Your Cart @ Mowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Honda HRR216VLA Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Honda HRR216VLA Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (4)
Price (3)
Reliable (2)
Features (2)
Durable (2)
Cons
Expensive (3)
Heavy (2)
Touchy Speed Control (1)
Pricy And Will Not Work ... (1)
Difficult To Use (1)
79% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
29 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jerry C.
Laguna Hills, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/10/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
The mower arrived in a timely manner. Very easy to remove from box and set up. Added the oil that was provided, and some gas, and it started on the first crank.

So far I have only used it four times, but the electric start is a lifesaver for me. The self propelled feature is just right, and easy to use. It mulches nicely, and I haven't tried bagging yet.

Time will tell if it holds up to it's reputation for being reliable. Mower's Direct had the best price that I could find, and the most... more
Jerry Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Bill R.
Falmouth, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/6/15
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
A Drag
I never expected anything new to last like my 35 yr old Kubota ( w/ Honda engine) but I hoped for a few seasons of relative decent service from my purchase. After one summer, forget it! Smart Drive is not. The drive wheels continually lock up in reverse making it impossible to pull backwards. The adjustment procedure just does not work well, but when it does, there is just way to much resistance.

I have to drag the mower skidding rubber on my shed floor at the start of the day and my yard... more
Bill Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Bill,
Sorry to hear you are having issues with the mower, this model does have a full 3-year warranty covered by Honda and they will fix any issue you have under this warranty. If you need help locating a dealer please give us a call and we can help or you can contact Honda directly and they will help you get this resolved.
more
Was this review helpful?
64
Ronald S.
Brimfield, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/25/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
The Honda Mower Is A Bust
Mowers Direct shipped the mower very quickly and it arrived in perfect shape. EXCEPT. I assembled it which was easy and put in the oil. After using it the first time I saw some oil drippings.

I figured maybe I missed some. I have used it 3 times since and the oil leak is REALLY BAD! It is coming from the main shaft to the blades. Must be a bad seal. Very disappointed. NOW how do I get it fixed?????
Ronald Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Jackie T.
Wilsonville, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/18/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Can Do My Own Mowing
Best mower I've ever had. With my bad back, I thought I was done doing my own mowing. This mower does all the work, I just walk behind it.
Jackie Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Rob L.
Downingtown, PA
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Smooth And Refined
I finally replaced my 13-year-old Toro and wanted to get a Honda. My wife wanted an electric start so she could mow, too, when I was away. Easy to start with key or cord, pace simple to set, fairly good bagging (seen better but seen worse), and no trouble to maneuver. I have a steep slope down to a pond and haven't yet done the full slope this spring (too wet so far), but the cut and suction seem good.

The cuttings of grass and dead leaves in the bag are very fine, so I guess that means... more
Rob Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Kirk M.
Denver City, TX
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Surges Right Out Of Box
Just bought today 6-4-16 bought at store approx 75mi from home. I live in stix. Uncrated and put oil gas in. looked in bag and no key. Called home depot where I bout from went thru 3 people and 30 minutes later they said they would mail me a key. We will see. Started on first pull. Once warm and auto choke disengaged all it would do was surge up and down on power.

Thought its new lets let it run, an hour later of running still doing it. Got mad and turned it off. Couple hours later... more
Kirk Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Loren C.
Mankato, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/22/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far, So Good.
I think that the Honda HRR216VLA is a great mower, but one does not really know for sure until the fourth or fifth year of service.

It does a great job of cutting with the double blade.

There are two issues which I find bothersome.

1. Why can't Honda include the cord to charge the battery in the box when it is shipped. A $5.00 item which cost me $25 leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

2. Until the dandelions stop blooming, I bag everything to prevent the spread of those pesky plants.more
Loren Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Victoria Bowman Alon
Mckinleyville, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/14/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
At Last!
A machine for me! Easy to start, easy to adjust self-propelled speed, and comfortable handles. I do not need to wait for a family member to rescue me. Yard looks great.
Victoria Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
William P.
Warsaw, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/29/16
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value
It met or exceeded my expectations! I am very pleased with its performance.
William Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Sally R.
Canton, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/24/16
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What A Difference!
I have had a mower for 3 years on which I replaced the choke, wheels, and self-propeller belt. It still did not mulch properly. My Honda is easier to operate and mulches so much better!

As a 75 year old woman, easier is the strong motivator and this mower is easy to operate. The self starter works unbelievably well and the self propelled aspect can be set at any speed you want.
Sally Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
John B.
Safety Harbor, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/15/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
came through shipping in good shape easy to get running have used it twice and it does an excellent job
John Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph M.
Kensington, CT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/1/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Bad But I Don't Like The Throttle
The mower started right up and is very easy to start.
The mower surges slightly until warmed up.
The mower mulches very well in either bag or no bag mode.
The bag is a little smaller than my previous mower which is a little inconvenient.

My biggest issues are with the throttle.
It is very hard to find a comfortable spot even though it is adjustable. I find the static throttle on my old mower much more comfortable.

The other complaint is that the cut of the mower seems to be slightly... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, High Quality
Cons: Expensive, Difficult To Use
Joseph Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul P.
Milford, CT
REVIEWED
SEP.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hrr216vla Nice Mower
Purchased this model at Home Depot because pricing was less and I wanted to have it same day. I think this is a quality machine that will serve me well. I like the electric start and the Mulch or Bag Clip Director that doesn't require a separate plug for mulching.

The one concern was the Smart Drive self propel feature was making a pretty loud clicking noise (loud enough to hear it over the engine running) when I would engage the smart drive lever to move forward. It did this after I would... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Paul Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
330
Rich L.
Tulsa, OK
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Mower That Could Use Just A Little More Power
I just bought one of these and in general, it performs pretty much as advertised. I bought it to trim around areas that are difficult to mow with my larger John Deere 322 garden tractor with a 50 inch belly mower. After I figured out how to start it, it was easy and it always starts immediately. The low operating RPM makes it a quiet runner but it does seem to be a little underpowered in heavy or wet grass, something that I was not used to with my 3 cylinder tractor. The HRR series Honda... more
Pros: Durable, Features, Quiet, Price
Cons: Heavy
Rich Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
230
Vincent S.
Austin, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/9/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower, Very Easy To Setup And Use
Overall this is a fantastic mower. I was wary about ordering it online since I knew a return would basically be out of the question, but I trusted the Honda name.

I could not locate this exact mower from my local Home Depot or their website, so I ordered it from Mowersdirect. Of course the day after I ordered it I found the exact mower at Home Depot for $40 less, but with taxes the Mowersdirect turned out to be almost identical in price, plus it was delivered to my home (for free). ... more
Vincent Recommends This Honda Mower
Vincent's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very fast service, shipped immediately and arrived in about two days, easy to unbox and was up and running in no time with no tools required."
 more
Was this review helpful?
150
Keith L.
Oneida, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/3/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower I Ever Owned
I love this machine! Starts after one pull, like it claims. And once the battery is charged, it's a piece of cake to walk up to it, squeeze the handle, and hit the key start. You can shut it off and restart it 'til the cows come home. Mulch function is the best I've ever seen.

The bagger is quick and easy to change, and removing leaves in the fall is a pleasure. I have three huge Norway maples hanging over the house. I always dreaded fall. No longer will I fear the falling leaves. My Honda... more
Keith Recommends This Honda Mower
Keith's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct is the way to go. The price was good, and free shipping made it a sweet deal. The mower was gassed up and mowing my lawn 3 days after I ordered it. The site is easy to use. Buy this Honda, and buy it from Mowers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
110
Ronald V.
Pittsburgh, PA
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Expected More
The power drive will lift up front of mower on hills and slopes never touching the grass. Must hold down (2) handles to use. The blade engage and the paddles as well. Paddles are very uncomfortable to use after 2 plus hours of cutting. You end up holding them down with your thumbs after a while. Wife will not use it because rear drive spins on hills and will not cut in a straight line if on slopes (slides off to right). Very expensive to service and maintain. Had better success with Toro Recyle... more
Pros: Quiet, Durable, Paddles A Pain
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, Pricy And Will Not Work On Slopes Or Hill Sides
Ronald Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
177
Marie R.
Northfield, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/30/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Injury
My husband had shoulder surgery requiring a long recovery and rehab. Insisted on mowing his own lawn. Found a lawn mower with electric start as he could no longer struggle with pulling a cord. He loves the way it starts and cuts the grass. Makes it so much easier to use then our old lawn mower.
Marie Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
81
Robert S.
Newhall, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 1/12/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Was Time For An Electric Start Mower
The new Honda Electric Start Mower is fantastic! I have been mowing the same lawn for over 30 years, and it was time for an Electric Start, just turn the key.

This mower works great, plenty of power, I wish I had bought it years ago.
Robert Recommends This Honda Mower
Robert's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick and easy purchase, shipped and received in days, mowing the lawn in minutes."
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Richard C.
Spokane, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/30/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Mower
Like most old people, I bought this mower for the electric start and the self propulsion features. I then discovered that the mulching was better than I've ever experienced.

The speed control is a bit tricky and sensitive I would have preferred a rigid control. All in all, I'm quite pleased and definitely recommend this mower.
Pros: Price, Light Weight, Easy To Store, Wonderful Mulched
Cons: Touchy Speed Control
Richard Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Harry W.
Jackson, WY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/22/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Honda Mower
Easy to assemble. Quality good. Easy start. Problem at 6000 feet elevation. Need high altitude main jet. After market sale support from Honda is poor. I contacted several dealers in my region and cannot get the required high altitude main jet stated in the owners manual. So I wonder about customer service in the future when there is a required maintenance issue or a serious problem.
Harry Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Terrence W.
Deer Lodge, MT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/25/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Side Up?
The mower works great. The 160 cc motor will bog down if the grass is too long, but if you're mulching, as I usually do, you don't want it too long anyway.

Whoever the shipper was must not have known what "This side up" meant, because the mower was covered in oil. It's plainly printed on the box.

I'm happy with my purchase.
Terrence Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Dwight L.
Williston, ND
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/9/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exceptional Value
My husband said they did not make an electric start mower, as that is what I wanted so I could do the mowing when he is not home. I immediately got on-line and proved him wrong!

Your site thankfully had Honda mowers, as that is all he will own. Finding what we both wanted in our price range was great, but the free shipping hooked us!
Dwight Recommends This Honda Mower
Dwight's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"We are very pleased with our mower. Honda produces great products, and we're very happy with the speedy delivery. We did refer our neighbor to your site as they were impressed with the price and free shipping!"
 more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Dwight,
We're so happy to hear we could help. Thank you for the referral, and have a great Fourth of July weekend.
Was this review helpful?
40
Moris Q.
Milford, ME
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/7/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Value
Easy to set up right out of the box. Battery all charged when I turned the key to start, and off I went. Easy to control speed, and sips gas. Used it in mulch mode and left no residual grass lines.
Pros: Features, Price, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Moris Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Claire M.
Oxford, CT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/8/15
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Quality
I have used the mower once and it seems very nice, just waiting for the grass to start growing. The mower started on the first try and setup was a breeze.
Claire Recommends This Honda Mower
Claire's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipping Department was excellent as I decided to make a last minute change in shipping addresses and everyone at mower's direct was very accommodating."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Phyllis E.
Oklahoma City, OK
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/30/15
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda Hrr216vla (21")
Excellent lawn mower. It fires right up. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a lawn mower.
Phyllis Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
62
Barbara F.
Atlanta, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/17/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best
I finally decided it was time to invest in a mower. My husband and I have been very pleased. It's easy to operate and does its job!!!
Barbara Recommends This Honda Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Wilson H.
Sumter, SC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/19/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Start
The battery arrived already charged, and the mower starts immediately on every attempt. The variable speed took a little getting used to. The first time I used the mower, I accidentally sped up several times, causing the front wheels to come off the ground which raises the blade. I had to back up and mow that spot again.

By the end of the second use, I learned to maintain the desired speed and have had no problems since. I have had several self-propelled mowers and all previous ones... more
Wilson Recommends This Honda Mower
Wilson's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mower was delivered to my driveway 3 days after ordering. 20 minutes later, I was mowing."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Alan M.
Emerald Isle, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/29/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
It's Ok
This mower doesn't like to start on the first turn of the key. Concerned about a low charge on the battery, tried to buy a charger online and the part numbers don't match my model. Now the shipper wants me to pay return postage and a 25% restocking fee for something that isn't my fault . It's Honda's.
Alan Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
44
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials