Search
< Back to Product

Toro 131-4182 Mulching Kits Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Toro 131-4182 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
It Had Half Of The Holes... (1)
Cons
Expensive (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
77% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
13 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Brad H.
Painesville, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/27/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Overpriced But Worth It!
Great mulching kit! I can't even find a blade of grass after cutting! It is pricey, but it works!
Brad Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Richard M.
Goshen, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/10/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Just An Easy Bolt On......
If you need a mulch kit, I guess this is your only choice. I had to drill out three holes that didn't line up and had to drill six holes that were not there at all. Not a big deal really just be aware this is what you are getting.
Pros: It Had Half Of The Holes Lined Up
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive
Richard Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Fred F.
Ashtabula, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/28/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mulching Kit
I'm glad that I purchased the mulching kit. It does a beautiful job and has saved me a lot of work. I haven't bagged a leaf since. Great attachment.
Fred Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Jake
REVIEWED
SEP.
26
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Pretty Disappointed
Installation - I bought mower through Mowers Direct but purchased the mulching kit separately as I could save a few dollars through one of the big box retailers. In hindsight, I wish I would have purchased the mower with the mulching kit installed, as it was a bit of a project to install it after purchase (tacking deck off, removing blades, drilling out rivets, getting it all back on, etc.).

Performance - I have been pretty disappointed with the cut and results with the kit - similar to... more
Jake Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bernard H.
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/12/16
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
42" Toro Timecutter Zero Turn Mower Mulching Kit
I order this with my mower, It was easy to install. It took about 1/2 hour. works great.
Bernard Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Fletcher G.
Clinton, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/12/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Toro
I have owned a john deere for years, so i was not sure i made the right decision with this toro. it arrived and i unpacked it. my first trial run i said i didn't like it. I got used to it and now i would not trade it for anything. Wow,I'm impressed. very nice mower. thanks.
Fletcher Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Gilbert H.
Blue Eye, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/3/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mulching Kit
Mulching kit was easy to install. Waiting for grass to grow to see how well it works.
Gilbert Recommends This Toro Product
Gilbert's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Would recommended to a friend"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John D.
Rock Hill, SC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/1/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Must Have
I live in SC and have a Tall Fescue yard of about 1.5 acres. As some may know, tall fescue requires your to mulch for best results and that is what this thing does. Installation wasn't too bad, a little tricky at some point, but overall took about and hour.

Cuts clean and produces small clippings as expected. A little difficult to clean out after each use, but probably worth the extra effort.
John Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
117
Karen S.
Elizabethtown, KY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/21/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Our Zero Turn Mower Is Great
I bought my husband a Toro zero turn mower with the mulching kit and I was shocked at how much nicer my yard looks and how much time we save doing the lawn now. I would recommend this to everyone.
Karen Recommends This Toro Product
Karen's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The mower came quickly and worked around my husbands work schedule. It was in perfect shape and very easy to get ready to start using it. The sales person was wonderful in helping me choose the right mower for the size yard we have. This was a great experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
52
Michael T.
Cape Coral, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/24/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Grass Chipping
The first two times I used the mower, I had grass clippings all over the flower beds and mulch around my trees - what a pain. Now that I have the munch kit installed, the lawn and garden are so much better.

Kit was easy to install, but took a little more than an hour (I am not real good with tools or reading directions). The only way I could be happier is having someone else mow my lawn.
Michael Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
74
Rodney K.
Spring, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/5/15
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Mulching Kit Is A Big Disappointment
Received Toro SS 4225 42" mower without mulching kit attached and mowed yard twice without it. The cut was nice and even and I could mow very fast with good results. Long trimmings were piling up so I decided to install the $150 mulching kit that I had purchased. Once installed, the cut became very ragged and a strip of grass was left incompletely cut on left side and so I had to re-cut about 8" every pass which effectively turned my 42" mowers into a 34".

Also, I had to... more
Rodney Does Not Recommend This Product
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Rodney,
Thank you for contacting Mowers Direct. Sorry to hear about the issue with the mulch kit. Toro does not have the best blades, but the kit is good.

I would recommend using Gator Blades, which will give you a much nicer cut and are made for mulching. You will not have the left over grass like with the other blades.
more
Was this review helpful?
118
David D.
Grand Haven, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/24/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Peasy
After reading the instructions, I wondered what I had gotten myself in to. Taking the mower deck off was simple and the installation process was much easier than it sounded. The mulch kit is well worth the money spent, just wish I would have put it on before I used the mower a couple of times.
David Recommends This Toro Product
David's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"A very pleasant shopping experience with lightning fast shipping !!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
42
Jeffrey R.
Draper, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/26/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Results
I wanted to minimize the appearance of grass clippings. I purchased this product after reviewing different options. Installation was fairly easy. The instructions could maybe have been a little clearer but I managed.

The only tweak was to sharpen the blades included in the kit. After installation my results have been excellent. Grass clippings seem to magically disappear. It helps to make sure you do not cut too much grass with each mowing. I have even mulched in shrubbery clippings with... more
Jeffrey Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials