Search
< Back to Product

Agri-Fab 45-0492 Lawn Sweeper Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$359.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$359.99
(as of 06:42 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$620.26
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Agri-Fab 45-0492 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (12)
I'd Buy It Again (5)
High Quality (5)
Price (3)
Fast (3)
Cons
Low Quality (3)
Unreliable (2)
Difficult To Use (2)
Wheels (1)
Expensive (1)
81% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
27 Reviews  Sort by 
 
manufacturers review image

Jake Wilson
Sales Manager
From The Manufacturer
Agri-fab (44") 25 Cubic Foot Tow-behind Lawn Sweeper
This 44 lawn sweeper is one of the most versatile lawn sweepers on the market. For starters the 26 cu ft bag allows you to spend more time cleaning up debris and less time dumping. When it does come time to dump the sturdy dump handle makes it easy to dump without ever leaving your tractor seat.

This sweeper has an offset hitch option that allows the operator to offset the sweeper to one side or the other and pick up grass clipping while they mow. This eliminates having to sweep after you... more
Was this review helpful?
64
Donald T.
Mooringsport, LA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/15/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Product Is A Dream Come True
I have two large red oaks that three people joining hands cannot reach around. I have four large pecan trees that make a terrible mess. Last year I quit bagging leaves after eighty-five bags and burned the rest. Tell me where to purchase more brushes because I'm going to drive the wheels off this thing. Thanks.
Donald Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/21/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Product, Lousy Packaging
Received my second lawn sweeper in better condition than the first but still lightly damaged. This is a great sweeper and performs well, as advertised. However, I was taken aback not once, but twice at how the manufacturer packaged their product and sent it out the door.

The bent steel tube pieces that make the framework for the hopper plus the square bar making the yoke to attach the sweeper to a riding mower were in the box loose, free to flop around, assaulting the sweeper housing during... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable
Cons: Packaging
Jim Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
I've used this attachment 8 times. Used to clear clippings from 2.8 acres of varying terrain up & down hills, very rough to smooth, & heavy, thick grass to sparse grass over hard clay. Sweeper pulled with 22 Hp. lawn tractor.

Area mowed weekly but accumulated clipping, allowed to dry overnight, filled an 8 ft. pickup bed to overflowing once collected. This sweeper was easy to assemble, easy to attach to the tractor, easy to adjust to the best sweeper height, picks up everything... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
David Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ken A.
Cotuit, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/2/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Agri Fab Sweeper
The sweeper went together with my older a
Pollen mower easily and mowed our 3/4 acre lawn covered wth oak leaves. In less than an hour I had dumped leaves for mulch five times. Worked well when I got the hang of it. Worth the money. Seems strong and likely to last a Long time.

Ken
Ken Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Andrew V.
Langhorne, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/8/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
06
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
The Yard Is Clean
I purchased a new home with a lot of yard and leaves. The previous owner left me the riding mower, so when I saw the leaf accumulation, I searched for a tow behind and ordered up the Model #: 45-0492.
Andrew Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Alex P.
Frankfort, NY
Total Helpful Votes
28 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Wouldn't Buy Another One Like This!!!
After using the sweeper 5-6 times the wheels stopped turning & skidding on the grass. Took everything apart & found that the gears on the inside of the plastic wheels are also plastic were melted & peened over. The gears that turn sweeper brushes are steel & the heat transfer softens the plastic. I brought the wheels to Tractor Supply where I bought the sweeper & showed them the wheels. They called the company & explained the problem. The company said it was due to going... more
Cons: Low Quality, Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Gears On Wheels Melt
Alex Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Alex,
Please keep in mind, this is an older sweeper and we have addressed this issue. Agri-Fab has now added a bronze bearing to this model sweeper's wheels in November of 2012. It is recommended that this product be towed by a riding lawn mower, generally at speeds less than 7.5 mph.
more
Was this review helpful?
285
Don
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
11
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not A Good Product
2 sets of wheels down and the gears that turn the sweeper are trashed again. Agri-Fab says go slow, well I do go slow and the same result. It's a poor design.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Low Quality
Don Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Don,
Agri-Fab added a bronze bearing to this models sweeper wheels in November 2012. It is recommended that this product be towed by a riding lawn mower, generally at speeds of 7.5 mph or less
more
Was this review helpful?
202
Christopher L.
Lexington, MA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/3/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Doesn't Work Very Well
The wheels and sweeper only turn intermittently. The leaves and debris don't pick up very well. Overall, it's a disappointment compared to the traditional baskets hanging off the back. It was also bent when it arrived.
Christopher Does Not Recommend This Product
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Christopher,
For better performance, make sure the sweeper is set to the appropriate height. If it's too low or too high, it will only turn intermittently. If you still have issues with it, this sweeper has a 3-year consumer warranty. You can contact Agri-Fab toll-free at (800) 448-9282.

Should you have any other questions or concerns, don't hesitate to give us a call here at Leaf Blowers Direct. Our number is 1 (888) 560-6929.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Christopher,
Christopher,
Thanks for your feedback and purchasing our product. Agri-Fab recently improved the packaging for UPS/Fed Ex shipments, thanks to feedback from consumers like you! If you need additional help, please reach out to Agri-Fab at 1-800-448-9282 our customer care team is available M-F 7 am-5 pm CST, or contactus@agri-fab.com.

Regards,
Agri-Fab Customer Care
more
Was this review helpful?
91
Adam B.
Leonardo, NJ
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Junk
Here is a copy and paste of the review I tried to post directly to Agri-Fabs website. But they filter their reviews and said this won't be posted. That is the only response I've gotten from them, regardless of emails I've sent.

"Extremely dissappointed
I bought this about 18 months ago to help with fall cleanup. This couldn't keep up with my leaves, and if the ground is damp, like it can be in fall, the narrow tires leaves grooves/ruts in the yard. Today, I finally found a project... more
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, Piece Of Junk Plastic Gears
Adam Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Adam,
At Agri-Fab we value your opinions and stand behind our products with the industry leading 3-year limited warranty. We did contact you via email from your initial review on Agri-Fab website on 20th May, and did not receive a response. We invite you to contact our customer care department at 800-448-9282 Monday Friday from 7am to 5pm CST or send us an updated email id thru contactus-AF@agri-fab.com Depending on the model # and date code (located on the silver and black sticker on the front of your sweeper) you may be eligible for the wheel and bushing upgrade covered under warranty. Please note that our 44 sweepers are rated at no more than a 6 mph towing speed and it is recommended that when sweeping you go no more than 3 mph.
more
Was this review helpful?
103
Eric S.
Mill Run, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/26/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good!!!
Purchased this unit to remove grass, leaves, and debris from my yard. The assembly was easy and no tools were needed. I have only used it twice but I am very impressed with its performance. The sweeper setting works like a charm, although I would recommend setting it lower than what the guide says. The lawn looks absolutely beautiful after all the clippings are removed, makes it look as if it were professionally cut and cleaned. So far so good... no complaints!
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, High Quality
Eric Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
81
Andrew L.
Hopkinton, MA
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Well- Even On Land With Some Hills/undulations
I bought mine in late summer 2014. It took about 1.5 hours to put together. It worked really well for me this fall with leaf pickup- even picked up a lot of pine needles from a white pine that covers a portion of my lawn. It save me a lot of time raking. I do not use it to pick up grass clippings- I let them drop.

I must say, even when folded up, it takes quite a bit of room in my garage- that thought didn't cross my mind. I plan to figure out if there's some way to hang it on the wall-... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Fast, Price
Andrew Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Harry N.
Whitehouse, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/30/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sweeper
Perfect
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Harry Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Gerald W.
Pisgah, AL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/16/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Retired The Rake
With all the rain this summer the grass clippings were smothering my grass.Thanks to the lawn sweeper my yard looks like a lawn instead of an eyesore. Thank you for building a QUALITY product that actually works (assembly a breeze).
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Gerald Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Wilmer C.
Laredo, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/16/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wcates@sbcglobal.net
I laid the parts out compared to the manual. I started assembling. You have to follow the pictures by the numbers exactly. I have never put anything together and not had left over parts or been short on parts. It took a long time, but turned out perfect! I used it for 15 minutes. It even picked up grass that had been rained on two days earlier.
Wilmer Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Bob S.
Bradyville, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/15/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Very Well
The assembly requires 2 or 3 hours, but it works very well. The sweeper brushes were not assembled tight, and required tightening before use. It is easy to unload and is easy to move around and hook up. It was just what I needed.
Bob Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Bob's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sweeper was here two days early. Great service"
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Tom K.
Darrington, WA
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bought This To Be Pulled By Jd 300
After purchasing a 1978 JD 300 without a bagger I was surprised to learn you can buy one but it will be upwards of $1000. Substituted a sweeper instead. I found this on CL for $200. It works well, breaks down for storage and is easy to dump. The sweeper's capacity is dependent upon the wetness of the grass and speed at which you pull. Wetter, slower, the grass will not clear the front bumper. Dry grass and faster speed the more it will take. The sweeper can be offset to either side. A nice... more
Pros: Durable, Features, Easy To Use, Reliable
Cons: Grease The, Wheels
Tom Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
62
Jess S.
Miamisburg, OH
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Needs Better Engineering
I tow it behind my zero turn mower, and it was a problem to get off the mower to dump. I changed the rod out for a rope. Works much better. The two wires that hold the catcher open kept falling out. Not good engineering. I could do better.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast, Easy To Store
Cons: Difficult To Use
Jess Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Jess,
Manufacturer Responds:

The wire rod length was a known issue and has actually been updated. This update would now be current on all models going forward. What we did was update the wire rod length as well as added an enclosure on the bag to prevent this from happening.

If you there are any questions on this, please let us know.

Agri-Fab
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Jim J.
Trenton, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/10/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Sweeper
Easy assembly and cleans lawn great. You would think it is a piece of carpet, it looks so good.
Jim Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
31
David D.
Crossett, AR
REVIEWED
DEC.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Parts
Cannot find parts for example brushes, went to Parts Direct and Agri-Fab. They can only sell you another new sweeper.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Quiet, Light Weight
Cons: Expensive
David Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Charles P.
Crisfield, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/30/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Agri-fab Sweeper
Makes my yard look neat and clean.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Charles Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Dennis M.
Old Town, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/13/15
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
My old sweeper died. This time, I spent a little more but this works ten time better, and fills fast because of the air flow. It's really a great sweeper.
Dennis Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dennis,
Thanks for choosing Agri-Fab and I am glad that you are happy with your sweeper.
more
Was this review helpful?
32
Joe F.
Montgomery, TX
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/30/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lawn Sweeper
I looked at many if these on line, read the reviews and felt the Agri-Fab was the best product for the money.
Joe Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Joe's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy way to buy, this web site was effective and delivery was very quick."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
John B.
Middletown, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/8/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Well.
You never know if something you buy online will work as advertised, but this thing worked well right from the beginning. Once I got the right height setting and learned to reach back and empty the hopper without looking, it made the process of cleaning up leaves a joy.

My only suggestion for an improvement would be if somehow they engineer it so you could "idle" the sweeper brushes when you're going to where you'll be unloading the leaves. I have to go a short distance through... more
John Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Paul M.
Brighton, IA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/10/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
Ordered this by phone, and had it the next day. Assembly was quick and easy. About 90 minutes after opening the box, the unit was ready for a test run. I followed the directions for leveling the sweeper and setting the brush height. The handy height gauge makes getting the right height a breeze. I was delighted with how well the unit performed it swept up a season's worth of dead grass clippings, filling the bag almost completely each pass.

Emptying the sweeper is easy. The cantilever... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Paul Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Paul,
Thank you for the great review and I am please that you are satisfied with your sweeper.
more
Paul's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great customer service and order fulfillment."
 more
Was this review helpful?
22
Glenn D.
Danville, VA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 10/17/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great!!
I love it... only 1 complaint, wheels slide when empty, wont turn the brushes. gonna see about lubing?
Glenn Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Russel W.
Bellflower, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/24/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Glad To Recommend This Sweeper.
This is the second one we have had and this one is so much improved. We really like this one. It throws the grass to the back and can get three times as much in this one. Also the unloading rod beats the rope deal all to pieces. I like the height control as it is easy to set. I would recommend this model to anyone interested in purchasing one. Thanks for a great product.
Russel Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Russel,
Thanks for the review and I am glad that you are happy with your sweeper. The new bag design and dump handle are some nice added features. Let us know if you need anything else.

Jake
more
Was this review helpful?
12
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials