Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna YTH24V54 Lawn Tractor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,999.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$2,049.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,999.99
(as of 07:02 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$2,199.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
Husqvarna 960 43 01-88 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Pros
Price (3)
Quiet (2)
Features (2)
Easy To Store (1)
Exceeded Expectations (1)
Cons
Bad Instructions (2)
Unreliable (1)
Mower Deck Doesn't Float (1)
64% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
25 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Joan S.
Engelhard, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/24/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Job
The Husqvarna 24 hp Briggs & Stration 54 inch cut can from Mowers Direct on a freight truck in good shape. Only had to put the deck on. It runs great & cuts great. This is my second one the other was the same mower had it for 9 years & I still have it it just started smoking & burning some oil but I mowed 5 big yards plus my 4 acres. Great Mower! Loved the no tax & free shipping!
Joan Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Joan's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great mower!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Melvin G.
North Branch, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/11/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Poorly Designed
Difficult to operate compared to riding mowers I have had in the past. Changing oil on it is almost impossible. Seems this machine was put together with parts left over from many other machines. Would not buy another Husqvarna.
Melvin Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Melvin,
Sorry to hear you are not happy. This mower is new, and they have been making this model for years. If you feel it is defective, it does have a full 3-year warranty which covers any manufacturer defects to the mower.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Jerry A.
Arlington, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/14/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Happy With The Price
I believed I saves a few hundred dollars by buying from Mowers direct. I put the deck on in a couple of hours. I am disappointed with the performance on just a little incline how easily it gets stuck. I have had a 48 inch Husqvarna mower which I had for 11 years. I do like
the cut width on level ground.
Jerry Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
51
Linda B.
Fort Myers, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/10/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Difficult Directions
We had a difficult time putting the mower deck on and the instructions were not really clear.
Linda Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Linda B.
Ft. Myers, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/10/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Have Always Been A John Deere Rding Mower Consumer
This is the first time in over 35 years that we have purchased anything except a John Deere riding mower. They have local dealers and repair facilities.

The new mower seems to be able to handle the job as well as our others, however we did have a bit of a situation while assembling the deck to the mower.

We had purchased the 54" and the instruction for installing some of the parts was not overly clear. We tried to find someone locally to answer questions and everyone just told us... more
Pros: Features, Quiet, Fast
Cons: Bad Instructions
Linda Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Melvin G.
North Branch, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/11/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Could Use More Horsepower
24 HP for a 54" cut does not do a really good job. Something makes a strange squealing sound when engine is running. Ride is rough, Clumsy to handle, and better have a gas station close.
Melvin Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Melvin,
This mower has a 3-year warranty, which is covered by any local dealer in your area. I would recommend having them look at it so they can inspect and fix it under the warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Jerry A.
Arlington, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/14/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Sorry I Bought This Mower
In the past, I bought a 48-inch Husqvarna mower, and it lasted 11 years of mowing. I would not recommend buying this YTH24V54 mower. The frame is just too light for this size deck.

It easily get stuck at a setting of 2.5 inch deck setting. I wish I could get my money back. I am so sorry I bought this. Never again use an internet vender.
Jerry Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
21
Jeremy T.
Steubenville, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/16/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tractor
Mow 5 acres in spring about every 3 days. Used to take me 6 to7 hours takes around 2 now. Somewhat of a sloped yard does good may invest in tire chains for slippage, also bought the rear bagger and brush guard. The guard has already saved the nose a few times , the bagger is great but the indicator doesn't work letting you know when bags are full. Only down fall of tractor I see is hard to read gas gauge. Tractor even does a good job without bagger and leaves nice lines in the yard!
Thanks
Pros: Price, Durable, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Jeremy Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Jeremy's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Financed with the husqvarna credit card. No one in my area excepts it so I went through PED. Got the tractor and accessories I wanted for the right price, free shipping, and 42 months no interest. Bought it on a Saturday, and it was in my driveway by that Wednesday!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Matt N.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/6/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Flat Tire
Mower came with a flat tire. Mowers Direct sent a replacement that was a bad rim. After about 3 weeks I finally got a working tire. I was not happy however I will say they made it right with good customer service.
Matt Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Terry W.
Harrison, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/28/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Terry W
Starts very easily when you use choke. Out-cuts my old 46" deck mower. I'd give it a top rating if a little common sense is used, great product.
Terry Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Terry's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered on Tuesday and had it Friday. Not the Tuesday after the 4th of July"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Melvin G.
North Branch, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/11/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
26
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Difficult To Asemble Alone
If I ever get it assembled, and figure out why the
throttle/choke cable will not operate I will be more
than willing to tell you what I think of the machine.

Grass does not start growing in Minnesota until
April at the earliest. The instructions could be
a little more helpful. It is a 54" mower and very
heavy to move things around.
Melvin Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Melvin,
Please let us know if you figure out any issue with the throttle control if any we will be happy to help you resolve the issue.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Gary A.
Clyde, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/6/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Damaged Tire
The delivery sucked
Gary Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Chris C.
Knoxville, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/8/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower
The only bad thing that I wasn't expecting was that mower deck did not come attached to mower. Had to have friend help to connect it.

Enough wood from crate for large dog house!
Chris Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
186
Joseph G.
Duson, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/2/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
My Lawnmover
The lawnmower over an ant pile, the bottom pan raises up one of the wheels of the lawnmower and you can not move it unless you move it by hand. You cannot cut sideways in any degree without one of the back wheels off the ground and again you have to move it by hand. I wish I would have bought a 42' instead of a 54". No complaint about the rest of the lawnmower, it is good. Thank you for asking.
Joseph Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
165
Armando A.
El Paso, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/29/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Husq Riding Mower
Quality control could be better, especially since it's a Husqvarna.

1.Received the riding mower and noticed that the hood didn't fit right. It sits on the edge of the tractor body partially falling into the engine compartment.

2. Hard starting out of the crate and whenever I go to start it, hot or cold.

3. The left hand hood vent tab was broken.

4 The steering wheel center emblem cap doesn't fit right and pops off. The mower deck doesn't "float" and scalps the lawn or... more
Pros: Price
Cons: Mower Deck Doesn't Float
Armando Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Armando,
This should be handled under warranty as long as it's addressed within the warranty period. Contact Husqvarna at 800-487-5951 for further assistance. We're very sorry you've had these problems.
more
Was this review helpful?
155
Ron G.
Yakima, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/15/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mowing Time Reduced
I gained 8 inches of mowing surface when I purchased the 54-inch Husqvarna. Lots of improvements since 2000. For example the high lift blades exhaust grass and leaves out the chute with great velocity. I'm impressed with the mowing quality.

The only downside I encountered was getting high centered when going over uneven ground.
Ron Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
80
Harry C.
Woodstock, CT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/19/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Flexibility
The mower works well on flat surfaces, but it doesn't work very well on uneven areas. If one of the wheels on the deck get on a small rise on the lawn,

The deck lifts up on the frame, and raises the back wheel off the ground causing it to spin freely! I then have to get off the machine and pull it off the rise to continue mowing. This is very inconvenient!
Harry Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
92
Daniel S.
Gerald, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/4/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Mower For The Money
I do love the way this mower cuts, actually I was amazed at how even it cut. The ride is smoother and it makes short work of 2 acres of front yard. I do have a couple issue with it though. The hood latch is not secure enough. If you go over a bump, it will rattle open. Also, this mower is not made for any kind of a hill, no matter how small. It will require chains (which can tear up your yard) or a set of AG tires, which is my suggestion. Then there is the no start. Occasionally it can be... more
Pros: Features, Quiet, Price, Easy To Store
Cons: Unreliable, Bad Instructions
Daniel Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
81
John
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/17/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Amended Story On Doa Tractor
Tractor was repaired by local service center (finally). Mowers Direct has been absolutely GREAT about helping me. Very gracious and helpful.

I am cautiously hopeful about the tractor from here. I am very appreciative of the customer support from Mowers Direct.

Thank you
John Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
125
Kenny B.
Jackson, NJ
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
What A Toy!! Do Not Buy!!
We were excited to get our new tractor. First thing we noticed was how cheasy the controls were. $2700+ for this thing and they can't spend a couple bucks to make the panels so the switches and face plates don't fall off in your hand.

OK, so we started cutting. Cutting deck is heavy-duty, but the deck doesn't 'float' using the wheels, it's tied to the tractor with bars. So when the tractor is on uneven terrain, the wheels and mounts grind into the grass and rip it up.

We got the... more
Kenny Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kenny,
I apologize for the inconvenience.

In regard to the anti scalp-wheels on the deck, they are not meant to ride on the ground, they are designed to help prevent the mower deck and blades from contacting the ground should rough or uneven terrain be encountered. If they are digging into the ground, they are likely not set to the proper setting.

In regard to the chute clogging, it is likely the grass being cut is too wet. Please allow the grass to dry before cutting for the best bagging performance.

Please take your mower along with receipt to an authorized service center for warranty evaluation. They will be able to address any issues you are having with the console as well as properly set up the deck.

You can find your nearest service center by visiting the following link: http://www.husqvarna.com/us/dealers/dealer-locator/

You can also call 1-800-487-5951 for assistance in finding your nearest service center.
more
Was this review helpful?
72
Richard Sanders
Warrenville, SC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/23/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Have used the mower several times now. It makes mowing so much easier.
Richard Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Richard's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"PED is the best place to buy a mower. It's fast and have great deals you can't find anywhere else. I will definitely buy from them again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
95
Ronald E.
Frankfort, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/23/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice
Very nice mower. I've only used it two times, but everything was just as it should have been. The packaging was very good, and nothing was damaged or missing. Thank You!!!
Ronald Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Ronald's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very easy to use from start to finish. Would use again. Had mower out of crate and the deck on in about an hour start to finish with no help needed. Delivery driver was very helpful in helping me get the crate into my garage. Thank You To All!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
52
Ronald S.
Pitcher, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/12/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Yth24v54
Works like it should.
Ronald Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Ronald's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This is the third mower i have bought from you. I use all of them. They are great. Thank you, Ron ."
 more
Was this review helpful?
1916
Stephen H.
Vandemere, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/15/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
After putting it together, I gave it a complete servicing and a 2-hour workout. I'll be back. Great price, great mower, and great service.
Stephen Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
65
Linda A.
Loudon, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 1/24/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Looks Great
My story so far has been very good with the delivery even though we had some very bad weather. The delivery company did a very good job and I appreciated their efforts.

My neighbor and I put on the deck and it took about 45 min. I tried to start the mower several times but had no luck on the first day so I charged the battery and added an additive to the fuel and low and behold I got it started. Haven't taken it out of the garage but will in the next few day, that will be the test for me.
Linda Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
56
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials