Search
< Back to Product

Ariens 986101 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$479.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$479.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$529.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$503.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Ariens 986101 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (7)
Reliable (7)
Easy To Use (6)
Durable (4)
Exceeded Expectations (4)
Cons
Packaging (5)
Expensive (3)
Difficult To Use (1)
Heavy (1)
Unreliable (1)
89% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
48 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Mower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
91 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12614 Helpful Votes
Mowers Direct Recommended

The Ariens 986101 is designed for multiple adjustments that provide the flexibility to edge, trim or bevel nearly any landscape. It has a powerful 169cc Subaru® engine which starts extremely easy and is rated as one of the better engines on the market today.

The Ariens 986101 has many great features. The 12-gauge, all-steel frame adds durability. The large 0.71 gallon fuel tank gives you more time for edging and less time spent filling up the gas tank. The curb hop feature on the Ariens... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
403
Anthony M.
Savannah, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/3/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Edger
I'm really impressed with the build quality and features of the edger. I fueled it, pulled the starter one time to prime, flipped the swith to "on" and one more pull fired it right up! The engine has a great tone and plenty of torque to edge sidewalks which had been neglected for years and years.

At some places I was cutting through two inches of centipede before breaking through below the level of the sidewalks and there was never any sign from the engine of struggle. Overall,... more
View Image
Pros: High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Features, Engine
Cons: Onoff Switch
Anthony Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Daniel C.
Opelika, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/8/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Subaru Engine Outstanding, Edger Ok At Best
The subaru engine runs great and is very powerful. However, the edger could use some improvement. I purchased after reading other reviews and should have found one to inspect in person. My mistake. I am comparing this unit to the 45 year old edger it replaced. My old edger had a steel tooth that hung down off of the frame directly behid the blade. This served as a guide along the edge of the concrete and greatly saved the blade.

This unit eats blades in a hurry. The second problem... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Richard L.
Lake City, SC
Total Reviews
5 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Edger Out There, Good Long Term Investment
I bought this edger 5-6 years ago and have never regretted it. Well built, plenty of safety and convenience features, plenty of power, Subaru engine starts on first pull, seems every bit as good as a Honda.

Agree it is a little difficult to use on curves, have to pick up the rear end and guide it around the curve. The price has increased substantially since I got mine, makes the case for doing all maintenance properly, but for me it was a good purchase given all of the junk edgers out... more
Richard Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Malcolm M.
Everett, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/1/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Regreats
Purchased the Ariens 986101 edger recently. Very easy to assemble. Started with one pull. I love this Subaru engine. It's like a Honda. The edger cut through the sod like butter. Had a little problem around tight corners but other than that, I am very pleased.

The edger was the cheapest at Mowers Direct. It also was free shipping and no sales tax. Can't beat that. My only negative is the box the edger came in. It was a little flimsy and had a few holes in it where the handle hit it.... more
Malcolm Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
20
James S.
Twin Lakes, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/17/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality And Powerful
I was looking for an edger with quality brand reputation and reliability. Have owned an Ariens snow thrower for years, I knew buying their edger would be a safe bet, and I was correct. The edger arrived in 2 business days, packaged intact. A small handle assembly was required and the edger was ready to go.

Two pulls and the engine came to life. To me, it was a bit noisy, but I am guessing it is due to the overhead CAM. The edger has plenty of power to cut through the toughest of dirt and... more
James Recommends This Ariens Product
James's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good reviews, great prices with free shipping. Highly recommend using Mowers Direct"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Carl R.
South Webster, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/31/16
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Pleased
I have used this edger 4 times. It replaced an older Craftsman Edger. I edge approximately 800' of walk and driveway each week.

I have no curbs on my property so I can't address the curb performance. The edger starts very easily and performs flawlessly.

I am extremely happy with this purchase.
Pros: Reliable, Easy To Use, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: The Oil Fill Tube On The Subaru Engine Was Very Poorly Designed, It Is Extremely Difficult To Check Engine Oil
Carl Recommends This Ariens Product
Carl's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Received my purchase in about a week after placing my order. Shipping was very satisfactory. No damage and no issues with PED or Fed Ex."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
David E.
Perkinston, MS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/18/16
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Heavy Duty
Started right up, and doesn't even strain a little after not being edged for over a year. Only draw-back is that it is big and doesn't do curves very well and I have several.
David Recommends This Ariens Product
David's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"You get you pay for what."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Susan P.
Fort Collins, CO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/20/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product,,,
Great product ,arrived fast. Would definitely recommend.
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Durable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Susan Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Frederick T.
Roanoke, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/23/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Power To Spare!
I have a long circular drive which had not been edged for a significant amount of time. I bought the house last year and there was over a foot of grass beyond the edge of the concrete for over 300 feet. I was finished with the initial pass in under two hours, mostly because it was hard to find the edge of the concrete and the grass was so thick that I had to go over some areas twice after I pulled the first cut out of the way. For the most part I just walked at a slow pace and the edger did... more
Frederick Recommends This Ariens Product
Frederick's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Edger was delivered quickly, as promised. Box had minimal damage but the edger was in perfect condition. Added oil and gas and the engine started on the third pull, first or second pull thereafter. Very pleased with the edger and Mowers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles N.
Slinger, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/17/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Edger
Great product, only takes a few minutes to edge my driveway, Easy to start and to work with.
Charles Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Anthony E.
Berwick, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/1/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Edger
I got this edger and used it and it performs great. I would recommend it for anybody.
Anthony Recommends This Ariens Product
Anthony's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Best one I ever had. Really love this edger."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
William D.
Indian Springs, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/28/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Really Great Lawn Edger
The Ariens Model 986101 lawn edger is by far the best edger that I have ever used. The edger is extremely well-built and extremely sturdy. The engine is of sufficient horsepower to cut though very hard dirt at the edge of the curb in my front yard, whereas my previous 3.5 horsepower edger would die unless I moved the edger extremely slowly. I am really thrilled with this Ariens 169cc edger!
William Recommends This Ariens Product
William's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Really great seller. Great packaging, so no shipping damage."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John P.
Corydon, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/25/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Equipment
Out of the box, quick setup. Filled all fluids, one pull, and I was edging. A nice piece of turf equipment.
John Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/20/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Edger
Easy assembly, very thorough manual, added gas and started right up. Plenty of power, can run at 1/3rd to half throttle most of the time. Great Subaru engine and overall build quality.
Ron Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph H.
East Lansing, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/20/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Edger
I have only used the edger three times so far. It has worked great the three times I have used it. It started on the first or second pull and it is very powerful. I have very thick sod, but this edger cuts it like a hot knife through butter. The edger also arrived very quickly when shipped. The shipping box is flimsy. The box was torn in several different places, but the edger was in perfect condition. Very happy with the edger.
Was this review helpful?
00
Robbie S.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/26/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Purchased this after using a sub-par machine that never worked very good. This thing is way bettet! No lack of power! Takes 10x loger to clean up than it does to use tbe machine!!!!
Robbie Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill S.
Murray, KY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/29/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Working In Ky
Works great.. 1 thing is the spring on the cut off lever needs to be stronger. Mine had to be fixed..

Once fixed, it has been working great.. Edges look GREAT. Best of all, no more weed eating for 30 min per drive way. And yes all the neighbors are jealous.
Bill Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Keith
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/2/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's Worth It, But Not Functional Out Of The Box.
A few annoying quality control issues from the factory overlooked by American workers who evidently lack pride in their work. Nothing which wasn't fixed through some adjustments, but a consumer lacking mechanical skill would likely be frustrated and required to take to a dealer for warranty work.

Once corrected, an excellent product well worth the money. Motor starts on first pull. Plenty of power. Leaves a perfect edge. Does what it was designed to do very well.
Keith Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Carl B.
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/22/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Runner !
Needed to do edging of very long drives and landscaping beds. Unit starts and runs great.

Only downside: stock blade wears down in diameter very fast. Blade is purposely thin for good cutting, but that causes easy wear. Blades are cheap, but still, I'd rather not need to change them often.

I assume this is true on any 9" edger. I find unit is stable and adjustable as designed and overall have had a great time with it and the edges look spectacular !
Carl Recommends This Ariens Product
Carl's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good shipping condition and packing. Good tracking. Had it in stock where the supply for others was non-existent."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kenneth S.
Mc Calla, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/26/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Happy Customer
Unit works well. Runs well and is strong. I thought it would give me a small ditch or groove along driveway. This unit only slices a thin line into the ground. I may modify the cutter wheel to take out a half inch or so width to the depth I choose. This will be a big improvement for my personal lawn appearance.
Kenneth Recommends This Ariens Product
Kenneth's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great website!!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Marvin W.
Horn Lake, MS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/27/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
I bought the Ariens after having some bad luck with some other brands and styles of edgers. Have only used it once and it worked great. Subaru engine started right up and I like the throttle, choke and fuel shut off controls. I like the side shaft and belt design. The adjustable wheel worked fine for my style of curb.

Made a blade guide and added this option to the blade guard. I am looking forward to many years of service out of this edger. The edger seems to be made well, and I like... more
Pros: Reliable, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Features
Cons: Expensive, No Blade Guide
Marvin Recommends This Ariens Product
Marvin's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to purchase. Once the purchase was made, the edger was at my front door step in no time. Very prompt delivery. The Mowers Direct web site seemed to have plenty of information to assist in making an informed decision and the selection process easier."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
William Gray
Perry, GA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/3/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Does A Great Job, But?
This machine has performed great with the exception that the "Integrated Safety Circuit" malfunctioned. The engine shuts off even when the handle is held in the closed position. Had to disconnect the safety switch to run the edger.

Otherwise it has performed great, good power and cranks very easily. Takes a little effort to edge around sharper curves.
William Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
James J.
Olive Branch, MS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/27/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Walk Behind Edger
I have only used it 1 time, seems well built, did a good job. I have one complaint, the adjustment for the curb wheel will not go low enough, I had to drill another hole to get it low enough for my curb. Maybe they have lower curbs where they build them. Other than that I am pleased with it.
James Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven B.
Lake Orion, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/12/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Walk-behind Edger!
Loving this machine so far. Solidly made with all metal parts. Starts right up and does the job! Love the different adjustments too. I had a good Jacobsen for 20 years that my father had 20 years before that. Finally wore out. So I was looking to replace that study edger. This one is even better.

You may want to package it better however. When it arrived, the box was crushed a little on the side which had me worried. Once inside, it did not appear to have enough padding/packaging... more
Cons: Packaging, Needs Padding Inside
Steven Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bruce R.
Anna, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/14/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ariens
I've always wanted an edger I've done a lot of research this one works very well and like what every one else says the box it comes in needs to be stronger and packed better.
Bruce Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joe P.
Avon, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/7/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Review Model 986101
Only have used it one time, and it seems to do the job fine. Having a little problem with getting the curb wheel to the right height to do curb right. ended up just holding it up. does flat sidewalks fine.
Joe Recommends This Ariens Product
Joe's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"BOX WAS OPEN, BUT IT WAS NOT YOUR FAULT. THE GUY DELIVERING IT SAID IT FELL OVER IN THE TRUCK BUT DID NOT BOTHER THE EDGER."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Bob B.
Plantsville, CT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/26/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
Bought the machine from here. My sidewalks were in need of edging. Never done that job in 30 years, so the grass was overtaking the sidewalk and patio. I received the machine quickly in a few days from Fed EX. It looked in perfect condition, but when I opened the box, I noticed the gas tank had a dent in it which cracked the paint. Well, I figure getting the cardboard box out of the trash may be not worth the effort as long as gas won't leak out of the tank.

Everything is OK, it doesn't... more
Bob Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kenneth H.
Elkton, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/16/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Most Powerful
Expectations satisfied. Delivered on time. Poured in supplied oil. Filled the tank with gas pulled the rope twice and it fired right up.
Simple assembly of a few parts.
Kenneth Recommends This Ariens Product
Kenneth's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"First time I ordered anything like this online. Was skeptical. They put my fears to rest. I avoided sales tax and saved a lot. Satisfied!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Lynn G.
Bismarck, ND
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/19/16
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
5 Machines And Counting !!
I started an edging business 7 years ago. I like the ariens edgers more for the versatility than the durability. Here are a few of the things I think should be improved. The blade shield and the carriage frame should have thicker steel. The bolt pattern on the blade shield should be wider as to dissipate all the stress.(cracks to easy) The shift bar cracks to easy. Should be reinforced.

The shift point on the blade carriage should be closer to the blade as to reduce vibration. Oil plugs... more
Lynn Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary P.
Beaver Dam, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/2/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dissappointed
I own two other Ariens products, and am completely satisfied with them. When this arrived, the box was torn in many places, but the edger inside was fine. I assembled the unit, just the handle to fold up and a rod for the depth cut to install.

Okay, filled the oil to the correct level and gassed it up. Once I figured out where the controls were it started fine, but then it would not stay running. No matter how many times, it starts fine but does not stay running.

This is not the... more
Pros: Features, Quiet
Cons: Packaging, Unreliable
Gary Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Charles H.
Alexandria, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 12/4/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Packaging
As was the case with many others, the box in which the edger arrived had several holes with a handle protruding from one. Fortunately, there was only minor damage to one hand grip. assembly was easy, except for a missing cotter pin. it is a heavy machine (caps lock). appers to be a nice edger. have not yet used it.
Charles Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Paul August
Lancaster, NY
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
"you Get What You Pay For"
I just purchased this machine and have used for the 1st time. What a great machine for my application- which
consists of about 500-550 linear feet of edging.

The unit is easy to start with a manual choke and adjustable throttle, and the safety bar vs. cutter blade rotation feature is great in that you can shut off the blade rotation without having to shut down the engine.

There are too many great features to talk about, and the only thing I regret about purchasing this Ariens unit
is... more
Was this review helpful?
244
Rob W.
San Antonio, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 1/18/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Subaru Power - Solid Frame
My affinity for Subaru engines brought me to this edger. I looked at McLane and other higher-end edgers before settling on the Ariens. I have a pro model straight shaft Hitachi string trimmer but got fed up replacing the spool line over and over AND OVER! Basically, I needed a bigger hammer and found it. The power and reliability of this machine sold me. My edger was delivered quickly. It also had a large dent in the gas tank right on top at the gas cap area. I can only assume when the handles... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, Reliable
Cons: Packaging
Rob Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
160
Sal D.
Marlboro, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/4/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Curb Hopping Needs Help.
I think Ariens missed completing the engineering and design of the the curb hopping feature- the unit does not really provide for effective curb hopping. The curb hopping wheel support is too short. My 20 year old Craftsman edger actually did a better job on curbs. I will be fair and say the curbs on my street are high. But again the Craftsman did the job pretty well. As far as reliability you cannot beat the Subaru engine. What a dream! Starts on first pull and it does not bog down even... more
Pros: Reliable, Durable
Cons: Difficult To Use
Sal's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping, complete description and good price."
 more
Was this review helpful?
112
Becky
Fort Worth, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/17/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
A Woman With Power And She Loves It!
Living in Fort Worth the ground is terribly hard and the grass is terribly aggressive. I decided I wanted an edger after my significant other purchased a trimmer which you could "edge". That trimmer took far too much of my precious time and just didn't yield tight results. I told him I was going to purchase a real edger with real power.

Though there might be better ones out there, I am fully satisfied with my Ariens 986101 edger. They sent the needed oil with the machine so... more
Becky Recommends This Ariens Product
Becky's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"I didn't like that they required me to call them back prior to shipping just because they didn't have my name in some database. The credit card I used was valid, matched my name and address, and should have been enough to stand on it's own. Other businesses don't require me to call them back to place an order. Once the order was in though, the shipping was crazy fast!"
 more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Becky,
Becky, We do apologize for any inconvenience the requirement of a call back may have caused you. This does not happen every time an order is placed, but we do try to screen as many orders as possible to stop possible theft and verify a person is who they say they are. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience in our verification process.
Was this review helpful?
91
Kevin
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/15/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mowers Direct Were Great
Very happy with my purchase and extremely happy with Mowers Direct. I ordered my Ariens 986101 Edger on a Tuesday morning and it was in front of my garage the next day at noon. No damage from shipping. Added oil and gas, positioned the handle bars and have been edging ever since, problem free. Ariens has always made a quality product, Iv'e owned several of there machines over the years and never disappointed. I will order again from Mowers Direct for there service is unbeatable! Such a pleasure... more
Pros: Reliable, Durable, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Kevin Recommends This Ariens Product
Kevin's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"So impressed with Mowers Direct Service, I have been telling all my freinds and family about them. I will buy all my future equipment from them as long as they maintain such quality service!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
91
Richard L.
Lake City, SC
Total Reviews
5 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Top Of The Line
Had an older Craftsman for years which finally gave out but this unit is better. Have had it 3 yrs. Like the safety features, and Subaru engine is very good. Easy start, variable throttle, fuel shut off, powerful. Well designed and built should last a long time with good maintenance. Pricier now than when I got mine, but is a high quality unit.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Richard Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
113
Mark T.
Conroe, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/8/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is Your Edger!
Had two Troy-Bilt edgers that were under-powered and difficult to start. Ordered an Ariens even though it was out of stock. Shipped day promised delivered 2 days later.

Spent 15 minutes assembling put in oil and gas. Started on first pull. This is a sweet, well-built, powerful edger. Worth the money,
Pros: Reliable, Easy To Use, High Quality, Durable
Cons: None
Mark Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Donald H.
Crosby, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/24/14
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ariens 9" 169cc 4 Cycle Lawn Edger
The engine is great starts with one pull every time. The edger blade drive assembly is well made.The edger blade controls are easy to manipulate.

It does a very good job of edging even in wet soil. I needed a powerful edger.

Ariens downfall is their so called curb hop feature. The bracket type arm the curb wheel is attached to is too short. It needs at least 2 more inches of length to enable the edger frame to set level.

The curb hop feature should be replaced with a step pedal... more
Was this review helpful?
81
Kelly B.
Ankeny, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/22/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nervous To Use It...with Damaged Gas Tank
In my excitement to receive this new equipment, I unpacked it from the box and set it in the garage until I was going to have time to do the minimal assembly and put it to use. Of course...I threw away the battered and torn up box.

Then...a few days after receiving...when I went out to play around with it...I discovered the gas tank is completely crushed in (a function of shipping, where obviously the height adjustment bracket from the folded down handle bars had crushed the gas tank).

I... more
Cons: Packaging
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Kelly,
Kelly,

Yes, we at PED always read the reviews. Please give us a call and we can discuss this further and get the situation taken care of. Shipping damage happens and we know this. We would be more than happy to help as we will always stand behind the products we sell.
more
Was this review helpful?
92
Michael C.
League City, TX
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Some What Dissapointed
1st of All, let me state that the craftsmanship of this Ariens Edger seems to be Great ! It does NOT have that cheap, made in China look or feel that most of every thing you buy now days has.
I bought the model with the Subaru engine, It is great, much quieter than I anticipated.
But "I" have a few Quirks about it ( it may be that I am too picky)

1. there is not, what I would call a "follower", a piece of metal that rides along the edge of the pavement that you are... more
Michael Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Kim L.
Southaven, MS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/13/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens 169cc Subaru Lawn Edger
After doing a long time searching and reading reviews as best as I could find I decided on this model. It was a toss up between this and the Cub Cadet and this one won out as I liked it's handle assembly better.

I ordered it on a Friday and that following Monday I received an email saying it shipped with a scheduled delivery on Thursday. Turned out the unit arrived on Wednesday afternoon via FedEx ground. My wife was home that day and she was going to have the delivery man put it in the... more
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Features
Cons: Packaging
Kim Recommends This Ariens Product
Kim's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everything went smoothly with my transaction. The website was easy to navigate and straight forward. Received regular updates via email and processing was fast."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Dan G.
Keswick, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/10/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Machine But Belt Broke First Day Of Use
Product arrived very quickly and in good condition. Throttle needed adjustment (without nut tightened properly at assembly plant, throttle spring always snapped back to "turtle"). Took calling Mowers Direct, then Ariens, then Subaru, then after Subaru did its research getting a call back from them to tell me to simply tighten the nut. Once that was figured out, machine worked as advertised. Unfortunately belt to blade broke within first hour, while on flat ground operating normally.... more
Dan Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Roger S.
Midlothian, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/3/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Rks Lawn Care
With a few modifications, this is the best edger ever.

Mod 1 Installed an additional wheel in the front for support and stability.
Mod 2 Drilled another whole in the frame for the curb extension wheel.

This unit is a little heavy with the six horse engine so the extra wheel just gives you more confidence while edging. The major complaint with this unit has been the curb wheel not extending far enough down. So I drilled a hole 1.5 in. below the top one and changed the tightening nut to... more
Roger Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Theodore R.
Navarre, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/5/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Good Machine
This is a good machine,will start on one pull does a good job. The price at mowers direct is high you can do a lot better at some other place. This machine is heavy it would be better if it was not so heavy, it will wear you out if you got a lot to edge. But other than that, it is great.
Theodore Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
42
Alex
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/21/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Edger
Great edger that should last me the next 30 years +. Great engineering, plenty of power, reliable engine. I take good care of my equipment. Have a mower (Japanese brand) that I bought in 1983, still going strong. This edger appears to be of the same quality.
Alex Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven D.
Aston, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/21/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ariens Edger
Item arrived as described. Packaging was damaged, but the contents were okay and complete. I have not used it yet, due to bad weather.
Steven Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials