Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna HU725AWDE Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
Husqvarna 961 43 01-15 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Features (4)
High Quality (2)
Durable (2)
Quiet (1)
Exceeded Expectations (1)
Cons
Heavy (3)
None (1)
Does Not Mulch Well Engi... (1)
Wheels (1)
Leaves Many Clippings Be... (1)
88% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
32 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Christa B.
Kansasville, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/15/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome!
I've had lots of mowers and have always wanted one of these, but just didn't want to spend the money. My wife got it for me for my birthday. Best birthday present ever, and this has to be the best lawn mower I've ever had!

Lots of power, and at full throttle you practically have to run behind it! Great mulcher. It even cruises right through super thick, tall grass! Definitely would recommend it, and will never buy anything again besides a Husqvarna! Worth every penny!
Christa Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
William M.
Ooltewah, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/16/15
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mower
A little heavy, but plenty of power, Seems to be built really tough!
William Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
90
Joseph A.
Ligonier, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/5/15
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Performance
Works great. Pulls me up hill better than rear-wheel drive
Joseph Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
70
Theodore M.
Closter, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/24/15
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Value
I needed an electric start mower due to a shoulder problem. This model was a lot less than the Honda version. Tried it once and it works well. Very fast.

I would like to have seen the handle fold down easier for storage. To collapse the handle both wing nuts have to be removed. Also, the manual is not accurate for the mower. Seems like they are using an older version. Went together easily.
Theodore Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Theodore's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I appreciated the shipping update. Was originally concerned with the one week later shipping date since credit card was charged immediately but that was the only delay and the mower was delivered via FedEx on the updated date. Very pleased. I would trust this site."
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Roy M.
Clifton, VA
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Very Disappointed!
This is my third Husqvarna lawnmower and it will be my last. I am very disappointed in the performance of this mower. Whether it is actually heavier than most lawnmowers, or it just feels that way because it handles poorly, it is very difficult to maneuver when turning. I have tried both bagging and mulching, and either way it leaves behind clumps of grass.

As a result, I need to mow many areas twice in order to get a neat appearance, so this mower makes what is an already tedious job... more
Pros: Starts Easily
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, Packaging, Leaves Many Clippings Behind Whether Bagging Or Mulching
Roy Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Roy,
I am sorry to hear of your experience.

Clumping is caused by grass that is too damp either due to recent dew or rainfall, or it's overall height impeding the evaporation of the underlying moisture.

When mowing, no more than 1/3 of the overall height should be mowed per pass as well to achieve best results. Cutting more than 1/3 of the overall length may cause it to leave patches behind.
more
Was this review helpful?
159
Connie L.
Salix, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/1/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower, A Little Hard To Turn
I am a woman in my 70's and love the electric start. The 4 wheel drive makes it a little awkward to turn. Would be great to have the same mower with 2 wheel drive in back. The mower is a little heavy, due to good materials in construction. Overall it is a good mower and mulches really nice.
Connie Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Connie's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping, Fed Ex unloaded and put in garage."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Susan M.
Wilmington, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/8/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Not My First Husqvarna
My last Husqvarna lasted over 20 years so it was an easy choice to pick another one. This mower is a powerhouse. Love the push button start! Did not realize how heavy it is until I had to pull it back the first time. Reverse would be nice or even a neutral. The blade does a great job of mulching the grass.
Susan Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Gerald D.
Tulsa, OK
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/7/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Cadillac Of Mowers
Received the mower a couple of days sooner than I expected. Charged the battery, put gas and oil in it and it fired up at the push of a button. How nice that was. I get worn out by pull starting. The all wheel drive was fantastic.

I could not keep up with it with the transmission fully engaged so had to cut back which is easy to do with finger grips on both sides of the handle.

I need to mention that it was a pleasure to cut the grass. The washout connection on the mower was great.... more
Gerald Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
51
Leonard T.
Moyock, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/1/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
New To Husqvarna
Have only used with the mulching function. The problem I'm having is when I disengage the wheel drive to pull the mower backwards the front wheels are locked making this heavy mower very difficult to pull backwards. Not good since I bought this mower to make it easier on my bad back. Having a bad back, a four wheel drive sure makes it easier on inclines.
Pros: Features, Fast, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Wheels
Leonard Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
41
Patrick S.
Norridge, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/17/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not The Performance I Expected.
I purchased this brand and model expecting a higher quality machine. First of all the wheel assembly makes a rattling noise when cutting the grass. This a new unit and my lawn fertilizing service informed me that the blades are dull and need to be sharpened. I thought the auto start would be a great idea since I am elderly and it is hard to use a pull start. Well to my surprise the starter is only good for 4 starts on one charge, then the pull cord must be used. Is the blade under warranty... more
Patrick Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Patrick,
Typically a blade is not going to be under warranty. If you feel the blade is dull and need it sharpened, feel free to take it to a place to get it sharpened and send us a copy of your receipt and we would gladly reimburse you for this. In the case of the bagger, it is possible something could be off in the mounting of the bag, but this is not a common issue but you would need to take this into a Husqvarna servicing dealer to check out and if something was off in the construction, it would be covered under warranty. Please let us know if you have any further questions.
more
Was this review helpful?
63
Kenneth H.
Woodbine, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/18/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Mower
Electric start is very helpful. Mower speed with 4 wheel drive expedites cutting time. Mower size and weight makes it a bit difficult to maneuver. Overall, I like this mower.
Kenneth Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Ron B.
Palmyra, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/19/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Mower Is The Cats Meow!
The last 2 mowers I have owned have been Craftsman mowers that I purchased from Sears. The last one I have had for 13 years. It's been a really good mower, 22" cut, simple push mower, not a self propelled. My wife and I are 63 years of age now and she cuts the grass 50% of the time and has been complaining that it was getting harder to start and was hurting her shoulder so I decided it was time for a new mower.

I have been hearing complaints about how Craftsman's quality has diminished... more
Pros: Durable, Features, High Quality, Easy To Start
Cons: None
Ron Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Ron's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"When I placed my order it was on back-order but arrived right on time. Had to leave it in the box for 5 days because of rain. Took about 30 minutes to get it out of the box and get it set up which is very easy to do. I followed directions and charged the battery for 24 hours as recommended. The next day I added the oil and gas. Pushed the electric starter and it started right up in about 2 seconds. I shut it off and then started it by hand. It started on the first pull and was very easy to pull start. I went to make my first pass and it was set way to fast for me so I made a minor adjustment to the speed control. After that, it didn't take any time at all to get the fill of it and it was very easy to use. This mower is built a lot better and heaver than my old Craftsman but is a whole lot easier to use because of the all wheel drive. I couldn't be more pleased with this mower."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Richard H.
Annapolis, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/30/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Product Is As Advertised
After 40 years of personal residential lawn care and countless mower purchases, the mower performance is exceptional and is a high quality mower. The electric start at my age was critical and this started the first time and every time so far.
Richard Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Raul H.
Cumming, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/22/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Mower
This is a great mower. Cuts evenly. A little heavier than most but the AWD makes up for it.
the electric starter is awesome. Not killing my back.

The only draw back is when you want to pull it back towards you the front wheels lock in place.
Raul Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Tracy K.
Randolph, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/25/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
A Nice Mower...
This mower was replacing a Toro self pace mower. My wife and I needed electric start because of shoulder issues and this choice appears to be a positive one. After owning Toros for many years I would still give the Toro the edge in overall quality and ease of use. The husky is a commendable runner-up, however the speed of delivery was most impressive. Kudos to Mowers Direct!.
Tracy Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Tracy's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"VERY SATISFACTORY!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Mark R.
Bethesda, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/15/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Takes A Little Getting Used To
I bought the mower, sight unseen based upon my discussion with the Mowers Direct Rep and other internet/store research. I'm replacing a Sears craftsman front-wheel-drive mower used for a relatively flat terrain 1/3 acre property. Strong points are easy electric start, good sized Briggs and Stratton motor, clean and consistent cut.

Weak points are the weight (very heavy) and somewhat difficult to maneuver. I've only used it about 5 times, so I'm getting used to the all wheel drive and... more
Pros: Features, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Mark Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Mark's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Received it after being back ordered with a minor defective part which was promptly replaced."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Bert J.
Wilmington, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/6/15
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Mower At A Reasonable Price
Just received the mower and have only used it once. Slightly heavier than what I had expect, but no problem as the AWD works great. Easy to set up, Tighten two knobs, insert two bolts and tighten these bolts, charge the battery, fill the oil that came with the shipment, put gas in and press the button. Started right away and every time I shut it off during the mowing.

Cutting height adjustments are easy, pull the lever at each wheel and move it up or down as desired. Have not used the rear... more
Bert Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Bert's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Due to high demand, delivery was delayed for a few days. Not a big problem, only wish Mowers Direct had been pro-active and sent an email with a new delivery date once the original delivery date was changed."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Gerald D.
Tulsa, OK
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/7/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Cadillac Of Mowers
Received the mower a couple of days sooner than I expected. Charged the battery, put gas and oil in it and it fired up at the push of a button. How nice that was.

I get worn out by pull starting. The all-wheel drive was fantastic. I could not keep up with it with the transmission fully engaged, so had to cut back, which is easy to do with finger grips on both sides of the handle.

I need to mention that it was a pleasure to cut the grass. The washout connection on the mower was... more
Gerald Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
Andrew T.
Hudson, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/20/15
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love The Mower "but"
The shipment came on time, the box wasn't damaged, but the mower handle wings were bent in. Had a very hard time placing the handles - with bolts used c-clamps to adjust. Then could put grass catcher on.
Andrew Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
Joe V.
Millersburg, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/30/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Magnificent Piece !!!!!!!
Arrived in TWO days !!!! Whew.....I read most of the reviews prior purchasing this mower. The reviews that had difficulty maneuvering this HAVE to let the machine do the work. Very similar to snow blowing. I am totally impressed. Assembly very straightforward. Manual says oil is provided however, mine came with NO oil provided. No big deal. After gassing and oiling, I gave a mighty pull on the cord (I hadn't charged the battery for 24 hrs yet) and lo and behold a couple of putt-putts and... more
Pros: Features, Durable, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Joe Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Joe's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Less than 48 hours after ordering, I was mowing....Not too bad eh ??????"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
David F.
York, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/26/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Toooo Heavy, Leaves Clumps Of Grass Lay
I bought this HU725AWDE to replace an older Huskey mower. The mower is very heavy, and hard to pull backwards when mowing your normal yard. I always used the mulching choice on my older mower and it did a fine job. This top of the line monster leaves clumps of grass every time you stop or change directions. I would not recommend this mower to anyone who is not as strong as a ox. Orange paint is really the best part of this deal. Stay away from this expensive mower. Go with a Honda.
David Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
David,
Thank you for contacting Mowers Direct, there can be an issue with pulling these units backwards if you try immediately after going forward. There is a slight delay in the drive system with it being AWD, which causes this. If you give the mower a few seconds for the drive to completely disengage the pulling backwards should be much easier. In terms of the mulching, there will typically be a couple reasons why you would get clumping. If the grass is too wet or long, you will typically get clumping. The other would be in some cases a different blade is better suited to mulch than others. I would suggest checking out the Gator blades by Oregon, these do a great job mulching.
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Scott M.
Santa Clarita, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/26/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Electric start fires it right up every time, it's easy to use and pretty much unstoppable. It is pretty heavy to pull when the drive isn't engaged as when going backwards, but that's to be expected for a machine built solidly.
Scott Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Evelyn N.
Medford, OR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/16/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love The Mower
We love the mower as it is so easy to use
Evelyn Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Martin H.
Hingham, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/11/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Experience!
Checked Lowes and online. Found Mowers Direct!

Great price and great product descriptions and reviews.

Ordered the Husqvarna. Delivered to the house, added oil which was provided and then added fuel. Tightened the handle bar, adjusted the wheel height and I was off! Battery was charge enough to start first time.

AWD is fantastic and the machine handles like a dream!!
Martin Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Martin,
It's so wonderful to hear these kinds of stories. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other online shoppers. Have a great autumn!
more
Martin's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Overall, it was a very good experience!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Daniel S.
Inver Grove Heights, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/7/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
In The Shop
The wheels have a peg/spoke arrangement for raising and lowering the wheels. Seems like a pretty good arrangement, strong. One of the wheels had the lever that raises and lowers the wheel jammed up against the body of the mower so that I couldn't operate it. I took it to a warranty repair center. They said a week and a half but it is going on three weeks. That isn't on Husqavarna or Mowers Direct. The mower seemed really well built and I am sure that with proper maintenance it will last a... more
Daniel Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Daniel,
We're sorry to hear about the damage to your mower. If you need any help from us, give us a call. Best wishes for a great fall season, and hopefully soon you'll be able to enjoy your new mower.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Darin N.
Kingston, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/22/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
13
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Starts Right Up
So far so good .. starts right up .. mower is a little heavier then I would like an maneuvering can be a little awkward at times but all in all I'm pretty happy with it .. it drives itself well and it cut well to ..
Darin Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard Z.
Cheshire, CT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/30/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Shipping Problem
I received my first mower and the box was slightly damaged. The handle brackets were bent and one of the wheel adjusters was bent. I called and made arrangements to send the mower back for a replacement. Five days later the new mower arrived.

Again the box was damaged, where the brackets punched thru the box wall, but no real damage to the mower. The mower went together easily. I love this machine. Great on hills which is what I wanted.
Richard Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Ryan M.
Kimball, NE
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/22/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Starting
I really like the push button start, I have used it many times in 2 weeks and have not had to charge it yet. It is a nice solid mower. The AWD works great especially when working on hills and inclines.
Ryan Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Douglas A.
San Antonio, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/17/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Lawnmower
I highly recommend this lawnmower. It cuts great, and is very easy to start!
Douglas Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
66
Pamela H.
Eastport, ME
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/3/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
As a 71-year-old woman with a beautiful summer home in Maine that has a sloping lawn down toward the bay, it was getting harder to push up the hill on the uphill side.

This lawnmower has made my mow as easy as one could hope for. I plan to be mowing into my 80's and I feel confident this lawnmower will be my companion.
Pamela Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Stanley T.
Niles, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/16/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Very Poor Mulcher
This mower does not mulch well. Designed very poorly for mulching and the co. has not created a solution.
Cons: Does Not Mulch Well Engineered Poorly And There Is No Fix Availa
Stanley Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
03
Gary B.
Kansas City, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/11/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Service... Easy Set Up
I received my mower about a week earlier than I expected. I thought it might take me a little time to assemble, but it took about 20 minutes and was easy. I can't wait for spring so I can use it in the yard.
Gary Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Gary,
Spring's just around the corner. Best wishes, and thank you for the review.
more
Was this review helpful?
514
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials