Search
< Back to Product

Toro 20199 Wide Area Walk Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$899.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$999.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$999.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Toro 20199 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (25)
Fast (21)
Features (14)
Easy Start (12)
Easy To Store (11)
Cons
Expensive (25)
Heavy (14)
Low Quality (9)
Unreliable (7)
Durability (4)
67% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
142 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Mower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
91 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12607 Helpful Votes
Mowers Direct Recommended

The Toro TimeMaster 20199 is a solid choice for homeowners looking to get the job done in a short amount of time. The 30" deck significantly reduces your mowing time when you have a lot of ground to cover.

The 20199 is powered by an easy to start Briggs & Stratton overhead valve engine. The Dual-Force cutting system turns grass into a super-fine mulch for superior quality of cut and a healthy, rich lawn.

The TimeMaster 20199 features Toro's Personal Pace self-propel drive... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
8724
Jim
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower I Have Ever Owned
I personally waited 2 years to write a review about this lawn mower so I could give everyone an honest review. Like I said I have owned this lawn mower for 2 full seasons and I LOVE IT!!! I have a 1/2 acre lot that I mow with this mower and it does it flawlessly job.

I have my neighbors stop me on the street to ask me who mows my lawn. When I say I do they are very surprised. If you have a semi-level lawn and mow your yard during the cutting seasons every 7-10 days you will absolutely... more
Jim Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
61
Eric F.
Sayville, NY
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Worst Machine Ever
I have owned this piece of garbage for four years. The shoot intake is to small and constantly gets jammed with cut grass. It cant handle mowing if the grass has the littlest bit of moisture. The engine is too small to pick up 30" of grass cutting. Toro's response, " cut half the amount on your rows." If that's the case, why name it the Timemaster.

After a year of fighting with customer service and a letter writing campaign, Toro admit guilt and promised to send me a 100%... more
Was this review helpful?
155
Phillip D.
Edwardsville, IL
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Big Disapointment
Purchased mower June of 2013. Mulches and bags grass well. Worked well first year and a half. Cuts great on flat terrain but will not pull up modest hill of my walk out. Took mower in yearly for service.

Sept. of 2015 belt broke and did $171.00 in damage to pedestal bearings, blades, and was not charged for all repairs, but took three weeks in shop.

April 2016, I suspect tension pulley shot craps and been in shop nearly four weeks as shop says parts on order. Using my Honda HRX with bad... more
Pros: Easy Start
Cons: Expensive, Heavy, Unreliable
Was this review helpful?
72
John
Fowlerville, MI
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Disappointed In Michigan
Having purchased this mower last year I have had it back in the shop too many times. It is under-powered, it clogs up and makes a mess of the lawn, it leaked gas from the cap (which they replaced) then leaked again (they replaced the cap and gas tank).

The deck is poorly designed and misses grass of which you have to go over again. The clunky thing is very heavy and hard to handle. I tried to return it but with no avail. I would NOT recommend this mower!
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
"We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. Below are some tactics you can try to improve power loss during mowing:
• Dirty Air Filter on Your Lawn Mower: Clean or replace.
• Cutting Tall Grass: Raise the cutting height on your lawn mower
• Dirty Spark Plug: Clean or replace.
• Build Up of Clippings & Debris: Clean underside of your lawn mower deck

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free)."
more
Was this review helpful?
61
P
Land O Lakes, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/19/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Got It !!
I have been wanting this mower, or similar size for 4 years. Finally, I did, purchased from Mowers Direct a week ago. was delivered yesterday, 7/26/2016. The entire experience was awesome, prompt service, nice people, even the carrier was nice when he dropped off my mower (I was at work) he put the huge box in my garage !! no charge.. I got home, immediately opened the box, it was so simple.

It is fully assembled, mulch plug already installed, bag in the box, oil and gas treatment,... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Features, Easy Start
Cons: Expensive
P Recommends This Toro Mower
P's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct is fantastic! your shipping partner was just as attentive, courteous and prompt."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Carlos T.
Salt Lake City, UT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/1/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Cuts But Lacks Power!
I love the cutting finish and is a really smooth machine and so easy to start but it definitely needs more power. It dies if you try to force it a bit with higher grass.
Carlos Recommends This Toro Mower
Carlos's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Smooth transaction and the no tax plus free shipping, you just can't find a better deal out there!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Paul
Liverpool, NY
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Gas Tank Explosion Hazzard
I bought this for flat lawn when mowing it sprays gas out of the cap all over the mower. I called Toro and they referred me to Briggs. Briggs had me bring to a MASTER Dealer no easy task. They replaced the tank but it still leaks and I can only fill it up 1/2 way.

I asked for a old screw on cap with tank but NO WAY all they have is the 1/2 turn caps and tanks. Mowing is faster I think its under powered cut is not even like my old John Deere. Look at Cub Cadet similar cut screw on gas cap... more
Pros: Explosion Hazzard
Cons: Explosion Hazzard
Was this review helpful?
20
Mike
Pittsburgh, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/6/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Upgrade
Mower ready to use right out of the box. Add oil and gasoline and you're ready to go. I was excited to see how this 30" would perform and wow did it meet my expectations. I thought It would be hard to maneuver, but it was quite the opposite.

The Personal Pace system is really nice... smooth, easy to use - even with one hand, easy to pull backwards, and easy to lift, pivot and make turns. Large bag is great, cut is great, overall great mower for residential use.

I cannot speak for... more
Mike Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Brad C.
Lyons, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/9/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Just unboxed it today, cuts and works great.
Brad Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Joe
Scranton, PA
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Disappointed
Bought one locally from a Toro dealer in 2012. Had to replace 2 belts last year and the BBC cable this year. Today, the blade belt snapped, damaging the drive belt and the blades hit each other. The drive cable is now damaged as well. The performance was always just so-so. The engine is too small for this size cut, which makes it difficult to cut when the grass is even slightly damp. The discharge chute to the bag gets clogged frequently, leaving clumps of grass behind. Even though it is only 4... more
Pros: Easy Start
Cons: Expensive, Heavy, Durability
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Joe,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. Below are some tactics you can try to improve power loss during mowing:
• Dirty Air Filter on Your Lawn Mower: Clean or replace.
• Cutting Tall Grass: Raise the cutting height on your lawn mower
• Dirty Spark Plug: Clean or replace.
• Build Up of Clippings & Debris: Clean underside of your lawn mower deck

Toro has made improvements to this product since your original purchase, customers purchasing today are unlikely to see the same types of belt wear. If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. This mower has a three year full warranty. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Richard C.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/12/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
This mower reduced my cutting time and it works great. It's a bit expensive but it was worth it for me.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy Start, Durable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive, Heavy
Richard Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Edward L
Tallahassee, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/9/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exceeded Expectations
I have used the Toro TimeMaster 30 twice and my wife used it once. We are both thrilled with it. I wanted a walk behind mower that was fast and the Toro almost requires you to jog to keep up with it at its fastest speed.

And the personal pace self-propel system was a great surprise - it makes handling the mower around trees and shrubs a breeze. The mower mulches the grass much finer than any mower I have owned. So far we think it is great and highly recommend it.
Edward Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Rudy
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/18/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I have owned the 22 inch Personal Pace for many years to cut around trees in a large yard and liked it. Now I have a smaller yard but still too large for the 22".

Also my yard has a steep slope. In reading the reviews about the 30 inch, I was concerned about the slope but it has plenty of power to pull the grade without any problem. Also it has a very smooth level cut.
Rudy Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
21
Ben
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/9/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
As Expected, It Is Just What I Needed.
I have approx. 1/2 acre lot with the back half of the yard being on a decent slope. I previously had a 42" riding mower but it did not work well with the hill and was too wide to cut around my boulevard trees.

This mower was just right, it has plenty of power to get up the hill and cuts the mowing time down by 1/3.

The personal pace controls work great, and the unit starts up by the second pull every time, even for my 12 year old daughter. The only thing I have noticed so far is... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Features, Easy Start
Cons: Expensive
Ben Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
21
John Logan
N Salt Lake, UT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/23/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Big Time Saver
The 30" cut, compared to any 21" or 22" mower is significant in reducing mowing time (about 50%) and the drive is better than any smaller mower I have ever owned even up hill. The grass catcher is efficient and reduces the number of times I need to empty the bag by about half too.

A great mower!
John Recommends This Toro Mower
John's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Delivered promptly for a freight sized item and the shipping company (Old Dominion) was great as they delivered with a lift gate truck."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Geoff V.
Prairie Village, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/19/16
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Avoid Toro!
Bought the TORO Timemaster 30" mower for $1,100. Out of the box, made it four passes in the yard before it stalled out and wouldn't restart. TORO Support informed me it was my issue to resolve with assistance of a local certified repair shop. Again, my issue to figure out how to get it there and back as well...

Repair shop took a week to rebuild the (brand new) engine. Apparently a rod fell out and was resolved by using Loctite.

I know own a brand new refurbished lemon with no... more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Geoff,
Sorry to hear about the issue with the mower I will make sure Toro does know about this issue, if you have any other concerns please let us know and we can forward any issues to the manufacturer.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Steven A.
Olathe, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/27/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Mower For My Yard
I have a very big yard and this machine is perfect for it. I like the wide cut that saves me so much time than my previous mower that was only 19 inch. It has lots of power to carry the rear back when it begins to fill up. The double blade makes my yard look as nice as a golf course. Wish I would have purchased it a year earlier. Delivery came on time and no issues.
Steven Recommends This Toro Mower
Steven's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I had a few questions that I needed answered. The customer service representative called me back and was very educated about answering my questions. Thanks Mowers direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark Y.
Muskegon, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/7/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is A Great Mower It Mulches Better Than Any Mower I've Seen
It cuts very good, love the side discharge. Rolls easy so it hides it's weight, like how it keeps running when you empty the bag.
Pros: Fast, Easy Start, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Expensive
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Mark's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
The Bull
Birmingham, AL
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Bull
That is what my wife is calling the new mower. We had to take it to the local dealer to get it started properly which was disappointing. Now that we are up and going, it delivers on the 'time master' name. It cut my 60 minutes or work to 25 minutes. Good mower so far.
The Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike S.
Beavercreek, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/3/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exceptional At Mulching
Have 1/2 acre. Cut it at 4''. Mower leaves no clumps, and the cut grass is next to invisible. 4 stars on bagging - tried it out just to see how it would do - not much on bagging free fertilizer. Would like to see an oil drain plug.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Easy Start, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: No Oil Drain Plug
Mike Recommends This Toro Mower
Mike's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fair price, quick shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Russell
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/28/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow
first off again mowers direct exceeded my expectations. i ordered my mower Tuesday afternoon, by Friday the mower was at my door. So on to the Toro - after weeks of reading reviews and videos, I took the plunge and got the TimeMaster 30.

Here in the Northeast, it rained for days and my grass wasn't cut in two weeks. My grass was tall, needless to say. Without fail, the TimeMaster went through my 1/2 acre without a problem... the TimeMaster has the cleanest cut out of any machine I have... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Expensive
Russell Recommends This Toro Mower
Russell's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct has great prices, easy to reach customer service. and are very knowledgeable staff."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Joshua L.
Black Diamond, WA
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
6 Months Old...blown Engine
Absolutely loved this mower for the first 6 months! The first brand new mower that I have ever bought. Treated it like my first car. Even gave it a spot in the garage instead of the shed. Started it up one day and engaged blades. Immediately started to bog down and ultimately quit/seized.

Checked oil (good) and was able to restart after 15 minutes but engine blew hole in the block shortly after. Owned three other mowers (used) in my life and never had an actual engine failure. Toro... more
Was this review helpful?
11
Flora M.
New Providence, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/6/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Beast
Great mower cut my mowing by 20 minutes. Easy starting and big bag - its a beast.
Flora Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim S.
South Charleston, WV
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Timemaster No Timesaver
I have had this mower a little over a year. I only cut flat yards and I cut often, because this mower will not handle tall grass (even medium grass is too much to ask) so it gets limited use.

In addition to the lack of performance - this mower has been far from reliable. First week I had it, the self-propel unit went out. Since then, it has been in the shop three times for blade engagement issues, one time for engine issues.

My local dealer, Pile Hardware, Charleston WV has been great to... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Francisco H.
East Hampton, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/12/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far So Good
I bough this machine one month ago, it runs very well. the only complain I have the gas tank is to small. My yard is almost one acre and when the grass is a little tall I have to refill the tank twice.
Francisco Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Matt Bowen
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
I Agree With Eric F
Four years ownership. First had problems with the belts jumping off and today one of the blade rods feel out and the threads are stripped. Surely an expensive fix. Also true it clogs like hell. Going back to a $50 off Craigslist and will bite the bullet on time for a 22"
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Matt,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. To lessen istances of clogging, ensure you are cutting only 1/3 of dry grass at any one time.
If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
00
James S.
Oak Grove, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/18/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
30 Inch Toro
I have used my TimeMaster Toro serveral times now and am very pleased. It does a very good job of mowing,leaves the lawn looking great.
James Recommends This Toro Mower
James's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mower was delivered before due date. The driver rolled it right into my garage"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul S.
Suitland, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/9/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Toro Timemaster 30" Deck Mower
True to the advertisement of the Toro Timemaster 30" mower. I just love it and how it make my lawn look like after using the mower.
Paul Recommends This Toro Mower
Paul's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The mower could be cheaper in price."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Matt M.
Wildwood, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/3/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Everything I wanted, and a supreme cut! Love this thing.
Matt Recommends This Toro Mower
Matt's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Loved my whole experience with MD"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Daniel G.
Elizabethtown, KY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/1/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Mower
Great customer service timely and friendly delivery well packed easy to assemble started immediately. Great controls speed and speed control very user friendly. I frequently change the cutting height and Toro made it simple easy to read etc.

Cuts good, easy to maneuver. Really like the handle storage and ability to leave the mower running while moving branches and other items in the way. Well worth the money. Does bog down the engine when grass is high.
Daniel Recommends This Toro Mower
Daniel's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great customer service timely and friendly delivery well packed no taxes and free shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
David S.
North Royalton, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/24/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Time Master For Sure
This mower has allowed me to cut 25% of the time off of cutting my lawn. Love it!
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, I'd Buy It Again, Easy Start
Cons: The Bag Is Difficult To Empty Into A Standard Lawn Refuse Bag
David Recommends This Toro Mower
David's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easiest purchase that I have made in a while. Thanks!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim F.
Edgartown, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/21/16
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Solid Mower, Great Company Instant Shipping
I bought this to replace an older 22" toro mower that was getting tired. I really like the personal pace feature that my old mower had and was of the reasons I chose this. This 32" twin blade mower is a nice step up. Powerful motor and strong vacuum does a nice job when bagging.

I have only used it once but much of the hardware on the mower has more beef to it compared to the 22" inch and it should last many seasons. The only thing is that I wish it had a larger fuel... more
Jim Recommends This Toro Mower
Jim's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Thanks! No tax, free shipping and shipped instantaly"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeff
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Horrible Mower
Not worth the money they ask for it. 2 years old and have so many problems with it , that the dealership where I bought it will not service it anymore. They told me to call Toro. belts wear out fast, broken on / off switch, transmission cable broke, engine smokes like hell, engine has a hair line crack and leaks oil. Do not buy this mower you will be sorry.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jeff,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. This mower is covered under a three year manufacture's warranty. Please bring your unit to the nearest Toro dealership for repairs. We can help assist you in finding a cooperative dealer by calling our customer service number (888) 384-9939 (toll free). and Toro will reimburse you for items covered for warranty within three years of your purchase date.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank G.
Bismarck, ND
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Save Your Money
Save your money I bought this mower 6/11 /2015 from a local hardware store in Bismarck, North Dakota In the three months that I've use this mower the catch bag has ripped twice, both spindles burned out and the recoil cord broke. When going up the slightest hill you have to push this mower and it is very heavy. I asked for my money back and he said absolutely not, just keep bringing it back and we will keep fixing it. I will never buy from a local hardware store again or a Toro product again.... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Easy Start
Cons: Expensive, Heavy, Low Quality, Unreliable
Was this review helpful?
22
Gary S.
Westfield, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/9/16
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
I have used the mower about half a dozen time so far & it works as advertised. Takes a little getting use to the speed control when cutting around areas that you need to maneuver in and out of, but for the open straight stretches it's great. Love the wheel adjustment, and the deck cleaning feature is very nice.
Gary Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Curtis H.
Fort Worth, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/20/16
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Makes Mowing The Lawn Almost Fun Again
I love it. Cuts yard work in half. I used to have a Troy-Bilt mower. It was 33 inches. I lost it in a fire a few years ago. I've been using a 21 inch, so I found this 30 inch mower. Makes mowing the lawn almost fun again.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Features, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive, Heavy
Curtis Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
James L.
St. Louis, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/15/16
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
No assembly required. Pour the oil in, fill up with gas. Thing is a beast and works fine on hills. Surprisingly light weight for how big it feels. My lawn before would take a solid hour and 20 to cut, now 30-35 minutes. Great purchase.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Easy To Store, Light Weight
Cons: Expensive
James Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
12
Brian C.
Belleville, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/11/16
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Abes Tree And Lawn
needs about 3 more hp
Cons: Expensive, Under Powered
Was this review helpful?
-70
Mitchell S.
Macungie, PA
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not So Fast...
Twin blades turned into one
Was this review helpful?
312
Bill O.
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Tried 2 Mowers Poor Product
Really liked all the features. Everything seemed to work great, started first pull, bagged great, engine never bogged down, cut the grass very well. The only problem was it wouldn't pull itself. First mower used about 5 times, completely quit pulling, sounded like the gears we're ripping out of it. Took it back to Home Depot, no problem gave me new one. I figured it was just a lemon. Used the second mower 4 times got so weak even on a very slight incline had to push. This mower is very heavy.... more
Pros: Features
Cons: Low Quality, Expensive
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bill,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower.

Toro has added a traction assist handle as a standard option to assist the personal pace system with tackling larger hills and slopes. You can also order the traction assist handle as a individual part to add to your existing mower.

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
413
Duane Landry
Baton Rouge, LA
REVIEWED
OCT.
11
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Underpowered And Broke After 6th Use!
I bought this unit with reservations about the power due to reviews about it. I thought maybe these people didn't know what they were doing and probably cutting wet high grass commercially. Well, they were RIGHT! This mower IS very underpowered!

I mean forget about cutting wet grass at all, and tall grass, HA HA. I keep my yard manicured and it's only 100X105 feet. I started to cut grass today and guess what! The cable that engages the blades broke! They made the end on the handle out... more
Pros: Fast
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Duane,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. Below are some tactics you can try to improve power loss during mowing:

• Dirty Air Filter on Your Lawn Mower: Clean or replace.
• Cutting Tall Grass: Raise the cutting height on your lawn mower
• Dirty Spark Plug: Clean or replace.
• Build Up of Clippings & Debris: Clean underside of your lawn mower deck

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. This mower has a three-year consumer warranty. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
417
Podum S.
Rosenberg, TX
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best Machine I've Ever Owned
I bought a Toro 20199 last season from my local dealer because I wanted the ability to return it and cancel the credit card payment should the machine turn out to be a piece of junk as others have stated.

What I found is this:
It will mulch cut tall “wet grass” 8 – 10 inches on the high deck setting with ease with a little bogging. There will be clumps that can be dispersed with a blower. It wont bag or side discharge because the deck ports get plugged with the “wet grass”. Also on “wet... more
Podum Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
352
John P.
York, PA
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Toro 2012 Timemaster 30" Mower Worst Mower I Have Owned!
Spent $1000 on a Toro TimeMaster 30" mower because of width of cut and faster cut time. It has turned out to be the worst lawn mower I have ever owned. Only positives are that it handles really well and is fast.

Negatives are the design of blades and housing creates so much clogging under the deck that it affects the cut (uneven cut) plus it leaves grass cow patties all over the lawn. The lawn conditions have to be perfect for this to work very minimal grass height and no wetness... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
When did you purchase this mower? Toro has made a Hi-Lift Blade Conversion Kit available for Time Master 30" mowers purchased in 2012. This is now standard on TimeMasters since 2014. This kit will improve your cutting and bagging performance. This Kit includes:

•2 each of #130-2396 hi-lift mower blades
•1 each of #116-5588-01 front baffle for mower deck
•1 each of #125-5091 updated side door
•1 each of #127-0721 updated side door spring assembly

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing within three years of your purchase date and Toro will fix your unit for free. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
396
Les
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/23/14
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What A Step Up......
I don't have a huge yard but I have been cutting it with a 22" Craftsman mower. I had been that guy who would buy a low end push mower and wear it out after 4-5 years.....then buy another one. Decided it was time to upgrade but really wanted to concentrate on getting a wider mower with a little more power. I have a very lush Fescue lawn and always seems like my grass grows overnight in the Spring and honestly need to mow every 2-3 days. Had my Timemaster delivered yesterday and was... more
Les Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
311
Ruth B.
Barrington, RI
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Mower For A Woman
I'll have to say that after reading all the negative reviews on this product, I almost was swayed in the direction of not buying it. Being a woman and not having the strength of a man, my concerns were the starting it up, weight, maneuverability, and problems stated in reviews with powering up a hill. I visited my local Toro dealer to see/try the product in person and felt better about the purchase right away. After using the product, I have to say that I experienced no problems with... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Easy To Store, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Expensive
Ruth Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
280
Mike
REVIEWED
MAR.
25
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Nothing But Problems!!!
I wanted a little larger mower for my lawn service and didn't want to spend $3,000 on a big mower so I got the Toro 30" mower for $1,000 from a local dealer who recommended it.

It was fast, but thats about it. Like other reviews say, good luck going up a slight incline. If u do, it starts to smoke. Tall grass...NO. Don't even try cutting it.

Then the self propel went out. Dealer fixed it then it did it again. The self propel went out 4 times within 3 months of purchase!! Took 1 month... more
Was this review helpful?
292
Jason
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Mower, Nice Features, Good Cut.
I've researched this mower for awhile before buying and the reviews are all over the place. I've personally found the 20199 to have good power, a nice cut, easy to maneuver, and has cut mowing time down quite a bit. I do think it's overpriced, and has some cheap parts made of plastic I can see breaking quite easily...(for a thousand dollars I would expect better overall quality).

As a side-note read MANY reviews, I've come across a person writing about how poor of cut the machine gives,... more
Pros: Fast, Quiet, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive
Jason Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
261
Joe F.
Arlington, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/4/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Time Saver Is The Perfect Name For This Product.
I am a landscaper in Mass. and lawns are what we do, along with other services. I think its great it go's a lot of places were a 36 or a 48 can't get to, and a lot faster than a regular size mower. It saves on time and is really good on gas too. This product I would recommend not only to landscapers but to a lot of older folks as well. Thank you
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Joe Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
230
Fred
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good Luck
Bought this mower at Home Depot. Took it out of the box started on the second pull. I used the mower to cut my lawn twice and it worked great. I loved the feature that you push the handle and that controls how fast the machine goes.

On my third lawn cutting the engine blew up spewing oil and smoke. Took the machine back to HD and they replaced it. Started the first pull this time. I started cutting the lawn and in less than one half hour the self-propelled feature failed. It is a heavy... more
Pros: Features, Fast
Cons: Heavy, Durability
Was this review helpful?
253
James M.
Minneola, FL
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not A Good Mower On Hills Or St Augustine Grass
I have owned my mower for just over a year. I have blown three fuses, (40) for some unknown reason. When it arrived I had to take it to the dealer as the fuse was blown. This mower will not work on St. Augustine grass unless the area is flat and level, and forget about trying to bag with this mower as it cuts off and the bag collapses. Do not attempt to mow any type of incline with this mower as it will beat you to death trying to push it. Changing the oil is a pain because it is heavy and... more
Pros: Durable, Price
Was this review helpful?
264
Dave
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Stay Away
I read many reviews on this mower before purchasing. I read the reviews about how poor the cut was and how the mower did not have enough pick up and that it seemed "under powered". For some stupid reason, I chose not to believe these reviews with all the other good reviews this mower had.

Again I say, STUPID. After the first mow I took the blades off to sharpen and found the blades rounded off. I assumed this was the reason for the poor cut. Nope !!!! Even with very sharp blades... more
Pros: Features
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dave,
Toro has made a Hi-Lift Blade Conversion Kit available for Time Master 30" mowers purchased in 2012. This is now standard on TimeMasters since 2014. This kit will improve your cutting and bagging performance. This Kit includes:

•2 each of #130-2396 hi-lift mower blades
•1 each of #116-5588-01 front baffle for mower deck
•1 each of #125-5091 updated side door
•1 each of #127-0721 updated side door spring assembly

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing within three years of your purchase date and Toro will fix your unit for free. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
3110
Michael M.
Hampden, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/20/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
Excellent for the 1/2 acre lawn I have. I have a summer house on a private island. I had to mow in the rain and had no problem. Washed it out with hose, (clean out hook up a joke) cut excellent. I have a thick fertilized lawn and cut once a week when we are there. No under power problem. I have always engaged blades slow and never stalled. The reviews I read were so all over the place I was skeptical,
but could not be happier!
Was this review helpful?
255
Kurt
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Definitely Not Worth It
I push mow 37 lawns for a living and this would have been a stroke of genius due to the potential time saved because of the width. But quickly found out that it is way to heavy and cumbersome to move around trees and flower beds. Only kept for one day and immediately returned it to Home Depot who were GREAT about returning it. Had to double cut most of lawn anyways as it left so many uncut pieces of grass that lawn looked horrible. Grass was dry and not full length either as it is winter... more
Pros: Features, Fast
Cons: Expensive, Heavy, Low Quality, Difficult To Use
Was this review helpful?
256
Kenneth A.
Waynesboro, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/16/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Really Disappointed
Spent $1,000 for a walk behind lawnmower.

After 40 minutes of operation, the self-propelled feature failed. Now I must carry the mower to a repair shop.

What a disappointment!
Pros: Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality, Self-propelled Feature Failed After First 40 Minutes Of Operation
Was this review helpful?
212
Dean
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/17/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Is O.k.
I waited to write this until I got to use it several times.
I've never been a big fan of Toro, I've owned several of their items and I mostly thought they over charged for their products.
Well this one is different, They charge a very fair price for it. :o)
It has a lot of power and uses little gas to run, starts easy and it cuts well on flat land as well as hills.
The handling is easier than I thought it would be considering the weight.
I run the rear wheels to cut a half inch higher than... more
Was this review helpful?
212
Walt D.
Strasburg, PA
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Fuel System Probelms
I'm at the beginning of my third mowing season. Within the first 3 months I had to have the carb cleaned and fuel system purged. The second season even worse, had to have fuel system rebuilt because, according to the authorized repair person, I used gas with ethanol in it. Wow. The first I ever heard heard of that!

So here it is May and I've used it 4 times. But now the pull cord wont budge! And fuel is shooting out of the exhaust! No, let me guess! Fuel problems AGAIN! And I'm... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: Unreliable, Durability
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Walt,
Toro offers the following preventive maintenance tips to minimize fuel system issues with outdoor power equipment:

•Purchase only the amount of fuel that will be used in 30 days
•Add duel stabilizer to the fuel the day you buy it
•Purchase unleaded gasoline with octane rating of 87
•Do not use gasoline with more than 10% ethanol (E10) by volume
•Consider using gasoline without any ethanol (E0)
•Gasoline with up to 15% MTBE by volume is acceptable
•Do not use gasoline containing methanol

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
224
Michael P.
South Bend, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/13/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Second Toro
This is the second Toro mower I've owned. With the dual blades there are no grass lines when you are mowing, it really minces the grass. As my neighbor said, your lawn looks like a golf course. I would recommend this to anyone. It is not a light machine, but it is easy the maneuver.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Easy To Store, Takes My Yard Hills Without Any Loss Of Speed
Cons: Bottom Wash Doesn't Clean All The Grass Off The Deck, Power Washing Started To Take The Paint Off The Deck
Michael Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
202
William W.
Dothan, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/15/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cranked On The 2nd Pull!
I've only had the Toro 30" for about 3 weeks now, but I've used it 3 times. It cuts good & is reasonably easy to handle even though I'm almost 72 years old.

The only thing causing a little concern is that it will stop when it is not completely out of gas. After filling the tank back it primes after 2 or 3 short pulls & cranks. I'm just not sure how to burn the tank completely empty if I want to put it up for the season.
William Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
151
Michael M.
Dover, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/17/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Time Saver
The unit does work well now, but was very hard to get started the first few times it was started. It required many, many pulls to get the engine to fire up. The recoil pull handle is in a very awkward position for either right or left handed pulls. It needs to be moved a few inches to the right to make it easier.
Pros: Features, Durable, Quiet, Fast, Reliable, High Quality, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive, Heavy
Michael Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
152
James L.
Chesterfield, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Almost A Great Mower.
Mower cuts well but stops after 15 minutes operation. Must wait 30 minutes or more before the mower can be restarted. The job must be finished with the old mower.
Pros: Easy To Use, 30 Inch Cut
Cons: Unreliable
Was this review helpful?
164
Bob
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cut Your Mowing Time
I have a slightly sloped lawn on a corner lot and a riding lawn mower would not deliver an even cut. A regular push mower would take 1.5 hrs to mow, and about 2 hours if bagged.

I was looking online for possibly a commercial 30" self-propelled mower when I came across this one. With this, I can cut the lawn in about 40 minutes now.

The self-propelled drive really can move you along and it is just as easy to turn and maneuver around items as a smaller push mower is so don't be... more
Was this review helpful?
120
Stephen L.
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Like It Should If You Read The Instructions
I first looked at one a few years ago but the recall for broken blades scared me off. After I was sure the problems were fixed I bought one. Got mine from a local Toro dealer since they set it up, added oil, filled the gas tank and ran it to show me how the controls operate.

So far I've used it 4 times with the bag and I like it. Had to adjust the Personal Pace cable cause it was way too fast. Removed the nut and replaced it with a knob so I could custom tune it during use. Did this with 3... more
Stephen Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
110
Wilks
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
No Hills!!!!
Bought this mower with striper and the cut looked awesome but it could not handle any hills. The slightest hill and your fighting his heavy machine and scorching the belt drive. Only would recommend if you have a flat yard. I already sold it and lost three hundred dollars :(
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Wilks,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower.

Toro has added a traction assist handle as a standard option to assist the personal pace system with tackling larger hills and slopes. You can also order the traction assist handle as a individual part to add to your existing mower.

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
110
Tony D.
Owensboro, KY
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Works Great In Perfect Conditions.
Bogs down in thick or tall grass or if any moisture is in the grass. Mower constantly clogs up. Doesn't matter if you mulch, use side discharge, or bag your grass.

Not worth the $1,000.00 price tag. Very frustrating. The motor is not enough power for the mower. Had a part go bad, burnt my mower up, Briggs and Stratton is sending me a new motor.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tony,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. We recommend adjusting the height of cut to a higher setting. This will lessen the amount of grass you are attempting to mow at one time, reducing these instances.

If you are still experiencing issues please call our customer service number at (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
122
Jay T.
O Fallon, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/8/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Mower
Best One 1 ever Bought!!!!!!
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, Durable, Really Picks Up Clippings Great
Jay Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
133
Dean
Mt. Laurel, NJ
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Mixed Feelings
Have been a Toro customer for close to 30 years and swear by them. My two previous Toro mowers were 21" Super Recyclers with aluminum decks and rear bag. I had a John Deere rear bagger in between the two Toros.

Due to a back injury suffered in a car accident earlier this year, I had to purchase a self propelled mower as I could not push my 21" Super Recycler that was purchased 16 years ago (only issue with it was that it burned a little bit of oil and needed a new bag). As my yard... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Poor Deck Vacuum
Was this review helpful?
122
Dan
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
No Good For The Northeast
Bought this a few weeks back thinking I would invest the money into a wide cut mower and save myself some time this summer. Mower was easy to set up and starts easier then any other mower I have seen. Height adjustment was easy too.

However, I live in CT and this time of year this mower is way too underpowered to use. I mowed the lawn 4 or 5 times and even on the highest setting the mower would stall out after getting clogged with grass. I have a perfectly flat lawn but all the comments... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dan,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. Below are some tactics you can try to improve power loss during mowing:
• Dirty Air Filter on Your Lawn Mower: Clean or replace.
• Cutting Tall Grass: Raise the cutting height on your lawn mower
• Dirty Spark Plug: Clean or replace.
• Build Up of Clippings & Debris: Clean underside of your lawn mower deck

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
122
Peter
Cleveland, OH
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Toro Timemaster Is Flawed
I borrowed a TimeMaster from our local mower shop. Our grass was longish (spring time, lots of rain, and about a week and 2 days since last mowing) and damp.

The mower started up instantly every time I tried it. However, the engine died several times when I pulled in the blade lever too quickly. I did like the feature that stops the blades when you release the handle but allows the motor to continue running. This mower is noisy and very loud. Part of that might be due to the high engine... more
Was this review helpful?
133
Jose A.
Mesilla Park, NM
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Jose - Mesilla Park, Nm
Worst performing mower I have owned. It was great for ONE season. Then as I was using it to pick up fall/winter leaves it started to make some horrible noise then it stopped as the blades hit each other. Something must be loose in the blade driving mechanism. Tried for advise from the Toro web site and the "help" I received was a shop out of town. So much for a $1,000.00 mower..!
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Jose,
We are sorry to hear of the performance issues you are having with the Toro mower you purchased. We understand your frustration. When it comes to Toro products, in just about every single matter, they are going to refer a user to a local dealer so the machine can be looked at and go through the warranty process. If you have further issues we would suggest contacting Toro directly, but if we can be of some service to you, we would be happy to help.
more
Was this review helpful?
1910
Dave
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/19/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What I Expected
I purchased this lawnmower. It has been as advertised. It saves me time. It provides a nice fine cut. It is quite easy to operate around trees, beds,etc. in spite of it's weight. I am very pleased.
Dave Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
90
Dennis Williams
Kenosha, WI
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower Ever.
I have a 0.26 acre lot and have had a Toro 8/25 rider for the past 11 years with no problems. I decided I needed more exercise so I thought I should start using a walk behind mower but the 21" mower I always used for trimming was a little to much exercise.

I bought the 30" Timemaster and love everything about it. Starts easy, handles easy, and once you learn to use the Personal Pace feature it is a breeze to use.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Expensive
Dennis Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
101
Timothy H.
Gansevoort, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/31/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Mover But ...
I debated between a rider and a larger style push mower. I'm glad with my choice, I just wish I didn't need to empty the bagger so many times. I was surprised that it doesn't mulch the blades finer than it does.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bagger Fills Too Quickly
Timothy Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
112
George F.
Canton, CT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/17/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower!!
I bought this mower as a birthday present to myself. At my age (70+), I think of mowing the grass as one of my exercises. The mower is easy to start and use.

The only problem I have now is, with a 30 inch cut mower, my exercise time is now down to 35 minutes instead of the hour plus it used to take me. I think I need to find a new exercise...LOL!! A great mower
George Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
102
Dave
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
I just got the unit and have only used it once on my 1/3 acre lot with long sloped culverts on two sides. I could not be happier with its performance. I have experienced none of the issues reported in a few of the reviews - not enough power, leaking of oil, no suction, etc. I think this far outperforms my Honda with a nice even cut, time savings, etc., etc.
Was this review helpful?
80
Wade W.
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Gas Leaking From Carb/muffler
Received this mower as a gift and loved how the wide cut saved time, also that I could almost RUN behind it. One pull start was nice, until, after three uses could not start. I filled up and gas began leaking from muffler and carburetor. Could smell gas in oil as well. It is in the store for "evaluation", the technician claimed that you shouldn't use gas with ethanol as the mower does not "do well". Will save final judgment till after they tell me what is wrong but if the... more
Was this review helpful?
80
Clinton H.
Marietta, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/2/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Saves You Time .............
Great piece of equipment easy to start and operate. On level ground this mower really does the job, can cut mowing time by 30-40%. No problem cutting through deeper grass and clumping not an issue.

The mower can be a handful on slopes and damp grass. It is a big mower and can be a bit much to maneuver if footing is touchy or if you are slight of build. Overall under normal grass cutting conditions this mower really does the job and quickly too.
Clinton Recommends This Toro Mower
Clinton's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good buying experience only hitch came when delivery truck too big to get to my home. Met driver at local business to off-load mower to my SUV."
 more
Was this review helpful?
81
Marcy H.
Pierson, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/9/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth The Extra Money
After I ordered this mower I told my family I traded money for time. Today was my first mow with the Time master. It did not disappoint.

After a week of rain my grass was a little damp. This mower powered right through it in the mulching mode. It went up the hills with no problem. My lawn looks fantastic.

My only two gripes so far are: I had a hard time reading my oil dipstick and I pinched my fingers a few times while mowing. I am very happy with the Toro Timemaster
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Durable, Light Weight
Cons: Expensive
Marcy Recommends This Toro Mower
Marcy's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The ordering process was quick and easy. Shipping was great and it arrived the day I scheduled it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Tom C.
Jacksonville, NC
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
J'ville Nc
Bought the Toro Timemaster 30 from Home Depot today. Reconditioned and a sale on reconditioned. I got to the Toro 30 for a lot less than the stated $999. Have been researching all the stories and reviews. Got a little scared at all the start and gear issues. Checked and found that this one will only have a one year warranty as opposed to the 3yr on a new one. Disappointed that I cannot even buy a warranty. Put in gas, checked oil the mowed whole lawn in less than an hour, minus my heat... more
Pros: Features, Fast, Quiet, Durable
Cons: Expensive, Heavy
Tom Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
70
Ray S.
Pt Jefferson, NY
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Mower
Fast easy delivery, sets up in minutes, starts with one pull, will not mulch damp grass, side discharge is good, almost as good as mulching...gets the job done in half the time...would recommend!
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: Heavy
Ray Recommends This Toro Mower
Ray Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Already recommended to a friend, he bought the same mower...."
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Yo
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/26/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower
Good Mower that covers a lot of ground. Starts easily by pull cord and is quiet for a mower.
Has trouble with long, thick grass. Needed to make two passes to get grass cut if using mulcher.
Good buy, but expensive for what a $600 mower can do much better although smaller diameter.
Was this review helpful?
70
Brent M.
Independence, KY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/21/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Upgrade To The Standard 21 Inch Mower
I am extremely pleased with the ease of use and quality of the mower. The first time you use the mower it will pull you all over the yard because it has some serious strength to it but once you get used to it the mower it does all of the work. I mow my yard in half the time and the cut is beautiful. If your on the fence on whether you would like to purchase a riding mower or a walk behind consider the ease of mowing tighter places, reduced need for storage, and the extra exercise you get... more
Was this review helpful?
70
Tim
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
As Good As Advertised
I just picked up my Toro and cut my lawn that had 6" grass in many areas of my 1/2 acre yard. The machine started right off (I have the electric start) and was as quiet as my Honda that I had just given to my son. It cut without effort even the thickest grass. I have been concerned about power but it is a brute on thick grass. I did not use the grass catcher instead used the side discharge feature and it was a great surprise as it dispersed the clippings over a great area and now I doubt... more
Was this review helpful?
70
Lawrence K.
Salado, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/20/13
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
This service is great. Had a problem with mower when I first started and mowed yard. Could not shut off. The stop switch was not connected under mower cover. I was told where to get it fix and that was taken care of. Mower is heavy for a small woman or small man. But the cutting performance is great. The clippings are fine due to the two mulching blades. The mower works great on side hill, has plenty of power. Have a lot of neighbors wanting to know where I bought mower. Will look first to... more
Was this review helpful?
70
Hilary L.
Bethlehem, GA
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Critical Improvements For This Great Product
I could write a book on my experiences with this unique 30" mower. Had to return 42" Ariens after 2 uses, too rough on my back and neck fusion and unsafe on too sloped back yard. HD took it back, and also my first 2013 TimeMaster, as it had metal in the oil after 3 changes. Gave me the floor demo from 2012. Was missing any fuel filter (Briggs service bulletin), and not painted well underneath, and curled bag bottom prevented filling.

In short the critical improvements are:
1) GET... more
Hilary Recommends This Toro Mower
Hilary's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"I searched everywhere and finally found there was a fix for the Toro Time Master 30" mower, poor bagging and damp grass performance. Mowers Direct was the ONLY place that had both 2012 and 2013 model kits. Also this replaces the RECALL on one hub I believe, for the 2013 model. Great service and fast shipping. This should be added to the comments as I did, for ALL earlier model owners! Mower Depot should re-sell the Home Depot small metal disc (white plastic) fuel filter as the paper ones don't work with such little gravity feed and include their $9.00 fuel cutoff and hose kit. Much safer and FULLY empties the tank when running."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Tom W.
Glen Burnie, MD
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Worst Mower I Ever Owned
I bought this mower 2 seasons ago. It has spent almost all of both seasons in the repair shop. This thing has been repaired 9 times, and it's back in the shop. It is under warranty for the repairs, but I would rather use the thing instead of knowing most of its life has been sitting in the repair shop. DON'T BUY IT!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
93
Steve M.
Omaha, NE
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/21/15
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love It... I Think
I have an acre of yard, and since I always complain about not having time for exercise, I decided to get a walk-behind mower instead of another riding mower (mine died last fall). The Toro Timesaver is the only one I found bigger than 21 inches, but didn't cost $3000+ like the commercial mowers.

It worked great after the first mowing (took me about 3 hours), and the yard looked fantastic! Toward the end of the second mowing, blue smoke spewed out. I checked the oil, and it was like water.... more
Steve Recommends This Toro Mower
Steve's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The Mower was shipped and received within 5 days. I had a repair issue after two uses, but the warranty is taking care of the cost. I needed a copy of my receipt and Jose emailed it to me the next day. I will always shop with a company that provides quick service to its customers."
 more
Was this review helpful?
71
Tom A.
Raynham, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/6/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Big Time Saver
Recently purchased the Toro personal pace mower from Mowers Direct online. Previous mower a 2001 Cub Cadet 22 in. Usually took me 2-3 hours to cut my lawn depending on if I was mulching or bagging. Last cut before Toro was delivered took 2.5 hours to mulch the lawn. Let me just say what a machine. Mower started on second pull right out of the box. Much quieter than old Cub Cadet. Very easy to maneuver for a much heavier and larger mower. Traction assist handle nice feature going up... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Quiet
Cons: Expensive, No Way To Tell When Grass Bag Is Full
Tom Recommends This Toro Mower
Tom's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Had to pick up mower from shipper because could not be home when planned delivery and was going to be charge a storage fee to have them deliver mower to house 2 days later."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Jim F.
Gretna, NE
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is My Second Season With The Timemaster
I have a very large corner lot with a fair amount of landscaping to navigate. Thought about a rider, but then you still need a walk behind to finish all the places you cannot get. Plus.. I can use the exercise mowing! This thing does start first pull, as others have mentioned, and it has plenty of power. Someone complained that it had trouble with wet or dewy grass. I can only assume that they are unaware that you should NEVER cut grass when it is wet, it is harmful to the grass blades. I like... more
Was this review helpful?
60
Ac
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Opened the box, tightened the handles, oil, gas and she was ready.

Started on a dime and the self propelling feature really cuts down mowing time. Very pleased!
Ac Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Stephen R.
South Burlington, VT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/8/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best Mower Ever!
This is by far the best mower I have ever used. It started the first pull out of the box.

It cuts the time I spend mowing by at least 40 or 45 percent. It is easy to handle and turns great.

The cut is even and looks great either on the level surface or the hill I have in back. At 60 years old, I finally got a mower that I love to use.
Stephen Recommends This Toro Mower
Stephen's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It arrived on time and was easy to order. The delivery guy carted it into the garage."
 more
Was this review helpful?
72
Bill
Litchfield, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/13/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Most Awsome Mower In The World
It starts first pull every time, I went from 1.5 hrs to mow my yard to getting it done in about 40 min. I only have to empty the bag about 4 times. The personal pace is great. The only thing else I can say is I wish I had one years ago. 5 star all the way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
50
Eddie
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/9/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
01
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Toro Timemaster 30" Walk Behind
I recently bought a Toro TimeMaster 30" Walk Behind mower. I love the Personal Pace feature. It goes as fast or slow as I want. Just grab the handle and push to go faster or hold back to go slower. It's really easy to maneuver. I also like the blade stop feature that lets you walk away from the mower without stopping the engine.
It does not have as much power as I thought it would have. It struggles to get through thick grass in the middle height setting. Granted I was mulching the grass... more
Was this review helpful?
50
Henry W.
Somerset, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/11/13
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Variable Speed 30 " Mower
I opened the box and had the mower together in two minutes. It took longer to open the box frankly! I filled the tank and with the slightest pull the motor started right up. The variable speed is simply awesome, if you want to go slow simply slow your pace, fast speed your pace up. Up hills or steep banks simply pull the blue lever along with the variable speed handle bar and up you go. This machine mulches better than anything I have ever seen. The bagger is super easy to load and unload. Mine... more
Was this review helpful?
61
Scott
Suwanee, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/29/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent For Residential Use
I've been using this mower for about 3 weeks and so far so good! I was using a Tru-Cut 27" reel mower with the 5.5 HP Commercial Honda engine and while this was a great mower, the annual maintenance of $150 to have the blade sharpened at the dealer just became too much.

I have about 3/4 of an acre of grass and so far the Toro has been a workhorse! Starts on the first pull and has reduced my mowing time by 30% or more. Good for Bermuda too, just don't let it grow too long between cuts.more
Was this review helpful?
50
Brandon S.
Fort Wayne, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/17/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
You Get What You Pay For
I was looking for a larger cut mower that would still allow me to walk. This mower does both flawlessly. I have only used the mulching feature so far and have had no problems with clumping. The personal pace and blade stop features work really well, even on hilly terrain.

The only con's I have for this mower are the size of the gas tank as I have to refill about half way through and changing oil is cumbersome as you have to tip the mower over ( unless I am missing the drip plug somewhere) more
Brandon Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Gre F.
Kalamazoo, MI
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Time Master Unreliable
I've had the mower less than two years. We only use it to mow a 1/4 acre city lot in Michigan. Very little use. It has had two major breakdowns during that time. One was the drive train which I was told had plastic parts. The other most recent breakdown has something to do with the blades shaking and sounds like bearings or something going bad.

I don't mind normal maintenance but when I have to take it back in for service at a week or more per breakdown, it is seriously inconvenient. I... more
Was this review helpful?
84
Steve C.
Somerset, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/11/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Mower Toro 30"
Little scared about the self-propelled, but I was wrong. This mower is great. I got to get used to it and it's getting to use. My first self propelled mower. I love it!!!
Steve Recommends This Toro Mower
Steve's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"They were so easy to solve any questions I had so fast."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Mark G.
Fayette, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/4/15
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Exmark Replacment
I bought the Toro to replace it's Exmark counterpart because i kept having issues with a belt coming off - nearly impossible to fit belt back on pulleys without taking it to a shop.

I've only used the Toro three times approximating 4 hours along and embankment on straight right-of-way.

So far, a nice mower. Took me a while to get used to use handles (the one for the throttle and the other to release the safety so the blade engages). Now, I think nothing of it.

Only complaint - the gas... more
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Mark's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Little surprised mower wasn't shipped via UPS - LTL instead, but driver explained why."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Gary W.
Concord, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/10/15
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower For Larger Yard
Replaced a Toro 22 in. recycler with this 30 in. unit and happy so far. Buying and dealing with Mowers Direct for this mower could not have been better.

Unit is heavy but it is relatively easy to handle. Plenty of power and personal pace power drive works great, especially the power assist for inclines.

Not happy with no oil drain plug as unit heavy to turn on side for oil changes. Also not real happy with chute plug that is not easy to remove/replace when you want to catch grass.
Pros: Price, 30in Cut, Easy Start, Personal Pace Power Drive
Cons: Heavy, No Oil Drain Plug, Shute Plug Removalreplacement Not Easy
Gary Recommends This Toro Mower
Gary's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great buying experience !!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Troy T.
Itta Bena, MS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/18/15
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
My New Toro Timemaster
I received my new lawn mower in 02/2015 and i just got the chance to use it 03/30/2015 and i was amazed at how well it handle and started on the first pull. This is my first time using it only time will tell how really great it is.
Troy Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
51
Steve
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
No Cut
Mower left grass half cut. Had it sharpened, still left stems sticking up, even when mowed over twice. Does not start on one pull as advertised. Grass discharge clogs easily and often. My old mower never had these problems, but was only a 19 inch.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Steve,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. Toro now offers a Hi-lift blade on all TimeMaster mowers. To convert you mower to a Hi-lift blade please order the Hi-Lift Blade Conversion Kit.

Kit Includes:
•2 each of #130-2396 hi-lift mower blades
•1 each of #116-5588-01 front baffle for mower deck
•1 each of #125-5091 updated side door
•1 each of #127-0721 updated side door spring assembly

This will assist in improving cutting and bagging performance. If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
62
Jeremy
Kennesaw, GA
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Great For Dry Short Grass
I'm on my second TimeMaster in 2 weeks. My first one lasted me one cut and back to store it went. The bolt holding the front wheel on wasn't threaded far enough down. So the wheel would slide almost a inch back and forth, coming off it's bearings and cracking the plastic wheel. The second one has no wheel issues.
This mower isn't a great mower, it's just a good mower. I like the personal speed controls and it's good for ideal cutting conditions. However if your grass is slightly damp... more
Was this review helpful?
40
Cecil H.
Azle, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/10/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower I Have Ever Owned!
I am very pleased with the performance of my new Toro mower. It has held up to the reviews online and offered me many time saving mowing hours. I would recommend this mower to all my friends, it does an amazing job!
Was this review helpful?
40
Richard
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/1/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked Like A Charm
I bought this late in the season and used it once.

It was great- my wife enjoyed the experience as well. She did about half of the lawn.
Was this review helpful?
40
Brian C.
Westminster Station, VT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/13/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Buyer
This mower is everything it's promised to be. The designers have taken all the inconveniences of past mower designs and fixed them.

It starts on the first pull. The speed of the mower is perfectly adapted to your walking pace. It's easily maneuverable. You can stop the blade without turning off the motor. The handle folds over for easy stowage.

I really couldn't be happier.
Was this review helpful?
40
David T.
Smithfield, RI
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Lawn Mower
I bought this mower because of the size. The mower clogs up with grass clippings very easy. It's so annoying that you have to tip it on it's side and clear it often. The bag never actually fills. Very poor design.
Was this review helpful?
40
Dan S.
Fleetwood, OR
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great Now
I got the Timemaster and after the 1st use the carb was leaking fuel. It took 5 weeks to "back order"a new carb.?? Now it works fine and love the mower...
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Dan,
The manufacturer may have had the replacement part on backorder, meaning it was not currently available, and they had to wait for the part to come in to get it to you.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Andrie J.
Charlotte, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/20/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Happy
The mower would not run. I called your service dept but due to your policies and procedures you recommended that I take the mower to a Toro service rep. I ordered the mower online because I do not have a truck. After spending 1k on a mower taking it to a service tech to fix it did not seam reasonable. I believe the person I spoke to wanted to help but your procedures are a joke.
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging, Poorly Put Together
Andrie Recommends This Toro Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Andrie,
Thank you for your order. We do appreciate your business. We apologize that your mower is not working as expected and understand your frustration. All engine equipment is covered by a warranty through the manufacturer. We will assist in any way possible, but we are required to follow the warranty process put forth by the manufacturer.

We can provide you with a list of local authorized service centers, as well as cover transportation costs up to $60 to have the center pick up/return the mower. We would just need you to submit a receipt.

If the service center deems the unit as irreparable due to defect, we would need something in writing from the service provider stating this so that we can work with the manufacturer to replace the item.
more
Was this review helpful?
63
Toby D.
Spokane Valley, WA
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower I Have Ever Owned
I purchased the mower last spring after many attempts to fix the self-propel on my 15 year old Craftsman. I was looking for walk behind with more than a 22-inch swath.

After reading reviews and studying option I decided on the Toro Time Master. I could not be happier after using it all summer. I cut my mowing time down from about 70 minutes to 45 minutes.

Put in oil and gas and mower started on the first pull. Plenty of power to get thru 2 week high grass after vacation. Best mover I... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Easy Start, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Toby Recommends This Toro Mower
Toby's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience!! The free shipping from Mowers Direct and $50 less than Home Depot convinced me to order online."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Sterling K.
Jim Thorpe, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/11/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Why Did I Wait So L-o-n-g?
Best mower purchase I ever made. I absolutely love this mower.
Sterling Recommends This Toro Mower
Sterling's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"cut my mowing time by at least 1 hour."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Bruce H.
Port St Lucie, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/12/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Needed A Large Push Mower
My rider was too big and my push was too small. This is right in the middle. Good overall.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive, Heavy, Chokes Down In Thick Grass
Bruce Recommends This Toro Mower
Bruce Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct was very easy to deal with and performed exactly like they said they would. Good company to work with."
 more
Was this review helpful?
52
Paul
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/24/13
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Yard Beast
I have one of those yards which riding mowers simply cant do a nice job . . . a traditional size mower I've been using is just under 2 hours or work, but the Toro "Yard Beast" as my neighbor named the 20199 made short work of it. Now, about an hour and it looks great.

I didn't buy the electric start. Others had mentioned it started easy and its true. First pull unless you run it completely out of gas, then expect 2 pulls. I've not used the bagger yet, but the clippings are... more
Was this review helpful?
41
Jhp
Memphis Area, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/19/13
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's A Baaaaaaaad Boy!
Great mower, great price, great delivery!

Went from a 12 year old Craftsman 21" Push to this machine. Like going from a Ford Ranger to a Ford F-250. Runs great, self propel system is very intuitive. I look forward to NOT having to use it as much as I did my 21" since I will be cutting the grass faster.

The pull start is easy. No need for the electric start. Save the money and go buy some steaks for the grill since you'll have extra time to play.
Was this review helpful?
30
Don
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/24/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Don
Wow! I've used this mower twice now. After set up and installing oil and fuel the engine started with barely a pull on the rope. Has lots of power, with no stall in the longer, thicker areas of the lawn. This mower will flat out cut the lawn in a hurry. With the variable speed personal pace, full steam ahead is a brisk walk. This mower is not for the weak and frail. With the recommended oil change procedure, we'll see how that works. Tipping it on it's side to drain out the fill tube... more
Was this review helpful?
30
James P.
Port Neches, TX
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Pull!
A year ago I decided to get a new mower. I did a lot of research and decided to buy me a Husqvarna...big mistake! I brought it back after its first use. After further research I came across the Toro TimeMaster. It was a bit on the pricey side but the performance ratings were awesome so I decided to give it a shot. When I finally got it home and used it for the first time, I was amazed. I let my brother cut part of my yard, my dad cut another part, and my grandfather cut another part (I was... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Vic
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/23/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
17
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Time Savings
Ideal transaction with Mowers Direct; and the Toro unit showed up ready to go.

I have mowed the lawn 3 times since it's arrival and the claim for a time savings is very true. I do have some hilly terrain and it seems to do a great job moving up and down the hills. The manual talks about being careful going down hill to avoid slipping. It's a very good suggestion, as it does gain momentum down hill.

Overall, the cut looks great, engaging the blades when you are ready to go is a nice... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Greg M.
Southgate, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/24/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Tool
I was waiting for my 7 yr. old Honda to die. A wheel finally came off and I bought this AWESOME Tool.

It cut my job time by 40% just as advertised, and left a beautiful finished job. I have never enjoyed cutting my lawn like I do now. Effortless operation, and gorgeous results.

If you want a walk behind that makes your life easier, Look No Further. Best in Class.
Was this review helpful?
41
David C.
Duxbury, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/15/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower For Those With Low Storage Space And Some Dryish Day
At about 1.5 months into ownership, I am totally impressed with the design of this mower. The engine is smooth, quiet and easy to start. The drive mechanism is simply brilliant and super user friendly. The fold up handle mechanism is very easy to use, and this thing tucks into a relatively small space in my small garage.

I'm coming from using a 15 year old 21" push mower, so take that for what it's worth, so I think this thing drives fantastic, and has almost cut the time I need to... more
David Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
David G.
Ontario, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/6/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I wanted a walk-behind, self-propelled mower that had a large cutting width, and this turned out to be a great solution. It's easy to use and does a great job. I really like the variable speed control.
David Recommends This Toro Mower
David's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mower received on schedule and in perfect condition."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Lowell J.
Glen Burnie, MD
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good, But Should Be Better For The Price..
I have .2 (1/5) of an acre and wanted a bit more than the standard 22 inch mower.

Thought this would be great and fast, and it is fast.

- Clippings blow out the front
- Clog's when not paying attention in damp grass
- Excellent pulling power
- Starts within 2 pulls usually.

In all, wish I had spent an extra $2k, for an excellent riding mower.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy Start
Cons: Poor Mulcher, No Mulching Blades, Clogs Easily, Clipping Blow Out
Lowell Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
Pete
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/20/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
I've had a landscaper for the past 9 years but retired last year and decided to take on the yard on my own. I looked at about 20 mowers before this but the 30" cutting swath is what sold me. Can't believe other manufacturers have not thought of this. The yard (1/2 acre) looks great ..... better than when I had the professional doing it and it takes tops 45 minutes including stopping to empty the bag. Starts on the first try and very easy to clean up. The self propel system is... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Steve
Del Rio, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/31/13
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Timemaster
My only regret is that I waited so long to make this purchase. I went from a three hour job to 55 minutes, unbelievable. I was using a 14 year old mower and didn't realize how hard I was working to cut my grass. I have a large yard on a corner lot with lots of landscaping. I knew with a riding mower I would have to make a lot of turns and it would not be practicable taking too much time turning and driving back and forth. The machine is well balanced and easy to turn considering the size... more
Was this review helpful?
31
Tim A.
Sheffield Village, OH
REVIEWED
AUG.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This Mower!
I bought this mower to replace an electric I'd been using for the last 3 years. Although I liked the idea of going electric, it was only a 19 inch wide cut, and I have 1/2 acre of grass to cut and it was taking forever! I hate mowing the yard!

I got tired of dealing with the rechargeable batteries and figured I would start looking for a riding mower,or something with a wider cutting blade. I stumbled on this website and saw the Toro 30" wide Timesaver, and was thrilled to see the... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Richard S.
Huntsville, AL
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
30" Toro Timemaster
I recently sold my 44" Toro Commercial SFS walk behind with Jungle Wheels and replaced it with a Home Owners 30" TimeMaster mower. I have had my TimeMaster for about 2 months and it does a good job. My complaint is not enough suction if the deck is level (wheel adjustments). I have found that lowering the front allows more air flow under the deck. Regardless, their is not enough suction to get rid of the dog remains. Using the bagger allows more air flow under the deck.

If... more
Was this review helpful?
20
William
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/17/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Lawnmower
Purchased this machine about 2 months ago and it has been the best mower I have ever purchased. Good as advertised, plenty of power and torque. Based on who has time my wife, my 14 year old son, or myself will mow the lawn, since purchasing this mower I have to tell them to let me mow the lawn sometimes. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?
20
Roger
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/30/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Won't Disappoint
I bought this to reduce the time it takes to mow and to minimize the impact of mowing on my back (due to adjustable handle bars). Both needs have been fully met. I cannot believe how much new technology is built into this mower! It also is extremely solid, starts on one pull of the rope, and my lawn looks much better than it has in the past. I am using the mulcher only. In the past, I had to bag the back yard.
Was this review helpful?
20
Ed
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/5/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Upgrade To A Larger Mower
Couldn't be happier with the Toro mower, plenty of power, easy to manuever, starts easy, and a huge time saver over a 21 or 22 inch mower. Cuts lawn evenly, only hiccup seems to be a slight bog down of blades when you engage them unless mower is slightly tilted back. Personal pace system works great. Highly recommend this mower.
Was this review helpful?
20
Bob
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/5/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro 30" Timemaster
Excellent company to deal with. Very knowledgeable people. Mower delivered on time as promised. Only had to put gas and oil, started on first pull. Delivered in excellent condition. Highly recommend this mower. Ordered additional blades just for spares. Thank You
Was this review helpful?
20
Mark
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Gas From Carb Dripping
New lawnmower used 2 times. Went to work come home to gas all over garage floor. Took back to dealer 7 days later i get it back and cut the yard. The next day gas all over the floor again. Back to the dealer also called consumer protection agency.
Going thru other storys to see its just not me. Keep an eye out if you have one of these timemaster lawn mower 30 inch cut.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mark,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower.

If you are still experiencing issues please call our customer service number at (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Ralph M.
Fort Worth, TX
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The New Toro 30 Inch Cut....
Wow!!!!!!! Over the top.. just got my new Timemaster 30 inch cut mower from home depot. Un boxed it, in minutes we were running! Easy set up....mows beautiful! Easy to control, lots of quality! Worth every dollar! Cant believe its not a professional mower! Sweet running engine, ran through some heavy grass..and it didn't bog, engine stayed rpms. Yard looks like carpet, where have you been all my life!!!!
Was this review helpful?
20
Steve H.
Winner, SD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/17/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
Very Happy with my personal pace lawn mower. I love to mow and have a large lawn..can't wait 'till next season!
Steve Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Rd
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/27/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Retired Professional
I think 33.00 per inch is expensive. I think the rear wheel drive and the self pace system could be re-engineer. I find that down pressure can't be evenly applied as I walk. So the mower does run away from me at times.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Expensive
Was this review helpful?
32
Daren
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower For What I Do
I mow the same 5 lawns every week. For more than a decade I've used Toro personal pace mowers. I don't need my trailer as I can easily load this with my truck and a skinny ramp. This has saved me a ton of actual mowing time, at least 40%. I can't change how fast I can drive to each lawn, but once I'm there the Timemaster gets it done a lot faster. I mow every 7 days on the dot and mulch. If I don't the mowers can't do it. This one, and every 21-22" I've ever had cannot mulch... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Brent G.
Chubbuck, ID
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/17/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
28
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome!
This mower lives up to its claims. I actually love mowing again.
Was this review helpful?
10
Connor
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/14/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cherry On Top
I recently just purchased this model and absolutely love this mower.

I highly recommend Toro equipment, and this striping kit is the cherry on the top. It makes really good lines and very professional looks!!
Was this review helpful?
10
Dennis B.
Greenwood, IN
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Timemaster
Recently got a Timemaster and like everything about it except the clean out port function. The mower starts easily, is very maneuverable, cuts exceptionally well, and does indeed reduce cutting and walking time. I've mulched with the mower and find that it does an exceptional job cutting the grass into fine clippings while regular and frequent mowing can be done with the side discharge to almost the same effect. My only complaint is that the wash out system does not work well at all. After... more
Was this review helpful?
21
William G.
Matamoras, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 12/21/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Always Clogs
Simply not enough power! Always clogs. Strongly recommend that no one buy this mower! You have been warned!
Cons: Difficult To Use, Unreliable
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. Below are some tactics you can try to improve power loss during mowing:
• Dirty Air Filter on Your Lawn Mower: Clean or replace.
• Cutting Tall Grass: Raise the cutting height on your lawn mower
• Dirty Spark Plug: Clean or replace.
• Build Up of Clippings & Debris: Clean underside of your lawn mower deck

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
44
Mike
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Terrible
Get ready to manually wash your mower every time. Bag, or no bag, you will waste so much time trying to keep this thing from clogging you will go nuts. I mow twice a week now just so this thing can make it through due to lack of power and clogging. Hate it, wish I had my $ back.
Pros: Easy To Store
Cons: High Maintenance, Fuel Consumption, Poor Wet Grass Performance, Low Power
Was this review helpful?
44
Walter D.
Ellenwood, GA
REVIEWED
MAR.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Concerns
Just bought the Toro 30 inch mower, very easy to start and does and excellent job on the lawn, now here comes the but.
I took the top off my bermuda grass as a first season cut, the mower shoots grass clipping up from both sides out of the belt wells.
It was suggested that I raise and or lower the wheels to change the air flow, other than that this mower puts my 42 inch rider to shame.
Was this review helpful?
11
Pete
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower
I've only had the mower for 3 weeks and have used it twice. The wider deck is great, saving me time. The mower is heavy. I'll have to wait and see how much effort it will take sharpening the blades and changing the oil. It pulls very well and at different speeds, depending on how much the operator wants. The real test will come down the road a few years when the front drive starts to weaken. Like I said, it's a heavy mower and no way will I be able to "push" it like I can with... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Phillip
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/13/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
So I Was Asked To Review My New Mower...
Well, buying the mower online I thought was the best choice as it would save me a few bucks. The mower arrived and it looked great. Got it all set up and started mowing. Twenty minutes in and the drive goes out and the mower becomes to heavy to even push.
Having bought it online my only option now is to deliver it to a Toro dealer for repairs. Although it hasn't cost me anything extra, yet, three weeks later I still have no mower. If I had bought it locally I could have returned it for an... more
Pros: Features
Cons: Low Quality, Not Durable
Phillip Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
13
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials