Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna Z246 Zero Turn Lawn Mower Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
Husqvarna 967 32 39-03 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Fast (2)
Easy To Use (2)
Reliable (1)
Durable (1)
I'd Buy It Again (1)
Cons
Very Loud Need Ear Prote... (1)
Durability (1)
Unreliable (1)
Low Quality (1)
Packaging (1)
86% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
28 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Bill T.
Terrrell, TX
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Poor Packaging, But Good Mower
I purchased a new mower last week from your company. When it arrived I noticed that the right rear tire and wheel were lying loose in the crate. There was no evidence that this tire and wheel had ever been installed on this mower. No lug nuts were found and the mower had been bouncing around and the right rear axle had chewed up the crate. My wife immediately called to report the damage and we were told you would send us new lug nuts. (We finally received the missing lug nuts last... more
View Image
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging
Bill Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Bill,
We apologize for the mower being received in unsatisfactory condition. The mowers are wrapped in white plastic and in the crate when we receive them from the manufacturer. If it shipped with the wheel or tires loose, it would have been difficult to notice. It could have also occurred during shipping. Regardless, we are glad you received the lug nuts. We will also credit you for the $50 lift gate service due to the inconvenience. Please let us know if you need anything else. Again, we are very sorry this occurred.
more
Was this review helpful?
31
Sean
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Poor Quality
I am using this mower to maintain 5 acres. I have 62 hours on the mower and have had to replace the belt, blades, and now one of the spindles. The front deck hanger broke off as well. I am not a crazy driver with it, but at the same time it is not the cleanest property that I am mowing. I have spent more time fixing the mower than actually mowing in seems.
Pros: Fast
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability
Sean Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
113
Elizabeth W.
Nashville, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/12/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Cut
This is my second Husqvarna zero turn and the cut is perfectly , the handling is good, a bit bumpy if you hit a dip so I recommend knowing where to slow down in your yard to hold a straight line! The LED lights are a nice touch when pulling into a dark storage barn. Quick start with no drag. Wet grass does buildup under deck, so the water cleaning attachment is a nice addition also and to keep mower from straining, I recommend cleaning it after each use.

I cut almost 4 acres of yard 3x a... more
View Image
Elizabeth Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Elizabeth's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Called with a question before ordering and got a real person immediately! Rep was knowledgeable and actually told me more than I'd called for! Made my decision to purchase a no brainier! Shipping was crazy fast and came right to my door! Not to mention the no tax on purchase which was a tremendous savings! I saved enough to actually order 2 additional items that I otherwise wouldn't have bought! Great experience with these folks and I'll definitely be back! And their prices are equal or less than all competitions ! So don't waste your time searching , this place is the real deal!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Todd B.
Falkner, MS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/8/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Let's See If Mowers Direct Comes Through! Lemon!
I recently purchased this mower with the Briggs and Stratton engine. After LESS than 1 hour my engine is dead. It first back fired after 15 minutes, shut it down, started and then heavy gray smoke.

Shut it down and now it will not even turn over. I called Husqvarna and have to take it 45 minutes away for warranty work that could take upwards of 3 weeks. I understand the call line operators are limited in what they can do, but SORRY does not cut it or my grass.

Zero Stars with this... more
Todd Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Todd,
Sorry to hear you had an issue with the mower please let me know if they have resolved the issue if not we can get involved with our rep to fix the situation.
more
Was this review helpful?
41
Herbert D.
Jetersville, VA
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Bad For The Price
Mine has the 54" Deck. Had it for three years. Cutting 4 acres. I have replaced the deck belt once. No blades replaced yet just sharpened. The only concern I have now. But after 140 hours the tranny needs replacing. Technically its not serviceable by consumer but I was able to change the oil. Iys is leaking so I have to replace the tranny. Both side are going to cost little over $500.

It only takes 30 min to pull tranny but feel it should gave lasted longer. But cutting 4 acres for a... more
Herbert Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
Johan K.
Rockwall, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/17/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My First Zero Turn Mower.
My mowing time has almost been cut in halve. The steering mechanism is quite different from the conventional steering wheel and is very sensitive.

Minor adjustments will keep you in a straight line while cutting along trees and bushes is easy. I really like my Husqvarna and highly recommend it.
Johan Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
James K.
Conway, SC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/25/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Z246
great mower very satisfied with it
James Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Brent M.
Addis, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/18/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Mowers Direct made the transaction easy and quick. Mower was delivered in three days. The Husqvarna mower is well built. A lot of thought went into building this mower, and it shows everywhere. Easy to access grease fittings and clean the deck.

I have read that ZTRs are safer on inclines or leans, but I have to disagree with this. Be very careful if cutting around a ditch or embankment, I have put this in the ditch already - hah. My tractor was much more stable on a lean.

Other than... more
Brent Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Abner H.
Shreveport, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/20/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Excellent Service And Machine
Everything works fine except the battery. I have used this machine to trim my property without any issues. Thank you very much for your assistance in getting it to my address.
Abner Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Anthony S.
Jackson, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/15/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine!
I purchased this zero turn mower after my lawn tractor finally gave up, which was also a Husqvarna. I stayed with Husqvarna because it was always so reliable. After minimal assembly and setup, I put in the fluids and it started right up. I have roughly an acre and a half to mow.

My mowing time was cut in half, even having to get used to controlling the mower and running it slow. The delivery was a little shaky, as the courier was not prepared to offload the mower from his truck, even though... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Fast, Reliable
Anthony Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
James Q.
East Jewett, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/20/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Then I Expected, By Far.
I have had Husqvarna products for years and always thought they were the best product on the market, mowers, chainsaws, etc. So when I was ready to upgrade to a zero radius mower from my 12 year old ride(which still ran great) I went with another Husqvarna, the Z-246, and it is the best mower out there. It has cut my mowing time down to 1 hour from 3, and does an amazing job cutting, the grass looks beautiful and I love my time on the machine. It is a well made quality product, but that is no... more
James Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
12
Robert T.
North Olmsted, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not As Smooth As I Hoped
mower starts and runs fine. the short wheel base makes it a very bumpy ride. i had to take some air out of the tires to smooth out the ride. Also a lot noisier than i thought it would be. have to operate it at 3/4 speed to quiet it down.

Biggest problem I have is the height of the back of the seat. It sits right below my rear rib cage, and when I run the mower any sudden movements jamb the seat back in to my kidneys. first 2 times I ran the mower felt like i bruised my kidneys.

I called... more
Cons: Very Loud Need Ear Protection
Robert Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
25
Mark D.
Enid, OK
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Same Mower, Different Color
Two years ago I bought a Dixon ZTR46" and last year I found out that Dixon went bankrupt. I wanted some spare parts for the blue mower, so I looked at the engine frame for its product# and sn#. Then I looked on the other side of the engine frame and a sticker was on it that said Husqvarna Emmissions Control Information.

A day ago I seen a new Husqvarna Model Z246 and they are the same mower, except the orange one had little led lights on it. I'll probably put my blue one for sale in... more
Mark Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
25
James N.
Inman, SC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 1/6/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zero Turn Husqvarna Mower
I absolutely love my new Husqvarana zero turn mower. While I have not had a lot of time to use it as it is January but the little I did was great.

The mower came sooner than promised and with the lift gate service it was very easy to unload.
James Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
James's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very helpful and competitive pricing. Well satisfied."
 more
Was this review helpful?
6820
Tom G.
Dripping Springs, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/29/15
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Got delivered on time just as expected. Works great. I can cut my 3 acres in about 2/3 the time as with my old riding mower. Can't be happier. No bad cut lines.

Can't tell it is two blades cutting. Only thing missing from the setup instructions was to turn on the gas valve located behind the seat before trying to start.
Tom Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
405
Patricia B.
Goshen, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/19/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Absolutely Wonderful
Never operated a zero turn before. I was skeptical and afraid it might be difficult. My son convinced me to try it. I relied on his expertise, and he taught me Zero Turn 101! I passed the "class" and am happy to report that I am very happy with the mower.

It is easy to use and I can cut my lawn in half the time. I have two other Husqvarna mowers, a self-propelled walk behind and a weed eater. In my opinion Husqvarna puts out great mowers, and they are made in the USA.
more
Patricia Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
317
Arthur
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Lawnmower!!
Simply a great machine! I went from a 22" push mower to this Husqvarna 46" to mow my one acre property. It used to take me over 2.5 hours to do it. My first time using the Husqvarna and first time using a zero turn mower for that matter took me one hour!! And that's taking my time as well!! The Briggs & Stratton "Ready Start" feature is great as well, NO choke starting!! It cut through 8 inches of grass with no issue! The power on this thing is amazing. This is my first... more
Arthur Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
296
Joyce W.
Linn Creek, MO
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Husqvarna Is Tops!
I love my new mower. The people who work there have be wonderful. I had one problem, and not one time did they give me grief. They fixed the problem right away. I'm so happy with the way it cuts too.

Love, love, love it.
Joyce Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
203
Mike N.
Heber Springs, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/10/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mostly Good
Have mowed 3 hours with above mower. Not great on mowing wet slopes in swail, slides down hill sideways. Mowing speed is good, height settings are good. I have a rocky forest bed lawn and must mow at mid height level to avoid hitting rocks.
Rear fenders are flimsy and easily cracked. I brushed up against a small trailer I am storing in yard and shattered lower portion of fender. I would have thought it to be more sturdy and/or flexible.

Light is nice and frame appears to be very sturdy.... more
Mike Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
196
Miles S.
Pendleton, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/11/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower, Needs More Leg Room
I love my mower that I purchased from Mowers Direct. I was using a 46" rider on 2 acres that took me 2.5 hours to mow, my new zero turn reduced that to 1 hr and 10 minutes. Only think I wished this had was a deck that enabled me to extend my legs a little more, I'm 6'1" and feel a little cramped with leg room
Miles Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
153
Howard G.
Jacksonville, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/5/15
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Darn Glad!!!!!!!
Absolutely the best mower purchase experience ever!!! I used it once, and it operates wonderfully. Delivery was right on time and the packaging was awesome. not a ding or scratch on this mower!!! Thank you guys so much!!!
Howard Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
208
Mark L.
Waynesville, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/16/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Z246
Great machine, sold my old "tractor". Very stable ride, ease of operation, user friendly. Jut took some time to get used to the lever controls.
Mark Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
133
Candace B.
Columbia, MS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/20/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love This Damn Lawnmower!
It's enjoyable to mow the grass now! What more can I say.
Candace Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
72
Marvin H.
Southampton, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/20/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Z246
Love it. The mower performs flawlessly. I recently moved to a home with 2 acres of land. It has been a blessing having the z246 to zip through the yard. Mows in reverse, has plenty of power and when the mulching kit arrives, I'll be able to dispose of all the leaves.
Marvin Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Marvin's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordering from mowers direct was easy and the shipping was fast. Can't say enough about this experience"
 more
Was this review helpful?
62
Steve C.
Wilson, KS
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Sure Yet
Just bought it and finally mowed for about 30 min and there is a lot of rattling when decks engaged.. and the motor made a really weird sound about 20 min after mowing, shut deck off and turned back on and it went away. Still don't know why it rattles a lot when mowing.
Steve Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
74
Kenneth C.
Sylacauga, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/12/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower And Deal
It's amazing that I can buy a mower online at a better price than I can purchase it locally. The mower was shipped the same day as I ordered it. As far as the z246, it runs great and is all I expected. It's not a big deal but to save my life I can't find a fuel window that was advertised. Over all I'm very pleased with the mower and PED. Great Job PED.
Kenneth Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
75
Jim N.
Marshall, MN
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Works great!!!!!! Now just need to get the bagging system for it
Jim Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
78
Steve J.
Chalmette, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/20/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Damaged In Shipping .
hope they make good.
Steve Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
68
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials