Search
< Back to Product

Cub Cadet SC300HW Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Cub Cadet 12ABB22J710 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Price (12)
Easy To Use (9)
I'd Buy It Again (9)
Light Weight (6)
Exceeded Expectations (5)
Cons
Difficult To Use (2)
Unreliable (1)
Lots Of Plastic (1)
Eats Fingertips (1)
Expensive (1)
89% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
85 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Mower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
91 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12613 Helpful Votes
Mowers Direct Recommended

The Cub Cadet SC300HW is a great mower for anyone looking to maintain their small to medium sized yard and not break the bank doing so.

Equipped with a 159cc Cub Cadet 4-cycle engine, the SC300HW is easy to start and very fuel efficient. The variable speed self-propelled drive system powers the front wheels of this mower so you exert a lot less effort keeping your lawn nice and tidy.

The Cub Cadet SC300HW is set up as a 3-in-1 mower, so you'll have the ability to bag, mulch or... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
23249
David D.
Claysville, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/19/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Cub Cadet Purchase
Minor gripe in that one carriage bolt was missing from the handle , got at Home Depot for 17 cents , otherwise started with one pull first time, every time. Runs perfect so far.
David Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
David's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Best price , free shipping , delivered in less than 3 days . What's not to like. 100 % satisfied!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Steven S.
Lakewood, CO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/24/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Cub Cadet
Tried out the 159cc cub cadet yesterday on my 4" lawn. I noticed the engine got a little bogged down when mulching heavy grass.

Wish mowers direct would have make know the engine is Chinese (not seeing good reviews on youtube) and not North American made. Mower is light & maneuverable, the drive works really well.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Quiet
Cons: Durability, Power
Was this review helpful?
91
Mark D.
Anna, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/11/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Mowers Direct: 1 Cub Cadet: 0
Kudos to Mowers Direct. Great service, fast shipping, responsive customer service.

Cub Cadet? Not so much. Product received did not self-propel. Local Cub Cadet dealer Forney Sales and Service in Forest OH wouldn't do warranty service because I didn't buy there. Worth noting Forneys didn't have one single Cub Cadet mower on the showroom floor.

So off to Irons Lawnmower Repair in Lima OH. Kudos to Irons, too. While I was there, Irons pulled the blade and belt cover only to discover the... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Features
Cons: Factory QC didn't do their job.
Mark Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Mark's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct got it RIGHT!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
David R.
Pea Ridge, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/29/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Very Disappointed.
I received my package sooner than I expected. However, the box was wide open, as if someone had taken something out of it. The SINGLE strand of tape on the top could not have possibly held this box together.

I received the mower and the mower bag okay, but I did not receive any instructions for the product. I am also not sure if I was supposed to receive anything else (extra parts, oil, etc), but I am very disappointed with Mowers Direct because of this.

Hopefully I can find the owner's... more
Pros: Price
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
David,
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We ship out our products intact with all items included in the original packaging from the manufacturer. We believe something may have occurred in the shipping and FedEx taped to secure the package, yet loose items were not included. We will arrange to have everything sent out to you. We apologize for the inconvenience.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Bob M.
Maiden, NC
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Proud Owner
Just bought this Cub Cadet, and so far everything positive said is right on, great mulch, powerful, smooth operating. takes some getting used to the self propelled...set up to engage when going forward, if not wanting to use then will require use of both hands. The flap on the back can be a nuisance at times when going backwards.

Have a sloping front yard and had no problems going up hill. Mulched my entire back and front yard and performed better then expected....also great on gas, and as... more
Bob Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Lisa T.
Monterey, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/25/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Dissapointed
Bought this mower because I could not afford a riding lawn mower. I'm seldom able to start on first pull. In fact, I have to pull up to 10 times to start it....the cord is absurdly tight.
Was this review helpful?
20
J. K.
Milwaukee, WI
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Poor!!!!!!!
Amazing. On just my 2nd use after purchase brand new the plastic motor cover fell off multiple times and the pullstart cord broke! I couldnt beleve it! This thing couldnt get past 2 uses????????!!!!!!!! So disappointed!
Was this review helpful?
20
Garrett
Chesterland, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/5/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Gets The Job Done
I've used it only a few times at the end of the season, but I've generally been pleased. I'm probably trying to push it a little harder than it is meant for, but it has gotten the job done.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Very Small Bag
Garrett Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Quin R.
Rock Hill, SC
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Drive System Broke First Year Used Spent $450
My cub cadet had a 170 cc and it was still under-powered. I bought a 190 cc Honda the best investment I ever made in a mower and it will never rust.
Was this review helpful?
10
Christopher E.
Parma, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/13/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Everything Working Fine
The mower arrived promptly. After a little bit of assembly it started right up and is working great. Easy to use. Have used it quite a few times and no complaints.
Christopher Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Harris F.
Lanett, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/14/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Immediate Satisfaction
Arrived promptly, everything "fell into place," first-try start up, handles easily -- my cub has earned a 10!
Harris Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Dominick D.
Old Bridge, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/6/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Great bang for the buck. Only have it a short time. Love the self propelled feature. Easy to start and maneuver.
Dominick Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Clifford C.
Elroy, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/29/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Mower.
This is a nice mower. It is very easy to set up and run. The only problem I have had with it is that it has a poorly engineered handle that can give your thumbs a pretty painful squeeze until you learn to keep your hands towards the middle of the handle. Ouch!
Clifford Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Stanley M.
Peckville, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/11/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Well Worth The Price!
A very good bang for your buck.......Takes minutes to assemble and started on first pull......
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Stanley Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Stanley's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"very good"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Antonio S.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/28/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
Love my Cub Cadet. Easy to use & it does a great job. I would recommend it to anyone.
Antonio Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Mary B.
El Paso, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/3/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy About My New Cub Cadet 21" 159cc Mower
I've only used the mower one time, but by far it has matte all I was looking for in a mower in its price range. I love it. THANK YOU
Mary Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Bobby B.
Piggott, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/12/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Mower
Just as in other reviews, it started on first pull! Arrived undamaged and was easy to assemble. I like.
Bobby Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Bobby's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mower was shipped to me in 3 or 4 days."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ernest H.
Deer Park, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/2/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Cub
Real Quick: Effortless starting, plenty of power, stingy on gas, with front drive easy to maneuver with or without drive engaged, very easy height adjust, great value!
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Ernest Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Dennis G.
Royersford, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/9/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Another Great Self-propelled Cub Cadet!
I purchased the rear wheel drive model a few years back and has been a stellar performer on my 1 acre with a hill for a back year.. My parents mower was having issues so I had them borrow mine. They are in their 80s and keep active...the self propelled variable drive is perfect for them.

I purchased the front-wheel drive model for them.. delivery spot on and ease of assembly right out of the box. No need to borrow my mower. They love the front-wheel drive model and mowing their lawn... more
Dennis Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Dean B.
Hartshorne, OK
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/9/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased
Got my Cub Cadet lawn mower, and on the second pull, it started. Easily assembled, very happy with my purchase.
Dean Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Anne B.
Willow Springs, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/10/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
New Cub
So far, I love this new mower. The self propelled bar is easily adjustable so you can go fast or (as I do) just enough to relieve pushing the weight of the mower. Took a little while to learn how to corner, but not a big problem. Starts on 2nd pull, unless I forget and try to start it on an upward slope.

Cons: The packing it arrived in was terrible. Come on Mowers Direct, enough reviewers have said this that you should have corrected the problem.The assembly instructions are poorly written... more
Anne Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael A.
Williston, VT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/19/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice, But.....
I have used my new mower 4 times, and I like it, with one important exception. I grazed the below-deck and the screw that holds the yellow protecting cap above the engine popped out and disappeared. The mower now vibrates occasionally.
Was this review helpful?
00
Carrie C.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/18/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lovely
Works beautifully
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations
Carrie Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Edward P.
San Antonio, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/15/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet Is The Best In The World!!!!
It is the best I've ever owned. I have a Honda, a Troy-Bilt, and two Cub Cadet's. They are the best!!!!
Edward Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Girard W.
Lexington, KY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/22/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Mower At A Good Price
My previous Cub Cadet lasted better than 15 years. When it finally died, I decided to stick with Cub Cadet. I filled it with gas and oil, gave it one pull, and it started right up. It cuts and mulches very nicely. So far, I'm very pleased with its performance. I'll get back to you in 15 years or so to tell you how it held up...
Girard Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeffrey W.
Owings Mills, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/22/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Purchase
Purchased the mower about a month ago. It arrived 2-3 days later. Took maybe 10 min. to remove from box, add oil (included) tighten handles to preferred length, adjust wheel height and began cutting the grass.

Started right up 1st. pull. I have cut my lawn two other times and it started on the 1st pull each time.

No problems at all!
Jeffrey Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Jess C.
Charlotte, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/15/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Like It- Don't Love It.
Cuts well, bagging is average as it seems to leave a decent amount on the ground. Note this mower does not have a clutch brake(?). This means whenever you let go of the handle, the mower stops.

Also the mower has some cheap plastic parts- I've already removed the engine cover and another at the handle- they seemed merely cosmetic. I hope it holds up.
Was this review helpful?
00
Cheryl W.
Lowden, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/11/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sc300hw
Absolutely pleased with performance. Started right out of the box. Delivery time was awesome. Do have to watch when starting so not to hit knuckles, but figured it out. Have not tried side discharge as I like the mulching blade.
Cheryl Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
William P.
Denver, CO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/10/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Mower
Just got the mower and have used only one time so far. It seems to be very solid and quiet. Although, the assembly instructions were kind of unclear. Otherwise completely satisfied so far.
William Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Bob M.
Midwest City, OK
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/26/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
Very good mower, quick delivery. Had mower in about 3 days. Easy set up. My grass was pretty high, didn't use the catcher, just mulched it. Yard looked amazing, couldn't tell that it wasn't bagged.

Only draw back I have is with the handle and leaver setup. This is taking sometime to get used to. You push the lever forward holding on to it instead of the actual mower handle.

The mower moves without having to push at all. In fact it's all I can do to keep up with it at full speed. But... more
Bob Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
John N.
Warsaw, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/17/15
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Whoa! Better Than I Ever Imagined.....
I just used my new mower for the first time. I bought it back in December 2015. I had to do the first mow of the season with my 8 year old Sears mower for one last time. Wow! What a difference....it is like pushing a balloon around the lawn instead of a heavy old mower. Oiled her up, checked all fittings and was going to do a bit of the lawn to see if the height was set okay before I really got into it. I will say I am a slow learner as I think I pinched my fingers about 5 times before I... more
John Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Lawrence M.
Selden, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/31/16
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
The mower was all I expected. It starts every time, is easy to operate, and a great mower. Anyone will be happy with this mower.
Lawrence Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark T.
Paris, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/25/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Best lawn mower I've ever owned, easy to push and cuts great.
Mark Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
-10
George P.
Wingdale, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/7/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine!
I never owned a new mower. I had one I paid $10.00 for that lasted us for 3 years. I was borrowing my neighbors and I was always was concerned about something happening and finally after my wife's coaxing, I went looking. Everywhere I looked I found most to be very expensive and I really didn't see anything that was what I wanted.

One night, I decided to look online, and came upon Mowers Direct. I spent hours looking at what they had and came across this Cub Cadet. After reading the reviews... more
George Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
George's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience! I'm your steady customer! Thanks MD !"
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Roger B.
Ava, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/22/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower For The Money
Unit arrived in heavy box. After I added the packaged engine oil and some gasoline, the mower started after couple of pulls. It runs great, but have only used it for about 30 minutes.
Roger Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Mary S.
Rochester, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Baby
I love this mower. I have never had to pull-start twice, starts on the first pull every time.
Mary Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Robert L.
Santa Rosa, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/20/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Incredibly easy to start and has plenty of power. The front-wheel drive is a big improvement over the rear-wheel drive. Haven't tried the deck wash feature, but I probably will this weekend. I couldn't be happier.
Robert Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Mike
Riverbank, CA
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Mower!
Went to the store intending to buy the sc 100 model to save money but found this one on sale. What a great mower !! It's like it couldn't wait to start rite out of the box ! One easy tug and she started rite up . This mower also moves extremely easy and is very smooth.

The only knock I could possibly have is that I would have liked the deck height adjustment levers to be metal instead of thick plastic . So far I am very pleased I went away from the old name but and of mowers I've tried in... more
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Mike Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Mike S.
Huntingtown, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/23/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Cuts thru high grass with no problem.
Mike Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Tom T.
Denver, CO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/7/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet
Great machine for the money.
Tom Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Tom's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy place to buy things"
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
Jack M.
Sunnyvale, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/8/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Cub
Amazing power super easy starting and on high speed feels like i'm jogging behind it. Great product for a very fair price.
Jack Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
230
Dan M.
Bensenville, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/26/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower I've Ever Had
Love this mower, started second pull and it has a strong engine. This mower mulches so good you can hardly even see the grass after you cut it. If I were to change anything on this mower I wish you could have a higher cutting height on times when you get back from vacation and your grass is a little to tall to cut in one pass. Also to fill the gas tank, it is on an angle. I wish it had a top filling neck. Otherwise If I had to buy another mower again I WOULD BUY THIS ONE AGAIN.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Dan Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
151
Ronald T.
Clarksville, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/27/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
It Started Out Bad
Ordered online because of the great price and looked like a sharp machine..... It arrived rather quickly and when I got home from work I proceeded to take out of the box and put together, rather easy process. Extended the handle put the oil in that was in the box and went to secure the pull rope to the extended handle and it was restricted, so I removed the yellow cover held on by a screw under the logo sticker. The next thing to remove would be the three screws protecting the retractable... more
Was this review helpful?
173
Stanley L.
Gilmer, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/29/15
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
My Last Mower!
I ordered mower on Sunday night and it arrived the following Wednesday early afternoon. Great service.
After one hour set up, mower started on second try.

Used it twice already and so far am very pleased. A little concerned about the puff of smoke that emits whenever the mower is started, but no mechanical problem detected.

The "push forward" self propelled operation is a little hard to get used to, but the pull of the mower when engaged is strong. I rate it 8 out of 10.
Stanley Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
110
Rich N.
Pepperell, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/16/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lousy Packaging
The mower is GREAT. Front wheel drive makes mowing easy. I have two other Cub Cadet products including a rider mower, and this lived up to my expectations.

The packaging and the shipper were TERRIBLE. The mower came in a flimsy cardboard box with no internal support or protection for the mower whatsoever. Compound that with the shipper stacking other crates on top of it, and it crushed the box !

I almost refused to receive it. I opened the box while it was still on the truck, and... more
Rich Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
112
George W.
Kissimmee, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/6/15
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Doing The Lawn In Half The Time.
I have recently retired from mowing the lawn and have turned that work over to my teenage son. He used to complain about cutting the grass with our Lawn-Boy mower, but is loving our new Cub Cadet. The self propelled feature is so fast that he has had to quicken his pace to keep up.

I researched many self propelled mowers before deciding on the Cub Cadet. The value for your money is outstanding. I've had Honda, Lawn-Boy, Craftsman, etc., but am loving this one for sure.

I'd buy it... more
George Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
90
Mercedes B.
Brookeville, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/30/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy With Purchase But A Few Criticisms
This mower has started easily with one pull and runs quieter than my old mower. It also seems to drive faster. It mulches in a way that leaves no noticeable grass cuttings on the ground. I like the large wheels and the number of height settings. I expect the Cub Cadet mower to be durable and reliable but have not had it long enough for it to prove out.

However, the front-wheel drive is a bit less versatile than the rear-wheel drive on my old mower since the in-front drive mechanism prevents... more
Mercedes Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
David R.
Babb, MT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/8/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower, Good Price, 2 Issues
Mower arrived in a shipping box weighing 90 lbs. 20 fl oz of 10W30 was included. There is around 10 mins of minor assembly associated with the handle and control cables. One of the carriage bolts that secured the handle via a wing nut was missing.

Had to improvise. Make sure you follow the directions about pulling the handle outward about 8" (more like 9.5") as this positions the handle at the proper height and keeps the handle extension out of the path of the blades.
more
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Quiet, Price
David Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Michael W.
St. Clair, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/11/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I have used this mower only one time and is the best mower I've ever purchase. Did not take long to put together and it started on second pull.
Michael Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
John S.
Elmer, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/12/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Surprisingly Easy To Use
Very easy forward and reverse motion. No effort to return the mower to me after pushing forward under power.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Light Weight
Cons: Expensive
John Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
62
Victoria G.
Elcho, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/12/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Lawnmower I've Owned.
Purchased this lawnmower in hopes of cutting my grass made easier. This mower is the best if you want a mower that is easy to handle, is light weight for a self propelled, and starts easily. To my surprise, I've been able to cut almost 30 minutes off my cut time.
Victoria Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
51
Ben D.
Glen Ellyn, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/8/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet Sc300hw
I went to Mowers Direct because I live near by. I was immediately greeted by an associate who went way out of his way to help me. I settled on the Cub as I liked the price and the features. Took it home, set it up, it started on the first pull.

Lots more power than my 15 year old Honda self propelled. Wasn't sure I would like the front wheel drive, but I do! Nice and light, easy to use. Finished my 3/4 of an acre yard in half an hour.

I will definitely buy from Mowers Direct... more
Ben Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
51
Stephen W.
Ormond Beach, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/1/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
First Impression
Mower started easily and performed well. Top forward speed is very quick--reducing mowing time. Construction is high quality.

Front wheels do not seem to roll backwards without engine on, even after the typical push forward, which is an annoyance.

Handle comfort when using is also an issue. Have adjusted for second mow and will see if any better, but got blisters first time around, even with gloves on.
Pros: Fast, High Quality, Easy To Store
Cons: Difficult To Use
Stephen Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Jerry C.
Alburg, VT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/5/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Jerry From Vermont
This is the best mower I have ever bought, open the box and less then 15 min. Your mowing the one pull start is great, and the variable speed for the self propelled is the best . Shipping is fast and rite to your door. Would recommend the mower to anyone.
Thanks for a great product.
Jerry Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Harold R.
Cookeville, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/3/15
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet Mowers Are The Best!!!
I just purchased my Cub Cadet self propelled mower from Mowers Direct and I couldn't be happier. This is my second Cub Cadet self propelled mower that I've owned and this one is even better than the first.

The shipping from Mowers Direct was only a couple of days and the shipping was free. This is a great place to purchase your next mower!
Harold Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Normand V.
West Warwick, RI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/8/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
Fast Shipping! Mower set up in minutes . Started first pull . Cuts nice and clean . Easy to guide and turn . Variable speed works great . Excellent value . Well built solid little machine . Lots of compliments from a 35 year heavy equipment operator !
Pros: I'd Buy It Again
Normand Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Ronald H.
Nashville, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/6/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Lawnmower
This is without question, the best mower that I have ever owned. The mower arrived very quickly and without any problems. I could not be more satisfied. This is my place to order from now on.
Ronald Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Edward J.
Menomonee Falls, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/18/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Seemed Good
After three uses, I just loved the feel of this mower - and it mulched better than the three Toros I've been thru recently. Today, Just as I was finishing, the front wheel drive quit - no self propulsion.

I called and got a local dealer that will service under warranty - they said it would be about six weeks for items not bought from them. Lets hope its an easy fix and I get it back before it snows.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: Unreliable
Was this review helpful?
30
Doug S.
Knoxville, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/7/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Crappy Packaging
Good service, quick delivery. The box the mower came in looked like it had been used several times before and it was barely, and I mean barely, taped shut.

Surprised the mower made it here without falling out of the beaten up box. Might be worth paying your sales tax and buying local.
Doug Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
William H.
Mentor, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/3/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower I Ever Had, Easy To Start, Easy To Drive
Uses way less gas than my old mower.
William Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Pearl M.
Pittsburgh, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/1/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cub Cadet
Great mower...Cuts & mulches beautifully. Only drawback. - difficult making turns....
Pros: Price
Cons: Difficult To Use
Pearl Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Terry
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/16/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's Nice! Zero Regrets
Started on first pull right out of the box - impressive! For the price has nice features such as large rear wheels, ball-bearings and single adjustment lever for each wheel set. Thought 21 inch cut would be noticeably smaller than 22, but not so. Good curb appeal as well. Only hitch is the need to totally unscrew and remove the knobs to fold over the handle for weekly, low-profile stowage. Other than that we love our Cubbie. (Oh, the big plastic, non-functional "dash" can be... more
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Terry Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Stefan H.
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/8/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Fast shipping finished with FEDEX mistake. Brown box with only one label RED arrow THIS SIDE UP, he dropped on stand position, cost oil bag leak all over my mower, box and powering . Missing hubcap for back wheel (cosmetic issue).

Mower : 15 min assembly, working great . My neighbor try it on his front yard, he asked how much and where? Loved it! Me too!
Stefan Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
41
Phillip F.
Montgomery, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/7/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Boy Dog
This mower is well worth every penny. Cranks every time in a half of a pull. The harder you press the handle the faster it goes. You can run behind it if you want. Upgraded from a walmart murry push mower and it's definitely a better mower.
Phillip Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Eric F.
Port Reading, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/16/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy As 1-2-3
It took a matter of 3 minutes to look at the manual. Two minutes to have it put together. Filled it with oil and gas. On the first pull, it started. Ran it for 10 minutes no problems. Lighter then my old one easier to handle and my boy likes it so less mowing for me to do.
Eric Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Gale Alhart
Rochester, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/2/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Glad I Purchased
After returning 2 different Troy Built Mowers back to Lowes because of engine problems this summer, I decided to try the Cub Cadet. I am very pleased that I bought this mower, It starts on the first pull and runs great. I was also pleased with the quick shipment after my purchase and I will buy from Mowers Direct again!!!
Gale Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Kathleen B.
Indianapolis, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/29/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Mower
Arrived very quickly and well packaged. Assembly easy. Mower was extremely difficult to start first time - over a dozen pulls, but once it got going all was well. Engine runs a little rough but now starts by the 2nd pull which is good. Height adjustment is super easy, mower does seem to cut a little lower than I am accustomed. Lower than #4 setting tends to scalp parts of my lawn because of the uneven terrain. Purchased to replace a Honda that always leaves uncut strips, thankfully the Cub... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Features, Light Weight
Cons: Lots Of Plastic
Kathleen Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Peter
Burlington, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/21/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cuts Real Nice And Easy To Start
I have used the mower a few times now and I like the features it has. Real easy to start and the speed control is good. It takes a little getting use to, but once you use it a few times it is easy to maneuver.

I think it is built quite well and should last a long time as long as you follow the maintenance schedule. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a reliably built front wheel drive mower.
Peter Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
James B.
Avon Lake, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/13/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Light And Durable
So far, I'm very satisfied with the Cub Cadet. Easy to handle when turning. Also like the looks of the mower. Grass catcher fits like a glove. Gas cap a little hard to open.
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Douglas L.
Moline, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/22/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet
Mower starts first pull every time. Runs starts and mulches much better than my old mower. Love the self propel, but there's a short learning curve to get used to it. Overall, I'm very glad I chose this mower.
Douglas Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Mike
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just As Expected! Excellent Choice!
After doing a lot of research I opted for this mower over a Toro/Honda/Husky. I had a Toro self propelled mower for years and it was excellent as well.

First, the shipping was spot on-3 days Fed X Ground! Box was a little damaged but everything inside was perfect. Assembly was a breeze-30 minutes for me.

Mower is quick and pretty effortless-it takes so getting use to controlling speed but not a real problem-the Toro's drive might be a little easier but again its not a big deal. I like the... more
Mike Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
James M.
Butler, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/14/15
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Time Out Was Impressive.
I purchased this mower based on the great reputation of the Cub Cadet brand.

I have to say I'm extremely pleased initially. Quite easy to get used to the throttle setup.
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Anthony G.
Yonkers, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/6/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Little Powerhouse
An excellent product that is easy to assemble and easy to use. Easy height adjustment and a snap to clean with built in hose attachment. A great unit to use for mulching leaves.
Anthony Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Tom S.
Mitchell, SD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/16/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
Received my mower in 3 days, WOW. Took mower out of box and assembled, very easy. Put oil in engine. Checked for any loose fittings, none. Filled with gas and on the the first pull of the rope it was running, another WOW.

I have mowed 3 times since getting my mower and I like the way it works. The self propelled is impressive and cleaning up leaves in my yard was very good.
Tom Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael B.
Omaha, NE
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/11/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cub Cadet Sc300hw 3rd Mowing
I like this mower.

It came in a large box but was 95% put together. One could have this mower ready to mow in 20 min easy. The clips holding the cables to the handles donít seem real secure (the wires pooped out of the clips the first time I mowed) so I added a couple of snug but not overly tight zip ties and that did the trick.

Iíve mowed 3 times with this mower. It has started with two pulls each time. I like the power of the mower and the ease of the front wheel drive. I have a... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Eats Fingertips
Michael Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Ted L.
Memphis, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/21/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
You Should Get One
this is a great mower only thing i do not like is you have yo have two hands on it whille operating it
Ted Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Reece W.
Alexandria, KY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/15/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Bought this to replace a 7 year old mower. So far have only used it a few times, but the self propelled feature on this mower is great. Very easy to use and cuts very well. Very happy with this purchase.
Reece Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
James M.
Woodburn, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/11/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
We purchased two. One for ourselves and one for our daughter. Both start easily on 1st or 2nd pull. 2nd was easier to assemble. 1 had wheel cover that was broken. Only have used 2x.
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
James B.
Schwenksville, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/2/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet Mower
I'm glad I ordered the Cub Cadet mower. It replaces a 22" Toro Personal Pace rear drive that I had for 10 years and did need carburetor repairs twice. The Cub is just a little more difficult to maneuver but it is more powerful and cuts the lawn quickly. The big rear wheels are a help because my lawn in bumpy, not smooth. You can use the mulch feature on this mower, it won't choke like the Toro would.
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Mike L.
Anniston, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/19/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Straight Out Of The Box
needed one, got one, pleased with delivery and so far good job, oh and the price can't be beaten. thanks guys, mike
Mike Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Mike P.
Glen Allen, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/6/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine!
Always 1st start! Cuts very clean blades, picks up leaves like a vacuum! Nice front wheel drive feature.
Mike Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Gerald K.
Palm Coast, FL
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Difficult To Start When Hot
When mowing only part of yard then want to resume will not start.
Gerald Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Teddy R.
Taylor, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/14/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Cub
I had a Honda 2 years old had problems I took it to repair shop did not fix . i just got tired of crap .saw mowers direct add did some checking cub was rated a so i took a chance glad i did.

I called the order in on the 14th was not to get here 17th went trap shootin 15th came home cub was setting on back deck. To make my story short, 10 min put together, very easy, and I love my Cub Cadet.
Teddy Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Benjamin P.
Sun Prairie, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/8/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Impressed
I unfortunately haven't had a chance to use this new mower. I will note that it looks like a beast and I'm really happy w/ what I got for the price.

Mowers Direct was awesome, I think the mower arrived in like two days. They under-promised and over-delivered, they'll get my business for a long time.
Benjamin Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
2224
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials