Your Cart @ Mowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

GreenWorks 27022 Electric Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Shipping$149.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$149.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
GreenWorks 27022 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (9)
Price (8)
Light Weight (8)
Exceeded Expectations (6)
Quiet (5)
Cons
Bad Instructions (3)
Durability (1)
Lawn Needs To Be Very Le... (1)
Dealing With The Wire (1)
Unreliable (1)
93% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
47 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Mower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
91 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12440 Helpful Votes
Mowers Direct Recommended

A lot of people think electric lawn dethatchers are nothing more than toys, but if you have a small to medium size (1/4 acre of less) yard, and you like to keep it looking lush and green all year, the Greenworks 27022 electric dethatcher is just the ticket.

The 10-amp electric motor on the Greenworks 27022 will require a 14-gauge, 100-foot outdoor extension cord (use a 12-gauge cord if you need to use more than 100 feet of cord) to power the unit, but this motor produces surprising power and... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
313
Joanne R.
Virginia Beach, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/16/14
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Must To Purchase
I was one of those folks that had used the manual de-thatcher rake and also the one that should have been on an Aleve commercial. I think every part of me was aching.

I watched the videos on your website. With the guarantee that was given, I felt I couldn't afford not to give it a try. I had a lot of moss in one area which made grass unable to grow in my front yard. I de-thatched the whole front yard...aerated, and seeded 3 weeks ago. The attached photo is where the moss was and how that... more
View Image
Joanne Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Joanne,
We're so happy to hear that it's worked out this well for you. Glad to hear your puppy likes the soft grass!
more
Was this review helpful?
41
Keith F.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/24/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked Exactly As Advertised.
This dethatcher worked very well without any glitches. I would recommend this product to anyone wishing to maintain their residential lawn without the expense and hassle of renting a dethatcher to do the job.
Keith Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas B.
Richmond, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/30/16
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pleasantly Surprised
This thing looks cheap and works like a charm.
Thomas Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Eric
Raynham, MA
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Thing Really Works
I have a .48 acre lot. I couldn't believe it, this thing really works. No joke.

I used a 100 ft. cord and had no problems. Don't go smaller on the cord, 10 amp motor. Use 12 or 10 gauge extension cord. I believe 12 gauge at 100 ft. has a 5% drop in voltage and 10 gauge is about 2%. If you go smaller the motor could work too hard and overheat.

At no time when I ran the dethatcher did I feel I was straining the motor. The metal tines held up to twigs, acorns, and two sprinkler... more
Was this review helpful?
231
Delbert W. E.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/7/12
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
29
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Surprise
GreenWorks (14") 10-Amp Electric Dethatcher:

I worried over searching and purchasing a Lawn Dethatcher mainly for locating one that was not highly expensive but also one that could handle the job. When mine arrived I really worried then. How was this little “toy” going to do the job to my lawn which I was about to call on it to do.

SURPRISE … I was super relieved and extremely happy with the finished results and am happy to add it to my shed of Garden and Lawn Tools. The... more
Was this review helpful?
203
Chet
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/13/12
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This Dethatcher
I only used it once so far, but I'm really impressed. It pulled so much thatch from my lawn I couldn't believe it.

The thatcher worked fine. It did just as good a job the machines I used to rent. And with a four year warranty, it will pay for itself in no time.

I'm also impressed with dealing with Mowers Direct- I would not hesitate to purchase from then again.
Was this review helpful?
151
Dennis F.
Grand Junction, CO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/1/13
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth Every Penny
Works better then I even thought possible. I've used dethatcher's costing 20x more and they didn't work any better!
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Dennis Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
141
Kirk
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/1/12
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does Its Job
It may not be the best dethatcher on the planet but for 1/10th the price it's the best buy you can make.

I actually used it in mid-summer on my backyard while it was brown and cut on the 2nd lowest setting my mower will go. 3 weeks and some rain and my back yard is green again and growing like crazy. My yard hadn't been dethatched in probably 8 years.
Was this review helpful?
131
Thomas B.
West Orange, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/2/13
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Back Saver
Finished my yard in one hour what would have taken at least two days by hand...... Highly recommend have to see now if they have an electric aerator too.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, Light Weight
Thomas Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
122
Dan B.
Round Rock, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/19/11
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Beast
My wife and I purchased our home approx 8 years ago. With each passing year, due to drought conditions, deep shade, poor prior maintenance, the yard went from being simply sad to very poor.
In an attempt to provide a good base for an overseeding, I purchased the unit and set about dethatching the yard.
The machine is very easy to use, deceptively powerful and did not hesitate at any of the conditions it encountered.
The unit is extremely easy to adjust for height, easy to control, and (as... more
Was this review helpful?
111
Joseph A.
Milford, CT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/11/13
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lawn Dethach
For an electric tool, works as good as a gas model on my lawn. Very light weight and easy to use.
Was this review helpful?
101
Roberta G.
Birmingham, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/20/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Bad Directions. Need To Have Step 1, 2, 3, Etc.
Step 1 Slide cord holder in position as illustrated. I had to dismantle the whole thing to but it is on.

Warning not to push machine on concrete. Well, how do I get it in my garage? A note about tilting it back and rolling on the small wheels in the BACK would be helpful.

Need tips on how to make U-turns while machine is running. Note about tilting it back on small wheels to turn corners or U-turns would be helpful.

Sometimes the thatch would jam up, and then come out in a big... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bad Instructions, Delivered To Wrong Address, Need To Use Trail Not Tr In Address
Roberta Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
124
Thomas L.
Yreka, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/19/15
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fooled Me
For $139.00, I was a little skeptical. Took me about an hour to assemble it. First thing in the morning I tried it out. Dropped my mower to it lowest setting and cut the grass. Now comes the truth. I went one direction on the lawn then raked it up and went the other direction. Very satisfied. Used the mower one more time to pick up the loose grass. This dethatcher exceeded my expectations. I now call it my personal power rake.
Pros: Price, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None
Thomas Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Robert B.
Los Gatos, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/22/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Greenworks Electric Dethatcher
I have been using the Greenworks Electric Dethatcher to dethatch and overseed my lawn for several weeks now and it's an amazing piece of equipment.

My yard is large so I have been doing it in stages so that I can properly dispose all of the thatch. I used a 100 foot 14 gauge extension cord and the highest of the three depth settings and I am very satisfied with the results.
Robert Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Stan S.
Russellville, AR
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Do Not Use On Bermuda Grass!
I bought this unit thinking that my thatch issues could be resolved easily (similar to vacuuming the house basically was my thoughts). I began running the unit across my back yard like a vacuum cleaner and watched the material pulling out in front of the machine. To my horror, I was watching nearly all the grass from my yard being excavated along with a thin layer of topsoil.

I stopped and checked to be sure it was set properly, thinking that I made it too "deep" to work... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Bad Instructions, Misleading As To Function, Sucked The Grass Out Of My Bermuda Lawn
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Stan,
We're sorry to hear it tore out your Bermuda grass. Thank you for sharing your experience so others can learn from it.
more
Stan's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Wonderful transaction! No issues what-so-ever! MD really met all expectations and then some!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Ken W.
San Angelo, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/15/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Use
I was worried because of my age 72, that it would be difficult to use. But I enjoy a challenge, so I plugged it in and went to work. It pretty much does all the work for you, it goes fairly fast, so you must slow it down by resisting its forward motion. It was so easy that unlike cutting my yard that took three rest periods, I was done in a fairly short period of time and had no need to take a rest. The slower you resist the forward motion the more thatch it produces. I went over my lawn... more
Ken Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Stephen A.
Methuen, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/14/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What A Machine!!! Awesome
I noticed my lawn was sprouting mushrooms on the shaded part of the lawn last fall. I discussed with several people who all asked: "When did you thatch last?" ...well in the 12 years here at home, I never knew the importance of thatching!!

The GreenWorks 10-Amp machine was JUST WHAT THE LAWN NEEDED!! I was impressed with the amount of thatch the machine pulled-up (without damaging any of the 'green' blades!)

THANK YOU P.E.D - Great pricing and fast delivery.
Stephen Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Stephen's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"P.E.D.: GREAT JOB ALL AROUND!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Doug J.
Poulsbo, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/6/15
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Worked Well, Then Stopped
For the first few days I ran this machine, it worked great. Then on about the 4th day, I had stopped it to rake up the moss and when I went back to start it again, it would not turn on. I checked the cords and the plug and looked underneath for a jam, but nothing was wrong.

The circuit breaker had not clicked out although I did try pushing it. It was not over used or overheated that day. I tried starting it again a few days later in a different plug with the same result. I had to finish the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Price, Quiet
Cons: Unreliable, Durability, Lawn Needs To Be Very Level In Order To Work Well
Was this review helpful?
40
Mary H.
San Manuel, AZ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 12/24/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Perfect Find
What a terrific little machine. Usually I must make a 30 mile trip into town to rent a dethatcher, find someone to help me off load and again to reload, and then make that same trip back to town before closing. This little green machine did a superbly better job than the commercial one I rented. For the price, it paid for itself the first time I used it. Now it hangs in the garden shed waiting for "next time." No more hurried trips to town or arranging for help. And I am saving the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Mary Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
40
John I.
Ardmore, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/1/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Deal
The Electric Dethatcher arrived in good time and worked great. The first setting was just enough for my lawn. I took my time and the dethatcher did not strain or get bogged-down. Upon completion, I disassembled, repacked and stored the dethatcher in my attic.

My day of dethatching went well, a great walk while getting a chore done and listening to good music.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store
John Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
73
Rick
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/12/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome!
This thing worked great!. my lot size is 50 x 150... so I'm able to do a little area at a time...I had it set on med. and it worked better than I thought it would! I used to rent the big ones and all they did was tear my yard up bad.

This I would recommend 100%! Motor did not slow down at all. Just remember it's only 14" wide path so it will take a little time. walk in a slow walk when doing it. Awesome!
Rick Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Alexia C.
North Bellmore, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/7/15
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Completely Satisfied...buy One Today!
I based my decision to purchase the GreenWorks Electric Dethatcher on consumer reviews, and now I encourage you to join the family of satisfied customers. Lightweight, easy to assemble and operate, and did a fabulous job!!

It removed only the dead grass without damaging the remaining turf. It has already been used by me and two other family members because I just couldn't stop talking about it! Buy one TODAY!
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, Quiet, Easy To Store
Alexia Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Alexia's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I highly recommend PED to anyone looking for impeccable service, quality products, and an overall excellent buying experience!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Maryann B.
Fair Oaks, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/12/15
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Electric Dethatcher
I have St. Augustine grass. After a hard winter, I needed to thin out the dead grass. My GreenWorks Dethatcher did a great job!
Maryann Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Maryann,
We're glad to hear you're happy with it. Feel free to come back and post another follow-up review with a picture of your lawn looking great! We'd love to see it. Best wishes, and thank you for writing a review.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Chris
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/22/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
Just used my unit for the 2nd time this year and I am very pleased with its operation. It's also very handy for raking out large areas of moss (just use the lowest setting).

The only negative so far is that the height adjustment knobs pop off sometimes when you try to make a height adjustment. Other than that you can't beat it for the price.
Chris Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Gail Scharmach
Lancaster, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/3/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dethatcher
I like it. It does a pretty good job and is realtively easy to use.
Gail Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
30
James D.
Ashland City, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/31/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing Machine
I was astonished with the amount of thatch that was there. The machine worked perfectly. To say that I am satisfied would be an understatement. It is worth every nickel it cost.
James Recommends This GreenWorks Product
James's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This is a company that you will use more than once, I guarantee it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Paul
Massapequa, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/20/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Experience
Recently purchased a GreenWorks electric dethatcher from Mowers Direct. Great people - fast shipping. Product is great, works like a charm, cleaned out all dead grass on my lawn. Will pay for itself in spring cleanups. Thanks.
Paul Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Anita T.
Lexington, SC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/9/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Greenworks Dethatcher
For $140.00, I don't think you can find a better bargain for a small yard. It works great and the motor is extremely quiet and smooth, giving me the indication that it is a quality motor
Anita Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Travis D.
Lancaster, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/10/15
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Quality And Well Built.
I have always been hesitant of electric lawn equipment. This machine is easy to operate, easy to clean, and does not disappoint!
Travis Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Travis's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast response and faster shipping. Very impressive selection. You have a new life-long customer."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
William
Minoa, NY
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not Sure About My Purchase
When I received my order, I put it together as instructed. I plugged it in and it didn't work. I called customer service, and they told me to get in touch with GreenWorks. I called them and they gave me instructions where I could take it to have it looked at.
Right now I am still waiting to hear from the people looking at it. They told me it could take awhile if GreenWorks has to send a part or parts to fix it.
Was this review helpful?
1210
Linda H.
Hampstead, NH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/12/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Like It
This dethatcher is easier to handle and sturdier than the Sears that broke completely apart after two seasons.
Linda Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Anthony O.
Commack, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/13/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
No Raking
Except for a missing screw, it works great. Landscaper charges what this cost me. Lawn looks great and my arms don't hurt from raking dead grass from lawn.
Anthony Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
10
William S.
West Hartford, CT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/18/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far So Good
I've only used it once so far, but it works well, I can echo other reviews. Easy to put together, the cord is a pain, but it leaves a good swath of thatch.

I won't know how reliable and long lasting it is till I've had it a year or two.
William Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Paul E.
Fishers, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/18/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Greenworks Dethatcher
A Great little machine. Does the trick!
Paul Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Bobby J.
Worcester, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/18/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Worked As Advertised!
Great prices, easy setup and easy to use. Works great on my small yard. Early results look good as it really cleared the thatch in my yard. Happy with the purchase.
Bobby Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Steve P
Valdosta, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/11/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
My yard was thick in thatch and I was a little skeptical about this machine. I mowed the lawn very low to give the machine a chance to pull the stuff out easier. I went over it 3 times with the machine because I had so much and it kept pulling more up. I noticed it also got up the small weeds.

I really worked up the yard in a few places and scalped it but after two weeks it was well worth it. The grass looks great and there are very few small manageable weeds in it. It was also nice to get... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Dealing With The Wire
Steve Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Thomas J.
East Meadow, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/29/15
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Review About Greenworks(14") 10-amp Ele.dethatcher
Rear wheels are so small so it is very difficult to roll. The handle bar is just pushed in a whole, no screw or nut so it comes up when it lifts up. The tines or hooks are very small and tiny/delicate and not enough strength to go through the grass/soil. The depth adjustment device is also very hard to do. This machine is not at all good to do the job just waste of money. If anybody wants to buy it, please review the return policy before buying it.
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Thomas,
We are sorry you had such a negative experience with the dethatcher from Greenworks. It could be possible there is an issue with this unit. Typically feedback is pretty positive on this machine. Please give us a call and we would be happy to trouble shoot any issues you are having. It can struggle from time to time on thicker grasses, but overall it is a pretty good machine.

800-710-7499
more
Thomas's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I couldn't even finish one day job with this machine and wanted to return but didn't return as I will loose more than half the price."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Stephen W.
Franklinville, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/4/15
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Like A Champ
Half acre lawn, cleaned up ten years of thatch. Be sure to get a good quality extension cord
Stephen Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Charles P.
River Edge, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/3/15
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Dethatcher
Was very surprised on how well this dethatcher worked. I had a lot of dead grass caused by a severe winter. After several passes over an area of about 2500 square feet, it did very well and did not overheat while I was using it. For the money, I will be using it again and I'm sure I will have the same good results.
Charles Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard K.
Staten Island, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/2/15
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Does A Good Job.
My grass was heavily thatched. The Greenworks dethatcher has cleaned up most of the thatch.

I had to use it twice, followed by a lawn mower to collect the thatch.

Much easier than using a thatching rake, and it does a better job.
Richard Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas D.
Gardendale, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/27/15
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked Great
Decided to try this on heavy thatch in my zoysia yard. No problems at all with this on 8,000 sq ft. Used heavy guage long extension cord and ran it constantly without issue. Lightweight, easy to use, and it works.
Thomas Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Greg
Allendale, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/11/15
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value
Figured I would give the unit a try. I have a small yard, 10,000 sq ft. It's light weight, easy to use, and it removes mainly the thatch left from a long hard winter.

Used it early spring. Not sure if I would use it any later in the season. Inexpensive, efficient, works well. If it lasts 2 seasons, I'll be really happy. I'm sure it will.
Greg Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bruce G.
Waco, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/23/15
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Glad I Bought This!
We have St. Augustine grass and a pretty solid layer of thatch had developed on our Texas lawn. After reading mostly positive reviews, I decided to gamble and buy this dethatcher, and I was not disappointed. Does it do as good a job as a gas mower with a dethatcher blade? No. But it's pretty good if you have a yard that's not huge, and you don't want your lawn to look like an explosion in a mattress factory.

The two keys I discovered where to not walk fast, which allows the thatcher to... more
Bruce Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin S.
Medford, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/19/15
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works For Me.
Assembly instructions not very detailed, but it's simple enough that you can put it together using the picture. I used it for about 20 minutes straight and never popped the overload. As with all electrical yard equipment, you have to keep aware of where your extension cord is laying.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Quiet, Easy To Store
Cons: Bad Instructions
Kevin Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ramon
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/19/15
REVIEWED
APR.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Work Smarter, Not Harder
Purchased the greenworks electric dethatcher after manually dethatching for a couple of days. Grass was matted down from the weight of the winter's snow.

Unless you're into getting a cheap workout, dethatching manually was a waste of time compared to the greenworks. The greenworks was faster and worked a lot better. Great purchase, especially for the price.
Ramon Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Ramon's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered the greenworks detatcher online. Purchased on Friday morning. Delivered at my door by Monday."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Reed L.
Ogden, UT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/9/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
I have been very satisfied with this dethatcher. It sure beats raking it by hand.
Reed Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Reed's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The dethatcher arrived in five days. It works very well."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials