Search
< Back to Product

Snapper 7800968 Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$719.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$717.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Snapper 7800968 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (7)
Durable (5)
I'd Buy It Again (5)
Reliable (4)
Easy To Use (2)
Cons
Expensive (3)
Speed Control Needs Some... (1)
Restarting Once Warmed U... (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
Packaging (1)
82% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
22 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Warren H.
Rockport, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 1/5/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Like My New Snapper Ninja Commercial Mower
My first Snapper commercial mower was powered by a two-cycle Wisconsin-Robin engine, it only lasted 18 years. When it finally played out I knew exactly what I wanted. My experience with Mowers Direct has been nothing short of first rate. The first mower arrived damaged. Mowers Direct replaced it immediately, no questions asked.

The mower is typical Snapper quality. This particular model is powered by a 190 cc commercial Briggs & Stratton engine. Plenty of power for my South Texas St... more
Pros: High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging, Expensive
Warren Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Ben T.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/21/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not As Advertised
I purchased the Snapper Commercial after receiving the Snapper Ninja which did not have engine throttle control as pictured on the Mowers Direct website. This mower was returned. Much to my surprise, the commercial model also did not have throttle control. As a result, the Commercial model was also returned. With a price tag of $720, you would expect to receive what is advertised.
Ben Does Not Recommend This Mower
Ben's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct is a well managed and operated firm. However the Snapper vendor evidently did not provide current product information to them. Shipping was prompt. I expect to receive what I pay for and was not satisfied with the product received."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Adam G.
Hoover, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/15/16
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Buy It
This is a great mower. This is my second commercial mower. My first was bought in 1997 and used it to cut 15 yards for 14yrs. I even had it til a few years ago. I got a regular snapper homeowner model 3 years ago, but I am spoiled with the commercial feel. So.....I bought this one. As expected, it is awesome. Quiet, smooth, powerful and just amazing. For $719 there is not another mower on the planet that can compete with this. Take my advice and buy the commercial one. You will not be... more
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Reliable, Fast
Adam Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Scott S.
Fargo, ND
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/11/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great, Well Built Mower
For months I was undecided between this Snapper Commercial mower and the $700 hydrostatic Honda HRX.
I finally decided to go with the Snapper due to the price/availability of parts and ease of repairs that I can do myself. Honda makes a great mower but are very difficult and expensive to repair.

The 6.5 hp B&S engine has plenty of power and mulches without bogging down. The steel ball bearing wheels help this beast roll smoothly and effortlessly forward and backward even without the... more
Pros: High Quality, Durable, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive
Scott Recommends This Snapper Mower
Scott's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping and NO TAX! Stick it to the man!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Steve P.
Wichita, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/22/16
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
very satisfied with the mower. Great power and ease of use. The only complaint is the box it was shipped in was not completely sealed and the plastic bag the nuts and bolts came in was open. so in other words I had to make a trip to the local hardware store to by bolts to assemble the mower. Kinda frustrating.
Steve Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Tom B.
Mc Caysville, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/30/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Horse Of A Mower
I was 24 when I bought my first mower in 1989. I wanted the Snapper Hi-Vac Self-Propelled with 5.0 hp BS engine, but could only afford the 3.5 hp push model. Many years later, I replaced the engine with a 5.0 hp BS commercial engine, but it was so heavy to push without assist.

Spring forward to 2016, and I just took delivery of this Snapper Commercial Ninja. Wife and I assembled it yesterday. Instructions were a little confusing because the diagrams aren't very clear, and the parts list... more
Tom Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert T.
Medina, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/16/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower I've Ever Owned!
Seriously! This is the best mower I've ever owned! It has the most power and the most torque of any mower I've ever owned - including Snappers. And I've used Snappers for the last 20 or so years. This thing cuts through anything and doesn't miss a beat. I have hills in my yard and sometimes the grass gets rather high. No problem for this mower!

The only thing that caught me by surprise is the fact that it does not have a throttle control. This took me a bit to get used to, but I love... more
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Expensive
Robert Recommends This Snapper Mower
Robert's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I knew what I wanted starting out. Just needed to find the right place to get it. Mowers Direct gave me a good price. Good service. Some of my friends just have to go to the big box store to "actually touch what they are buying". I have more confidence than that. I know what Snappers are and how they work. I love the design. I'm a Snapper guy for a long time comin'."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Corey G.
Fort Worth, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/13/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Don't Buy
I bought this lawnmower because it said it was Commercial grade.... I got it on a Wednesday after waiting for delivery guy to drop it off since Monday. I put it together, and checked and filled the oil.

We to do yards on that Friday I got 1 yard done and then started on the second and the motor busted. Talking about pissed.... long story short I think snapper is crap now. Nothing like it was when I was growing up. It's a 800 dollar price of junk.
Corey Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Corey,
We are very sorry to hear of the issues with the mower. Snapper does offer a 3 year consumer warranty on this model in which it would need to be taken to a local Snapper dealer for warranty/repair work. If you need anything further, please do not hesitate to ask.

Thank you
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles W.
Hudson, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/16/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
I have owned three different Snappers, an NXT, a Hi Vac and now the Ninja Commercial. If Snapper could combine the plus side of all three machines they would have a Super Mower.

My only complaint about the Ninja Commercial is that it takes five or more pulls to start once the machine has been in use and allowed to sit for more than a few minutes. If I stop the machine to refuel it starts right up again. If I stop to take ten it gives me difficulty. Other than that the mower is great.
more
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Restarting Once Warmed Up
Charles Recommends This Snapper Mower
Charles's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I purchased a Ninja that had to be returned due to a warped deck. This, of course had nothing to do with Mowers Direct but Snapper. The mower was picked up and returned with no hassle. I'm still waiting for my money back on the first Ninja as I purchased a second due to my need to mow here in Florida. I was told it would take up to ten business days and I am confident that Mowers Direct will credit my account. This is the fourth mower I have purchased through MD and will not hesitate to do so again if the need arises."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Lloyd S.
Boca Raton, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/1/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Sad Day
The mower is running at full blast all the time sounds like it will blow up at any time. The speed control that is supposed to be load sensitive does not work and Snapper will not respond to my emails. I bought this because I had two before and love the drive system but now I wonder about my wisdom.
Lloyd Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Lloyd,
Sorry to hear they are not responding. Please let us know if you will like us to email the factory on your behalf.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Lloyd,
I'm very sorry your emails are going unanswered - please reach out to our team at 1-800-317-7833 so we can resolve the issues with your mower ASAP! Thank you!
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Matthew Z.
Linden, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/7/15
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Relilable Snapper
much the same it's been for years, the best drive system out there for ease of use & durability , except for the engage cable that breaks often, needs re-engineering. the out-ward curl on deck bottom is a good improvement, rather than inward which built up more crud underneath & made cleaning it out harder.

The plastic thumb screws on the chute opening are a joke, busted first time you get close to a fence, curb, or tree. I have both the Honda & Briggs engines. The Briggs is... more
Matthew Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
160
Glade R.
Shelton, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/17/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I ordered it because it and its sibling (the sibling is setup for bagging this one is setup for mulching) were the only ones I could find with non-plastic wheels. Every other push mower I could find anything to read about (no matter how deluxe and/or expensive) seems to sport plastic wheels -- which was a point of failure on our last mower.

It arrived quickly, in perfect condition and was easy to assemble. It started on the first easy pull, and has started on the first pull each time... more
Glade Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
80
Bruce H.
Owensboro, KY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/18/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Proven Reliability
I started out working in a shop that maintained mowers and yard equipment, during that time I found Snappers to be one of the best for durability and maintenance. I recently bought this mower because my new yard has inclines to maintain and felt I needed a self propelled mower for that reason. So I handed down my previous Snapper that I have used for 20 years to one of my sons.

Initial assembly was simple and straight forward, after servicing it started right up, no priming and it really... more
Pros: Durable, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Bruce Recommends This Snapper Mower
Bruce's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Simple to order, price to value is excellent, and no tax or shipping cost."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Tim S.
Westland, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/30/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Tough Mower
I ordered it last Thursday, and it arrived on Friday. 20 hrs after ordering it. I was shocked. I put it together and have used it a couple times now, I cut lawns. It's got awesome power, 8.5 hp with a screw-on oil filter. This is the little mower I have always wanted. Fair price, tough unit.
Tim Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
71
Charles S.
Grantville, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/29/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Fair Price, Fast Delivery.
Old snapper conked out the day i left on vacation. Yard was pretty woolly upon my return. Local shops did not have lawnmower i needed.

The lawnmower I purchased on line arrived quickly at a fair price. Some points of assembly in the instructions were a bit vague (for someone assembling lawnmowers rarely, but worked through.)

Mower is very new, not past first 5 hour oil change, but appears to be quality built and hopefully will last as long as my previous Snapper and serve as well.
Charles Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Daniel F.
Grand Haven, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/17/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Mower Rocks
Had a Snapper like this one for about 10 years and it was great, just couldn't find a few replacement parts (my only complaint, and a serious one...). I replaced that one (which would have still worked fine with just a new push bar bracket and some linkages) with a cheaper Toro and it was no match for the mulching efficiency of the Snapper. This should be the last mower I ever buy!
Daniel Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Mark J.
Jacksonville, FL
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Like It A Lot, But Three Problems...
I'm now in my second season with this mower. Biggs & Stratton engine. Starts every time on the first pull. Sturdy and teenage boy proof all the way around. Love that. I am disappointed with three things.

First, the front and rear axle width is the same. Since it is a heavy mower it makes ruts in the carpet of grass pushing long blades of grass down. These blades don't get mowed, then they pop up the next day showing long lines of unmowed grass.

Second, it is extremely hard to... more
Mark Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
73
Darren B.
Alvord, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/31/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Real Impressed
We bought this commercial grade self-propelled mower to replace a low-end Lawnboy that was constantly requiring new transmissions for the self-propelled feature which we need.

Tiring of spending money nearly every year on expensive transmissions that would not hold up more than a year at a time, we decided to try something that we felt was built better...the Snapper Ninja.

The Lawnboy ran very well and was light weight and easy to maneuver, but with cheap components making up the... more
Darren Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Darren,
Thank you for your honest and thorough review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

As you know, reviews play a major factor in helping online shoppers decide what will work best for them. Thanks again, and have a great summer.
more
Was this review helpful?
74
Shaun M.
Franklinton, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/19/15
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Mulching Mower
If you're looking for a dedicated mulching mower, this is a good buy. It is well made, powerful, and easy to start.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, High Quality
Cons: Speed Control Needs Some Improvement
Shaun Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
52
Manuel G.
Laporte, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/9/15
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Disapointed
My lawn mower had a spring missing. The disc drive tension spring did come with the mower.

I called your 1-800 # and talked with one of your associates.

She said your mower was shipped at such a date and you received it at such a date and you are just calling us.

She told me that you just sell mowers, and you don't stock parts.

So I told her I guess I'll just have to go buy one, so I ordered one from a lawn mower parts dealer.

I didn't even get a manual with a lawn mower... more
Manuel Recommends This Snapper Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Manuel,
We're sorry to hear you didn't receive a manual with your Snapper. CLICK HERE for a printable version of the manual. We don't sell parts, but if you are missing something from the time it arrived, try calling Snapper to see if they'll send you the missing part or repair it under warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
118
Douglas H.
Collinsville, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/17/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid!
My first thoughts about this mower is it's solid and will last quite a while. I've had problems with previous mower decks and wheels breaking, but this unit looks like it will hold up for quite awhile!
Douglas Recommends This Snapper Mower
Douglas's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great Customer service!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Bob P.
Gastonia, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/7/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great!
GREAT GREAT 4stars......
Bob Recommends This Snapper Mower
Bob's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"GREAT SERVICE....."
 more
Was this review helpful?
22
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials