Search
< Back to Product

Ariens LM21SW Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$799.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$829.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$1,004.23
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Ariens 911194 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5
Pros
Durable (5)
Features (5)
Easy To Use (4)
Price (4)
Exceeded Expectations (4)
Cons
Heavy (3)
Expensive (2)
Packaging (1)
Durability (1)
Difficult To Use (1)
75% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
29 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Gary G.
Emporia, KS
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/1/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
My husband love his new mower.
The front wheels are a hit.
Gary Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Diane H.
La Porte, IN
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
A Very Sad Story
We bought this Ariens mower about 5 years ago, and loved it for the first year or so... then the trouble started with the handle bar that sheared in two at the holes. We have replaced more parts on this mower than on any other product that we have ever had-it is in a continuous stage of repair.

The mower appears to be made out of inferior metal parts that do not last. It is used on residential property for approximately 2 hours per week. Front wheel brackets, front wheels, handle bar,... more
Diane Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Diane,
Thank you so much for providing this valuable feedback. We at Ariens in no way want any customer that purchased our product to be unhappy with their decision.
Have you been working with a specific dealer? We would be happy to contact and work with your dealer to be sure that your machine is in good working order.
Please log onto the support section of Ariens.com and submit a form with your model and serial number of the machine and any contact information you would like to provide and we will look at this right away.

Thanks again,
Barb
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Louis Warnholtz
San Antonio, TX
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
40 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Reliable Mower!
Solid construction and reliable KAW engine. It's all about the deck on this mower its deep design with rolled lip makes a superior cut to my commercial Honda. Wheel replacement will be costly especially the rears as they are splined onto axle and oil changes are cumbersome unless you know the trick. The disc drive mechanism is mower's weak point and will be costly to repair. This is my go to mower when I need brute power and a consistent, uniform cut. Mine is going on 10 years now with basic... more
Louis Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim
Raleigh, NC
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Crap
Nothing but trouble. Worked well one season and then started to fall apart. In shop several times and lots of money and now will not start again. Owned one before with good results bought a new one and it sucks. Way to expensive for poor quality.
Jim Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jim,
Jim,
Thank you for providing your feedback. We in no way want anyones experience with an Ariens product to be less than expected.
Please give our Technical Support a call and we would be happy to work through this with you.

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. Your input does nothing but help us improve.
Technical Support
more
Was this review helpful?
03
Lee K.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Total Helpful Votes
26 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Lm21sw
I just bought my second Ariens Model 911194 series mower. The first one lasted 17yrs with very little problems other than couple belts and tire skins. I expect to get another 17 out of this one. I love the swivel wheels so I don't have to lift the mower to make turns. Has plenty of power to pull itself up a reasonable hill.
Was this review helpful?
260
Mark
Fayetteville, AR
Total Helpful Votes
28 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Over Rated
Had about a year now. Heavy construction, good engine, but for the price, it is not up to the grade. Basically because of the undersized rear wheels. On a flat suburban lot, ok, but on any grade, these barbie wheels spin out, and the machine is quite unwieldy due to it's weight. Because of the drive mechanism, the rear wheels cannot be upgraded to a bigger size. What was Ariens thinking when they designed the rear wheel drive? @ $700 + price tag for my commercial business, this was a poor... more
Was this review helpful?
287
Dave
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower In All Areas Except "drive Engagement Bar."
Received the mower promptly and in good condition. Costs about the same as the higher end Hondas but with less "extras," which means less "extras" to go wrong. My only complaint was the drive bar location. Not a good idea to engage with thumbs. Thumbs need to stay wrapped around the mower handle for control while the tips of fingers are used to pull on the drive bar. Did what any red blooded American would do, immediately voided the warranty and modifed the new machine.... more
Was this review helpful?
215
Ernie
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
After 15 Years And Still Going Strong
I've had my Ariens for just over 15 years, yes I thought I would never pay 15 yrs ago $500.00 for a mower but money well spent. I service it regularly and only spent $ 300.00 so far on items that just wear out, rear tires 3 years ago and a new drive pulley, the dealer I take it to didn't believe me that it was 15 years old so I took them the receipt. I keep all my equipment in good running order and even wash it after every use. So I went 5 years ago and bought the 34in. ZTR Ariens and only... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Features
Ernie Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
150
Don M.
Topeka, KS
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not Happy.........
I have made numerous trips to the local repair guy for a motor that just doesn't like to run. I had hoped with a carb rebuild this spring with a new float and whatever else, the Kawasaki engine would do as well as my old mower with a Briggs and Stratton. Nope.

Hauled it back to the shop for the THIRD time THIS season yesterday when it wouldn't start. If I hadn't paid so much I'd leave it at the curb and hope somebody would take it off my hands. The traction is a joke and the speed... more
Don Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Don,
Since you didn't purchase this mower from us, we have no way of knowing how long you've had it. It does however come with a 3-year consumer warranty, so if you're having problems, try giving Ariens a call at (920) 756-4688 to see if they'll honor the warranty or help out with the repairs.
more
Was this review helpful?
101
Suzanne Utrera
Denham Springs, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/30/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Best By Far
Just to let you know, we purchased this mower to replace one exactly like it that we have used for over 24 years for trimming and corners. It is still going strong but we needed a new one before it actually did stop working. Still has the power steering and is in good shape though.

We love the new one with a few newer features that make it easier for us senior citizens to use. Keep up the great production of fine mowers as you have. I would recommend you to anyone, and I have!!!
Suzanne Recommends This Ariens Mower
Suzanne's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"SHARE MY TRUE STORY!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Paul O.
Alexandria, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/30/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Missing Friction Wheel Snap Ring Poor Q/a
I had no speed control - removed access cover and discovered snap ring part number 47 missing from speed control friction wheel - I am a retired auto master tech and mech. engineer and was able to install a snap ring from my collection. I wrote a letter to Ariens advising of this Q/A shortfall. They have provided me with two new snap rings.

New subject is this machine available with optional WIDER REAR wheels? If so I would like to buy them -- part of my lawn is on a hill and this machine... more
Pros: Durable, Features, Price, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Paul Recommends This Ariens Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Paul,
As of right now, we are not aware of any wider wheels for this mower. Ariens may have something, but nothing which is sold as a widely used part.
more
Was this review helpful?
91
Dwayne M.
Altus, OK
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/7/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
29
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower
As for pros, there are several:
My LM21SW arrived quickly and the shipping was free.
Out of the box, it required very little assembly.
There is nothing fragile about this mower. It is heavy, durable, and rugged.

As for cons: there are several:
The weight of the mower makes it awkward to move whenever it isnt running, but its not a huge problem.
The Kawasaki engine runs well and its very strong, but it typically takes five pulls to start.
The drive bail is... more
Dwayne Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
81
Robert S.
Kenneth City, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/9/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Machine!!
I have been using a GTS Toro since 1978. Looking to find something to replace it with and the Ariens Classic LM21SW was the winner!!
Easy to start and a breeze to mow with in the mulching mode. Plenty of power and a great finish cut. It cut my mowing time in half not having to bag the clippings. I am very pleased with how the machine operates! Thanks Mower Direct!!
Pros: Durable, Features, Price, Quiet
Robert Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
92
David S.
Sparks, NV
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/9/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Excellent, reliable, great shipping on time, well informed.
Pros: Features, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
David Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
81
Kathy
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 12/7/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
X Mas Mower
We received my husband's Christmas lawn mower quickly and was packed well.

He hasn't used it yet because it is December and he doesn't need to. He has had his first Ariens for 24 years and still runs strong!!!

The framework has worn out and needs some weld work.

Passed it on to a friend in need who can do the repairs.
Was this review helpful?
72
Paul P.
Arcata, CA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/26/15
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Thanks For The Improved Speed Control.
I have used Ariens swivel wheel models for 15 years or more. I can't see using anything else. The was a tendency for the mower to speed up at times on the last one I had purchased, but this one has a sort of lock down that keeps that from happening.
Paul Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Terri
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Starts And Gets The Job Done With Ease
This mower arrived ready to go. I added fuel and it started on the first pull. Although it is heavy, it is easy to maneuver through the yard with ease, cutting through grass and overgrown small brush. The handle design took a few times to get used to as I turned the mower off instead of releasing the self-propelled bar, but again it started right back up on the first pull. I'm very happy with the mower and recommend it highly.
Was this review helpful?
40
Michael
Hawthorne, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/15/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Machine
No problems as of yet, works perfectly, very powerful.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Michael Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
41
Stacy B.
Jacksonville, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 1/17/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Engagement System Did Not Work
I like the look and the feel of the mower however on the 2nd mowing the rear wheel engagement system quit working.
Was this review helpful?
52
Bobby P.
Clarksville, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/16/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Mower And Accessories
The mower and accessories I have are great, the mower is the best I have used, and the accessories are just as great. Heavy duty, does the job and does it great. I wouldn't have any other after having this one, I will not use anything else. Thanks for the service and the durability of the equipment. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful?
30
Ralph
Newburgh, NY
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
I can't say enough good things about this mower- quick (free) shipping. Showed up when promised. Unfolded handle, put gas in it & it started on the first pull. Does a great job! Would definitely order from Power Equipment Direct again.
Was this review helpful?
30
Anthony O.
Orlando, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/30/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Too Heavy
I had an Airens swivel mower I got about 10 years ago and loved it , so when the drive failed and my dealer couldn't get replacement parts I ordered and received a new one.

This mower is much heavier and almost negate the swivel wheels feature I had with the old mower. Also, the single drive rear wheel and the weight of the mower cause the mower to slide down the slightest incline causing me to make two passes to get a straight cut.

All in all I an thoroughly disappointed with this latest... more
Anthony Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Anthony,
Sorry to hear you are not pleased with the mower, but we do list the weight of it on our website so customers can view this before making a purchase. Also, these mowers should not be used on inclines or slopes greater than 15 degrees which may cause the mower to slip and give an uneven cut.
more
Was this review helpful?
53
Bradley H.
Pittsburgh, PA
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Hope You Like To Do Your Own Repairs
I've had this mower for 4 seasons. It's heavy and difficult to use. The carburetor float sticks. The rear wheels had to be replaced twice. The cables where replaced after breaking. The self propel unit slips. The swivel wheels shake. It cuts unevenly. I gave up and ordered a Cub Cadet from MowersDirect. Great company.
Pros: None
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, Durability, Expensive
Bradley Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
53
Red B.
Red, TX
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This!
This is a great mower!
Pros: Features, Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Color
Cons: Packaging, Expensive
Red Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
32
Richard
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Chunky
Big, heavy, built to last. But not good for a smaller lot with a curvy grass line. I thought the swivel wheels would give me extra maneuverability despite the extra weight- not! Speed controller would constantly slip into a faster mode even after a trip to the repair shop. And on that same trip the wheel locking pin had to be cut off slightly to work right. The bagging system is mediocre- doesn't throw the grass back into the bag so blocks up before it's full. Bag would catch on a... more
Was this review helpful?
43
Robert M.
Kasson, MN
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Ariens!
I bought my first Ariens lawnmower three years ago and absolutely love it. My Ariens Classic LM21SW performs as well as it did the day I bought it.

I have since bought an Ariens 28 inch snowblower and within the last few weeks added the Ariens 42 inch Zoom ZTR to the group. ALL perform flawlessly!
Robert Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert M.
Kasson, MN
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Ariens!
I bought my first Ariens lawnmower three years ago and absolutely love it. My Ariens Classic LM21SW performs as well as it did the day I bought it. I have since bought an Ariens 28 inch snowblower and within the last few weeks added the Ariens 42 inch Zoom ZTR to the group. ALL perform flawlessly!
Robert Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Neil M.
Mastic, NY
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
25 Years Old
I bought my walk behind in 1988 and only now is she ready to be retired.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Neil Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
34
Jeffrey M.
Davenport, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/21/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No More Alligator
Done wrestling the beast around my yard. Being a "patient" man I often thought my 6 pounder could fix it but then decided to go with a mower that turned (you know even ox carts turn) . Fixed a computer once with a 6 pounder, felt great and it fit in the garbage can. Now I just cruise around the lawn.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Jeffrey Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
512
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials