Your Cart @ Mowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Snapper 7800981 Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$569.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$619.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Snapper 7800981 Reviews
9 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Melvin M.
Lexington, OR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/19/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Mower
Very happy. Mower has started on 1st or 2nd pull every time so far, plenty of power. Drive system is old school tech, it works very well (proven) and is all re-buildable, as opposed to the throw away drives on other models.
Melvin Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
60
Dave
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Poorly Built
I bought mine from Mowers Direct and had to wait for a back order so it could be built at the factory. The holes did not line up on the console, and I stripped threads trying to bolt it down. Got that fixed. Ground speed rod was too long. I cut it down to make it fit and it is still too long to reach. Now I think there should have been an adjustment that should have been done at the factory. I can't get any service from Snapper or Mowers Direct to help me with the problem.
Dave Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Dave,
You're welcome to give us a call anytime, and we'd be happy to assist however we can. However, if it's a manufacturing defect, like you stated, then the manufacturer should be able to repair or replace at no additional cost to you.

Give us a call if you'd like some help expediting a response from the manufacturer, and let us know if there's anything else we can do to assist you.

Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dave,
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us, and we're very sorry that you experienced these issues with your new mower. Your comments have been shared with the team so that they can be incorporated into improvements for future products.

If you'd like to contact us directly regarding your mower issues, you can do so at this link (http://www.snapper.com/us/en/support/contact-us) or by calling 1-800-317-7833.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
William S.
Cincinnati, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/14/16
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Mower
Works as well as I thought. I have some rough hilly terrain that I mow and it performs well. I had to adjust when going side hill because of the large rear wheels the mower tends to want to tip over. The larger motor makes the mower a little top heavy. It still out performs the Honda that I had previously.
William Recommends This Snapper Mower
William's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent service received mower next day after I ordered. Had one problem in set up trying to start some self tapping screws. Had to use a drill to open the holes to star the screws."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Chris T.
Scranton, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/2/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Machine
I ordered this mower after bending the crankshaft in my old snapper. I like the simple and reliable drive system on the snappers compared to the other brands. This mower has more power than my previous mower but is pretty much the same machine. The ball bearings in the wheels are not a necessity I would have looked for in a mower, but are a very nice feature.

After using the mower, I can say it meets all of my expectations. I can and will recommend Mowers Direct. Ordered it on a Tuesday... more
Chris Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Jerry S.
Fulton, MS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/6/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snapper Enthuiast
been using snapper mowers off and on for 40 years. have become partial to them.
Jerry Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
David S.
Temple, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/18/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I have been a Snapper owner for 20 years plus. My old snapper was similar to this one. Our yard is almost a half acre, and this old one lasted almost 15 years. I received the new Snapper, model #7800981 and really liked the style of it. It was easy to assemble, and started on the first pull. We have had lots of rain here in central Texas.

I was not able to try it out for almost two weeks. The grass was tall. This machine went right threw to tall grass. It is a super machine,and worth every... more
David Recommends This Snapper Mower
David's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I ordered my new Snapper via internet. I was informed the next day, it was back ordered, which I was not happy about, but was glad I at least knew. Mower Direct told me a ship date, and I received it the next day. Thank You Mower Direct for keeping me informed on the status of my order. Great Customer Service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
James G.
Shelbyville, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/8/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Snapper Mower Ever
put mower together,added necessary oil,gassed it,one pull started.mows excellent.best mower to own!!!
James Recommends This Snapper Mower
James's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"thanks"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
James R.
Humble, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/20/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
I have been using Snapper mowers since 1993 and this one is the best ever! There is no priming and it starts on first pull every time.
James Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Kenn H.
Huntington Station, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/12/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Snapper Ninja Review
The mower is incredibly powerful. The unit is rear wheel propelled. I am used to front wheel propel. It is a little awkward on u-turns. I am disappointed that there is not a housing for the propulsion gears...looks like a piece is missing.
Kenn Does Not Recommend This Mower
Kenn's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very pleasant shopping experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
16
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials