Search
< Back to Product

Ariens Zoom 42 Zero Turn Lawn Mower Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
 
$2,499.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
 
$2,499.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Ariens 915159 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Price (16)
High Quality (12)
I'd Buy It Again (10)
Easy To Use (7)
Exceeded Expectations (6)
Cons
Packaging (2)
Difficult To Use (2)
Low Quality (2)
Bad Instructions (1)
Learning Period Required... (1)
84% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
70 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Joseph V.
Port Mansfield, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 12/9/15
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
"orange Crush" Cuts Grass!
After buying my zoom 42 on close out during the month of December 2015, I read up on reviews before selecting this zero turn mower.

I also looked very closely at the reviewers assessment of getting the mower off a freight truck. I selected the extra-charge of $50.00 for the power tail gate delivery.

This was just a week or more before Christmas. I had some trouble in following the tracking numbers from Old Dominion Freight.
It arrived on Friday, NO delivery until the following week. By... more
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Cons: Packaging, I Used My Skill Saw To Unbox The Shipping Container
Joseph Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
John D.
Winter Haven, FL
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Problems With My Ariens Zomm 42.
I purchased this mower in Aug/2014,changing the oil yourself is not easy and its messy.Last week I was mowing about 45/min and I lost all control from the left joy stick,I did manage to get it back to my storege shed.I called Garden Grove Lawn Mower where I bought this mower, I told them the problem ,they said It had less them two months left on the warranty and see if I could bring to to them for repair.

After setting in my shed I for about two hours the machine was running good no... more
John Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thank you so much for providing valuable feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced with your machine.
It sounds like your machine is running properly at this point however, I would encourage you, if you have not already, to discuss the tire and seat issues with your servicing dealer. They are the eyes and ears of the factory in the field.
Again, thank you for taking the time share your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
John D.
Winter Haven, FL
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Returned To The Shop Again,same Problem.
This is the second time to the shop, this time the shop did find the problem. Bob at Garden Grove Lawn Mower said my problem was being caused by the casing inside the hydro was chipping causing the hydro to stop working on the left side.

Bob at the shop says he has been in contact with Ariens and they want him to fix the unit but Bob says it cant be fixed it will have to be replaced... So here I am with a mower in the shop in the middle of mowing season,and don't know when I will get that... more
John Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
We apologize for the frustration this has caused and truly appreciate your feedback. We have been in contact with Bob at Garden Grove. He was kind enough to send in pictures and we were able to provide him with the parts identification that he needed to perform the repair.
Again, I apologize for the inconvenience.

Barb
Ariens Company
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brett L.
Marseilles, IL
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Investment
I've had this mower for two years now and very pleased with the style and quality. Ariens is the only 42" deck with three blades and does a great job mowing. The only thing they need to change is the battery, it is to small and a hot engine starts hard when you shut it down. I replaced it with a larger battery and solved that problem. There is plenty of room in the compartment under the seat for a larger battery. A great buy.
Brett Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
James S.
Canyon, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/30/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Swinford-----canyon, Texas
Just received zero turn mower in time to mow once before the snow storm. It appears to be an excellent mower.
James Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike
Chesapeake, VA
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love The Mower Hate The Mulch Kit
I purchased an Ariens Zoom 42 from a big box store and the mulch kit from mowers direct. After installing the mulch kit (which requires jacking up the mower and removing the blades - a real pain BTW), I experienced a trail of grass about 2 inches wide trailing from the mower, especially when mowing in a circle (i.e., around trees) . When shopping for the mulch kit, Ariens told me the kit needed an additional part (51522800) which basically are foam block inserts to block the grass leaking... more
View Image
Was this review helpful?
335
Steven
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/22/12
Total Helpful Votes
37 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Overall, I'm Satisfied
I spent a couple of weeks searching for a 42" mower for my acre and half yard. Decided on this Ariens over the Toro time cutter SS.

The Toro looks very cheap to me. I paid by check, it took longer, but I saved 50 or so bucks. Get the lift gate service- you can't unload the mower without it. The mower came in an 18-wheeler, packaged well on 2 pallets. It was very hard to get off the pallets. I got aggravated and lifted mower off pallets completely after busting up my thumb trying to... more
View Image
View Image
Was this review helpful?
3714
Kevin
Conway, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/26/12
Total Helpful Votes
24 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mixed Review
OK- I had purchased a 40" Ariens Zoom back in 2002, used it for 10 years on a large residential lot until it bit the dirt. I reluctantly went to my local big-box hardware store and bought a Husqvarna zero-turn model and HATED IT! It wasn't even comparable to the Ariens I had before, even though it cost about the same, had a bigger cutting radius and looked like a good unit. I put 10 hours on the yellow H bug and sold it at a loss. Ugh...

Then, I happily found Mowers Direct and was... more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Kevin,
We'll use the Service Locator on our web site to direct you to the closest Warranty Service location, and email it to you through your account.

We're sorry for the delay on our phones; since we also sell generators we've been swamped with calls from Hurricane Sandy survivors.
more
Was this review helpful?
242
Jerry B.
Lawrence, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/16/15
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Zoom 42" Zero Turn
I have just used the mower a couple of times, I'm getting the beginners learning moments usage, I really like what little mowing I've done, I have lived in this house for 34 years, and always had a nice lawn.

The lawn now looks better cut than it ever has, this mower deck with the support design is great, The cut is flat all over the lawn. I have had good comments from several people. I installed the mulching kit, and it worked great.

I think I will keep it. Wish I had purchased... more
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Jerry Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
212
Stephen N.
New Palestine, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/20/13
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Major Problem
This is a nice mower but it has one major problem. If you sit in one spot for more than 5 seconds, the exhaust and heat from the muffler burn the grass. It takes a couple of days for the grass to turn brown and then you can see the outline of the muffler and where the exhaust discharged. This mower definitely needs a heat shield around the muffler.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Needs A Muffler Heat Shield
Stephen Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
213
John S.
Baton Rouge, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/7/15
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Zoom 42 Inch Ztr Model 915159 Mower
Did lots and lots of research on all 42 inch ZTR mowers made. Although they all cut your grass, some just do a better job than others. I visited places that sold different makes and models of mowers that fell into the price that I wanted to pay.

I looked at things like quality of materials used, workmanship, company past history and reviews of person that has owned and used the mower. I paid attention to weather it had two cutting blades or three. I definitely had to have one with three... more
John Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
174
Sandra C.
Chadbourn, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/19/13
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Mower
So far I have only used my mower once, but I love it, came fast, had it on the grass in a few hours, all u do is cut off the wooden pallets, put gas in the tank and she will fire right up. I was only missing one screw for the handle bars. Mowers Direct is great, good prices, no taxes, no shipping and even save money if you send a check. I was not too happy about paying a lift fee, but by writing a check for full payment the cash back was my lift fee charge. I will by direct again in future... more
Was this review helpful?
152
Walter K.
Ramsey, NJ
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2011
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Superintendent Of Small Cemetery
Good little mower. We bought this model for cutting between the head stones-cuts well. HOWEVER lately after about 60 hours of mowing the blade spindle bearings are "whining"- indicating they are in need of replacement. We have 3 other brands of zero turn mowers and they ALL have grease fittings for lubricating the spindles ALAS this model does not have fittings so no regular "preventative" maintenance is available. We purchased this model at a Home Depot early this... more
Was this review helpful?
130
Larry B.
Fort Gibson, OK
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/22/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Machine, Cuts Very Well And Easy.
The truck dropped it off at 9:30 AM, at 10:20 I started it and took my first ride. Some advise, don't try to take the crate apart. Get a recip. saw and cut the crate off in pieces, pull both bypass levers out and lock in place, then push the machine off the pallet by hand. Piece of cake.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Features, Price
Larry Recommends This Ariens Mower
Larry's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good overall, wait time on phone can be long."
 more
Was this review helpful?
142
Lois
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Keeps Cutting Off
This machine has been in the shop 5 times this year. I have owned this machine for two year's.
Pros: A Waste Of Money
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Lois Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
187
Mike M.
Springhill, FL
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Get A Toro
Had for a year and a half, deck spindle bearings are bad on left side and I only mow a quarter acre, never abused still looks new, always garaged and washed after each use.
Pros: Price, Fast
Cons: Low Quality, Durability
Mike Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
122
John
Seminole, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/20/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
The mower was delivered when promised and not too hard to uncrate. It does a good job cutting the grass and I am very happy with it.
Was this review helpful?
111
Mike B.
Agua Dulce, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/30/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I have had a Dixon for several years, but it was stolen from the repair shop. I found Mowers Direct and began to research their mowers and ask Todd several questions. Of the four that I had narrowed down to, he recommended this mower.

I tried it out for the first time today and it was really a pleasant experience. I could stay on the side of the drainage ditch in front of my house for the first time in years (I never could with the Dixon). It sure beats mowing with a weedeater.
more
Was this review helpful?
122
Drewrey Lea
East Brunswick, NJ
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/24/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
What a joy to operate!
Pros: Price, Durable, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging, Removing It From Skid
Drewrey Recommends This Ariens Mower
Drewrey Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great mower. Don't know how I lived without it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
101
George P.
Ijamsville, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/5/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Zero Turn, Higher Quality Than Better Known Brands
I purchased last summer and have about 50 hours on the Machine. Overall it has exceeded my expectations. Goes up and down steep hills with ease. Cuts first pass at high speed with no issues. Zero turn transmissions is smooth and well balanced.

Only complaint is the Muffler is a bit louder than it needs to be and where it's located I have to wait for it to cool before installing the cover for storage. Also the welds on the muffler feeder pipe have started to show signs of rust.

But... more
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
George Recommends This Ariens Mower
George's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Overall good online buying experience. Customer service was good and I was able to get a knowledgable human on the phone to answer questions."
 more
Was this review helpful?
113
Mike
Florence, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/23/11
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Traction Is Terrible
This is a great mower for the money. But, if traction is a concern, get something heavier with larger rear tires. Heading downhill? Plan on a long ride. Uphill is OK but stay away from slopes next to ditches and the lake.
Was this review helpful?
91
Pal
Carriere, MS
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Mower
PROS:Mower is easy to drive and makes cutting grass very fast. CONS: This style mower has 3 blades, it is hard to get to them to sharpen. I have an acre to mow, so the blades need sharpening every other time. Mower will not cut wet grass from morning dew gets clogged up. Will not cut very high grass, it leaves long sprigs of grass up still growing.
Was this review helpful?
70
John
Silverpoint, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/24/13
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is A Great Mower For The Price !!!very Satisfied !!!
I bought this mower for mowing hilly areas. Have had it for a week and it does a good job! It will mow your grass in half the time with a rider very impressed!!
Was this review helpful?
82
Michael
Trimble, MO
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Paint Chipping
We got a good deal on the mower. We have only had it a week now and it's running good, BUT the paint is already peeling and chipping off of the engine cover. How can we resolve this issue?
Was this review helpful?
71
Eddie F.
Archdale, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/13/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tired Of Taking So Long
I had a grate deal of objects in the yard. I mow my mother in laws yard also, she is 80 and doesn't want to give up any bird baths or bird houses. She has plenty and this mower has helped get around all of these objects a lot faster. Cut 45 minutes in mowing time.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Easy To Learn To Operate
Cons: Non
Eddie Recommends This Ariens Mower
Eddie Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great prices and fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
61
Mike B.
Agua Dulce, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/30/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower, Great Company
I uncrated this with my good neighbor's help. It would not start with the choke pulled out, then I found that I had pulled out the PTO instead of the choke- then it started.

I do wish it had a manual choke, as it is hard to start when cold. All that to say this is undoubtedly the best mower that I have ever used. I had a Dixon before - no contest.

It's a great mower and a great company to deal with.
Was this review helpful?
61
Jay W.
Franklin, WI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/6/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Zoom 42
Well satisfied with a mower.
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Durable
Cons: Expensive
Jay Recommends This Ariens Mower
Jay's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipped fast, didn't think it was going to get delivered that fast. Took it out of the crate set it up and mow the grass run great real satisfied."
 more
Was this review helpful?
84
Ryan M.
Moss Bluff, LA
REVIEWED
MAR.
28
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ariens 42 Inch
I've had this mower one week and found a couple minor problems. (1) the braking system has a rod connected to the brake mechanism, it's held on with a bobby pin style pin. I had one fall off the very first use; cotter pins would have been much better to keep it in place. (2) I ordered the armrest kit with the mower it's absolutely the worst mounting design I've ever seen. It requires you to drill and tap the 1/8" PLASTIC on the back of the seat and use 3 screws to hold it in place,... more
Was this review helpful?
40
Lowell
Shavano Park, TX
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mower Is Pretty Good *do Not Get Bagger*
The mower works pretty well. The bagger, however, constantly clogs. It also is a poor design. Debris leaks from the bag chute covering the air intake of the engine. You must constantly clean it or the engine overheats. I would recommend the mulch kit instead of the bagger.
Was this review helpful?
40
James Y.
Rio Hondo, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/12/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower For The Money
This mower is a real work horse. I've been using it for 2 years now. Put a hitch ball on front & back & move boat trailers around my RV park & put small fishing boats in & out of the water with it. I also pull brush out when I'm trimming trees. 3 blades on a 42 cut does an extra nice.job. I also have a Dixon ZTR & the Ariens beats it 2 to 1.
James Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
41
Phillip M.
Matthews, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/12/15
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far Great
I will start by saying that so far the mower performs awesome. However when the delivery came the driver did not have a jack to fit under the pallet. He called before he arrived asking if I had a hammer. My home is about 250' from the road so a saw was out of the question and it was raining. I used my hammer to break the container apart and the driver and I got it to the lift.

I had read from other reviews about the 2 release rods in from of each of the back wheels. That was fairly... more
Phillip Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
85
Ed R.
Newcomerstown, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/11/15
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great So Far
Very happy so far. It's in the shed, ready to go. Never thought I would be excited about the grass growing lol
I will update later.
Ed Recommends This Ariens Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Ed,
Thank you for sharing. We look forward to your follow-up review, and would love to see how it does. Feel free to include a picture in your follow-up review. Best wishes, and have a great spring.
more
Was this review helpful?
52
Jimmy Hill
Bentonville, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/28/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Watch The Left Drive Wheel!
Having used a 60" cut "Bad Boy" for years, I've grown accustomed to guiding around trees & flower beds (with a neat, close cut) judging by the proximity of the left side of the mowing deck. The left drive wheel perfectly tracks the arc of the ZTR's cutting edge.

Not so on the 42" Ariens! Thus far, I've managed to "flip" two flower bed landscaping blocks, "barked" a few small trees, and broken two cedar privacy fence boards, all while watching... more
Pros: Price, Fast, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Difficult To Use
Jimmy Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jimmy's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"42" Ariens ZTR starts readily, mows evenly, and the 20 hp Kohler engine provides plenty of power. The only negative feature I've discovered is the fact that the left drive wheel tracks a good inch inside the cutting arc on left turns, and is therefore a significant danger to the operator and landscape. (I already know of one neighbor that nearly lost her leg, when her tractor "climbed a tree" while she was mowing around it!)"
 more
Was this review helpful?
129
David P.
Jonesboro, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/23/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy And Fast
We have been trying to buy a mower all summer. Two large home improvement stores were NOT helpful. We purchased a mower from one of those stores and after waiting for over 2 weeks for delivery, we asked for a refund. The other local store was no better. Finally we decided to buy on line. I ordered the mower and within a few days it was delivered to my home. Wish I had ordered on line months ago. You made it so easy! We love the new mower!
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable
David Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
41
Pete
Andes, NY
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Fully Satisfied
I'm loving my new zero-radius Ariens mower, even though the property I mow has a few areas of serious pitch. It can be very tough to turn while traveling fast downhill,or even side hill, but I've developed the touch (mostly it means slowing down to almost a stop, then turning) and find that the advantages of the mower (turn on a dime, plenty of horsepower, very comfortable seat (and I weight 220)) to be such that I'm very happy with it.
Was this review helpful?
41
Scott M.
Eden Prairie, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/11/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower Small Battery
Purchased this lawnmower early fall 2015. It does a fantastic job. The zero turn works great and you get the hang of it quickly. You do need to be careful making turns do you font fig up the yard.

The battery the comes with this mower is very small and lasted for about four starts. No problem, just run to the hardware store and picked up one for about $20.00. There's plenty of room for a good size battery . Everything else is great!
Scott Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Charles D.
Pocatello, ID
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/6/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
They Call It Love
I recently purchased an Ariens Zoom 42 ZTR mower. It was delivered in record time, and set up was minimal and easy. It took about 2 minutes to feel comfortable operating the machine. The mower delivers an outstanding cut, no scalping, very clean. Far superior to my old 42" lawn tractor mower (which died). And it has honestly reduced my mowing and trimming time by 50% or more. I even used it to mow an acre of horse pasture, and it worked great! I love it and should have bought one years... more
Pros: Price, High Quality, Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: Small Fuel Tank
Charles Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Albert F.
Angleton, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/25/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quick And Well Coordinated Delivery
Delivery truck had trouble unloading crate so he unpacked mower on truck and then unloaded mower on power lift. Saved me from uncrating mower so I tipped the driver. Mower gassed up and running within an hour plus I did not have to uncrate. Runs great and well built. Beginning to feel comfortable with ZTR mower after two cuttings.
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Quiet
Cons: Difficult To Use, Learning Period Required For Ztr Any
Albert Recommends This Ariens Mower
Albert Would Recommend Mowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great ZTR mower with prompt and well coordinated delivery. Arien 42" ZTR mower has exceeded my expectations."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Bruce F.
New London, WI
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I have had my mower for a couple months and I love it so far. It is easy to get used to the steering, and a blast to drive. The delivery was smooth and swift.
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations
Bruce Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Tj D.
Havana, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/7/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Looking Machine
I have been trying to get use to stick steering and am not very good yet, but once I catch on, I'm certain that I will really enjoy it. It is well built and a great looking mower. I really had a time getting it uncrated. A sawsall and two friends finally got the job done.
Pros: Price, Durable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Tj Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
Brian H.
Forestville, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/29/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
New Today
This mower was just delivered to me today and I spent most of the afternoon mowing my property. I am quite satisfied so far, but the mower I received is different from the one pictured. The steering bars are different and the front plate is orange, no big deal, but deceiving. I also ordered the headlight accessory and tried to wire it up, but couldn't find the wiring harness mentioned in the instructions and the picture of the front of the mower differed from mine. I also could not find any... more
Pros: Price
Brian Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
42
Ron M
Greenbrier, AR
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/18/11
REVIEWED
APR.
10
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zero Turn Is Great
I have always wanted a zero turn lawn mower, when I saw this on mowers direct it was such a great price I had to have one. I've used it once and it's great. Very fast. Starts immediately and easy to use. I'm 65 years old and I plan on this being my last lawn mower.

Great price. Great service from mowers direct.
Was this review helpful?
20
James K.
Anna, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/1/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Not Quite All There
I could not believe there was not an hour meter on the mower. A mower of that class, and you don't even know when to change the oil.

Also, it took about 4 hours to put the trailer hitch on the mower due to mis-alignment of mounting holes.

Also the engine book called for 2 quarts of oil. Took about 2 hours to drain the excess oil.
James Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Jackie F.
Martinsville, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/12/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I am 82 years old, my wife said that I had better stop mowing, using a push mower. The Aries is just great, I love mowing with it, does a great job. I mow every 3 or 4 days.
Jackie Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Charles P.
Henderson, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/24/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ariens Zoom 42 (42") 20hp Zero Turn Lawn Mower
Good mower, Mows quicker than a 48" lawn tractor.
Charles Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Deetta J.
Cortez, CO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/30/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wonderful!!!!!
Such a contrast compared to tractor style. It is going to be great and does the job so much faster and much better.
Deetta Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
32
Rafael R.
Killeen, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 1/8/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Drim Lawn Motor
After I tried two riding lawn mowers a saw the zero turn mower and I want to buy one for my large yard. It is perfect for me, takes half the time now to do my large yard.
Pros: Price, High Quality, Easy To Use, Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions
Rafael Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
43
Robert E.
Brownsburg, IN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/23/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Should Have Bought This Sooner
I have 2 acres of residential yard to maintain. There is a significant ditch along the road along with many trees. I bought this mower to replace a 1997 Dixon that was getting pretty tired as was I at constantly having to adjust those damned cones. Mowers Direct was easy to do business with. The mower shipped the next day & arrived in good condition. I had it delivered to a business address with a fork lift so lift gate was not needed. If you are delivering to a residence pay for the gate.... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, Creates Neighbor Envy
Robert Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Tom
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/16/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mower Good, Bagger- Not So Much
The mower was delivered as expected. It was a little difficult to get out of crate, but not bad. Easy to assemble and mow. Mower is very good and seems well made.

The bagger attachment another story. It was very time consuming and difficult to attach to the mower. It was short a nut and bolt in packaging.

When mowing through leaves quite a few "blow out" on right side. Emptying the bags was clumsy. Overall I think the bagger is very poorly designed and engineered.
Was this review helpful?
21
John H.
Hicksville, OH
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Match
The new mower is a perfect match for a one acre plot of land that we just purchased.

It is fast as well as easy to operate. Being my first zero turn mower I am truly amazed at how much faster it gets the work done.

Delivery was prompt and as promised. Set up was easier and faster than expected.

I am a very satisfied customer.
Was this review helpful?
21
Tom B.
Bertrand, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/10/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cut My Mowing Time In Half
While it took a while to get used to the difference between the Ariens 42" cut and my old mower, I found I could cut my mowing time in half.

The mower runs great and cuts my grass clean. I am so proud I have the Ariens 42" cut.
Was this review helpful?
21
Dennis
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/24/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Mower
Delivery was quick. Mower is fast and runs great. Sometimes it is hard to start but that might be because I have to get used to it. It cuts the grass beautifully. I'm very pleased with the purchase.
Was this review helpful?
10
Scott
Earling, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/4/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens 915159
Mower arrived very quickly. Made quick work of uncrating with a sawsall. My wife had never used a zero turn mower and wanted to give it a try. She soon became a pro at operating the mower. It cuts great, has more than enough power, and is surprisingly quiet. A great machine for the money.
Was this review helpful?
10
Mike
Edinburg, TX
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Leveling Deck
Read the instructions to level deck. Need a simpler solution.
Was this review helpful?
10
Andrew
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/18/12
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fun To Cut Again
GREAT MOWER I researched A LOT of mowers and came back to this mower every time. THE SHIPPING CRATE WAS A NIGHTMARE to deal with, mowers direct how about some help on how to get the mower out without picking it off the palette.
BUT VERY GOOD guys to buy from. IF you are here reading this and looking for a good mower zero turn. And this is one of your picks, stop, you will not get a better mower for the price and nobody has it cheaper, just order it and get ready to enjoy grass cutting again.
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard W.
Parsons, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/8/12
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My 42 Inch Ariens
I love my Ariens mower it is great, cuts really nice and smooth. It is wonderful, it was a little hard getting out of crating, but not bad. It is the smoothest cutting and will turn on a dime, its great. I cant say enough about it. The sellers were great at setting everything up for shipping it came fast after I purchased it. Thanks so much, Rick.
Was this review helpful?
10
Steve J.
Panama, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 2/22/11
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice Mower For The Money !!
I have a small landscaping-mowing business and use this mower as an extra and on my own lawn. It works great, fast and leaves a nice cut. Great mower for the money.
Was this review helpful?
10
Ken
Lansing, MI
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens 42" Zero Turn Mower
Scanned Internet for zero turn mowers and finally ended up with this mower at Mowers Direct. Great company and great mower. Placed order on a Monday--mower was delivered the following Thursday--free shipping.

Uncrating the mower was a challenge--very well crated and protected. Other reviews suggested using a Sawsall, which was an excellent suggestion. However, after removing most of the upper portion of the crate, I was still wondering how I was going to get it off the bottom as the... more
Was this review helpful?
21
Jack P.
Medical Lake, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/29/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Zoom 42 Inch
I have only mowed once with this mower but, engine started fine and mower worked as it should.
Jack Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Scott M.
Eden Prairie, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/11/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Lawn Mower Weak Battery
Purchased the Ariens Zoom 42 inch lawnmower last month and love using it. Cuts very well and the zero turn is great. Went to Menards to buy a new battery as the one that comes with the lawnmower is good for about 3 or 4 starts.

There's plenty of room for the battery so you can get one large enough. His is my first zero turn and I'm still learning the tricks. Have to be carefull making quick turns as you can track up your yard. Overall great lawn mower
Pros: Durable, Quiet
Scott Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Emanuel M.
Owasso, OK
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/19/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Zoom 42 Zero Turn Mower
Hi it took over a month for me to even get a chance to try it out. It was raining when it was delivered and we got over 20" of rain here in OK before it finally stopped. It was worth the wait. I looked for over a year for a zero turn mower. After a lot of research I bought this mower.

I went to JD and took advantage of their free test drive promotion but the foot assist deck level and the 3 blades separated this mower from any in this cutting size. It's well built, powerful, and the... more
Emanuel Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Ray H.
Lucas, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/15/11
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Zt Mower
Mowers Direct was right on top of getting the item shipped as promised. So far it is a great product, and I would recommend Mowers Direct and Ariens to anybody.
Was this review helpful?
00
Al
Wales, WI
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
After comparing various mowers on line and in person, I settled on the ZOOM 42. This size met the requirements of my 1.75 acre yard as well as my price point. I inquired with the company directly to find out if there were "different" series within a model description. The company (which was extremely prompt n getting back to me) assured me that there is no difference in quality, components, or assembly of any of there units and wherever the unit was shipped it is identical to one... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Stanley S.
Sterling, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/16/11
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Mower Is Great
Truly, this Ariens Zoom is the best mower I have ever owned.
Was this review helpful?
00
Stanley S.
Sterling, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/16/11
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Bang For The Buck
I received my mower today, put the control levers in place, filled it with gas and mowed my lawn. This is best mower I have ever bought. I mowed the lawn in half the time. It took on my troy-built, and it was actually fun.
Was this review helpful?
00
Terry G.
Independence, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/13/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zoom Zoom
I just received my Ariens 42" mower and I am very impressed with the quality of the unit. It's taken me some time to figure out the 0-turn but I'm learning. Several people have seen my unit and they too were impressed and will purchase in the future. When my unit was delivered, on time the driver was great and very helpful. My hat is off to the Ariens company for building such an attractive and comfortable machine.
Terry Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
23
Frank S. P.
Elyria, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/20/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zoom 42
HI, I am satisfied with the mower, one thing it needs is something to keep the heat off the grass on the muffler, a deflector other than that you have a WINNER.
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Frank Recommends This Ariens Mower
Frank's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"YOU cant go any better than this mower"
 more
Was this review helpful?
23
Ed M.
Honey Gove, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/6/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Pleased
Mower performs great. Deck wash not as good as hoped.
Pros: Price, Durable, Fast, Reliable
Ed Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
23
Ryan T.
Ocala, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/3/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower For The Price
This mower is fabulous.

I could not have chosen any better of a mower for the price, manuverability, as well as the ease and time saving in mowing the yard. Thank you. . .
Was this review helpful?
01
Larry P.
Waterford, CA
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My First Zero Turn
Shopped long and hard before buying my 42" deck Ariens, I looked at all sizes and prices. Believe me, it turned out to be a good choice I am positive. Reading a few of the reviews about the bagging system which I purchased with mine I can tell you by trial and error what works for me. All wet lawns will clog a chute as will long grass blades (too much to lift) therefore I mow when dry as possible and often, if not often I raise the deck and mow twice if I am clogging too much. Another... more
Was this review helpful?
03
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials