Your Cart @ Mowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Big League Lawns RESRPM20SC Lawn Stripper Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
$95.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$95.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Big League Lawns RESRPM20SC Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Durable (4)
High Quality (3)
Reliable (2)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
Easy To Store (1)
Cons
Not Universal (1)
Difficult To Use (1)
Heavy (1)
90% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
22 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Harold C.
Deer Park, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/23/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Great
Leaves strong lines, even in a drought & easy to assemble.
View Image
Harold Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Harold's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Just buy it and see how your lawn looks so much better than the neighbors they will soon ask."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Jason C.
Minot, ND
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/5/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Return
no, i need to return it! never used it, it doesnt work on my mower! How do I do so?
Jason Does Not Recommend This Product
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Jason,
Sorry to hear it did not fit but we do have a return policy which is on our website which states our policy.



Return Policy
more
Was this review helpful?
02
Ron L.
Urbandale, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/11/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Neighborhood Dominated
I purchased the 20" check mate, it was minor deal finding a good spot to mount the striper, but after that, it's been straight money. I tried a few different height settings, and setting on 5 was best for me.
View Image
Ron Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Ron's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"If you love your lawn, I recommend"
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
Steve C.
Cedarburg, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/18/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth The Money - Twice The Value
I received my CheckMate Lawn Striping Kit yesterday afternoon. I couldn't wait to finish working so that I could assemble it and try it out. Obviously, I'm a bit of a yard hobbyist.

The picture attached is a 3" cut on an immature yard. I started with this lawn a little less than a year ago so there are vast areas of poor turf and plenty of creeping charlie and clover. But even then, I think the picture speaks for itself.

The cost is worth the results. But wait, that's not... more
View Image
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Steve Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Was this review helpful?
03
Steviet
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best Striper, Great Design
My lawn is my hobby and like any hobby you can never stop upgrading. For 3 years I was using another striper that you pour sand into. Looking for a much better design I found the CheckMate in 2014. I couldn't be happier 1 year later.

It sits closer to the mower. Was easy to install on my Toro 22" personal pace. It is lighter so less wear on the rear driving wheels and yet does a much better job.

I love trying new patterns and challenging its ability, well more my ability.

5 Stars.
View Image
Steviet Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Was this review helpful?
712
Chad N.
Port Orchard, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/5/15
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great On My Honda
Just purchased this for my Honda mower and it works awesome!! I read the reviews about people saying it does not work on the plastic deck of the Honda.

I asked Mowers Direct if it would work, and they told me to contact checkmate because they sell an attachment kit for Honda mowers.

I purchased it and it took about 15 minutes to install. I could not be happier with my purchase and my neighbors are all asking how I get those beautiful stripes in my lawn.
View Image
Chad Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Chad,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Your lawn looks great!

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Best wishes, and have a fantastic summer.
more
Was this review helpful?
611
Jayaraj N.
Des Plaines, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/21/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Product
I have been trying to find out what is the best product to invest in, to stripe my lawn. Did see a few videos online talking about homemade stripers. Don't get me wrong, I tried these too. They are relatively cheap and so is the outcome.

If you are serious about getting a beautifully striped lawn, spend a bit more (less than 100/-) on this Mowers Direct Striping Kit. You will never repent on this investment as long as you want a beautifully striped lawn. Please take a look at some of my... more
View Image
Jayaraj Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Was this review helpful?
29
Kirk W.
Granite Bay, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/13/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I purchased the Checkmate 20-inch Universal Lawn Striper. Extremely well built and quick delivery. This striper has changed the appearance of my lawn. I now dominate the neighborhood.
View Image
Kirk Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Was this review helpful?
110
Isaac B.
Richmond, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/14/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fits Cub Cadet Cc600 28" Wide Area Mower.
Fits it like a glove.
Isaac Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Michael B.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/8/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Stripes Look Great!
Purchased the CheckMate 20" Universal after researching various stripers on the market. The item arrived promptly and was as advertised. I installed it on a Husqvarna 21" all wheel drive mower.

I had to drill two holes in the mower deck to install the CheckMate. The instructions were easy to understand and follow. Would recommend this to others.
Michael Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Paul
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/14/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
35 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Good For Honda
You have to drill a hole in the mower that is plastic (not good, mower will crack around hole, not designed to be drilled). The parts shown to complete the installation on you tube are not even included in the kit.
Was this review helpful?
239
Justin H.
Eldridge, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/25/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Checkmate Striper
Other than having to drill a few holes in my John Deere push mower, I really like this product. I mow two passes the same direction on my lawn to give it thicker stripes which looks great! Very sharp lines and I get many compliments on my lawn by people just driving by. They always ask how I get it to look so good.
Justin Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Justin's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very easy to place an order. The product arrived when I was told it would."
 more
Was this review helpful?
53
Andrew F.
Seven Fields, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/17/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Advertised
The roller was a little tough to install at first , but once I got going it was fine. Started mowing as soon as I was done installing (even though I didn't need to) and it striped up beautifully. I now alternate direction with each mow and have a great cris-cross pattern throughout my yard.
Andrew Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Was this review helpful?
86
Patrick
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/13/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not A Universal Fit...
This kit will not attach to a Troy Bilt TB 360 mower. The plastic rear-drive system cover does not expose any holes or bare metal to drill into. I refuse to mount this into plastic. I will accept the fact that this kit does not fit my mower, it's a gamble when you buy a universal product.
Pros: Durable, Reliable, High Quality, Easy To Store
Cons: Difficult To Use
Patrick Does Not Recommend This Product
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Patrick,
Thank you for your review, we will have our Product Expert contact you to see what we can do to help you.
more
Was this review helpful?
66
Erik
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/19/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great Not Universal.
Be prepared for Honda push mower owners. I knew that there was a chance that it would not connect as the directions instructed but I bought it anyway. Unless you have access to some steal and a welder do not purchase. I ended up making a new bracket that sandwiched the mower deck and it works great. This winter I may try to make a new style bracket that articulates much like the Toro striping kit. Overall I have the best looking yard on the street. The unit itself is unbelievably well... more
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Erik Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Was this review helpful?
36
Hector M.
China Grove, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/3/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
If you want to add stripes to your lawn, this is the product for you.
Hector Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Was this review helpful?
49
Colby S.
Hill Afb, UT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/14/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Not Universal With Troy Built Tb130
Troy Built push mowers have plastic rear decks so there is no place to attach this striper to..unless you attach it to plastic which I wouldn't recommend due to the flimsiness of the plastic. However, I got a little creative and I was able to remove the rear tires and axle and I drilled two (1/2") holes into the metal plates that raise and lower the deck.

I was then able to slide the bolts in (barely clearing my rear tires). I can still raise and lower my deck and the striper works... more
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: Not Universal
Colby Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Colby's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick delivery! Great Service!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
28
Todd D.
Lakewood, CO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/14/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing
This product works even better than I was thinking. Fit my Husqvarna with no problem. I'll allow the pictures to speak for this product.
Todd Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Was this review helpful?
39
Adam H.
Marion, IA
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Attachment!
I had a previous attachment used to accomplish the same thing--it was the sand filled type. It used to be called Lawn Strype, now I believe they were sold to Toro. That lasted about two season and the rivet on the hook-up busted.

I was looking for a replacement, as I like the striped appearance on a push-mowed lawn. It really dresses it up. I came across the Checkmate and thought I'd give it a try. It was super easy to attach and it is superior in terms of durability to the competition.... more
Adam Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Was this review helpful?
18
Neil T.
Overland Park, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/7/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
I love how it makes my yard look!!
Neil Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Was this review helpful?
18
Thomas M.
Medina, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/17/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Tennessee Turf
Item was extremely well made! And made in USA. This product can't do much with the Bermuda grass that is common in the Southern states. But I still like the product.
Thomas Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Thomas's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Well made American product."
 more
Was this review helpful?
19
Joseph H.
Alexandria, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/18/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sharpest Yard In Town
This has made my yard the envy of the neighborhood. Joogers asked my wide while she was drinking her morning coffee if they could touch the grass.. looks to good to walk on
Joseph Recommends This Big League Lawns Product
Was this review helpful?
09
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials