Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna HU700H Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$409.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$399.95
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$431.60
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Husqvarna 961 45 00-23 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Price (4)
Easy To Use (3)
High Quality (3)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Durable (1)
Cons
Heavy (3)
Durability (1)
Difficult To Use (1)
Low Quality (1)
Mulching Blade A Joke (1)
85% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
33 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Ronald W.
Owensboro, KY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/18/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
I'm very pleased with my new mower. I was originally concerned with going with the Honda 160cc engine instead of the 190cc Honda engine but the 160cc Honda motor has more power than I thought it would have. It's a joy to operate and feel that it's a very well made mower. I placed my order on a Tuesday morning and received my new mower the next day.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Ronald Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Ronald's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Their shipping was very fast"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Diane B.
Wyoming, MI
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Want To Love It
We purchased this mower because we heard good things about this brand. However, I will only mulch when I cut the grass. I noticed that the blade gets clogged while cutting and the blade seems to then get bogged down.

I have to clean the bottom of the mower once or twice each time I use it. I had a Snapper prior to this, and did not have that problem. I enjoy working in my yard, but this is very upsetting.
Diane Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
42
Theresa T.
Fort Morgan, CO
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Wouldn't Recommend
I bought the mower a couple months ago. Every time I start it, I have to adjust the choke spring to keep it running. You can't pull the mower in reverse even with the wheels disengaged. It's a pain in the butt. And there is already a knocking noise starting that I haven't been able to pinpoint yet.
Theresa Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Theresa,
Hi Theresa,

Please take your mower to an authorized service center and any defects in materials or manufacturing will be repaired at no cost to you within the warranty period.

In regards to being able to pull the mower backwards, after using the self propelled feature, push the mower forward about 6 inches to unlock the wheels. This is a safety feature to keep the mower from being able to roll backwards unintentionally.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Cody S.
Lebanon, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/4/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Perfectly
This is going to be short and sweet. Kama unboxed put together. Started first pull and cut like a champ. No problems, no complaints. I don't see how anyone has a problem with this mower.
Cody Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Kenneth W.
Westfield, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/10/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Mower!!!
My original mower was a Toro "Personal Pace" mower that was around 4-5 years old. The "Personal Pace" feature "gave up the ghost". I do all my own mechanical work and I was amazed to discover that the Toro's "transmission" was made of plastic! Disassembly of the transmission revealed that the bevel gears was made of plastic and all the teeth had been ground off!! A neighbor let me use his Husqvarna HU700H and I was impressed, so purchased one.
Cons: Mulching Blade A Joke
Kenneth Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Linda M.
Kilgore, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/9/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Slopes Made Easy
Bought a house on just under 1/2 acre with a slope impossible to mow with my zero turn mower. This rear wheel self propelled mower handles it with ease. In fact, I mow the entire yard with it and have sold the zero turn. Mowing is work, so don"t expect the mower to take off and mow while you sit in the shade. I am a woman turning 74 this summer and I do recommend this mower.
Linda Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Linda's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My second purchase with Mowers Direct and I have had a good experience with them for both purchases. No problems at all."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert N.
Cypress, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 1/26/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Experience
Mower arrived on time,as advertised. It was well packaged and suffered no damage from shipping. I owned this same mower for 8 years and it still ran perfectly up to the point I hit a chunk of concrete and bent the output shaft.

Mowers direct had the best price with shipping that I found on the web. I have not run the mower yet but I have no doubts it will be a great performer.
Robert Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Ralph H.
Meridian, ID
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Disappointed
This replaced a 20 year old Snapper. The mower is built with plastics more than metal, and its durability is questionable. The mower cuts poorly with a rear bag, due to no support at the rear of the bag, lifting the front of the mower. The Rear larger wheels are not aligned with the front, they are set out, and that causes issues with mowing around curbing and obstacles.

Bag is limited due to the design and lack of support, causing you to have to empty the bag frequently to insure even... more
Pros: Price, Quiet
Cons: Low Quality, Heavy, Difficult To Use, Durability
Ralph Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
02
Bryan
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Can't Pull Mower In Reverse
Mower runs and works great. I started mowing after 10 min. I release drive handle let it move forward, then I can't pull in reverse to back up. I have noticed just a little grass between transmission and stop. If I clean it off, it seems to temporarily work for 10 more minutes. Does this in all cutting modes.
Bryan Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
13
Ryan O.
Lenexa, KS
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Frustrated With Lack Of Durability
I bought this mower late last summer and was very impressed with the power and "grab" that the self-propelling mechanism gave me. However, I accidentally hit a small ball that was in my yard, which immediately had a bad impact on my mower.

It broke through a weak plastic deflector shield under the main body of the mower. Unfortunately, behind the weak deflector shield are the drive gears, which are also encased in plastic.

The drive gear assembly was broken rendering my... more
Ryan Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
24
Chris W.
The Colony, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/18/15
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower I Have Owned
Just bought a my first house. And in return spent the first year paying someone else to mow. Didn't have time or money to purchase the expensive equipment to make my yard look great. This year, I did the research, budgeted and saved for a good mower. The Husqvarna brand has great reviews and even though I was unable to find a single mower with 5 star or even really close to 5 stars after reading the reviews I felt this was the best choice for the money and for the issues that may or may not... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Chris Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
271
Ken K.
Springfield, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/24/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower! Great Value!
I researched mowers extensively before deciding on this model. I wanted a high quality, easy to use, very well built, and durable yet reasonably priced mower preferably with a Honda engine and RWD. I got exactly that with this mower. I have never owned a Husqvarna product before and I have been quite impressed with the high quality of the hardware and the overall build. I feel I am basically getting something very close to a Honda mower (this Husqvarna has a Honda 160cc motor) without the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Ken Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
172
Kenneth C.
Charlotte, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/12/15
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Summer Finally Arrived
Purchased the Husqvarna HU700H ,22" self-propelled lawn mower on 3-12-'15. 4-15-'15 filled it with fresh gas, turned the gas ON , on the second pull it was humming. Quiet compared to mower it replaced , and "easy" on the gas usage.

Walked through tough grass and never missed a beat. This is one GREAT mower, and I would recommend this mower to anybody needing a self - propelled mower. Mowers Direct did a great job sending this machine. Thank again. Ken.
Kenneth Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
172
John G.
Corpus Christi, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/24/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Needs A Better Disengagement Feature From Power Drive Mode
Like most husky equipment I have, it is of good quality. Too big for tight small lawns but perfect for long straight away areas. My only issue, which I cannot believe exist, is how the power drive disengages. You must release power drive handle and let mower roll forward a bit before is disengages, otherwise your dragging the mower backward from fence edge or shrubs.....
John Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
143
Michael W.
Carlisle, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/31/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Mower
I purchased my Husqvarna HU700H from Mowers Direct and had to wait a few weeks for it to arrive due to this model being on back-order. The back-order date did change a few times. Mowers Direct did keep me informed of the back-order delay, although not as timely as I would have preferred. I was pleasantly surprised to receive my mower two days after it shipped. No problem with shipping. A few simple adjustments to the handle, adding oil and gas and it was ready to run. Easily started on... more
Michael Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Michael's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"The website was very easy to use and compare mowers. I enjoyed the expert reviews along with reading the user reviews. Ordering online was simple and the fact there is no shipping charge or sales tax was a no-brainer for me. Shipped directly to my home with no problems. The only hint of a problem I had was the mower being on back-order and the back-order date changed a few times and I was not notified of the change in a timely fashion. All in all, I am very pleased with my experience with Mowers Direct and would recommend using them for your purchase."
 more
Was this review helpful?
110
Russell
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Part 2 Of Review
Back in march I ordered this fine mower from Mowers Direct. In my first review i wrote how well this machine was built and how good Mowers Direct was.

Now i got to use this machine for the second time cutting my lawn and what a great cutting mower. My lawn hasn't look so nice in some time. Looks like a $5k+ machine just cut my lawn. Thanks Husqvarna and Mowers Direct for making cutting my lawn fun again..
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Fast, High Quality
Russell Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
92
Thomas
Frederick, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/5/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Husqvarna Owner
I had owned a Toro Recycler for years and have been so pleased with it, however, I moved across the country and sold it. So looking for a replacement, went to the web and researched and researched.

For the money this seemed to rate the highest. So far great mower, real test will be the year after year use, so comparison to the Toro is still pending.
Thomas Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Thomas's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The mower was on back order and it was delayed a bit more than the estimate but I expected to have to wait for the back ordered item. Package was well packed, came right to my door, easy to put together, highly recommend Mowers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
71
Russell R.
Corpus Christi, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/2/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower, Missing Hose Connector
My HU700H arrived promptly but without the garden hose washout connector. There was just a weird bolt where the washout should have been. Called Husqvarna one time, and they sent out the parts I needed immediately. Kudos to their customer service!

The mower works very well. Love the auto choke start and the single-lever height adjustment for all four wheels. In some spots, the rear wheel drive has failed to move the machine forward through the lawn, requiring me to nudge it forward. But... more
Russell Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Russell's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"As I said, the garden hose connector was not included in the box. Not sure if that is the fault of the seller or the manufacturer."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Michael Z.
Bath, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/1/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Mower
I bought this to replace my son's lawn boy 20-inch mulcher/bagger. Took it out of the box, put oil and gas in it, attached the handle to correct heighth, put the side discharge attachment on and first pull it started right up and away went my son mowing the lawn. He cut it in considerably less time . At completion with a smile on his face said," it's a beast".
Michael Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Michael's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very professional, easy, and 2-day free delivery!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Deborah R.
Covington, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/16/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Pleased So Far
Initially when I ordered the mower it was said to be on back order until 6/25. However, it was delivered sooner, which was great. I put the mower together, which was very easy. However, I noticed that one of the loops that holds the wires to the handle was broken. No big deal. My husband mowed the lawn immediately and it looks great. Easy to use, just walk. The mower stalled twice, which I am assuming is because the grass may have been too high for the height level that it was set at. ... more
Deborah Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Deborah,
We apologize for the missing mulch kit on your mower you just purchased. The mulch kit will be on its way shortly to you. If you have any questions or need anything else, please do not hesitate to call.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Jim O.
Massapequa, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/15/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Terrible Design Flaw
I bought this mower to replace my 10 year old Lawn Boy Gold series. What a mistake that was. The Husqvarna cuts ok, not great. I often have to go over sections of the lawn twice due to uncut blades. The mulching blade is average at best. My Lawn Boy does a better job. But wait there's more! This particular mower DOES NOT GO in REVERSE! AMAZING!

Who was the bright light that came up with that idea? So, as long as you don't mind lifting up a 120lb mower every time you have to turn around or... more
Jim Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Jim,
Thank you for contacting Mowers Direct, sorry to hear you do not like the mower but their are many manufactures that have this feature of locking the wheels when going in reverse for safety. Also I would recommend changing the blade out to a Gator Blade which will give you a nicer cut especially when mulching.

Our Return Policy is on our website for everybody to see and does say * Engine powered equipment cannot be returned once it has been gassed or oiled due to federal shipping regulations. If the product has been gassed or oiled, it needs to be taken to an authorized service center for repair which may be covered under warranty.

http://www.mowersdirect.com/returns.php
more
Was this review helpful?
1513
Veta S.
Lumberton, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/22/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Husqvarna Mower
I received my lawnmower sooner than expected. Have been very satisfied with purchase. Starts on first pull & very easy to use.
Veta Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
John S.
Bridgewater, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/10/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Surprisingly Powerful
I was reluctant to buy a mower with less than a 190cc engine but I am very satisfied with the power and performance of the Honda 160cc engine. The duel hand controls and rear wheel drive work great on my uneven lawn. This mower bags pine needles, grass and leaves with ease. Highly recommended by this picky buyer.
John Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Rodney R.
Clovis, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/30/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Mower works great, starts quickly, easy height adjustment, backs up easily,self propel drive works great, very easy to mow with this mower. no complaints
Rodney Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Jim
Middleburgh, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/7/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Mower, Questionable Packing.
This is a good mower and performs well. My only issue is with how it was packaged. Apparently during shipping, the front wheels were folded under and pressed upon causing them to warp out of shape. At first I considered returning it, but after dis/reassembling the wheels it seems o.k.

There were cardboard sheets separating certain parts from each other, but no Styrofoam or air bags to protect the overall unit. It was just a mower in a cardboard box free to slide around. To bend the wheels... more
Jim Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Vinay D.
Evergreen Park, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/21/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Best mower I've used. Quick start. Easy maintenance and cleaning. Great value.
Vinay Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
32
Bob R.
Lancaster, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/7/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mower Is Great! Height Of Cut Adjustment Is Not
Mower runs greats, starts on first pull, but the lowest possible cut is a little to high! There are 8 settings on the mower, but mine only goes into 4 of them and setting number 4 would be equal to U S Open rough! any possible fix?
Bob Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Merlin L.
Stoughton, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/1/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
It Takes Some Getting Used Too!!!!!!!
I had a John Deere mower that lasted over 25 years. So when I got this mower, I was a little disappointed. I looked at Husqvarna as having a quality product. There is more plastic on this machine than I expected. Plastic baffles under the deck which limits your ability to mow on irregular ground. Plastic attachment pieces for the bag. I wonder how long they will last. Hopefully, there will be parts available for a many years after the purchase.

The variable walk speed control is very... more
Merlin Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Merlin's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"You guys are great. I called the order in. I asked the order taker if they could get it out that same day and they did. I had the product the very next day. I should have gotten the young lady's name, but, she did a GREAT job. Thanks to all of you."
 more
Was this review helpful?
22
Mark Y.
Barnesville, OH
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast Shipping, Great Mower
I was surprised when mower arrived 2 days early. I had bought this mower for my wife, she said it was easy to start and no effort to mow grass. Very good mower and great company to buy from.
Mark Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
B.j.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/21/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower - Money Well Spent.
This is a quality mower that does everything advertised. I love the Honda engine and expect to get long service out of it. As stated, it always starts on the first pull.
B.j. Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Vincent H.
Cleveland, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/3/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far, A Great Purchase!
I've used this product twice so far. I think that I made a good purchase. Easy to use, easy to clean.
Vincent Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
23
Kenneth C.
Charlotte, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/12/15
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Looking Mower
Received the mower in record time. Shippers didn't pay attention to directions on carton. Said this side up , and they put it on it's side.

Oil leaked all over mower and inside of carton. No big deal , all cleaned up well. Mower was easy to set-up , no assembly required. Just position handle and lock in place.

Fill with oil (provided) , and add gas. Didn't put gas in yet , Spring is slow this year ? Would recommend this mower to anyone looking for a self propelled. Looking forward to... more
Kenneth Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
1112
Russell
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/9/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Mower
So after reading hundreds of reviews on many different mowers from many different sites. I was reluctant to buy a mower online. But mowers direct was an awesome experience look up a mower read a review and buy with in two days the mower was at my door. In one piece.

I haven't cut my grass yet I have started the mower in half a pull the Honda engine was purring like a dream. The hu700u husqvarna looks well built heavy gauge steel and the self propelled system is fast.

Almost launched the... more
Russell Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Russell's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great website good prices on equipment fast free shipping. What else could you ask for."
 more
Was this review helpful?
2829
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials