Search
< Back to Product

Great States 204-14 Reel Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Shipping$79.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$79.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$79.99
(as of 06:07 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$107.22
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Great States 204-14 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Price (22)
Easy To Use (18)
Quiet (14)
Light Weight (12)
I'd Buy It Again (8)
Cons
Aluminum Handle Is A Bit... (1)
Difficult To Use (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
Doesn't Always Cut Those... (1)
Not For Edges (1)
94% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
56 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Mower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
91 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12618 Helpful Votes
Mowers Direct Recommended

The Great States 204-14 reel mower will not only make your lawn look great. It will also save you time and money in maintenance and up-keep.

The Great States 204-14 is great for just about any North American grass type including Bermuda. It offers three different height settings - up to 1.75" - and allows the user to mow high or short grass with relative ease. The only downside to this mower is it is not recommended for cutting Zoysia, but not many reel mowers are!

If you are... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
9820
Mark C.
Junction City, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/8/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Mower
great if you have leveled yard tested it on my weedy uneven yard still did a good job had to go over it a couple times my problem was weeds cut all the grass with no problems you must pick up all sticks and stuff it will stop the blades from turning.

tested it on my friend's yard, which is in great shape, and worked great with no problems. Now I'm in the process of squaring away my yard. The mower is easy to clean and store. I give this a five star. Great for the price.
Mark Recommends This Great States Mower
Mark's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great all around"
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Andrew
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/25/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Slow Shipping
Ordered on Wednesday. Shipped following Tuesday.
Andrew Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
04
Robin Q.
Austin, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/10/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best $100 Bucks I've Spent In A Long While!
I love everything about this mower! Lets me spend time outside, great exercise, beautiful design and efficient cutting mechanism, and most of all, it's fun for all those silly, do-it-yourself gardener/landscaper types.
Robin Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Marilyn D.
Montgomery, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/11/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Choice
I used my mower for the first time yesterday and was very pleased with the results. It was easy to assemble and easy to use. With my small yard, it's just what I needed.
Marilyn Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert B.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/4/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Mower
My landlord doesn't cut the lawn as often as I would like and the grass tends to get 6 or more inches high before he cuts. I decided to buy a mower I could use between mowings that would also be eco-friendly and easy to store. This mower has given me piece of mind my lawn has never looked better. This is a fun and quiet experience mowing the lawn.
Pros: Price, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store
Cons: Does Trim Tight Around Trees, Doesn't Cut Longer
Robert Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
21
Sandra T.
Wilmington, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/18/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great States (14") 4-blade Push Reel Lawn Mower
I love this mower. Very easy to mow except in little dips in the yard.
Sandra Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Erica H.
Ernest, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/10/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I bought this mower for our lot which measures 50 x 50. we have almost no front yard, and two narrow strips of grass along the side of the house. Otherwise I have landscaped the yard with a lot of shrubs and small trees, and this mower does a great job on it. The back yard is on a slight grade and uneven in spots due to the fact that we live in the mountains and the lot is old and uneven.

That being said, this mower does a great job for the price. I cannot believe how good our lawn looks... more
Erica Recommends This Great States Mower
Erica's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I called because I was not sure how to put the mower together and the people were so nice.....and the cost of a mower is a fraction of what it would be at Lowes or WalMart."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Jennifer B.
Downingtown, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/10/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
My kids think I'm crazy but it cuts the grass much better than the motorized mower. Only issue is the fact that my lawn is terribly rutty. I pulled every weed and crabgrass from the lawn last fall which left bare spots and divots. It does not do well with ruts. I plan to topsoil and seed at the end of the summer and expect to see a change next spring. I still love it! Great exercise and very fulfilling when finished.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Does Not Do Well On Lawns With Ruts
Jennifer Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Christopher M.
Vancouver, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/27/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
We live in a duplex with a decent sized yard and this mower works just fine!
Christopher Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
12
Isabella F.
Newberg, OR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/16/16
REVIEWED
APR.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
If you like doing things simply and doing them well this is a great purchase for you! I have a small lawn and didn't want a giant gas or electric powered mower to deal with. Also, feel compelled to make purchasing choices that are best for the environment (and my physique!)
Isabella Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
35
Philip R.
Portland, OR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/24/16
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
The Great States 14" 4-blade push mower is a great mower. It's light, sturdy, easy to push, and cuts great. Amazing for the price.
Philip Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
03
Daniel C.
Darien, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/1/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Don't Waste Your Time And Money
I purchased this solely based on previous revues. Long story short, it takes a lot of energy because you have to go over one area several times as its cut isn't consistent. Use your lawnmower and you'll be much happier.
Was this review helpful?
16
John K.
El Paso, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/6/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Reel Mower For A Small Sized Yard
I have a small lawn in my backyard to provide some green and more importantly some comfort to Mr. Al Capone, my 1 year old English Bulldog.

I have someone mow/clean the yard twice a month and was looking for a way to do the lawn on the off weeks that wouldn't involve a gas or electric mower. I found Mower's Direct via Google and liked the rating system provided to the mowers. The Great States 14 looked like just what I needed.

Purchase was easy and shipping was super fast. Assembly of... more
View Image
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Quiet, Reliable
John Recommends This Great States Mower
John Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Found Mower's Direct on Google. Really liked the rating system of the products and the prices. Oh, and the free shipping and not taxes too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
328
Katie
Northampton, MA
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic
Tore right through 8 inch grass. Pushes easily. Charged up and down the lawn full speed with grass cuttings flying everywhere. Assembled in 10 mins without tools, and I am not a mechanic or anything, just a regular person.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight
Katie Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
272
France B.
Chandler, AZ
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Chinese Junk!
Another plastic piece of junk! Lasted 4 months. Parts (plastic) that should be made of strong durable metal break off, rendering this mower useless!
Just another piece of junk made in China!
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability
Was this review helpful?
265
Lisa
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than I Expected!
With a yard the size of a postage stamp, I just couldn't justify the cost of a powered mower. I am very happy with how easy it is to use.

Also, it came already sharp and ready to go. A friend of mine got a different brand from a local department store that needed to be sharpened before he could use it. This one worked right out of the box.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Quiet, Light Weight, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Can Be Hard To Use When The Grass Gets Too Long, Sticks In The Grass Jam The Blade
Lisa Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
182
George
Etters, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/17/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Old School Reel Mower
Very light weight and easy to push. Cuts well on uneven ground. It is used for a small area and does the job in less than 1/2 hour. Reminds me of mowing when I was young.
Was this review helpful?
151
Veronica I.
Longport, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/14/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Lawn Mower
Easy to assemble and use. Very happy with purchase.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Veronica Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
121
Amy Lecker
Greenville, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/7/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bought For Daughter
Bought the 'self' propelled lawnmower for our daughter to use on her small city lot. Works wonderfully! Takes her only 20 minutes and no gas! Easy to assemble and adjust the height of cut. Very smooth to use and the cut is great! Would definitely buy this mower again! Thanks for such a great product at a great price!
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, High Quality
Amy Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
101
Claudette M.
Scottsdale, AZ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/16/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love The Mower!
I have a very small yard and my gas mower needed expensive service each year. I'm so glad to replace it with this mower. I don't have to worry about noise bothering my neighbors, storing gasoline, etc. I'd definitely recommend it to someone with a smaller lawn.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Claudette Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
101
Paula H.
Weatherly, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/28/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Wife's Mower
She loves it.. While the majority of our lawn is done with a riding mower there are some areas that need to be handled with a trimmer. Of course my trimmer is too big for her and her trimmer is to short to reach. This mower solves that problem for her. She remembers using these when she was growing up! It isn't your gas powered mower but it works the same as those from years ago and gets the job done just fine! She even put it together!
Was this review helpful?
101
Valerie B.
Lithia Springs, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/25/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Can't Be Beaten For The Price!
Bought this to tend the area nearest my chicken coop and gardens between full yard mowings. My yard is *not* manicured, a variety of plants clovers, wild strawberries, violets, chickweed, dandelions, etc. This mows it all, only having trouble (as predicted based on other reviewers) on slopes (going downhill is easier!) and taller plants, and errant twigs hidden in the grass. Hoping the going gets easier as I clean the area up over repeated clippings.

Thanks to those who have reviewed... more
Pros: Price, Quiet, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Best On Level Low Plants
Valerie Recommends This Great States Mower
Valerie Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping. No fuss, no muss!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
91
Lenora
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/21/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Top Rated Mower
The mower is extremely easy to use. No gas to buy and no noise to compete. It is excellent exercise and fine quality but not a high price. The light weight makes it easy to maneuver, even for we retired elderly couples!
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Features, Price, Quiet, Eco Friendly
Lenora Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
91
Theresa R.
Slovan, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/5/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I purchased an 18 inch push mower that was too heavy. I returned it in exchange for the 14 inch size. I'm very pleased with my choice. It's light weight and easy to use in hard to reach areas. And is excellent for shredding leaves. Your service and return policy are great too.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Quiet, Easy To Store
Theresa Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
81
Ramona D.
Palmyra, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/11/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Narrow Grass Path Between Flowers And Fence Is Not A Problem.
I live in a retirement community that has garden plots for anyone who cares to garden. My plot is the last before a grass path and the exterior fence. I planted flowers along the fence row and now the path is too narrow for the community power mowers to mow the grass path.
The mower I purchased does a great job with little effort. It is easy for this 73 year old grandmother to push. I love mowing and keeping the path neat and trim.
Thanks so much for a quality push mower at a... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I Am Short And The Size Of The Mower Is Perfect For Me
Ramona Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
61
Kathy
Douglass, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/5/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Mower
I got this mower to use on my "fishing plaza" on a 3 acre pond at my farm..the plaza is about 40ft x40 ft..not big but mixed grasses and I use that term loosely..it handles everything from Bermuda to Bahia..plus other nasty weeds..kept short they all "look" like grass. It does require some extra passes over the really tough stuff..the terrain is NOT flat..so it will hang up on ridges..but not that bad..considering what I'm asking of this mower I would buy it again..I'm 70... more
Was this review helpful?
61
Robert P.
Auburn, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/21/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Liked it so much, gave it to my daughter as a birthday gift and bought next model up.
Robert Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
84
David G.
Monroe, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/25/15
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect For Wife's Need
After downsizing to a new home, my wife has created a small garden area with small grass paths. My electric mower throws unwanted clippings into garden mulch. This 14 inch reel mower works just perfectly without grass debris going where it is not wanted.
David Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
51
Bruna V.
Fort Collins, CO
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
A Lot Of Work For A Small Yard!
I used a reel mower for the very first time. I spent a lot of time trying to mow my small front yard. I am a female user, 5'2'', and small built. I ended up with a back pain from trying to get this thing to move, I used short strokes instead. I am not sure if my grass was too tall or what (3''). It is not possible to adjust the height, I tried. I changed the height of the black bar because it was too low which made it even more difficult. I don't like using this thing!
Pros: Price, Quiet
Cons: Difficult To Use
Was this review helpful?
51
Norma W.
Atlanta, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/1/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
14" Push Reel Lawn Mower
I needed a small push mower that did not require using gasoline to cut the grass in a small area of my backyard. I surfed the web and selected Great States Model 205-14. I have a lawn service for the front yard, however, and would have had to pay additional funds for the service to cut this small area in my back yard. I said I could do this myself and decided to purchase a small push mower.

I'm very satisfied with the 14" push reel lawn mower. I even assembled it myself and was able... more
Norma Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
85
Roxy
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/11/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Mower For Small Yard And Novice Mower
Honestly I have not mowed a lawn in my life. My friend quickly put the mower together and I mowed my little back yard. It was a lot easier than I imagined it could ever be. It is light weight and easy to store. I highly recommend this for anyone with a small yard.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations
Roxy Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
41
Katy B.
Pelzer, SC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/14/14
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love Love This Mower
I bought this mower to use in my dog pen so I would not have to get the big gas mower in and out of the gate and let dogs out. I love the way it mows and it is perfect for the area. I can carry it back up the steps and onto the back porch after each use.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Aluminum Handle Is A Bit Rickety
Katy Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
Charlie S.
Newton, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/27/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower, Not So Good Instructions
The mower works great. Quiet, folds up nicely, even does tall grass, although you have to go over it a couple of times. My only complaint is that the instructions say to put the handle together first and then put that into the case. Nope not even Atlas could do that. Put the bottom of the handle in first, then put the handle together. Or maybe I just got one that was stiff. I don't know. I just know that I put the handle together, tried to put it where it belonged, took the handle apart in... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Bad Instructions
Charlie Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
Anthony Z.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/10/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Like It
Mower came with a broken part, which was sent out for free with one call. That confirmed, like It.
Anthony Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
65
Brenda R.
Santa Clara, UT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/6/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Thank you for the mower. It works great. It is narrow enough to go between my tree and a wall. I have just a small space to mow and this is just perfect. It's not too hard to push and it cuts very well.
Brenda Recommends This Great States Mower
Brenda's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It is working great. I received it in the mail very quickly. Great price."
 more
Was this review helpful?
43
Henriette
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/25/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Operate.
This is the first reel mower I have ever used. The assembly was very easy. This mower cuts grass beautifully. It takes little effort to push. It does not need gas nor an electrical plug. I am a 50 year old female who is very pleased with my new mower and my lawn looks great.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Henriette Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
21
Eric K.
Elverson, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/20/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mighty Midget
Good for spot mowing, e.g small back yard.
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, Sharp Blade Cuts Well
Eric Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
21
Betty B.
Erie, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/20/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Small Yard
This Works Perfectly For My Small Yard...and Once I Get Rid of the Weeds in My Yard It Will Work Even Better. Love It!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Quiet
Cons: Doesn't Always Cut Those Pesky Weeds On The First Pass
Betty Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
21
Saman
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/19/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ok Overall For The Price
I have a small backyard and the grass was not cut since last September. So I found cutting high grass really difficult with this mower, but possible. I have to move it back and forward quite a few times to cut high grass.
Otherwise cutting low grass is easy. It is not possible to cut the edges with this mower either.
Saman Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
32
David B.
Hazleton, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/14/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great!!!
This mower starts every time and is quiet. (GREEN) It dosn't stress out the grass like power mowers do. This is my 2nd one in the past 15 years. When recieved my mower the roller brackets got broke thru the mail. Mowers Direct sent out new ones right away. I really like how this mower cuts.
Was this review helpful?
21
Annette B.
Milwaukee, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/1/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Push Mower
Great mower, no gas, but great cut every time.
Annette Recommends This Great States Mower
Annette's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Jeanette G.
Goldsboro, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/23/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great!
Love my little lawn mower. It's just what I was looking for.

I would definitely buy from them again.
Jeanette Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Liz
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/5/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
I'm helping the environment while I get some exercise. Light weight. Works great for my small yard.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight
Liz Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
French W.
Arlington, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/25/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great For Small Area Lawns
Cuts smoothly and a nice sharp cut on grass. Lightweight and perfect size. Only suggestion would be to give a WD40 spray to the working parts to make it work smoothly. Keeping it clean after cutting also makes it work at its best.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, Durable
French Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Lyla H.
Austin, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/23/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
First Time User
I used it one time since I got it, it does the job. I do not have to wait for someone else to mow, I do it my self. Very happy.
Pros: Price, Quiet, Reliable
Lyla Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
George B.
Falmouth, ME
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/14/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Simple and useful.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Simple
Cons: None
George Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Kathleen P.
Green Bay, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/29/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect For The Job!
I sodded my small back yard a couple of months ago and when the time came to cut the grass, I was concerned that my big self-propelled power mower would be too heavy for the new, soft turf. Not wanting to see the new sod torn up, I ordered the Great States 14" push reel lawn mower. It arrived very quickly and turned out to be exactly what I needed. I'm very impressed by how solid and well-built it is. It cut the new sod beautifully and gently, just as I hoped. It's so much fun to... more
Pros: Price, Durable, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Kathleen Recommends This Great States Mower
Kathleen Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I'm so happy I found Mowers Direct online. I hadn't used a push reel mower since I was a kid and didn't know if they were even available these days. When I scanned Mowers Direct and found the Great States 14" push reel lawn mower at such an affordable price and with free shipping to boot, I was elated! Your service was great. The mower arrived at my house very quickly and I've been enjoying it ever since. Mowers Direct is Number One in my book!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
33
Kate R.
San Jose, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/7/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
06
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast & Easy
Assembling this mower was a breeze and using it proved to be equally rewarding.

It is lightweight and easy to maneuver. In my yard filled with circular tree spaces, this mower is exactly what I was hoping for.

Great product, great price, great service.
Was this review helpful?
11
Robert B.
Tucson, AZ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/17/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Over A Good Product
Little stiff first few cuts but working good after on st augustine. The only downfall is that its design doesn't allow for cutting the edges close, so I need to go back with snippers but otherwise it does the job for small area.
Pros: Price, Light Weight
Cons: Not For Edges
Robert Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
23
David R.
Pontiac, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/26/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exactly What I Wanted
I bought the reel mower because there is barely any maintenance and I need the exercise. It had no problem tackling the knee high jungle in my front yard. My only complaint is that it sounds like a toy.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store, Fast
David Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
12
Dan
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 1/25/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Job
My 14'' mower does the job. I am glad I found it on your web site.
Was this review helpful?
12
Christon
Albany, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/3/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Lawn Mower
I love my new mower
Was this review helpful?
12
Dennis Brown
St. Helena, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 1/13/10
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fine Mower
The mower is truly great as is the service!
Was this review helpful?
12
Ronald S.
Middlebury Center, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/25/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Grass-new Mower
We planted several sq. ft. of new grass when we had a new concrete driveway installed. Because we had put in new top soil to grade, I wanted a light-weight mower to keep the new grass mowed, The Great States 14" fulfilled the job easily.

It's light, but sharp and easy to push. I won't need this mower after this growing season, but my grandson is now buying a house with a two-terrace bank which requires cutting with a mower like this. This is his first house-warming gift.
Ronald Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
13
Henry D.
Andover, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/24/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nicd
Nice light little mower.Easy to put together. Does a good job of trimming hard to get at places while using a lawn tractor
Henry Recommends This Great States Mower
Was this review helpful?
24
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials