Search
< Back to Product

Honda HRX217VLA Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Honda HRX217VLA Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (12)
Easy To Use (9)
Features (7)
Reliable (7)
Exceeded Expectations (4)
Cons
Expensive (10)
Heavy (5)
Unreliable (2)
Doesn't Mulch Leaves Wel... (1)
None (1)
87% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
56 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Rocky H.
Bluffdale, UT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/9/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Honda Lawnmower From Mower Direct.
I checked around the big box stores for the style that I needed, which was an electric start. This mower was for my wife and needed an electric start, because she had both shoulders replaced in 2015, so she couldn't use a pull rope. I was looking at a Toro and Honda mowers, so we went to the box store and tried which handle fit her best and we bought the Honda.

It arrived in about 8 days, pulled it out of the box, filled it with the oil that was provided, put gas in, let it sit for a few... more
Pros: High Quality, Features, Reliable, Durable
Cons: No Cons
Rocky Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Bryan S.
Palisades, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/8/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Never Again
The front, right wheel fell off this mower after one mowing (our yard is flat). It might have shipped defective or it might have been damaged in transit. Either way, if you buy from Mowers Direct, you are on your own as soon as you put gas in the machine. And because Mowers Direct did not include a serial number on my receipt, Honda is not immediately approving warranty service. So unless you have the time to find a certified repair shop (who can also pick up in our case, since our car is too... more
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Bryan Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Bryan,
We are very sorry that you are experiencing issues with your mower. There are solutions that we have provided that will resolve the issue. We can send out replacement parts to replace the wheel yourself. Otherwise, a service center can take care of this for you. We can reimburse you for up to $65 if you need a service center to transport your mower. We'd be able to provide you with an invoice that includes the serial number as well.

Most retailers do not offer on site service. Service would be covered through the manufacturer's warranty process on locally purchased items as well. We will do whatever we can to assist you to correct the problem. Unfortunately, returning the mower is not an option.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Edward B.
East Walpole, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/26/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best Ever!
Now I know what I have been missing. There is absolutely no comparison to a Honda lawnmower. Quiet, smooth, cuts the tallest grass. Well worth the money.
Pros: High Quality, Reliable, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Edward Recommends This Honda Mower
Edward's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy ordering process and received the item as planned."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
William D.
Powell, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/12/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Mower was delivered as promised by FedEx. Opened box and there was oil everywhere. The shipper had set the box on its end smashing the plastic oil container. Also the handle spring loaded locking pin was broken. The damage was caused by the shippers miss handling. Called mower direct and they gave me a return confirmation slip for FedEx to pickup mower.

Then I was sent a new mower with know questions ask. MowersDirect.com was great to work with. I will deal with them again. I have used this... more
William Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Austin Butler
Fort Wayne, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/23/15
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda Awesomeness
I really love this mower. It's pretty easy to use and cuts very well. I really like the deck of the mower and it feels like it's going to last for many years. I have no issues but have only used it twice. I'm really impressed with the cut of the grass, and I have seen other reviews about this mower not mulching very well and leaving lines in the lawn. I did not experience that issue as I mowed my back yard. It mulched/discharged very well and did not leave clumps of grass I was cutting an inch... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive, Heavy
Austin Recommends This Honda Mower
Austin's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I ordered this mower the Monday of Thanksgiving 2015 and it showed up that Wednesday!! FREE SHIPPING Will be getting more products from you as I need them Thanks!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Pat H.
Springfield, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/19/16
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not What I Expected!
First off, I'm 70 years old & need the self- propelled & the electric start in a mower. That being said, this mower is great on the electric start, started right out of the box. As far as the self-propelled part I'm a little disappointed. Maybe it's the rear wheel drive that I'm not used to, or maybe it's my uneven yard. I don't know which but it seems hard to keep a steady pace & steer.

I feel like I'm having to use muscles that shouldn't have to be used. It also uses more gas... more
Pat Recommends This Honda Mower
Pat's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I was extremely happy with the quick delivery from Mowers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Craig N.
Asheville, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/18/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Best mower I have owned, and should be for the price. Does everything it promises.
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Cons: Expensive
Craig Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael M.
Bellport, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/25/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower Overall
Having the key start is a nice convenience. A little heavy when turning around and pull back when you are trying to get into a tight spot that is too much for a weed wacker.

The personal pace works well as does the bag/mulch selector. This is my 2nd Honda (1st one was a push mower) and I hope this one lasts forever. Don't want to have to buy another ever again.
Michael Recommends This Honda Mower
Michael's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy ordering. Quick delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jonathan O.
Concord, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/30/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mower For Dad In Wy
I can't imagine a better way to get a mower delivered. Good experience and fair prices. And Dad likes it.
Jonathan Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Eddie P.
Byrdstown, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/26/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Easily adjusted and a 6 year old could mow with the lawn mower.
Eddie Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Julius C.
Niceville, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/24/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
11
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Mower With Electric Start -- Good, Not Great.
Purchased this one for two reasons. First, it has a Honda engine. Second, it has electric start. Honda engines have proven durable for me on other mowers and a pressure washer. Wanted the electric start for my wife. It turned out to be a good mower. Starts easily and runs well. The drive system is adjustable and can be tuned to one's liking. Two complaints, neither of which is a showstopper.

The larger engine makes the mower heavy and less easy to maneuver. Secondly, the grass bag... more
Pros: High Quality, Features, Reliable, Electric Start
Cons: Expensive, Heavy, Bagging
Julius Recommends This Honda Mower
Julius's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Delivered quickly even via standard shipping. Easily ordered online. Great service and one of the better prices for the mower selected."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Neerav T.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/8/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Lawnmower.......very Efficient And Easy To Use!
The lawn mower looked awesome when I got it out of the box, and worked very well. So far, I have used it three times - twice to mow and once to clean up the yard, and it works great. It is so easy that even my mom, who is 70 years old, could use it.

Very easy to start, and as I said before, very efficient. The best mower that I ever had. I went for Honda because of top quality, and I am not disappointed at all, and if you get this mower, neither will you. Good luck!
Neerav Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Stephen P.
North Platte, NE
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/22/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not Honda!!
Although the price of my new Honda was excellent, the mower itself is not what I expected!! First of all, Honda needs to work on the bagging system, it picks up nothing, the self propel is engineered for a master mechanic, it took me almost 2 hours to get the walking speed adjusted, it wasn't hard but it does not want to adjust to a decent speed.

You are either pushing the mower or have to have your track shoes on, terrible system. burns way to much gas, I have a Snapper with the same size... more
Stephen Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Stephen,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about the mower you purchased. Rest assured we will definitely pass these concerns along to Honda. If you need anything further, please do not hesitate to ask.

Thank you
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Bert B.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/24/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower
Cuts grass like butter, purrs like a kitten .
Bert Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Rob M.
Dallas, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/6/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Glad I Picked This Mower
Real nice mower, no complaints. Easy to use, seems a little fast at the slowest speed, if you're a runner you'll be done in no time!
Rob Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
David S.
Lake Stevens, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/3/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
Mower arrived when expected. Working good so far. One thing I've noticed is that when first started the engine kind of hunts for an rpm (autochoke function?) then eventually settles out to a constant rpm. Curious if this is typical.
David Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Don A.
Columbia, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/27/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I bought this mower because of the quality of Honda products. I was not disappointed.
Don Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Scott C.
Jurupa Valley, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/11/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower From Honda
This a nice mower for older folks such as myself. The Electric start is a nice feature, and the variable speed is also a must when you don't have to be in a hurry going up grades.

It cuts nice with very fine clippings and leaves almost no mess behind. Slightly tough to adjust the Cutting Height, but that is just a minor thing. All in all this is a fine machine.
Pros: High Quality, Features, Reliable, Durable
Cons: Expensive
Scott Recommends This Honda Mower
Scott's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Could not have asked for anything more. It was perfect......Thank You......"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian B.
Bunker Hill, WV
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/1/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
This is a fantastic mower. Cuts great, easy to start and a joy to use. Arrived on time and no assembly required.
Brian Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Lorenzo S.
Woodbury, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/21/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda Hrx217vla
This a great mower, after owning an Ariens for 15 years, I am enjoying this purchase and have every expectation that this mower will last as long.
Pros: High Quality, Features, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Lorenzo Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael B.
Hanover, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/10/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Completely Wow!
I owned my last mower a for over ten years. It was a Troy-Bilt self propelled mulching mower with push button start which I loved. So it was hard for me to imagine I would ever find the quality that my beloved Troy-Bilt had. I had always heard great things about Honda mowers and I was actually originally looking at another Troy-Bilt with a Honda engine when I came across this Honda mower and thought why not go for the whole mower as Honda since it was a Honda engine I wanted.

I took a chance... more
Michael Recommends This Honda Mower
Michael's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipped fast and service was great!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul D.
Euless, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/24/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome!
Love it. Absolutely no issues with it. Best mower we've ever owned.
Paul Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Austin O.
Union City, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/27/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Height Adjustment
The mower is fine except the height adjustment on the wheels is difficult.
Austin Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom W.
Collierville, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/17/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Brainer - Get The Electric Start
My previous Honda lasted 22 years. The engine still runs great, the self propelled gears were no longer engaging and I did not want to put money into a 22 year old mower.

Of course I was going to get another Honda. My neighbor mentioned he really loved the electric start option on his new mower, I'm not as fit as I used to be, so I went for the electric start version.

Mower arrived in 3 working days, I put the oil in, put in some non-ethanol gas, it started right up and cut the grass.
more
Tom Recommends This Honda Mower
Tom's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Found Mowers Direct in a search. Beats the local pricing and I did not have to pack it into my car and bring it home. Great selection of mowers. Shipped quickly and arrived before suggested delivery date."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Fred G.
Auburn, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/5/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Smooth Machine
Always liked Honda powered lawnmowers. This one starts easy is quiet chops grass fine resulting in increased bag capacity. New self propelled system is easier than I thought to control. First-class mower.
Fred Recommends This Honda Mower
Fred's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Professionals unlike the big box stores respond to emails quickly. Excellent guidance will buy more from this company."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin T.
Newark, DE
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/17/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda Mower
Very good mower. Starts with the key every time. A little heavy/cumbersome on turns. Feature I will miss is side discharge. I would use the mower like a leaf blower in the fall.
Kevin Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Mario M.
Richardson, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/25/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
An Excellent Machine.
This is my second self=propelled Honda mower. The first one is still in very good shape after 13+ years of excellent performance without any issues.

On this model, the larger engine, electric start, mulch/bag and smooth variable speed drive are very nice features I do enjoy. It is powerful and solid, yet easy to drive.
Mario Recommends This Honda Mower
Mario's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"PED does deliver a satisfactory shopping experience. Fast order processing and fast delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mario M.
Richardson, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/25/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
An Excellent Machine.
This is my second self=propelled Honda mower. The first one is still in very good shape after 13+ years of excellent performance without any issues.

On this model, the larger engine, electric start, mulch/bag and smooth variable speed drive are very nice features I do enjoy.

It is powerful and solid, yet easy to drive.
Mario Recommends This Honda Mower
Mario's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"PED does deliver a satisfactory shopping experience. Fast order processing and fast delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Al S.
Cape Coral, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/4/13
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Honda Hrx217
Previously had a front wheel drive Toro about eight years old. It still started and ran fine, but we use the bagger and it would get heavy with grass and start lifting the front wheels up. To counter I had to lift the handle in the rear to get the front wheels traction. But that was getting hard on my back.

So we bought the Honda rear wheel drive mower. It arrived quickly from Mowers Direct. Took it out of the box, put the oil and gas in it and it started easily. It starts easily and I... more
Was this review helpful?
210
Bill Jenkins
South Bend, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/12/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
The Good, And The Not So Good
The good: The mower came earlier than expected. The packaging was as expected. After adding the oil and gas it started on the first pull. Since I only mulch, I was very pleased with the results.

The not so good: The mower does not run to my satisfaction. It runs very rough. It seems to run fine for a few seconds, then seems to choke down, then it will run fine again, then choke down again. This cycle repeats for the entire mowing. It acts like it needs a tune up. How can that be,... more
Bill Recommends This Honda Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Bill,
What you are describing in your review may be a gasoline issue. I'm assuming you are using fresh gasoline in the mower. If not, you may want to try that. If the gas is fresh, make sure you are using "regular" grade 87 octane gas with no more than a 10% ethanol content. Using a higher octane (89 or 93) grade gas will actually make these type of engines run rougher than regular grade 87 octane gas. Same holds true if the ethanol content is higher than 10%. The ethanol content of the gas should be posted right on the fuel pump at your local gas station. If the rough running of your engine isn't related to one of these fuel type issues, then you'll need to take the mower to a local authorized Honda dealer to have them diagnose the issue.
more
Was this review helpful?
141
Earl V.
Bacliff, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/21/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Don't Pass This One Up!
I am 72 and have owned a lot of walk behind mowers. This is one of the 2 best mowers I have ever owned.
I especially like 2 features:
Powerful suction when bagging.
Electric start.
Don't die before you own one!
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Earl Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
130
J. Smith
Dupage, IL
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Engine Runs Good But Lousy Mulcher!
Honda HRX217VLA. This mower does a very poor job of mulching compared to my previous Honda (Harmony 215 5.0 that I've had since '97). Since day one, this mower leaves the lawn looking like it was hacked with a weed whacker. The cut is uneven and leaves a long stringy trail of 1" to 1.5" clippings. The old mower chopped the grass up into very fine little pieces that pretty much disappeared no matter how long the grass was. I called Honda to make sure I was operating the mower... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Electric Start Is A Nice Feature - Just Turn The Key And Go
Cons: Honda Hrx217vla This Mower Does A Very Poor Job Of Mulching
J. Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
143
William H.
Stone Mountain, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/17/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far, So Good!
I just purchased the Honda 190cc Self Propelled Electric Start Mower. I have only had the mower a little over a week, but so for it is a very good mower. It was easy to set up, and ready for use right away. I love the electric start, but most of all it has the power to handle my thick, tough Bermuda grass. As I said I have only had it a short time, but so far, so good!!!
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Reliable, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive
William Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
110
Ronald P.
Raleigh, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/1/15
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Wife Loves It
I bought the lawn mower for my wife. I was a bit concerned that it would be too heavy, but it turns out not to be the case. She assembled it by herself and says it's very easy to use, which was critical to me because I have no interest in mowing the lawn.
Ronald Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
91
John R.
Huber Heights, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/10/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower I've Ever Owned
A little expensive but once you use it you will understand why...Easy to use, Easy to start...cuts wonderfully....
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
John Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
80
John W.
Spokane, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/31/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Right Choice
Just finished mowing for the fifth time with my new Honda. It starts and runs flawlessly. It mulches just fine. If the grass is a bit to long, I adjust the control to partial mulch, and the rest of the grass goes in the bag. Works just as advertised.

Mowers Direct shipped the mower the same day I placed the order. I received it several days sooner than expected. The only assembly is putting the bag on its frame. Nothing else to do but raise the handle and add the oil and gas.

The... more
John Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
81
Kirk G.
Bourbon, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/9/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Mower has great power, even in tall grass. Cuts smooth. Started on first pull out of box. Easy to operate.
Kirk Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
60
Kari
Bartlesville, OK
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/25/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Like A Dream
I bought this mower for my Mom (65 years old) and sister to use. My mom has tried mowing in the past, but gave up because she could rarely start the old mower, and if she did it was hard to push around.

The Honda is a different story. She is able and happy to mow. Just turn the key and it starts. She is able to push it effortlessly around the yard using the intuitive self-propelled system. Adjusting the height is easy, but she leaves that to my sister.

Yes it costs 3 times as... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, It Is Heavy By Numbers But Feels Light
Cons: Expensive
Kari Recommends This Honda Mower
Kari's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Got to the house faster than expected and the mower was extremely easy to click together and get going. My mom was mowing in less then 20 minutes, and she has absolutely NOVICE skills when it comes to putting together anything."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Leonard B.
West Chester, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/26/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
No Choke
When I added Gasoline right out of the box, it started on the first pull as the battery was not charged. However, a week later when I went to mow again. The mower would not start and only when pulling the spark plug, dipping it in gasoline (two to three times) did it finally give a little cough and on the next pull, it fired right up. This took nearly twenty minutes and a blister from pulling the handle as the battery was drained. I did this routine two more times before I cursed... more
Pros: Features, Fast, Easy To Store
Cons: Durability
Leonard Recommends This Honda Mower
Leonard's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Order placement, shipment details, and delivery were on time."
 more
Was this review helpful?
51
Michael W.
Grapevine, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/14/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Mower, But Electric Start Not As Good As Expected
love my new Honda mower. Runs smoothly and quietly. Lawn looks like a green carpet when I'm done. I do half mulch and half bag and it seems to be a good mix.

Only complaint is the electric start. It only works about 50% of the time. Sometimes it just whirs without turning over the engine. It's not a huge deal because it starts on the first pull of the t-handle. But still would be nice if it would start with a quick turn of the key.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: Ignition
Michael Recommends This Honda Mower
Michael's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great customer service, fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
John A.
Winchester, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/31/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Transaction
Arrived quickly, removed from box, raised and set handle, put oil and gas in, and fired right up! Excellent! Easier than going to a store and paying taxes!
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Easy To Store, Quiet
Cons: None
John Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Jerre P.
Fort Worth, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/28/15
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Husband's Gift To Me
When I was a small girl, I loved to watch my Dad mow our yard. He always kept our yard in pristine shape, and I wanted to learn to mow just like him. My Dad taught me to mow, and I have always enjoyed mowing. This year when my husband and I began to mow, we found my mower had died.

We went searching for a new mower. We found the Honda HRX217VLA, and I am so proud we did. I truly love "my mower"!!! I simply turn the key, and away I go. This mower will turn on a dime, and it... more
Jerre Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
Timothy G.
Blair, NE
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/18/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower And Great Service From Mowers Direct.
Great service and delivery from mowers direct. Received the mower in three days. I have an over-sized yard and debated on purchasing a rider but wanted a good mulcher. The Honda has met all expectations plus i get my exercise.

The wife unit loves it as well. Easy, easy, easy to start, move around obstacles, and mulches without clump lines even when i let the grass go a little too long. Perfect for an old guy.
Timothy Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Steve
Arnold, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/8/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Ordered it on Saturday and got it on Wednesday. Use to have a Toro Personal Pace for 7 years bought this one and it is so much easier to use. Free wheels very nice not like the Toro. Plus do not have to charge the battery. Let me have a year or too to better judge this mower.

Also the Toro had blade stop which I did not like and had to replace the transmission 2x.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Expensive, Heavy
Steve Recommends This Honda Mower
Steve's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very quick shipping Saturday to Wednesday delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Slim Y.
Hillsborough, NJ
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worry Free Lawn Mower
I have been using this equipment for about 5 years. I am taking care of an area of 1.5 acres. As long as the ground is cleared, no stones, no ropes to tangle the lawn mower, the equipment will hit a very use life
Slim Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Howard C.
Tiffin, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/18/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower
Owned Toro's in the past. The Honda is as described and I was impressed with the level cut and the ease of pushing. The mower, even without the self propelled function engaged as it is heavier than other mowers in its class. Electric start is wonderful and the pull start is easy to start. So far I like this machine even with the higher price than other equivalent mowers.
Howard Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike F.
Aiken, SC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/8/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Like This New Hondo Mower, Yes!
Bought the Honda mower and it does a good job and is a very efficient machine. Because its self-propelled it goes forward terrific, however because it is self-propelled when you have to pull it backwards, it is very heavy and might be difficult for a child or a small woman to do so. Runs great, like the push button start and the string as a back up starter. Does a great job mowing lawns and pleased with it overall.
Mike Recommends This Honda Mower
Mike's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Folks were great to talk with and very efficient and it shipped much faster than we expected. It was pretty easy to put together by myself."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Nelson C.
Coral Springs, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/7/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nelson In Coral Springs Florida
This is my first Honda power equipment purchase and I am very pleased with it so far. Starts right up when I use it and I am already spoiled using the electric start feature. It is lighter in weight than my previous John Deere 14SB mower and is very easy to use.
Nelson Recommends This Honda Mower
Nelson's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very courteous and professional on the phone. Shipping was fast and mower was received with no damage. Very pleased with the overall service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Phil R.
Bloomingburg, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/23/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's A Honda!
These people at Mowers Direct understand that superlative customer service = return business. I ordered the mower late last week and received it today - that's just 5 days including the weekend. The shipping was free to boot. That cannot be beaten.
Oh, the mower. Out of the box in the same condition it came off the factory floor. Gas, Oil, and it started 1/2 way through the first pull. Of course it did! It's a Honda!
Have not cut grass yet, but I know it will perform as I expect.
Buy this... more
Phil Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Stephen T.
Huntington Beach, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/25/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower
Excellent mower. Has many features and is the best mower I've owned. Large bag is great.

The lows: the battery was bad (Honda happily replaced, a common problem).Discharge rubber protector is bent until I can drive mower to service center (very inconvenient).

Mower is messy, clippings don't always get bagged properly. It's overpriced for a mower, but again, is the best one I've owned.

Good luck.
Stephen Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
James M.
Trumann, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/22/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Love it. Great price from Mowers Direct. Would highly recommend them.
James Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
James K.
Marshfield, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/30/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda Quality As Usual
After about a month everything works great. It's expensive, but steel decks don't last near the coast, so time will tell if this deck is worth the added cost.
James Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Paul M.
18917, PA
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Supposed To Mulch Leaves But Doesn't
Supposed to mulch leaves but doesn't
HRX2174VLA (Honda 21") supposed "top of the line" with key start, double cutting blades but what a disappointment.

Modest Spring leaf cleanup and the Honda walk behind won't mulch leaves even going over them several times.

Also, difficult to change directions as the 9" wheels are too small.

This mower is a classic example of an overpriced machine based on the manufactures (Honda) reputation. They (Honda) should stick to autos.
Pros: Reliable
Cons: Expensive, Doesn't Mulch Leaves Well Or At All
Paul Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
99
D C
Lewisburg, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/11/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Powerful
Great fast delivery and easy set up.

I bought this to replace my old self propelled mower with a key start. The key start didn't work, even after the supposed battery charge was to take place after 1 hour of use. Didn't realize the battery didn't have an included power charger to plug into. Could not get it to pull start a second time.

The mower had too much power for me to handle easily, it was like a dog taking the owner for a fast walk, hard to manage an easy walking pace, as well as... more
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive, Heavy, Difficult To Use, Unreliable
D Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Joelm
Victoria, MN
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
A Piece Of Garbage.
A badly designed product. It gave me a lot of headaches. Has a major design flaws with handler and engine. On first season (a brand new) I lost all the bolts, screws that holds handler. I had a difficult time to find replacement. I decided not to use factory screws , because of a design flaws that problem will persist after replacement. Obviously mower vibrates and if you have uneven surface, many turns, bumps then handler will come off.

Another problem is with its engine. It burns oil... more
Joelm Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
16
Ricky A.
Stuart, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/17/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Disappointing
We bought the Honda mower because we have one that is about 20 years old and has been a great mower. The one we recently purchased from you folks has been a great disappointment. It's sitting in our shed waiting to be taken to the shop. It will not crank.

Gas seems to be coming out of the exhaust and the carburetor. Just waiting for an opportunity to get it to the shop. Having to use a Craftsman mower we paid half as much for. Have always liked Honda products but this one stinks.
Ricky Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Ricky,
We're very sorry to hear this. This mower does however come with a 5-year consumer warranty. Try calling Honda toll free at 800-999-1009. They should honor the warranty or at least be able to help resolve the issues you're having.
more
Was this review helpful?
16
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials