Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna HU725AWD BBC Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
 
$399.95
(as of 07:02 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$459.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$449.95
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
 
$429.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Husqvarna 961 43 01-04 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Features (6)
Easy To Use (6)
Exceeded Expectations (3)
Fast (3)
Quiet (3)
Cons
Durability (3)
Low Quality (2)
Expensive (2)
Heavy (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
76% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
21 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Tony M.
Orland Park, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/16/14
Total Helpful Votes
33 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Blade Brake
The blade brake is super fragile on the right side. My bar broke within the first hour of use. Doesn't take much pressure at all to snap the blade brake clutch lever because of faulty engineering. Construction of the hole leaves very little room for metal around it, leaving it extremely easy to snap.

Had to get a new brake arm shipped by MD.
View Image
Pros: Features, Quiet, Fast
Cons: Low Quality, Durability, Expensive
Tony Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
332
John C.
Naperville, IL
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Drive System
Very similar cut to my 12 year old Craftsman with a Gator mulching blade. Plenty of power for Bermuda grass and the AWD system goes up steep hills with no problems. There are some improvements that can be made however. Very easy to pull start as the blade is not engaged at start up.

The Orange clip in Tony's picture above broke before I even used the mower, however thankfully it doesn't affect the operation. Without this item however, the brake blade lever interferes with the throttle... more
John Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
150
Andres G.
Washington Township, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/11/14
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent!!
This lawn mower is great! I also have a Craftsman mower and nothing compares to the Husqvarna. The BBC is an excellent option.. It's worth the extra $. My lawn is tough but not tough enough for the all wheel drive! Great buy!!
Andres Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
110
Al W.
Monument, CO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/1/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked Great Out Of The Box!
Mower was as advertised. Had areas of HIGH, thick grass and several steep hills. Had the power to get through much of the grass on one pass. Also, the AWD got me up the hills with little effort. Being able to disengage the blade without stopping the engine was a plus. So far I'm happy with the choice.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Quiet, Price
Cons: Would Prefer Rubbermetal Wheels Versus Plastic
Al Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Al's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great price and fast service. Based on everything so far, would highly recommend."
 more
Was this review helpful?
90
Dennis S.
Rogers, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/28/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lawn Mower
This all wheel drive is fantastic on our hills.Starts and run great, Good luck so far.
Dennis Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
80
Frank F.
Tyler, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/30/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Hu725awd
I bought this mower as a replacement for a 2-year old Toro that had a transmission failure. I like the all wheel drive and the machine starts quickly as advertised. It does a smooth job on the lawn. The only things I can say on the downside is that it is pretty heavy and somewhat difficult to maneuver around objects. All in all, I would buy it again and recommend it to a friend.
Frank Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Frank's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great website. Fast shipping. Very favorable experience. Thanks.."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Rashaun F.
Powder Springs, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/31/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower I've Ever Owned
New homeowner looking for a quality mower to take care of the hills and valleys on my property. This one goes it with ease. I'm able to mow my 1/2 acre property in about 20 mins with ease. Starts with one or two pulls every time and is pretty quiet. It does have a high price tag but I feel like it was a great investment.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
Rashaun Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
71
Michael C.
Buford, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/4/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Okay For Now.
A little heavy and cumbersome to maneuver in smaller areas. Overall it cranks on the first pull but its only 4 or 5 cuts old.The features are that of the Honda HRR model with blade brake for around $130.00 less, and I have always been a Husky chainsaw owner because they're relentless machines!

I figured it wouldn't hurt to try the mower since I needed a new push mower anyway. For bagging, the blade brake invention is like sliced bread - it's nice! So I'll give it a season or two and see how... more
Michael Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Michael's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"This company was great on my only purchase of my Husqvarna push mower from them and by far the best price no shipping no Tax,I know obama hates that HaHa My mower was here when they said it would be.They will definitely get a shot a my next piece of equipment purchase"
 more
Was this review helpful?
72
John H.
Savage, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/25/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Job
Have only used 4 times, but, really like its ease of operation!!! So far it seems like a very good buy. Only concern is a little backfire (only notice when blade is not moving) tried new 92 oct. fuel, no change. Will wait 3-4 mowings before I see a service center.
John Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Jack I.
San Francisco, CA
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Do Not Buy Unless You Are Ready To Take Apart Carb Regularly
Nice, cheerful reviews here. Not so elsewhere, nor my experience. I will be taking apart and cleaning the carb AGAIN tonight to get this thing to run. The carb clogs regularly. I would NEVER EVER buy this brand again.

Plus, even at its best, way under powered. Just junk.
Jack Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Jack,
Hello

I am sorry to hear of your carb issue you are having. My suggestion would be to contact Husqvarna directly and let them know of the issue so they could maybe correct it on their end. They can be reached at 800-487-5951.

Thank You
more
Was this review helpful?
106
Mark L.
Fresno, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/19/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna 725 Awd Bbc
I had been saving for this mower and in the mean time had a yard service mowing the grass. Well over time the lawn kept getting taller and taller and the yard service kept raising the mower so they would not have the extra work and pretty soon I was getting comments about my 7 inch grass. That was it. I bought the mower and started to take down the height of the grass to a manageable level...at least the sprinklers work now.

This mower really preformed well in this thick grass. I was really... more
Mark Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Glenn H.
Bennington, VT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/21/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Great mower starts very easy and runs quiet. I love it. It's the best mower I've ever had.
Glenn Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Glenn's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Best mower I ever used"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Leanne K.
Conyers, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/29/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Love this mower! Right out of the box it started on one easy pull. The AWD mower offers amazing power even going up hill with a full bag. The blade break is the greatest thing since sliced bread - very nice not to have to restart the mower every time you need to step away to empty the bag etc.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Leanne Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Leanne's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping/on time delivery. Very convenient to be able to compare many different mowers on one site."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
David P.
Belfair, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/26/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Ped Did Well In Selling Me The Lawnmower
And at first glance, it was received in good condition and undamaged from shipping. Once I got the lawnmower out of the box and prepared for operation, I started the lawnmower on the first pull. Went to go mow a hill side to see how the AWD works and the mower wanted to turn to the left when climbing the incline.

After a few attempts at different approaches to the hill, the result remained the same as it wanted to pull to the left. I returned to the garage with the mower and tried spinning... more
David Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Steven R.
Lambertville, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/7/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love The Awd Feature!
I live on a 3/4 acre property and about a third is on a hill. It has always been a tough lawn to mow, not to mention dangerous. I read the reviews on the Husqvarna and decided to buy it. It has changed the way I mow that hill.

The mower is so easy to handle and I can go straight up or angle on the hill with no problem. It truly is a great mower. I would recommend this mower to anyone.
Steven Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
James M.
Wintersville, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/15/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
This mower is easy to set up and use. The features were all as advertised. The blade brake clutch feature is great, especially in the beginning of the season when bagging is necessary.
James Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
James's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great company to work with! Quick shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Peter
Stevenson, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/26/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
The mower has enough power to do my lawn when the grass is long and wet. And I can get the grass cut close.

I like the mulching. Does a fine job.

The AWD is powerful. Motors up a hill without any effort.

And the brake clutch is a nice touch, well worth the extra cost.

This is one fine product. And I'm very happy with my purchase.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, High Quality
Peter Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Peter's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct is a great place to shop when you can't find the product locally. The item shipped the next day. Arrived on the west coat a week later. Reliable. Efficient. Good prices and helpful information and reviews of various products. A very good online store."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
George G.
Raleigh, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/8/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower, Poor Design
I purchased this mower on closeout last week. Mowers Direct had the mower there quickly..so kudos and undamaged to them. I put it together, and mowed for the first time yesterday. My grass was a disaster to begin with..very tall from not having a mower, and it had rained the night before I cut. So the high areas were a little damp in some spaces.

As for cutting the grass...this mower rocks! I did not stall out one time..and everything looks nice and even. I read notes on here about... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Quiet, Fast
Cons: Durability, Bad Instructions
George Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
George's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"So far they have been great! Helpful, knowledgeable representatives over the phone, and quick shipment of my purchase."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jason
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/7/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Now, But Time Will Tell...
Out of the box, I noticed the throttle cable was routed between the handle and the frame. Didn't seem right so rerouted it on the outside of the handle so it didn't pinch, but other than that I was pleased with how easy it was to put together. Started up like a champ. Mowed most of my yard without stopping the engine.

The brake clutch is awesome. It allows you stop the blade while emptying the bagger and "drive" the mower to where you left off before engaging the blade again. I... more
Cons: Heavy
Jason Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Gene
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/1/15
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Some Frustrating Things ...
Overall, I like the mower. It starts up on the first or second pull and does a nice job of cutting. The one thing that I don't like is that the AWD doesn't disengage when you release the drive control levers, so it's next to impossible to back up. I have to really pull, and it tears up the grass.

The owner's manual states: "If after releasing the drive control, the mower will not roll backwards, push the mower forward slightly to disengage drive wheels." This doesn't seem to... more
Gene Does Not Recommend This Mower
Gene's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Blade Brake
Blade brake broke after 4th mowing. Bad design.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use
Cons: Low Quality, Durability
Gary Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Gary,
This mower has a 3-year warranty. While we can't locate any order for you in our system, we'd recommend contacting Husqvarna's customer support department at (800) 487-5951 and inquiring about your warranty coverage. Have your serial number available before you call so they can better assist you.
more
Was this review helpful?
03
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials