Search
< Back to Product

Cub Cadet LT42 Lawn Tractor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Cub Cadet 13WVA1CS010 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (3)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
High Quality (2)
Reliable (1)
Price (1)
Cons
Far Too Many Ridiculous ... (1)
Packaging (1)
Quality Control (1)
Con - Can't Use Or Rate ... (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
88% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
25 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Roland M.
Ellicott City, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Quality Mower
This mower was fairly simple to set up and learn to operate. A bit different from the manual transmission type I was used to. The build quality seems excellent, the seat is the most comfortable I have ever owned, the steering is easy and sharp in corners. It has the Kohler engine that I definitely wanted and it cuts beautifully. Overall, I couldn't be happier.
Roland Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
140
Charles
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/15/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
What? No Manual Or A Key?
While they shipped the Cub Cadet LT42 in a timely manner, the shipment arrived WITHOUT A MANUAL AND WITHOUT A KEY. So, I called MD they Customer Service agent said, like it happens often, "Oh, sometimes they fall out in shipment". Really? I think there are easy solutions to that, like secure the plastic bag inside the engine compartment, perhaps?

I was offered "if I am just dying to get on that mower" a choice of driving 25 miles to get a key from the closest dealer -... more
Cons: Difficult To Use, Bad Instructions, Con - Can't Use Or Rate A Product Without A Key Or A Manual
Charles Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Charles,
Sorry about the missing key the manufacturer crate's these mowers from the factory and the key falling out is a rare occurrence, we did order the key and we show it did arrive within the 7-10 business days we confirmed with you by email. If you have any further issues please let us know and we can help you.
more
Was this review helpful?
711
Terry Richardson
Whitesburg, KY
REVIEWED
MAR.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I bought this mower to replace a 10 yr. old Yard Machine that was bought used. Took me 2 hrs. to mow with my old mower . I can now mow my yard in 1 1/2 hrs. I like the mow in reverse feature . Has good easy steering . Rides a little rough but i can deal with that .
Terry Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
70
Diana R.
Dayton, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lawn Tractor - Cub Cadet
The Cub Cadet tractor we ordered arrived at the designated time and date. The delivery person was really nice and very efficient in removing the merchandise from the truck. The Cub Cadet was packaged really well so that no damage could be done to it.

The Instructions were very clear and easy to follow. My husband and I did the pre-maintenance work and the Cub Cadet is everything that we had hoped it would be and does a lovely job on our lawn. I highly recommend this product.
Diana Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Pamela C.
Eagle Grove, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/22/16
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Terrific Lawn Tractor
I spent hours researching lawn tractors to replace a very old Grasshopper. I came to the conclusion that the Cub Cadet XT1 was the best value for the money.

It came crated (which was easy to take apart) and undamaged. This machine started right up after only connecting the battery and filling with gas. Although the ride was a little ridged, letting some air out of the tires helped a lot. It has performed exactly as expected.
Pamela Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
51
Alan L.
Girard, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/1/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Machine For Money
ordered online from mowers direct and they shipped it the next day.

when it came to delivery I called the shipper and setup a delivery appt.

I took off work and waited patiently.......around 3pm I called the shipper and they said 'since you did not answer your phone we did not deliver'......they then told me the number they dialed.....it wasn't mine....the appt setter wrote down the wrong phone nbr.

a wasted day of pto used!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Even though I had a confirmed appt!!!!!!
more
Alan Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert H.
Worcester, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/11/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Good Tractor But.
My problem with purchase is it is the first piece of equipment I have bought , that did not come with did not come with a illustrated parts book.

If I knew this, I would not have made the purchase. I think this is one of the most important parts of the machine. My next purchase will have one.
Robert Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
21
Edward S.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/15/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
My Cub Cadet arrived within a week as promised, was easy to assemble once I managed to get it out of the crate it was delivered in.

The controls are easy to understand and so far it works perfectly. It is so dry at the moment and we have not had a chance to really put it to use, but it will rain again I hope.
Edward Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Edward's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordering and delivery were easy and well done. I have no complaints."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
William W.
Twisp, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/26/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Some Superior Features
We've had two other brands of riding mowers and this cub cadet has two real great features that neither of the others had. One great feature is the forward control and reverse on the right foot pedal instead of a stick. I've been raked off many times from low hanging limbs with my hand forward control because I was steering with my hand which is sorta essential. Another good feature is the small wheels on the deck that float across the lawn preventing scalping and streaks.
It's still new... more
William Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Jack B.
Brainerd, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/20/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Hit A Home Run!!!
Cub did a great job on these! Simple to use, runs smoothly, and powerfully. Transmission has great power, and is very smooth. Steering is easy, and best of all, it mows great. You wont find a better mower for the money.
Jack Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Jack's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Was packed very nice and secure. Took me 5 minutes to unpack it and push it off the pallet. hooked the battery up. added non ethanol gas, checked the oil and was mowing. Shipping company was fast and did a super job with delivery!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John L.
Alden, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/13/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A+++++++
Price was cheaper than lowes. Ordered online even used the affrim financing delivered without issue. Just add gas and go.
John Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Wayne B.
Tolland, CT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/20/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Mower
Received mower in good condition. Driver helped to put mower into garage.
Wayne Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Ken N.
Liberty, Sc, SC
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Owned A Cub Cadet For 6 Years
I am 65 yrs old never ever seen a lawn mower sling a rod but my 6 year old 597cc cadet did, can't find a motor that will lockup to it without alterations, it's not been a great mower for me, buy a snapper, deer, I think the are better mowers
Ken Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
925
Jeff G.
Woodbourne, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 1/27/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tractor
I bought this unit with the 46" snow plow weights and Chains, it has great power. The only thing is with the plow's up and down handle, it is way too short for this tractor, very hard to reach with short arms, but other than that it is great.
Jeff Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Jeff's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"already have told people about this site."
 more
Was this review helpful?
6120
Duane M.
Leetonia, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/13/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Buy For The Money But......
First the good:

1. Great Engine. Pressure lubed and spin on filter. Lots of power.

2. The transmission works great.

3. Dual Drag Links on the steering with real ball joints.

4. Just about all the linkage has grease fittings.

5. The Cruise Control is a nice feature.

6. Nice strong and real frame and all the critical parts are made out of steel instead of plastic.

Now the bad:

1. The toe on the front wheels was massively out of adjustment. Talk about lazy eye! (I had to... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Quality Control, Far Too Many Ridiculous And Unnecessary Safety Devices
Duane Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Duane's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I'll keep it short by saying I'm very impressed by the top notch service, fast shipping, and great prices. I'll be coming back in the future. Keep up the good work. I would highly recommend Mowers Direct to everyone."
 more
Was this review helpful?
467
Glenn Deshazo
Boonsboro, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/28/15
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Cub Cadet Was A Great Buy.....
One of my golf buddies called to tell me about buying a Cub Cadet over the internet...".you won't believe this...No taxes & Free delivery & sent to your home in a few days!"...and...at a reasonable price!!!

It didn't take me long to check it out, and the next day my new Cub Cadet was on the way to Maryland...after cutting the grass the 2nd time today, I think I got a good buy and a great well built Lawn Tractor.
Glenn Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
5214
Martin B.
Manassas, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/25/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Value
After many years of mowing my 1+ acre yard with a push mower I broke down and purchased a lawn tractor. I did my research and the Cub Cadet LT 42 gave me the biggest bang for my buck. I placed my order and in 2 days the tractor was on its way to me. Delivery was quick and to my door the mower arrived on time and in perfect condition with the optional bagger kit that I purchased. It did take me about 45 minutes to uncrate the mower and get it operational. connected the battery, checked the... more
Martin Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Martin's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Shipping was quick painless and to my door. Do NOT pay for the lift gate service my local shipping company provided it free of charge. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is Once the mower is delivered you're stuck with the shipping and crating materials to dispose of. About 300 lbs of lumber pallets and metal."
 more
Was this review helpful?
267
Jessica D.
Cudahy, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/12/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good News For Senior Citizens
Let's just say I am over 65, recently widowed. I have a huge lot that I couldn't keep up with using a self-propelled mower. I priced riders around town and then turned to the internet. Glad I found Mower's Direct. So easy to research all mowers in my price range.

Best price and quick delivery. From reading the manual and watching YouTube, I conquered the Cub Cadet easily. Not only has it saved me from struggling with the grass cutting, I am proud of myself. Easy handling and actually fun.
Jessica Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Jessica's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The delivery person was very friendly and asked if I thought I got a good deal. Yes, I told him. He said he will keep you in mind for his next purchase."
 more
Was this review helpful?
145
James S.
Phoenix, AZ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/2/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tractor!
I should point out that the real test of a lawn tractor is how it holds up over time. My son and I have used this one to mow my 1.2 acre spread in its entirety twice, and the bulk of it a third time. The tractor has operated flawlessly. There's plenty of power in reverse as well as forward. I like the fact that I can mow in reverse, although transitioning to reverse smoothly with the safety features takes some practice.

I've not mowed at night, so I don't know if the headlights are all that... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
156
Lance
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/6/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent
The process of ordering, delivery, set up, etc...was very easy and without a single problem. The mower operates as advertised with a consistent mowing pattern and easy to use controls, tight turning radius, etc... I purchased the mulch kit as well and have been pleased with the results. Great mower for the price. Great value. Would recommend others to purchase.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality
Lance Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
83
Marie M.
Woodville, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/20/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Mower
We love our new Cub Cadet, it is so easy to use and it steers really nice. We have small hills to go up and down and it does a great job.
Marie Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
1713
David B.
Woodstown, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/28/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mowing With Ease
Had the opportunity to mow a friend's farm for three years using a Cub. When I recently had to replace my mower, there was no need to think twice.

I purchased a Cub Cadet from Mower's Direct. Awesome mower and great price.
David Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
74
David
Cascade, CO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/11/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing Mower!
This was my first riding lawn mower. I was very concerned about not having enough horse power because I have over an acre to mow of VERY hilly terrain with lots of trees. The first thing I did was swap out the rear tires for tractor "lug" style wheels…. AMAZING! This thing eats up the yard! The handling is fantastic. Tight turn radius. I have so much fun mowing the yard.

Mowers Direct had the best price around with the no taxes/free shipping (which was very fast), only negative... more
David Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
74
Fred B.
Imperial, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/1/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Cub Cadet
I Have only cut my lawn four times, but it so easy to operate. It makes cutting a pleasure.
Fred Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Fred's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It is everything that was advertised, very pleased at this time."
 more
Was this review helpful?
44
Jonathan H.
Monument, CO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/9/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wish I Had Gone For The Deere...
At the end of the day, I think you get more for your money with this mower, but you're gonna have to work for it! The shipping company was a pain to deal with and it took a long time for our schedules to match up with very small and limited delivery windows. You could pay for expedited processing and lift gate service but by that point you're not saving any money over a big box store. Then it arrives on two pallets completely boxed in with a good 100 lbs of lumber. Good for keeping safe in... more
Cons: Packaging
Jonathan Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
1731
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials