Your Cart @ Mowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Cub Cadet 17BRCACA010 Zero Turn Lawn Mower Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Cub Cadet 17BRCACA010 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (3)
Price (3)
Durable (3)
Fast (2)
High Quality (2)
Cons
I Didn't Purchase It Soo... (1)
Gas Tank Could Be Larger (1)
Cheap Tires (1)
84% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
37 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Mower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
91 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12432 Helpful Votes
Mowers Direct Recommended

The Cub Cadet RZT L54 FAB has a rugged design and construction with a fully welded, 12-gauge steel frame for unbeatable durability. The industry's largest, widest operator station along with dual-adjustment lap bars and a high-back Cub Comfort™ seat make for the most spacious, most comfortable residential zero-turn experience.

The Cub Cadet RZT L54 FAB has dual heavy duty Hydro Gear ZT2200 hydrostatic transmissions with fan cooled 10cc pumps and 10cc wheel motors on each drive wheel. This... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
26567
Louis M.
Hialeah, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/18/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Mower
I've had this mower for about a month. It runs turns and cuts great. I did have to add engine oil after one use but that was very easy. I highly recommend this mower.
Louis Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
61
Azizi J.
Swedesboro, NJ
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
First Time Buyer
i purchased my cub cadet in May 2015 on my friends recommendation. However after less than a year I'm having problems. The lever that engages the blades doesn't work all the time and it is making loud noise in slow mode but in high mode you can hear it a little the tires are very cheap.

I paid over $3000 dollars for this mower I don't even have 40 hrs on this mower and I am very disappointed and wish I had of bought a different mower.. For this kind of money and a so-called American... more
Was this review helpful?
93
Dan M.
Brooklet, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/1/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cub Cadet 54" Zero Turn
I had never had a Cub Cadet before but had always heard good things about them. I live on over 9 acres with most of it lawn so sufficed to say I need a workhorse. I have used this mower for almost a year now and I am pleased with its performance. I have had to have the belt changed because of a stray limb getting up in to the belt area an slicing it but other than that no real concerns.
Pros: Durable, Price, Reliable, High Quality
Dan Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
62
Jim M.
Newkirk, OK
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/15/16
REVIEWED
APR.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love It.
I've used it to mow my entire yard twice. I've got 3.2 hours on it and I love it.
However, I've had flats on both front tires from very small punctures like stickers or sandburs. That aside, the worst disappointment is that I also blew out and had to replace, at a cost of $50, a back tire. It seems that the quality of the tires used is not very good.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Fast, High Quality
Cons: Cheap Tires
Jim Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
41
Michael
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/23/16
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quick Set-up
I received my Cub Cadet powered by a 24 hp Kohler engine on 4/5/2016. After un-crating my new mower it took about 15 minutes to set-up and start mowing. I can honestly say that I cut my time in half. I cut 3 acres of grass. It normally takes 3 1/2 to 4 hours to cut. I cut it in 2 hours the first time.

I was very happy with the customer service as I had a slight shipping delay. They handled the shipping problem for me and kept me informed along the way. They also removed the 50 dollar lift... more
Michael Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
41
Kevin
Mckinney, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/16/16
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mowers Direct Is Great
I was very impressed with the website as soon as I hit the landing page. There was so much information about what ever mower you had in mind. It was easy to navigate and compare different models.

After checking their prices, I was sold. The order process was simple and my mower arrived in great shape and exactly when promised. I will recommend them to everyone I can !!
Kevin Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Kevin's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great buying experience, it was everything they said it would be!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Daniel P.
East Brewtom, AL
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Mower
Bought this mower couple of months ago so far no complaints. Cuts great and plenty of power.
Daniel Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
Lauren L.
Clearbrook, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/15/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine Rzt L54 Fab
Received my RZT L54 FAB via lift gate service within the second week of ordering. No damage from freight service. Assembly went well at a little over two hours including a check on various nuts and bolts for possible assembly issues. Have now mowed my six acres three times and have shaved my mow time in half.

The only issues so far are due to a very rough ride on first mowing, I checked rear tire pressure's (recommended max @ 12 lbs.) and found them @ 28 lbs. Dropped 28 p.s.i down to 12... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Gas Tank Could Be Larger
Lauren Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Gary R.
Mount Vernon, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/6/16
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's A Beast...
I bought this little tractor to maintain the immediate acre of land around my house. It's also being used to maintain about two or three additional acres of the 22 acres I live on. Considering the size of the job, the grass, weeds and God knows what else it's having to cut, it does a great job.

I can mow areas that are as tall as the tractor itself, I just have to do it twice to get it to look the way I want it to look. I mow once on the highest setting, then drop the setting two notches... more
Gary Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Gary's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I did not care for the way this tractor was shipped. I was expecting it to be on something where it could be easily driven off the shipping container. Based on the shipping weight being 700 pounds you understand right away you are not going to throw this thing over your shoulder and carry it into the garage. I specified lift gate shipping, and the vendor (SAIA Motor Freight) was great. The driver brought it to the exact spot where I wanted it dropped, then positioned it exactly where I wanted it with his dolly. The problem was, the tractor was on the pallet in such a way that it could not be driven off after removing restraining boards etc. This little tractor was positioned where the only way it was coming off was by being lifted. I had to hire three of my neighbors ranch hands to come over and help me lift the tractor off the pallet. After that, all was well. The limited assembly you have to do was easy and quite fun to do. Make sure to check the tire pressure before you put it in service the first time. For some reason they were aired up way beyond the suggested maximum pressures. Also, keep an eye on your hour meter...that first five hours goes by quickly and you don't want to be late on your first oil change. That's when you'll be cussing the engineers that designed the side mount oil filter."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Andrea
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/11/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Poorly Made
Used it the first day and it was great. Stored it in our garage. 11 days later we needed to mow again and White smoke EVERYWHERE the engine block blew. Oil poring our all over our new garage flooring.

Trying to call someone for help an getting referred to 4 different places who say they cant help. Seriously this is a joke. The engine also shows we used it for 40.3 hours? We used it for less than 2....
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Andrea,
I see you called about the issue as well can you please advise me if the mower has been fixed if not we can get Cub Cadet involved.
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Chris B.
Daleville, AL
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Drive Belt Comes Off.
Purchased new this fall and with only fourteen hours on the mower the belt slips and comes off. My old Troy Built Mustang gave me a better cut, and after years of cutting it may have used two belts up.

One other thing I've noticed, the engagement switch for the blades has to be cycled on and off sometimes before it works. I'm not happy at all with this mower. My yard is less than one acre, should be a breeze for a 3,000 dollar mower.
Was this review helpful?
21
Montee S.
Zortman, MT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/11/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
Nice machine. The purchase and delivery went smooth. Putting it together was simple only thing missing was oil drain hose. I have not used it to much but have cut a couple acres of old dead grass.

It is much faster and easier that our 46 inch cub cadet lawn tractor which in itself was nearly indestructible. Would not have anything but a Cub Cadet.
Montee Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
43
Eric B.
Millboro, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/7/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Belt Came Off 1 St Day Of Use
First day of use main drive line belt came off had to reinstall myself did not want to in local shop to fix other than that works really well !So Far !
Eric Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Sharon C.
Jonesboro, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/12/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What We Needed!!
We love our new Cub Cadet! With 3 acres to mow, it cuts our mow time in half with comfort!
Sharon Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
-10
Gloria C.
Seale, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/21/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mower
So far, well pleased with product and performance.
Gloria Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Gloria's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"good"
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Darrel F.
Williston, ND
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/30/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Rzt L54
I have 6 hours on it. Everything works very well. Motor is pretty loud. Need to use hearing protection.
Darrel Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
12
Billy
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Bad
I got this mower brand new...I got it home and it wanted to track to one side, so I call the 1-800 number. They said it was fine it was made to do that, like I'm the fool that don't know any better... So I had to pay $ 75.00 to get it fix,,,they told me it came from the factory that way...I need to get my money back from CUB CADET...When I called they said SORRY you should told us what it was doing...Just a way to say YOUR F##K..
Billy Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
02
Vincent G.
Rockwall, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/18/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Right Out The Box
I bought this Cub Cadet riding mower back in May. It arrived strongly crated. Runs great however, it had a missing cap from one of the front casters and after multiple phone calls, I can't seem to get mowers direct to send me the part.

I also purchased a pressure washer and a mower lift. I've had issues with the pressure washer right out of the box as well. The contact to the On/Off switch came undone on the first use while the unit was running. I've yet to open the mower lift.
Vincent Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
02
Marvin
Morley, MI
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Wimpy Blades
The mower is nice but they only offer one style of blade for it and it is high lift not good. awesome deck but cheap blades .no after market neither. would not had purchased if known before hand.
Was this review helpful?
24
Bill K.
Apex, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/1/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower, Very Good Cut, Very Fast
The mower does a good job cutting. It is a fast, agile mower. It has a 3-gallon fuel capacity which is not much considering the twin cylinder 26 HP Kohler motor. It is very easy to clean.
Bill Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Bill's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It arrived quickly (4 days). Easy to setup and unpack."
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
Bill K.
Apex, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/1/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower. Needs More Fuel Capacity.
We love the mower. It cuts nice looking yard. My only complaint is it only holds 3 gallons of fuel. About 3.5 hours cutting time.
Bill Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
14
Przemyslaw W.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/17/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Well
This is my first mower, and I think it works well. I had no problems so far. I only have 1 acre, and this thing blasts through it in 35 min.
Przemyslaw Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Przemyslaw's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The order was shipped fast and calling the customer service was a breeze."
 more
Was this review helpful?
14
Doug P.
Pittsford, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/8/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Most Fun I've Ever Had Mowing The Yard!!! Awesome
That's it this mower is the Most Fun you will ever have cutting your lawn, kick butt good times
Doug Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
03
Phillip L.
Greenville, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/5/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Unfortunately had a damaged product sent the first time, in a hidden spot. So, had to recrate and send it back. But company worked with me and got my new lawnmower to me within a week and a half. This lawnmower is a dream. It drives great and mows perfectly. So happy with my purchase!
Phillip Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
03
Craig W.
Green Bay, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/31/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Durability
I spent alot of time researching this mower before purchasing, and finally decided on it because of the Kohler power plant and welded steel deck. The big box stores near me sell this mower but they all come with a lower power mower and a stamped steel light duty deck.

Upon receiving the mower, I bolted the seat on, positioned the control arms, filled it with gas and fired it up.

I now have about 8.5 hours on the mower and I could not be happier! I have cut my mowing time in half and... more
Pros: Durable, Price, Reliable, Fabricated Deck
Cons: I Didn't Purchase It Sooner
Craig Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Craig's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fantastic experience. I was a little hesitant to spend over $3000 in an online store, but my experience was great. Everything was straightforward and as promised! I would definitely buy from mowersdirect.com again!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
261
Donna O.
Pekin, ND
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/19/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Good!
After only 5 hours this mower quit and needed an oil pressure sensor, fuel solenoid, starter and carburetor! Parts are always back ordered and after 6 weeks, mower is still being repaired. Bad deal. Will not buy Cub Cadet again!
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Donna,
Donna- Sorry for the issue you are having with the mower. Please feel free to call us with the information for the service center, and we can call the manufacturer about the parts.
more
Was this review helpful?
256
Robert S.
Franklin, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/8/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
Mower arrived and delivered on a hand cart right into my garage. Took me about an hour to uncrate and assemble it. Machine fired right up once I figured out the lap bar levers needed to be open to start. I did do some leveling of the deck per the manual to get everything square and it cut great.

Plenty of power, clean cut, easy to drive. I do think I have to do some adjusting of the levers and hydraulic controls as when I spin one direction it is a lot quicker than the other, but... more
Robert Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
173
Jerome L.
Sunset, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/24/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic
Great machine. Very smooth. Great control setup. Can actually steer this thing with two thumbs. I went a little over board with the 54" because I have a lot of planted material to manuver around. I wish that the PTO would not shut off when in reverse. Very small hassle.
Jerome Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
151
Edward F.
Goddard, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/25/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
1st Ztr
I've only used this mower a few hrs but it has been fun to use. It is a comfortable riding machine, starts right away, easy to use.

The only complaints I have is the mower sometimes doesn't mow evenly in taller grass and you get some grass blowing back on you out of chute, other wise good machine.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use
Edward Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
174
James S.
Piedmont, SC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/6/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Unreal!
I recently purchased the Cub Cadet 54" zero turn mower based on a recommendation by a friend. I was having to cut my yard, the yard at another house I had purchased, my office building property and the property at my mothers who had just passed away. I felt like all i did was cut grass it seemed like.

The mower is all that it was touted to be and when it used to take me an hour and fifteen minutes to cut my grass at home it only takes me about 30 minutes now. Cutting grass is more... more
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
James's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast and easy... Shipping time was great and product arrived in perfect condition."
 more
Was this review helpful?
164
David O.
Valencia, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/11/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Experience
Excellent mower...should have done this years ago! Runs great, rides nice, cut is superior. Definitely worth the price! Tractor was delivered flawlessly, on time, as advertised! Great job!
David Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
131
James C.
Valley City, OH
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent
For the past two summers, the farm has fought with an old zero turn mower. This summer we decided that we no longer needed the extra headache... This mower was, and is the solution to our prior problem.
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
James's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Extremely easy Wonderful customer service Shipping was in constant communication On time delivery"
 more
Was this review helpful?
143
Darrell K.
Herman, NE
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/14/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love Our New Mower.
The Cub Cadet has worked very well so far. We live on a farm, and the Cub Cadet keeps all the grass and weeds mowed to perfection.
Darrell Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Darrell's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It took awhile to get here, but was well worth waiting for. The savings of $62 since we wrote a check, plus no sales tax, saved us money."
 more
Was this review helpful?
101
Tommy W.
Hector, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/1/15
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tommy Wooten
We are very happy with our Cub Cadet. Heavy deck, cuts good, smooth, plenty of power. When we need another mower I am quite sure it will be from Mowers Direct.
Tommy Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Tommy,
Thank you for your great review, this Mower should give you years of reliable use.
more
Was this review helpful?
3123
John B.
Sparta, MI
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Borrowed The Neighbors
My neighbor let me use this to cut my 2 acres. Found the seat to be exceptionally comfortable. So much faster than my garden tractor. cuts beautifully.

Bagging system clogs easily and does not hold as much as I would have liked. Overall very nice mower, will consider buying in the spring.
John Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
114
Lawrence E.
Elbert, CO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/3/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Just Not The Same As My Z-master Toro
First off, the seat is very uncomfortable. Coming up with a backache. I purchased arms for this unit, guess what, there are not screw holes under the seat on my Cub-C, so I can not use them.

The unit has issues, it stops cutting when I try to go back with it. Going forward, I can not get up any speed with it. I have no back support with the stock or standard seat that comes on this unit.
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Lawrence,
I sincerely apologize for the issues this unit has caused you since your purchase. The seat support is unfortunately not something I can assist with as we do not carry different seats.

With the issues you are experiencing regarding the forward speed and mowing in reverse, have you contacted Cub Cadet tech support for any form of trouble shooting?

The blades should not disengage when the lap bars are pulled back allowing you to mow in reverse as easily as when you are moving forward. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.
more
Was this review helpful?
1713
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials