job mowing my yard. I have no complaints.
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Christy P.
Loudon, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/16/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
To All, Buy This Mower, Fantastic
Easy start, smooth operation, easy to clean, excellent mulcher or bagger.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Christy Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
21
Jose B.
Thiells, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/3/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Machine Assembly
I had the machine out of the box and assembled in about 20 minutes.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Quiet, Easy To Handle Around Corners
Cons: No Cons So Far
Jose Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Allen Saulsberry
San Antonio, TX
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Track Record
I have used the Toro 20332 for 4 years now and it has proven to be the best mower that I have ever owned, I am now 69, so I have been through a few. It still starts on the first pull and cuts an even, smooth surface. I use the bag as well as the mulching features and think the bagging is a simple, easy maneuver to master. The oil is easy to change, and the mower has not required any other maintenance. This year I will have the blade sharpened. I certainly would recommend it to anyone.
Allen Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Frank
Jacksonville, FL
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Problems
Had my 1st Recycler mower for about 1-1/2 years before it was stolen. Worked great, except for a starting issue that I was charged for while under warranty. Bought a 2nd one worked ok for a year and half then the front wheel went bad. 7 months later the trans. went out . 7 months later it went out again. For the price you pay I think this is not a very reliable mower. Won't buy another one..
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Frank,
Wheel pinions have been replaced by metal on all 22" Toro Recycler Models over the past few years. Wheel pinions will not wear out like their former plastic counterparts.

For starting issues please bring your Toro mower to the nearest dealer for servicing within three years of your purchase date and Toro will fix your unit for free. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free)
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Scott
Mobile, AL
REVIEWED
MAR.
05
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Rear Of Deck Is Plastic.........
It has good suction, more than enough power, and the self-propel worked great. I loved the lawnmower until, by accident, I ran over a hard pine cone and it busted the hard plastic in the back of the deck. Why would any manufacturer put hard plastic on any part of the inner deck? Cost me over $50.00 for the replacement part and a lot of trouble taking the busted one off and putting the new one on. I was very careful not to run over anything that might cause problems. Then I was cutting my... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Scott,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower.

Please bring your Toro mower to the nearest dealer for servicing within two years of your purchase date and Toro will fix your unit for free. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Edward M.
San Antonio, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/6/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Shoppng
delivered to my door within 5 days
Edward Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Ernest K.
Naperville, IL
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not As Advertised
It always takes at least two or three pulls to get it started when cold. After cutting for 15 to 30 minutes it will NOT RESTART if I stop for some reason. 10 to 12 pulls should be enough to get it going. I try not to stop during cutting sessions but it isn't always convenient. If I stop for any reason I'll have to wait until the next day to sart it with 2 or 3 more pulls. "Guaranteed to Start?" -- apparently it's only a marketing tagline
Ernest Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Byron R.
Danville, KY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/13/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Ordered mower, it was delivered 2 days later. Filled with oil and fuel, started on first pull and continues to start on first pull. Very happy with purchase. Will order from Mowers Direct again when power equipment is needed. Thanks.
Byron Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul D.
Anoka, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/29/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Used For Mowing At A Church
We have a lot of fence and hill trim mowing. The personal pace is perfect for this situation.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Features, Durable
Paul Recommends This Toro Mower
Paul's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"I ordered it in about 5 minutes. It came to the church quickly. Best of all I did not have to go to the store."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Craig B.
Cleveland, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/23/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect
I have noticed alot of complaints, I myself had no problem. Most of the cutting complaints seem to be on cutting (either to high or wet).
Mine is great!!!
Was this review helpful?
22
Richard J.
Vineyard Haven, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/18/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Toro Mower
This is the second Toro mower that we purchased from Mowers Direct. Not only are we happy with the Mower, but Mowers Direct are simply great to do business with. I would not hesitate to make future purchases.

Sincerely,
Dick J.
Was this review helpful?
11
Paul
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good Basic Mower
I've owned mine 4 years. Had to replace the rear drive wheels. Personal Pace works very good. However, I kept my 20 year old Snapper Hi Vac and I am glad I did. I have a lot of trees on my property, so I get a lot of twigs and small branches, which the Toro will not pick up. I use the Snapper during the spring and fall and it sucks up almost everything.

Mulching feature is very convenient, but doesn't work well with tall grass. Mulching works best during the summer when the grass... more
Was this review helpful?
00
F Ray
West Des Moines, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/29/12
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Striping System
I am a master gardener and part of my personal passion is my turf. For years I have been looking for a way to stripe my lawn without the cost of an expensive (1,660.00+) striping mower. By accident I stumbled upon your site, called and spoke to one of your sales reps and 5 days later it arrived. I followed the very simple assembly instructions and 15 minutes later I was stripping my lawn. It looks great-it works great and it's easy to use and it's inexpensive. My lawn looks like a ball... more
Was this review helpful?
11
Mike
Newport, RI
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Misconception
I have a 19" toro and thought a 22" would give me a wider cut so I could save some time and effort cutting my lawn. I was wrong. The cut paths are both 18". I may still save some time since it is powerful and travels fast but it will take more effort as I have to walk faster to keep up with it. It is also doing a neater cutting job as i can bag the clipping near the house and prevent them from being carried into the house on shoes. The rear right level adjustment lever came... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Rocky Bendrihem
Yorktown Heights, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/12/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Company To Work With
Very pleased with the efficiency and professionalism of your company in product and service.
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim
Wallingford, CT
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Be Aware!
I used my new Toro for the first time, and I was impressed with it until my grass bag filled up and fell off. I was lucky that I didn't get hurt. I have been mowing for 40 years and I never experienced that. It is definitely a factory defect. It is not secured enough.
Was this review helpful?
00
Jack
Wray, CO
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Drive Doesn't Work
The self propelled drive has never worked and living in rural Colorado cannot get a dealer to do warranty repairs. I purchased a Toro thinking that it would be a first class machine with dealer support - not happening. Even dealers within 100 miles will not do warranty work unless you purchase the machine from them.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jack,
"We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower.

We are very surprised to hear about issues with local dealers, as authorized Toro dealers are contractually obligated to assist in warranty claims and repairs. If you are still experiencing issues please call our customer service number at (888) 384-9939 (toll free)."
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Andrew
Decatur, GA
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Wheel Fell Off.
Second time out, the left rear drive wheel fell off. Put it back on in 20 minutes. Third time out found a washer so had to take wheel off to put washer on. Not what i expected from new mower.
Was this review helpful?
00
Randy
Bourbonnais, IL
REVIEWED
APR.
10
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nothing But Praise For This Mower
I have 1 acre with slopes and lots of edging. Not a problem, always a clean cut. My wife also loves the personal pace. I have had this mower for two full seasons with no complaints. Just keep the blade sharp, oil changed, and charge the battery once per month. The deck cleaning option is cool too.

Replaced the second Craftsman self-propelled with this mower and will never go back.
Was this review helpful?
00
Gail
Riverside, CA
REVIEWED
JAN.
17
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Had Issues With It Starting But Toro Fixed It
I bought this in August 2010. I loved it right away. Easy to handle and just the perfect amount of pulling power.

But after about 7 uses it started becoming hard to start. Took 10-15 pulls to get it going. I complained to the company I bought it from and they referred me directly to Toro. They sent me to a local repair shop. They advised that the carberator had to be rebuilt...and this was not covered under the warranty.

I complained, called Toro directly. At first, the also... more
Was this review helpful?
00
William Pissott
Manahawkin, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/2/10
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Arrival Of Mower
The Toro was very easy to assemble upon arrival, however the engine oil package was empty as the oil had spilled all over the inside of the shipping box. The oil should be inside a leak-proof bag so if it does leak it will be contained and not spilled all over the box and mower.

Aside from that, the mower works very well and is easy to operate.
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael W.
Rochester, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/30/10
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2010
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Happy
When I took the mower out of the box and went to use it the rear wheel adjustment arms were bent and would not hold in the proper position.

I was told to take it to a local Master Toro Dealer.. I took it to them about a week and a half ago. Since I did not purchase it from them, they did not seem to be too happy about taking care of the problem.

In fact, they said that the damage may have happened in shipment (NOT SO). I would not order this way again. I have had to borrow mowers... more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Michael,
We understand- we are not happy with Service Facilities that are reluctant to honor their Service contracts, too!

We have 10 days after delivery to report any shipping damage- hidden or obvious. We are prohibited by Federal Law to ship any motor that's had gasoline in it. So, it's in a customer's best interest to check their mower over carefully before gassing it up to find anything bent or broken.

Factory Warranties cover defects in materials or workmanship. If something is bent or broken, it probably won't be a Warranty repair.

That being said, we do not understand the reluctance of Service Centers to accept a new service customer. We only sell the unit- once. They have the opportunity to do regular maintenance on the unit year after year.

We will be happy to ask our Toro Corporate representative to contact your Service Center to expedite your repair. Please let us know if it does not qualify for warranty work; we'll do all we can to help you.

Once your adjustment issue is resolved, you should have many years of good mowing to look forward to!
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Please bring your Toro mower to the nearest dealer for servicing within two years of your purchase date and Toro will fix your unit for free. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
00
John
Small Town, VA
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2010
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Lousy Belt Drive System
I bought one of these Toro mowers -- they are cheap 22" side discharge machines. I ran it for an hour and the drive belt came off and got ripped up in the blade guard. Thinking that was a fluke I took it back for another new mower and the same thing happened after about 3 hours of use.

I hate to buy something more expensive, but this seems like a major design flaw. At least the Big Box store gave a hassle free refund when they saw the mess. My advice is avoid Toros. I have been... more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
John,
The 20332 is a bagging/mulching rear discharge mower, that can also discharge from the side. it comes with a 2 year Factory Warranty for homeowner use, and any adjustment needed so it doesn't eat belts should be covered under the warranty.

You can use the Service Locator at www.toro.com to find the Authorized Service Center nearest you.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower.

Please bring your Toro mower to the nearest dealer for servicing within two years of your purchase date and Toro will fix your unit for free. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Norm
Actually in Costa Rica, WA
REVIEWED
JUN.
19
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased
This is the first time in more than 30 years that I have a lawn to cut. Needless to say, I was not anxious to deal with a new lawnmower.

Based in the reviews I read and a friend’s recommendation, I ordered this model for use at my new home in Costa Rica.

From the start, this mower has been everything that I expected. Getting it out of the box and attaching the handle took about 4 minutes, putting the oil (provided) in the crankcase took another two minutes. After filling the gas... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dan Baker
Hesperia, CA
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cadillac Of Mowers
Plain and simple- this mower is badass!!!!. I used a Yard Machine push mower for ten years.

This Toro is a Caddie compared to that old Yard Machine.
Was this review helpful?
00
T G.
Denham Springs, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/6/10
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Lawn Mower
I really like this lawn mower...it is so easy to start and it does all the work for you.

The only problem I have is pulling it backwards...if there is a secret to making that easy please let me know!
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
T,
Page 9 of the Owner's Manual says "Note: If the mower does not freely roll backward after self-propelling, stop walking, hold your hands in place, and allow the mower to roll a couple of inches (centimeters) forward to disengage the wheel drive.

You can also try reaching just under the personal pace handle to the metal handle and push the mower forward a
couple of inches (centimeters). If the mower still does not roll backward easily, contact an Authorized Service Dealer."
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Claire
Enid, OK
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The One That Fits Our Needs.
At Last the Mower That Is Perfect For Our Needs.

Starts Immediately.
Powerful.
Easy to Handle.
Mows Half An Acre Without Any Problem With a Full Tank.
We Love It.

Thank You Toro Cie.
Was this review helpful?
00
Harold
West St Paul, MN
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2010
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Cuts Well, Questionable Drive Durability
Bought Toro because of their reputation for reliability. I fully understand that this is a residential mower, so I don't have any illusions as to getting commercial quality.

The mower started and ran fine. The personal pace system is very nice and the mower cut well. What I didn't care for was the grinding sounds that come from the drive system when engaged quickly as you go from pulling the mower backwards to pushing it forward.

It's a personal thing, however I'm not confident... more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Harold,
You may want to give the Toro Tech Support folks a call, toll free, at (888) 384-9939 to see if they have any tips about the drive system, or if it's a warranty adjustment.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Chris Anderson
San Antonio, TX
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower (so Far)
This is the mower for you if your yard is a reasonable size with/without hills. I had a Toro (Briggs and Straton engine) for 18 years that I finally had to bury. For 18 years it started on first or second pull. Loved it.

I saw a (thought it was a deal) mower at a Big Box store with a Honda motor with a Blackcat deck. The third time using it, it wouldn't stay running. Gladly took it back for a full refund.

I went to another Big Box Store to buy this Toro. It sounds weird but I... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Scott
Trenton, GA
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome On Hills
I was skeptical about this mower because my yard is one BIG STEEP hill. It has been awesome and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

It has cut my mowing time by at least 20 minutes and is much easier to push up hill than any other mower I've ever owned. Just buy it and love it!

Cutting straight? It cuts just fine. That guy must have a wheel set too low or something. I've hacked down tall grass and just fine cut grass, plus everything in between and all is well.
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim
Blacksburg, VA
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Personal Pacer Self Propelled Mower
The 20332 mower is by far the best mower I have owned since first bought one in 1972. I have owned Lawn Boy, Toro, Honda, and Craftsman.

The personal pacer device for self-propelling is an amazing idea. It makes mowing like getting real walking exercise at a brisk pace if you like, without the drudgery of plodding along having to depress some lever.

The operation ease is fantastic. The mower weight is low, so this makes turning it around quite easy and the engine power will do... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Christopher Potts
Hobart Australia, AK
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Toro Self Propelled
I bought a Toro self-propelled mower about a month ago. I have one word to describe it- "BEAUTIFUL'.

I have had a number of different mowers in my time, including a ride-on. This Toro is just fantastic, it starts very easily first pull, has loads of power and cuts the lawn so nice and even.

Once started, just push on the handle and away it goes- it couldn't be simpler. I have no trouble in recommending this Toro self-propelled mower. Y

You would be hard pressed to find better.
Was this review helpful?
00
Nihad Aslani
Racine, WI
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2009
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Too Light In Front
This machine does not cut straight, it needs to be weighted evenly Because of that I would not recommend this lawn mower.

I like the power the Toro has, I would just like a product with a better cut.
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Nihad,
Toro mowers come with a 2 year factory warranty- they should be able to set up your mower so it cuts properly. Please give them a call toll free at (888) 384-9939 or check their Service Finder web site by clicking on "Customer Service" at the bottom of our web site and selecting "Service Centers"; then just click on the Toro logo.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary
Warminster, PA
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Grass Collection Bag Came Off, Causing Me To Fall
I had this mower for about 1 month. Yesterday the discharge bag that holds the grass clippings fell off the mower three times as I was operating the mower. The bag was nearly full each time that it fell off the mower. One time I was caused to fall to the ground injuring my shoulder. The discharge bag is not attached to the mower in a secure fashion. I believe this is a design defect, and can be dangerous for operators. I have not seen this complaint mentioned in my research. I have been... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gary,
Instructions on how to properly secure the grass bagger can be found inside your printed operator's manual as well as online at https://www.toro.com/en/parts. If you believe your mower contains a defect please contact our customer service number (888) 384-9939 (toll free) as soon as possible.
more
Was this review helpful?
03
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials