Your Cart @ Mowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Kunz Engineering MR55B-23 Trail Cutter Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$4,199.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$4,249.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Kunz Engineering 003724 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Durable (3)
High Quality (3)
Fast (3)
Quiet (2)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
Cons
Expensive (3)
Heavy (1)
Poor Quality Jam Nuts Vi... (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
13 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Mower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
91 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12434 Helpful Votes
Mowers Direct Recommended

The AcrEase MR55B-23 lets you tackle tackle heavy brush and tall grass, as well as field or pasture mowing. The design of this mower incorporates the quality, durability and construction you are looking for in a tow-behind rough cut mower.

The AcrEase MR55B-23 is equipped with a powerful 23HP Briggs & Stratton Intek V-Twin engine and has electric start for the userís convenience.

But what sets the AcrEase MR55B-23 apart from the competition is the heaviest built mower deck in the... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
546
Doug S.
Green Bay, VA
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!!
I did a lot of research to find something to cut the brush around my two large ponds (6 acres and 2 acres in size). After much reading up I opted for the new 27-HP model that Kunz Engineering puts out.

What a great machine! It does exactly what I wanted, and is easy to use. It goes places that my 47-HP Kubota and Bush Hog can't go. I highly recommend it .
Doug Recommends This Kunz Engineering Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Jim H.
Hoffman, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/30/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Serious Mower
This mower really does the job. Just finished mowing 23 acres of 3-foot weeds over rough ground. Not a fun project, but the AcrEase make it possible. I have a much cheaper mower that would never have done the job nor stood up to the task.

I'm impressed with the quality of this mower. So far I think it was well worth the investment. I did have a wheel fall off, so check your bolts occasionally.
Pros: Durable, Fast, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Jim Recommends This Kunz Engineering Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Nicola C.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/23/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Great But......
This unit works great and very efficient but I've only used it for 8 hours. Two issues the tires utilized are substandard for this unit considering the quality of the mower. I've had two flat tires and it was only used in a field. I'm going to foam fill all these tires so I never have this issue anymore. The second issues is the air cleaner needs a shield on it to keep debris from accumulateing on top of it you need to wipe off and keep it clear. Other than these two issues it did a great job... more
Nicola Recommends This Kunz Engineering Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Nicola,
Thank you for purchasing one of our rough cut mowers. We are happy to hear that you have found our mower to work great and perform efficiently on your property.

We are sorry to hear about the flat tire issue you have experienced though. We use a special order 4 ply tire (2 ply is the industry standard)on our mowers. We also use two of the more expensive brands available. Unfortunately they are no match for thorns though. In some conditions additional flat proofing is necessary. If the punctures are small (thorn size) I would recommend trying a good brand of tire sealer (16oz in each tire) before going to the foam filling option. I would reserve foam filling for only severe applications where large punctures or gashes are possible. We also offer a urethane flat proof tire option. The ride quality of a pneumatic air tire is still preferable though.

The other issue you mentioned is the build up of grass on the guard above the flywheel. A couple years ago the industry adopted a new standard which requires all small engines to be equipped with what is known as a static guard. This is to prevent the operator from touching the top rotating screen. Unfortunately this has led to one more location for debris and grass to collect on. Fortunately we have found that the debris and grass build up does not pose any issues. There are plenty of other areas for the top fan to draw air from. If you should have any other questions or concerns please feel free to either all us at 815-539-6954 or email us at info@kunzeng.com.

Thank you.
Kunz Engineering Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Aron P.
Elbert, CO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/1/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Beast
This machine is a beast! It will mow just about anything, small pine trees, yucka plants, and grass too. I love it.
Aron Recommends This Kunz Engineering Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Doyle O.
Oak Harbor, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/27/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Well-built Machine
I researched every tow behind and every zero turn mower on the market. The kunz is well built and really cuts. I have almost 5 acres and used to hire it out but my guy quit providing this service so I was forced to do it myself. Did my first cutting and it was awesome. I have found two flaws of noticeable importance.

The frame to mower bolts use a poor quality lock nut. They will come off while mowing. Yikes. I replaced the bolts with a longer one and a high quality lock nut doubled up.... more
Pros: Durable, Fast, High Quality
Cons: Expensive, Poor Quality Jam Nuts Vibrated Loose And Bolt Fell Out
Doyle Recommends This Kunz Engineering Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin H.
Dora, MO
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
You Get What You Pay For
This is a beast. Cuts anything and everything. I tow mine beind a JD Gator 825. Have electic height adjustment and electric blade engagement mounted in cab of gator. Start rough cut with electric start, hop in gator, adjust height, engage blades, off we go. Big, heavy, bulletproof, nothing better out there!!
Kevin Recommends This Kunz Engineering Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Tim K.
East Granby, CT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/13/14
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Thing Is A Beast
I was mowing 4 foot high weeds and brush and going along at 8-10 mph and it wasn't phased. Great mower. But it's really heavy. I have a Honda 500 so it's not a big deal but I don't know how a belt machine would do with it.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Tim Recommends This Kunz Engineering Mower
Was this review helpful?
150
Jim G.
Chicago, IL
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is A Monster
I have been using this for over 4+ seasons. Nothing stops these things.

Dont tell them (Kunz) but they build them to good.

Only issue is the adjustment screws on frame to lift deck. I would suggest a larger nut on assembly, over time the threaded rod jumps down. I believe the female thread strips out.

I am totally satisfied and recommend this product to anyone.

Also great customer service.
Jim Recommends This Kunz Engineering Mower
Jim's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"GREAT PRODUCT I EVEN HAVE CUT 5/8 REBAR THAT WAS HIDDEN UNDER TALL BRUSH."
 more
Was this review helpful?
140
Scott F.
Coeur Dalene, ID
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/18/14
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great!
I'm very impressed with the mower. So far it works great on some pretty dense brush, bushes, and small saplings on my property. Pulling it takes some getting used to, but overall I'm very satisfied so far.
If this unit holds up, the price will be worth it.
Scott Recommends This Kunz Engineering Mower
Was this review helpful?
100
Drew C.
Lees Summit, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/6/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Unit, But Be Careful
This unit to cut trails over brush and thick grass for trails where we 4 wheel and hunt. It s a great job as long as you don't go too fast and it's built a whole lot tougher than competitive units. I'm pleased with it and would recommend it to anyone....

However, be VERY CAREFUL engaging and disengaging the blades. The engagement lever is in front of the deck where one could easily accidentally put a foot in there as the only guard is to keep debris from flying out. The blades make short... more
Drew Recommends This Kunz Engineering Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Drew,
Thank you for purchasing one of our rough cut mowers. I'm happy to hear that your new mower it tackling the heavy grass and brush on your property. It should serve you well for many years to come.

I also wanted to put your mind at ease about the concerns you have with the position of the blades and the front end of the mower. When using any piece of mowing equipment it is always very important to be careful when approaching and never place any bodily parts under the mowing deck. We do however pass all of the safety standards that are set in place for mowing equipment. One of the specific tests is called the foot probe safety test. This particular test is designed to help prevent injuries to feet. In order for us to pass this test we have our blades positioned 11" back from the front end of the deck.

If you should ever have any questions please feel free to contact us at 815-539-6954 or email us at info@kunzeng.com.

Thanks again.
Kunz Engineering
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Lynn
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/16/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Cutter!
Have had this mower only two weeks, but it is a monster! Took only two days to cut 13 acres of very tall and thick brush. Pulling behind an RTV, it never struggled. It is as described in the descriptions...easy to start and operate. Also easy to change cutting height, and setting offset position. Hoping routine maintenance will keep it running forever!
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Lynn Recommends This Kunz Engineering Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Enrique H.
Pohatcong, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/3/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Machine
Needs assembly drawings, also a model with more power as once in a while it would stall on the heavy brush.
That said, I believe there is no better product on the market.
Enrique Recommends This Kunz Engineering Mower
Was this review helpful?
32
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials