Your Cart @ Mowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Swisher FC1966BS Trail Mower Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$2,399.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$2,399.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$2,399.99
(as of 07:02 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$2,358.93
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$2,399.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Swisher FC1966BS Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (5)
Fast (2)
Easy To Store (2)
Price (2)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
Cons
Durability (2)
Unreliable (2)
Bad Instructions (1)
No Hitch To Daisy Chain (1)
Low Quality (1)
78% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
23 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Mower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
91 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12429 Helpful Votes
Mowers Direct Recommended

The Swisher FC1966BS trail mower is made for those big jobs that need to be finished fast. They are designed to reduce your mowing time in half and attach to ATV’s, lawn tractors and other utility vehicles to cut large lawns and meadows fast.

Three blades on the extra-wide 66-inch mowing deck and Powerful 19 HP Briggs and Stratton OHV engine are designed to handle grass up to 6” deep. The 66-inch side-discharge cutting deck cuts wide swaths and spreads the grass clippings out very evenly to... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
3211
John G.
Ashtabula, OH
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Question About The Belts
I am thinking of purchasing this unit, however there is an overwhelming theme of an issue about the belts. Has this issue been resolved? If it has, please explain what was done during manufacturing so this issue won't happen to my unit when I purchase one.
John Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
We have replaced original pulley with a new design. We also replaced the original belt with a new one.This change is in place now.
more
Was this review helpful?
51
Tyler H.
Fombell, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/15/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
It's A Nightmare!!!
DO NOT BUY THIS! Nothing but a nightmare. Bought in April and burned the first belt in the first half hour of use. Took it to a service center to address problem after three weeks got it back to burn another belt within two hours of use.

It's almost July now and still have not cut my 3 acres. Customer service has not returned my phone calls, to send me a new one. Don't buy this product!!!!!!! I'm still out of $2400 yet, plus the money to have a Lawncare service have my grass cut.
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Tyler,
Sorry to hear you are having issues with the mower i can contact the manufacturer for you if the issue has not been resolved.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tyler,
We are truly sorry to hear that you are having issues with your machine. Swisher works very hard to build the highest quality products possible and the last thing we want is for a consumer to be unhappy with their product. We will be reaching out to you today to try to resolve this issue.
UPDATE... Tyler, we have tried numerous times to contact you and have left a few voice mails. Please call us toll free at your convenience. 800-222-8183
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Larry S.
Bridgeton, NJ
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Happy With This Product. Shop Around!!!
I've had the Trail Behind 66" in mower for little over a year now. I've replaced the belts twice each. After speaking with customer service, they advised me the unit was no longer under warranty. I told her I understand this but there has to be a problem with the machine.

I've been trying to reach someone in the "tech department" for 6 working days, Still no response. I've now been on hold for 33 minutes and they are about to close in 11 minutes. I guess I'll try on Monday. ... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Larry,
We are sorry that you have been having issues with your machine and we apologize for not correcting the problem sooner. We will be reaching out to you to help resolve the situation.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
David
Tiverton, RI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/10/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Powerful Mower
This is a powerful mower, and I use it to cut brush as well as grass.

Because some reviews for this type of mower cited problems with the belts, I removed the belt covers and thoroughly checked the belts and pulleys. It’s a good thing I did, because I found a loose nut sliding around on the floor of the belt/pulley compartment. The belts and pulley looked OK, however.

The speed control features a “tortoise and hare” for slow and fast positions. It also has a carburetor choke picture... more
David Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
David,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear you are happy with your mower. Your suggestions will be passed along. Thanks for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Donald M.
Montague, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/26/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replaced 12' Bush Hog
Purchased 2 mowers to tow behind a O Turn mower, went from 12' to over 14' with a 61" mower and 2 66" tow behinds. They cut very well, powerful and clean.

Operation and controls are simple, B&S engines run great and they look to be well constructed. Cut time is less than the Hog, cleaner, faster and they don't clog up. After 10 hours run time, all is well. Satisfied so far. Good investment.
Donald Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Donald,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear your machines' performance exceeded your expectations. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kenneth H.
Menomonee Falls, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/3/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Mowers
Very satisfied after purchasing 2-66" 19HP Finish Mower. Would recommend very highly a purchase of one of these mowers.

I have used these mowers for over 25 years using them to cut about 15 acres every 10 days.
Kenneth Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kenneth,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with the purchase of 2 mowers. Thank you for your continued support of Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim L.
Knoxville, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/13/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fine Mower
I've held off writing this review for a while due to some initial issues I had with the mower. Like other reviewers, I experienced v-belt problems, destroying 3 of the 50 inch belts before finally getting the belt tensioner set correctly and now the mower works great.

I have now been able to mow my 5 acres twice with no further issues. I have to say that customer service was excellent, sending me 2 belts under warranty and talking me through getting the tensioner set correctly. My only... more
Jim Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jim,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Thank you for letting us work with you to troubleshoot your belt issue. We are happy that you are pleased with your mower. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Martin H.
Williamsburg, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/11/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Machine
This thing is a beast!!!! Anything I can drag it through, it cuts. I held off on this review due to previous belt issues...solved. It barks the belt a little on start-up, but any belt will when starting blades this thick and heavy. This is no toy mower like these cheap riders you can buy everywhere now, this is a serious mowing machine!
Martin Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Martin,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased that you are happy with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
William B.
Corfu, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/17/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bill
Mower cuts great motor drive belt broke after about 5 hours of use. Swisher sent a new one , had no problem with the company. Its been cutting great ever since
William Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with your mower. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Shaun M.
Silverdale, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/24/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
We've used this mower for just over two years now to cover about 5ac and have only had to replace the belts and blades once after my son decided to trim some bricks with it. It can handle the loading better than my rider pulling it, I'm sure my next riding mower will be able to work it a little harder though.

I'll have to give it a good cleaning and fresh paint after this season though.

I would recommend making the hitch end swivel like the mower end does to accommodate for towing off-set... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Shaun Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Shaun,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear you are happy with your mower. Your comments regarding the hitch will be passed along. Thanks for choosing Swisher!
more
Shaun's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct delivered as advertised. Great service all around."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Anthony T.
Okolona, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/7/14
Total Helpful Votes
24 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Old Swisher Just Wouldnt Cut It !
My old swisher 44" 8hp had trouble mowing a new area around my pond. I normally cut it with a bush hog but I wanted a more manicured look. This new 66" not only mowed it but it only took about 45 minutes where the old mower took 2 hours due to the motor bogging down. The cut looks great and the motor never bogged down once. I have been using the old one for 10 years now and have only replaced the blades and the belt. It is still in good shape and I intend to keep using it in other... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, High Quality
Anthony Recommends This Swisher Mower
Was this review helpful?
240
David J.
Battle Ground, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/20/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Swisher Finish Mower
I have been pleased with my mower for the most part except a few things are troublesome and I would like to see some remedy.

1. I have had to put 2 new belts on the mower within the first day of use. I don't know if the adjustment for the tensioner was wrong but it did not seem right to go through those belts so fast.

2. I had to add a bungee cord to the idler pulley to keep it from periodically popping out of engagement. It's actually a good fix and works well so I'm not too... more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
David,
Thank you for submitting your review. Sorry to hear about the issue you are having. We will have our Product Expert Jose contact you to try and resolve the issue you are having.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
David,
I'm sorry you are having issues with your machine. Please contact our customer service dept at 800-222-8183 or customercare@swisherinc.com so we can help resolve the problem.
Thanks.
more
David's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"I will see if my comments prompt a response and action before I comment again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
142
John
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/3/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Under Deck Paint
Very happy with the performance of this mower but disappointed when on the second cleaning of underside of deck, the paint came off leaving bare metal. It doesn't look like there was any primer or more than one coat of paint applied.
John Recommends This Swisher Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
John,
John,

Swisher is a company which stands behind their products and in cases like these, I would suggest giving them a call and see if this is something they can assist with. They are very customer conscious and most likely would be able to work something out to keep rust from forming on the bottom of the deck. I have provided Swisher's number below.

(800) 222-8183
more
Was this review helpful?
176
George
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/15/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
More Shredded Belts !
First review told of shredded belt. Replaced with Huskee belt. Seemed ok. Wrong...Have replaced 2 more belts !!!! WE NEED SOME ANSWERS TO THIS PROBLEM !!!!!!!!
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
George,
Thank you for your Email, i would recommend checking the Spindles to make sure they are not Loose this may cause the Belts to break. If the issue does not correct itself i would recommend having a local Service Center look at the Mower.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
George,
We are very sorry to hear you are having issues with your machine. If you are shredding belts, it generally means something is interfering with the belt path. It could be the alignment of the pulleys or a foreign object is in the way. We will be contacting you today to help resolve this issue.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
George P.
Catlettsburg, KY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/15/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Swisher Tow Behind Mower
The first time I used it the 50 inch v-belt tore to shreds. I replaced it with a 50 inch Huskee v-belt and I am well pleased with the mower. No more problems with it.
George Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
George,
We are sorry to hear you had an issue with your belt. We would like the opportunity to resolve this issue. Please feel free to contact us toll free at 800-222-8183. Thank you for choosing Swisher.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Dale
Ellsworth, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/20/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower With Some Cheap Pieces
Purchased this pull behind so I would not have to use a mower on my tractor. This mower is great except for the junk belts that came with it. First mow job out they both slipped and wore to the extreme point of almost breaking. Went and bought Gates belts to replace these and have 10 times the life of the originals and still going strong. I mow 12.5 acres with this and the mower is great. Wish they would design a water wash system for the deck like my riding lawnmower so I could clean it easier.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive, Poor Beltscheap
Dale Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dale,
Thank you for the feedback on your machine. It sounds like the tension needed to be adjusted. We apologize that you had to purchase additional belts for your machine. Please feel free to call us toll free at 800-222-8183 so we can correct this for you. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
30
James R.
Middleburgh, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/8/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Customer Service From Mowers Direct, And Swisher
I have a 60 inch swisher Trail mower that I used to mow my 3 acre lawn and my neighbor's 5 acres for 12 years, I've only had to replace the spindle bearings and blades once about five years ago. The old mower was starting to look rough, and the deck rollers were seized, and the 14.5 hp motor was starting to smoke a little, so I decided to replace it this year. After looking at and pricing other large deck Mowers, I decided that since I had such a good long term experience with my older Swisher... more
James Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
Thank you for your candid review of your new mower. We are sorry to hear that you had some minor issues but happy to hear you are back up and running. Thank you for your continued support of Swisher!
more
James's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The Order process was quick and easy, A Pleasant and knowledgeable representative called me the day after placing the order to verify the shipping info. The mower arrived promptly 5 days after the order was placed."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Kade L.
Mead, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/7/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Too Happy
Belt is already shredded. I have no idea how to change it as I can't find any instructions. Before the belt shredded it seemed to work good
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Durability, Low Quality, Unreliable, Bad Instructions
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Kade,
I am not seeing any record of a call or email from you. If you are in contact with Swisher and/or need assistance from us, please contact us, as we would be happy to help in any way we can.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kade,
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to resolve this issue for you. Please feel free to contact us toll free at 800-222-8183. Thank you for choosing Swisher.
more
Was this review helpful?
31
Eugene G.
Richfield, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/26/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Well built, great cut and went from 3 hours on a ride on tractor to cut my grass to 1 hour. Very pleased.
Eugene Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Eugene,
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased that you are happy with your purchase. Thanks for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Scott M.
Pembina, ND
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/23/15
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Heavy Duty
Over built in almost every way, great job Swisher. Carb tune from factory is spot on, units start nearly just my looking at the key. Only thing that disappointing, we bought two units and we're told prior to purchase that they could accommodate towing one behind the other on an offset, unfortunately the units are not supplied with any simple hitch to do this. Contacted Swisher, they do not offer a part either, will need to fabricate something.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store
Cons: No Hitch To Daisy Chain
Scott Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Scott,
Thank you very much for the positive review. We are happy that you are pleased with your purchase. Unfortunately, we do not have anything to attach multiple mowers up together. Your suggestion will be passed along. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
20
John S.
Franklin, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/7/15
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Concerned About It Being A Lightweight
The first time I used the mower, I was thrilled. Today, two weeks later, the belt that engages the cutter broke. Second time I used it! Obviously, I'm not too thrilled and will be testing the product support immediately. I certainly hope the belt isn't too difficult to replace although it doesn't look like it will be very easy.

When it worked, the cut looked very good. I had about 6 inches that I was trying to cut down to about 3.5 in. My recommendation would be a qualified yes. It really... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, Easy To Store
Cons: Unreliable, Durability
John Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
We are sorry to hear that you have an issue with your belt. Please contact us toll free at 800-222-8183. We will be happy to get you back up and running.

In response to the height adjustment, if you have the crank all the way at the bottom, you are cutting at 1.5". If you have the crank all the way up to the top, you are at 5.5".

Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
20
David S.
Kettle Falls, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/23/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Looks Great
Easy to assemble. Too early to mow here, but I towed it around with my UTV & parked it till mowing season. Can't wait.
David Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
David,
Thanks for choosing Swisher! We hope it exceeds your expectations once you get to mow!
more
Was this review helpful?
53
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials