Your Cart @ Mowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Agri-Fab 45-0295 Dethatcher Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$125.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$125.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$124.62
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$124.62
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$129.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Agri-Fab 45-0295 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (4)
Price (4)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Durable (2)
Reliable (1)
Cons
Bad Instructions (1)
96% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
26 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Mower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
91 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12445 Helpful Votes
Mowers Direct Recommended

The Agri-Fab 45-0295 has many great features to be named “Best” in our line-up. Although it is less expensive than our “Better” option in the DT42GY, we feel dethatcher is an all-around better model. The 45-0295 has 24 heat-treated spring tines which is made for strength and durability. A heavy duty tray that can hold up to 70lbs. improves thatch removal.

The 45-0295 comes with an easy to use transport handle which helps raise and lower the tines with ease. This dethatcher is great for... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
351
manufacturers review image

Jake Wilson
Sales Manager
From The Manufacturer
Agri-fab (48") Tow Behind Lawn Dethatcher
The 48” Tine De-thatcher is the perfect tool to give your lawn a jump start for spring. De-thatching helps loosen and remove dead grass that collects over time from mowing and winter doormat. The 24 heat treated tines will easily lift, and remove thatch, acting like an automatic rake and make room for your healthy lawn to grow. For best result use an Agri-Fab lawn sweeper to pick up the dead thatch afterwards.
Was this review helpful?
41
Dan
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 9/15/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Met Expectations
I needed my lawn worked on and I live in an area where there are no professional lawn services available. So I have looked into the tools which would be required to properly work a lawn. Read the reviews and went with this product. I am very satisfied with the performance.

I added a couple cinder blocks to keep the thatcher from bouncing. It tore through and removed a lot of the crab grass and any other surface grass or weed. Made an adjusted the bracket to accommodate the hitch on my... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Durable, I'd Buy It Again
Dan Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Dan's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"i have bought several items on this site a would highly recommend. Make sure to research each produce and read all the reviews prior to making a decision on which product to purchase."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Leslie W.
Burlington, WA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/18/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Dethatcher
Works okay, but nothing great. Should have looked for stronger built higher quality attachment.
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Leslie,
Have you tried adding weight on the tray atop the dethatcher? It holds up to 70 lbs. The added weight helps the tines press down harder to pull more thatch. If you need further information or assistance, don't hesitate to call.
more
Was this review helpful?
21
James S.
Montoursville, PA
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/23/16
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Lawn Thatcher
This is a great lawn thatcher. The instructions are vague, but once they are understood, the unit assembles easily. The unit works best with some additional weight.

Mowers Direct was easy to work with, delivery was very fast and I could not have had a better experience from start to finish ordering from them.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Bad Instructions
James Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Jennifer K.
Buckner, MO
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/22/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Assembly was straightforward. It skipped around a lot without weight on it, but after adding a couple cinderblocks it worked great. I used this on about 3 acres around my house before doing some over-seeding. It worked perfectly.
Jennifer Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Jennifer's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I received my item only 2 days after ordering. It was great!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Paul P.
Pierson, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/24/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Expecting Many Years Of Use
Assembly was straightforward with no missing parts.

First use was with two 25# bags of salt for weight. The tines are heavy duty and you should expect "no mercy" when they get to work on the thatch.

My only concern, long term, is the attachment of the wheel assembly to the tray. There's a lot of force being transmitted from the wheels through the angled ends of the bracket and the fasteners. Time will tell.

If you've got a big property (1 acre here), this will do the job.
Paul Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Paul M.
Washington, IA
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
What A Difference It Makes!
My lawn was showing the effects of having too many old clippings, forming a layer of thatch that was making the yard look bad, so I purchased the Agri-Fab (48") Tow Behind Lawn Dethatcher.

Delivery was quick and assembly was relatively simple.

I hitched it up and tried it out on a half acre of the yard. Although the manual suggests adding weight to the tray, I tried it out "as is". I was amazed at how much thatch it pulled up. Then, I added weights.It pulled up even more... more
Paul Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Paul's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Power Equipment Direct is my "go-to" source for outdoor equipment. Good Customer Service, Value, good products and great fulfillment!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
James P.
East Hampton, CT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/27/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Investment
Looked for a dethatcher online, found this at a reasonable price and bought it. Delivered within a week... no problems there. Put it together with no problem. Hooked it up to my mower. No problem. Dethatched my lawn. no problem. Put it away in the shed. no problem. Problem is I can't wait to use it again. I should have bought it a long time ago. Made the job super easy. I'd recommend it to everybody.
James Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David P.
Queensbury, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/5/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased With Thatcher...
We have about 1.5 acres of lawn that needs thatching. This thatcher works very well on this amount of lawn. It was easy to put together and seems to be solidly made. I would recommend it to another home owner. Thanks, Dave.
David Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Robert N.
Midland, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/1/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Product
Tine de-thatcher works great. Tore up a lot of dead grass. Make sure you have a lot of horse power to pull this. It digs in and will cause your tractor to work.

Assembly was ok, if you have some good tools.
Robert Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Robert S.
Medina, MN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/21/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Robert
Needed a lawn dethatcher
Robert Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Nicholas B.
Elkton, MD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/11/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
As Advertised
After about a 25 minute assembly, I added 2 cinder blocks and hooked it up to the tractor. Did exactly what I expected it to do. Would buy from agri fab and mowers direct again.
Nicholas Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
01
John B.
Brighton, MI
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/2/16
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Premier Dethatcher
It takes a little while to assemble, but the instructions are clear (with drawings), that the average person can assemble in a couple of hours..

Tow it slowly and you will find it easily pulls up dead unwanted thatch handily. The rake is strong and the frame very sturdy, pulling through my lawn with a wake of debris behind which can be collected with a lawn broom or via grass catcher on mower.

It's a good product and the price is very reasonable at Mowers Direct. Mine came postage free,... more
John Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
John's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I'm, impressed with the heavy-duty construction. Unlike other dethatchers, Agri-Fab has a sturdy frame and thicker gauge tines for pulling through longer grass. I have two acres of grass with many thatch-spotted patches. No problem for this device. I'm glad I found your website. When I have a lawn. garden. or other outdoor equipment need...I'll be back!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Michael I.
Rome, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/16/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Flawlessly
This product arrived sooner than stated, easily put together and works perfectly. Great price great purchase.
Michael Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Michael's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Can not say anymore about this product. Works like a charm."
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
John C.
Winter Haven, FL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/17/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
This thing is great for removing thatch. What I also found was that it is good to remove Crab grass. It doesn't completely remove the Crab grass but it easily pulls up Crab grass or weeds that are on the surface that don't have deep roots. I pulled it thru areas of Crab grass and had to stop multiple times to remove the Crab grass from the tines of the dethatcher.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
John Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
140
Anthony V.
Custer, SD
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 7/8/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Lawn Dethatcher
We have a little over 2 acres in the Black Hills of South Dakota. There are a lot of pine trees, which shed a lot of pine needles, killing the grass if you let them lay.

This little thing pulls them up and loosens them so the lawn sweeper can pick them up, it also has picked up so much dead grass. I can't wait to see how it comes in next year. The property looks so much better and cleaner. And for the price, you can't beat it.
Anthony Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Anthony's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"fast shipping and easy purchase"
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
James S.
Russell Springs, KY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/27/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Does The Job.
With two concrete blocks on top in the rack, this really brought up the dead grass.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
James Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
James's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Got what I wanted at a fair price."
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Julie M.
Seymour, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 8/14/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lawn Dethatcher
I received my order quickly and in good condition. I only had one missing part (a bolt) which did not impact the rest of the assembly.

It was fairly easy to put together until it came time to secure the tines by pressing down the tabs. I am not sure how the average homeowner is able to do this.

It was so difficult that I thought I was going to have to have them secured by welding them on. Luckily, I had a very strong family member that eventually was able to press the tabs. I haven't... more
Julie Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Jeff
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/13/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Like It Should, Great Buy!
I have 3/4 acre lot and a zero turn cub cadet mower. I had to fabricate up a connection from the trailer hitch to the dethatcher handle to allow it to tow level. Once I did that and used some pavers to weigh it down, it pulled up a lot of dead grass. My only issue after that was how to pick up all this thatch??
Jeff Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Charles W.
Gahanna, OH
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 11/4/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Lawn Can Breathe.
Wasn't sure I needed a dethatcher for my 1/2 acre, but when I saw the amount of thatch it removed, I was impressed. I don't have to use it often (once/year), but I'm glad I got it.

Used in the late spring, the grass rebounds completely in a couple of weeks. You do need to add some weight to the frame, to keep it from "galloping."
Charles Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Charles,
Charles,

Thanks for the review and purchasing an Agri-Fab De-thatcher. Most people can't believe how much thatch they have built up until it is too late. I am glad your yard rebounded. Spring is also a good time to De-thatch to give your yard a jump start into spring.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Leonard T.
Moyock, NC
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 6/1/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Just A Lawn Dethatcher
After some modifications it did the job.
Leonard Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Leonard's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The sleeve hitch needs to be adjustable for different connections that are of different heights. Spent over $12 in extra hardware just to get it to the proper working height."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph J.
College Grove, TN
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/20/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Agri-fab Dethatcher Rake
Great price and product.
Joseph Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dale S.
Akron, NY
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 5/8/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Deal
Have been checking on a dethatcher for months. The design, 2 rows of spring tines, which many others only have one row. Having the option of extra weight, makes this product very attractive. The price very competitive, fast delivery, easy assembly, this was a great deal, and great transaction.

Thanks, for a great experience.
Dale Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom V.
Stevensville, MT
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 3/31/15
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Spring Thatching
I used it my neighbor used it, we were both happy with the results.
Tom Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Tom's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This rake worked very well. In the past I hired my thatching done by a lawn service, they charged more and didn't do as good of a job. I am money ahead."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sally M.
Danville, IL
Purchased from Mowers Direct
Purchased 4/11/15
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Product! Dethatcher
Great Product!
Sally Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Sally's Experience With Mowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The bolts and screws don't work with this item."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials